The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V1, Bigger than bigger

KaiHD
post Sep 16 2014, 09:16 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(MollyIsler @ Sep 16 2014, 09:03 PM)
So if this has been going on since 2008 and yet it still cannot be turned off via silencing the phone other than jailbreaking/apps, then it must be hardcoded. I'm pretty sure the Japanese/Koreans may have tried your solution (not to select Japan as country during setup) but it still persists, safe to say it doesn't work.
judging from those links, there are some people who say to use just a 3rd party camera app from the app store that has no shutter sound. sounds like it's not firmware, but software. maybe it's tied to selecting language + region as japanese?
KaiHD
post Sep 19 2014, 12:47 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

My iPhone has shipped! On the way to UPS facility from China
KaiHD
post Sep 19 2014, 03:45 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Sep 19 2014, 12:50 AM)
weird eh...
everyone I know who pre-ordered online got their iPhone shipped from China.
mine is from Nashville eh...
eh btw which part of US are you in?
i don't actually know where it's from- i just know it's on it's way to UPS.

QUOTE(kietto @ Sep 19 2014, 01:39 AM)
sifu,
can help me doing a test ? using your ip to shoot 30second video
wanna know how big the file will be

cuz after getting ip6 i will use it for shooting purpose
if the file size is not expected, might get 64GB / \
obvs you should get 64GB at least.
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 12:42 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:18 PM)
Oh you just reminded me that.

Without S pen, Whatsapp is impossible as they use handwriting function to enter Chinese characters.

Thank man smile.gif
you can enter chinese characters by handwriting on iOS already.
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 02:48 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

for those wondering about LTE support, worry no more. check out this chart I made (linked to my iCloud Drive) here. feel free to reshare/repost/if you want to turn into an image and post it here, just include the ©.

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Sep 20 2014, 02:55 AM
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 03:54 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 20 2014, 03:02 AM)
is japan set unlocked?
from source (apple web store for japan), run through google translate:
SIMフリーのiPhone 6は、一部の国ではLTEネットワークに対応しない場合があります。詳しくは通信事業者にお問い合わせください。(SIMフリーのiPhoneについてさらに詳しく)
"The iPhone 6 of SIM free, there are times when it does not correspond to the LTE network in some countries. Please contact your wireless service provider for details. (Learn more about the iPhone SIM Free)"

so yes, i think it's unlocked. but must buy online, or through apple retail only (ask for SIM-free). also keep in mind, some people say camera sound cannot be turned off even in silent mode.
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 04:17 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 20 2014, 03:12 PM)
my fren order one from apple online tmobile contract free.. its locked.. damn sad..
QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Sep 20 2014, 03:25 PM)
lol are you sure...
t-mobile unit is unlocked la...
Yeah you sure or not. Like winkiedilwy said, the t-mobile one is unlocked. Some reporter on Twitter Verified it's unlock also. Did your friend start it up and activate with the preloaded SIM card? If so that might be the cause. (I highly doubt it though, cos multiple people say that's not relevant.
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 09:52 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Sep 20 2014, 09:42 PM)
How do you buy? Through T mobile web or their store?
Always buy from Apple at full price if you want unlocked model. T-mobile stores don't sell factory-unlocked, have to unlock manually but only after 40 days the phone is active on T-Mobile.
KaiHD
post Sep 20 2014, 10:55 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Sep 20 2014, 10:04 PM)
Sure. Thanks bro! I will check it out when I reach San Francisco. By the way, the LTE band is the same as Malaysia?
As of iPhone 6, almost all LTE bands are supported. No need to worry anymore. If you want unlocked, just buy a Verizon (VZW) or T-Mobile (TMO) model at full price by asking to buy 'device only'. I suggest to get Verizon if you are going to be in the US again in the future. VZW models work on ATT/VZW/TMO but TMO models only work on ATT/VZW.
KaiHD
post Sep 24 2014, 12:50 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 24 2014, 02:06 AM)
Also, you are right about Apple not gonna optimize that much for the 6 plus. Because if they optimize the large screen area too much, who would buy their iPad Mini anymore. Hehe
Ah, you're wrong on that. Why?

1. All Apple apps are fully optimised for taking advantage of the bigger screen- it's why the 6+ gets landscape homescreen and the 6 doesn't.

2. Apple also has never been afraid to cannibalise their products-remember they weren't afraid to 'kill' the iPod for the iPhone. Steve Jobs also said that Apple would rather cannibalise their own products than let other companies/products do it.

3. An iPhone 6+ earns Apple more money than iPad Mini. It's well known that iPad Mini has the lowest profit margin for any Apple product.
KaiHD
post Sep 25 2014, 04:08 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ken20203 @ Sep 25 2014, 02:09 PM)
[attachmentid=4147497]

Sirim approved iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 plus.

Coming Soon?
this means i won't have to apply for sirim license hahaha so nice 'cause my iPhone just arrive at Subang airport this morning
KaiHD
post Sep 25 2014, 04:11 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Sep 25 2014, 04:09 PM)
as long as you do not have sirim sticker u still need to apply o
oh so it works like that? hmm now worried again haha. actually i've heard cases where sometimes no need to apply sirim pun so hopefully mine is like that
KaiHD
post Sep 25 2014, 04:15 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Sep 25 2014, 04:14 PM)
can always call up and check with sirim... anyway congrats on ur new toy bro  thumbup.gif
thanks but still haven't got it yet lah. haha
KaiHD
post Sep 27 2014, 12:17 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(coolman82 @ Sep 27 2014, 09:15 AM)
Yes, my Ip6 reached US forwarding agent and will take another 3-5 days to reach our shore.
Total shipping fees including two spigen casing is near to RM100, not that bad smile.gif
you will need to apply sirim permit. i also kena.

by the way what forwarding service you use? my service charged US$41.

P.S. anyone applying for sirim permit got empty slot? we can share the cost?

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Sep 27 2014, 12:18 PM
KaiHD
post Sep 29 2014, 01:39 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(javier_gimeno @ Sep 29 2014, 01:25 AM)
Sauce pls
AppleInsider, 9to5Mac. Literally just Google it. (These are reports, though – truthiness not guaranteed.)

0.0405sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:11 PM