Sony XPERIA™ Z3 | Official Thread V1

mode893
post Oct 2 2014, 01:01 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Oct 2 2014, 12:51 PM)
im currently torn ..... i dont know what is SONY is doing with its camera... In auto mode video is capped at 30 fps while only in manual can u get 60fps....  in auto mode camera doesnt hv image stabilization and i dont even know if its taking a HDR shot or not... its still sad that after so many 'G lens" xperia phones , they still only enable the most useful functions only in 8 MP mode....
Yes video autofocus really sucks as you HAVE to depend on the camera to hopefully focus on what u want instead of tapping to focus.... Love the intelligent stabilization mode though but again that is capped at 30 fps...

Panaroma mode is easily the worst out of all the android phones i hv used... not only is the resolution low.... it fills in a grey area if you dont finish the whole sweep... wut the..

Slow motion is easily the best and even trumps the iphone 5s 120fps mode....

Basically the whole MANUAL mode and 'superior auto' mode is way too confusing as i am torn between using what and what plus what settings to achieve a decent shot...
Since you have too many problems, maybe Xperia Z3 isn't the phone for you. I'm sure there would be other smartphones out there to satisfy your every whim. For instance iOS is very straight forward, don't have to confuse yourself over settings, limited functions but works without having to tinker much.

But so you know, there are 2 "Auto" modes. One you access by quick launch, one you access from the camera app itself. Both have different default setting, you should check that out too see the difference. I've never been a video guy so that's pretty much all I know about it.

mode893
post Oct 2 2014, 03:04 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Oct 2 2014, 12:55 PM)
I also took some shots at KLCC , almost the same exact shots as you haha....  I took using superior auto mode and it was meh.... not only is the focus off constantly it just overexposed everything especially when shooting the twin towers like the image u posted..  In auto mode isnt it suppose to be able to achieve up to 12800 ISO?  even in super low light it still end up taking at around 500 ISO.... WTF...

Seems like manual mode produces the best results... so much for point and shoot
I have been comparing dedicated point and shoots with phone cameras even since the W995 days circa 2008-2009, and even then the phone would beat some compacts in the market, seriously. Your superior auto is good enough, be rest assured. People's expectation on such small sensor in such slim chassis is getting more and more unreasonable. No other manufacturer can get such quality to slenderness ratio. You can't get the kind of shots I took on any auto of any camera in the market, trust me. If you want uncompromised image quality you simply have to work for it wink.gif

mode893
post Oct 6 2014, 06:53 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 5 2014, 09:19 AM)
The speaker volume is not as loud as normal phones as Sony need to seal the speakers for waterproofing function.
That's a really strange claim. It's so loud even the back panel rattles. I even read a review saying the speaker is only next to HTC One M8 which is blardy loud. In fact the only thing you may be correct is that waterproof may affect its loudness, but it is by no means soft sounding. Anyone who has soft speakers should check their phones because one of Z3's key features should be its powerful loud speakers.

mode893
post Nov 2 2014, 09:52 PM

812 posts

The official wireless charging plate and casing pack is out. I got it today, pretty cool as per attached photos. This is my simple review:

The charging pack consists of separate boxes of charging plate & charging cover but contained in a single package. The charging plate box consists of the charging plate & charging cable (different from normal usb / magnetic cable) while the cover box consists of the flip cover.

How it works is the flip cover has magnetic points that will come in contact with the magnetic charging port of the phone once you fit the phone into the flip cover.

There's a really classy circular led underneath the plate that lights up in a pulsing glow fashion the moment you place the phone on it. When you take the phone off, it stops glowing.

The charging is FAST unlike what I've read before and I'm fully happy with the charging rate. However, it does heat up while charging but nothing to get alarmed about.

That's all that I can tell for now as I've only had it for about 2 hours.

I'm a happy camper biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mode893: Nov 3 2014, 11:10 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mode893
post Nov 3 2014, 07:48 AM

812 posts

QUOTE(jazwanra @ Nov 2 2014, 10:22 PM)
How much? Where did u buy it?
Ericserve, Amcorp Mall. RM359
mode893
post Nov 3 2014, 07:50 AM

812 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 2 2014, 11:26 PM)
Nice, i didnt know the plate has lights below

Plate bundled with flip cover? Definitely not from Sony Online Store
Yes, it comes bundled together in a single packaging. Good move by Sony.

mode893
post Nov 3 2014, 06:33 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(off_shore @ Nov 3 2014, 10:09 AM)
Err... I thought the lower ISO, the brighter it needs. Means, in daylight, ISO should set lower value while at night, we should set higher?

BTW, the image stabilizer is meant for video only? Does it works for normal image snapping?
Yeah, I took it last Saturday. I think they were having some Halloween Party.
I saw it in sony center outlet and it's freaking expensive. How much you got it ya?
It's RM359. I saw the one at Sony Centre selling plate alone is RM299. Mine is bundled together with flip cover.
mode893
post Nov 3 2014, 06:34 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(off_shore @ Nov 3 2014, 10:09 AM)
Err... I thought the lower ISO, the brighter it needs. Means, in daylight, ISO should set lower value while at night, we should set higher?

BTW, the image stabilizer is meant for video only? Does it works for normal image snapping?
Yeah, I took it last Saturday. I think they were having some Halloween Party.
I saw it in sony center outlet and it's freaking expensive. How much you got it ya?
It's RM359. I saw the one at Sony Centre selling plate alone is RM299. Mine is bundled together with flip cover.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mode893
post Nov 4 2014, 12:12 AM

812 posts

My short demo of Z3 wireless charging with WCH10 charging plate & WCR14 flip cover http://youtu.be/0QxxDlRJbOI

This post has been edited by mode893: Nov 4 2014, 12:14 AM
mode893
post Nov 4 2014, 12:30 AM

812 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Nov 4 2014, 12:19 AM)
nice light effect , too bad it costs too much for basically a normal wireless plate n a flip case....  almost can buy a smartwatch with that money
It's also a fast charger, it charges faster than using usb and magnetic charger so you save RM120 off buying EP881, you get a classy flip casing worth at least another RM120, which leaves the plate that is actually the style you're buying for another RM120 so breaking it down, I feel it is worth every cent biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mode893: Nov 4 2014, 12:44 AM

0.0424sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:31 AM