Young vs Old, Which one is better?

TSwhoopa
post Sep 3 2014, 01:46 PM, updated 12y ago

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

I wanted to continue the discussion from the recruitment thread about this topic. I find it funny people can choose side of young vs old.

My opinion is that the attitude is the same no matter young or old. If you got attitude problem, you got attitude problem be it young or old.

To kaizer when you "captain" scolded you even though he is a thrash player it his attitude sucks not his age. Young ppl who lead teams of older can be assholes too. It is the person.

Anyways this is for discussion. If too much flame I will close it.

Majulah sukan untuk negara.

Sekian, terima kasih

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
v1n0d
post Sep 3 2014, 02:47 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

Mechanics-wise, younger players will always have the upper hand. Reaction time means a lot in fast-paced games such as DotA, and older players just can't keep up.

As for in-game decision-making, experience is everything, and age means nothing. I have a friend who's only 15 this year, but he's been playing with me since he was 6. Technically, we share an equal amount of non-competitive experience, which makes him the better player if he chooses to move up to compies.
dps404
post Sep 3 2014, 03:36 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Sep 3 2014, 02:47 PM)
Mechanics-wise, younger players will always have the upper hand. Reaction time means a lot in fast-paced games such as DotA, and older players just can't keep up.

As for in-game decision-making, experience is everything, and age means nothing. I have a friend who's only 15 this year, but he's been playing with me since he was 6. Technically, we share an equal amount of non-competitive experience, which makes him the better player if he chooses to move up to compies.
what? dota since 6 years old? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Blues89
post Sep 3 2014, 03:38 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

future hope in d2 world xD
v1n0d
post Sep 3 2014, 03:47 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(dps404 @ Sep 3 2014, 03:36 PM)
what? dota since 6 years old?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
His brothers and I both played in the same clan, so he used to watch them play. He started playing soon after. He didn't move on to D2 though, he switched to HoN when it came out. sweat.gif
lewkia
post Sep 3 2014, 04:10 PM

14 posts

Well, it depends what you are trying to address.

Dota has a steep learning curve, which requires understanding and experience to learn.
The more you play, the more you understand and the more you improve your technique.

For young players, they may have the advantage of grasping things faster and have better reaction time, improving at a faster pace. But most of young players can be childish, like throwing the game if they cant get mid or do a lot of childish trash talking.

Older players learn slower, I have a friend who is in mid 20's fails to learn and grasp dota mechanics and tend to stick to one playstyle and play similar heroes only. Older players are most likely to behave better (like a sir) and not throw baby tantrums like younger players.

My 2 cents.
-VigRouX-
post Sep 3 2014, 04:44 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Sep 3 2014, 01:46 PM)
I wanted to continue the discussion from the recruitment thread about this topic. I find it funny people can choose side of young vs old.

My opinion is that the attitude is the same no matter young or old. If you got attitude problem, you got attitude problem be it young or old.

To kaizer when you "captain" scolded you even though he is a thrash player it his attitude sucks not his age. Young ppl who lead teams of older can be assholes too. It is the person.

Sekian, terima kasih

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Exactly, what happened?
xbbshampoo
post Sep 3 2014, 04:47 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Sep 3 2014, 01:46 PM)

Sekian, terima kasih

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
you kena rage by our leader meh? icon_idea.gif laugh.gif
v1n0d
post Sep 3 2014, 05:14 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(-VigRouX- @ Sep 3 2014, 04:44 PM)
Exactly, what happened?
QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Sep 3 2014, 04:47 PM)
you kena rage by our leader meh?  icon_idea.gif  laugh.gif
Doesn't matter. No need to rehash old stories when they serve no purpose. icon_rolleyes.gif
manjacat
post Sep 3 2014, 10:10 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Sep 3 2014, 02:47 PM)

future mushi is found
TSwhoopa
post Sep 4 2014, 07:21 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

LOL no story la ... saw in the other thread ppl very touchy abt age. the problem is the person biggrin.gif

i give the same respect either you old or young.
Akmall540
post Sep 4 2014, 03:19 PM

197 posts

Young, how young is young?

Old, how old is old?

As for me, I'm and unker I tend to keep on my cool when dealing with flamers or thrash talkers. Heck, it is the same when I started to play dota back in 2005. So, I agree, it depends on individual personality. nod.gif
andyng35
post Sep 15 2014, 04:59 PM

I'm currently 16 and I started playing dota @ late 2011 which all my friend of same age played for 5 years currently asked me to played and I agreed with them.Of course I started out slow but for now I'm on par with them now even they played for a longer time.

What I think is the mentality of the player.Which they need to strive to improve.I don't think old and young can do a difference unless over 35.The personality of the player is important too.I'm the kind of calm one and does not rage easily.Some of my friends rage when people make mistake and goes negative mindset.

It's all about themselves.Not age.Skill can be improved by training.
SUSInF.anime
post Oct 12 2014, 02:32 AM

2,695 posts

Older player can't enjoy the game.. because keep thinking of stocks and prop.. that's why I never continue sinc grad & start working.

0.0206sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:58 PM