Problem of my CDRW/DVD

TScloudyspring53
post Aug 29 2006, 07:54 PM, updated 20y ago

Hi guys

I m newbie here. Nice to meet ur all ...
I had received my laptop almost 2 mths ago, and recently i start using my DVD to watch dramas series and it create a very very loud and noisy sound. i make a call to Dell and the reply was the normal.
Did anyone here facing this problem too? Can i request to change it? Oh ya the brand of my DVD is Philips CDRW/DVD.
Thanks!!!
bmkid
post Aug 29 2006, 10:30 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(cloudyspring53 @ Aug 29 2006, 07:54 PM)
Hi guys
I m newbie here. Nice to meet ur all ...
I had received my laptop almost 2 mths ago, and recently i start using my DVD to watch dramas series and it create a very very loud and noisy sound. i make a call to Dell and the reply was the normal.
Did anyone here facing this problem too? Can i request to change it? Oh ya the brand of my DVD is Philips CDRW/DVD.
Thanks!!!
Welcome to start a topic.
Last time I also facing some problem almost like u that when insert the cd not dvd also it come out a lot of sound(loud) when read it and some cd it cannot read it also if can read also take a long time. Then i call up dell and complain and they say ned to go and do some research lor and they say that maybe can cause the problem is my software not the hardware and they call me back and call me to do like formating the whole comp. But i request to exchagange a new one coz it so noisy not work like a normal cd-rom. After i do through his guide that format the whole comp and reinstall the os back the cd-rom stil unable to read the disk and they only by the next day only sent me the new cd-rom after replace that it no problem(no noisy sound) already. (mine is DVD+rw from NEC)
julchin_09
post Aug 29 2006, 11:26 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I've never encountered this problem but have had my DVD-RW for my Inspiron changed by DELL due to its inability to read certain DVDs. How loud is LOUD? The last time I changed my LCD DELL made me count how many deadpixels I had. But I still got it changed.

Yours sounds like a more serious problem and a complain call to DELL should be a good next step. I think they would take you seriously if you know how to explain it to them as they've have just addressed their battery explosion problem and wouldn't want another problem which would tarnish their reputation.
death_nite
post Aug 29 2006, 11:58 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

the only way to get them change ur dvd drive is to convince them ur dvd drive is faulty...convince them with proof smile.gif well, perhaps other sifu who had experience changing their dvd drive can teach u how to make dell change new one...

or perhaps u can try dell diagnostics to test ur dvd..any errors from there should able to convince dell for new dvd drive...

just push them kaw kaw! they will change new one....still got complete cover aite?
TScloudyspring53
post Aug 30 2006, 08:20 PM

Thank you bmkid, julchin_09 and death_nite for sharing ur experienced and the next step i shld do. I will call DELL again for this problem. Anyway if ur all have the way how to push them to change a new one , please! please teach me. Thanks in advance tongue.gif.

Sorry tat i not dun know how to reply to each by add in the message post by ur all "Pai Seh"

bmkid
post Aug 30 2006, 09:24 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(cloudyspring53 @ Aug 30 2006, 08:20 PM)
Thank you bmkid, julchin_09 and death_nite for sharing ur experienced and the next step i shld do. I will call DELL again for this problem. Anyway if ur all have the way how to push them to change a new one , please! please teach me. Thanks in advance  tongue.gif.

Sorry tat i not dun know how to reply to each by add in the message post by ur all "Pai Seh"
I think u go and call them up and convince them bout ur cd-rom got problem maybe can lie a little bit inorder to get exchange from them. But u already call them up. because mine at the first day get the laptop i already test it and found up already got problem. But u ned to remember that every complain u had made they will write a report and ur telephone call will be recorded. Is it when u seeing drama ur drama got hang hang that type or goes on very smooth ??

[edit] regarding u dunno how to reply ppl post each u use quote at the right hand down column at the other people post.
And slove quoting problem.

This post has been edited by bmkid: Sep 5 2006, 10:42 PM
TScloudyspring53
post Sep 5 2006, 10:02 PM

[quote=bmkid,Aug 30 2006, 09:24 PM]
I think u go and call them up and convince them bout ur cd-rom got problem maybe can lie a little bit inorder to get exchange from them. But u already call them up. because mine at the first day get the laptop i already test it and found up already got problem. But u ned to remember that every complain u had made they will write a report and ur telephone call will be recorded. Is it when u seeing drama ur drama got hang hang that type or goes on very smooth ??

[edit] regarding u dunno how to reply ppl post each u use quote then pur ur msg under the [/quote] line.

[/quote]

hi bmkid,
wen t time i seeing t drama, t DVD running with a very2 loud n noisy sound, some DVD can seeing smoothly but some can not - hang running hang tat type (i had tested the DVD using DVD player n it is ok ). tat y i think the DVD player got problem.... any idea on this ....

thanks ... one private q here, r u from bm, pg?

bmkid
post Sep 5 2006, 10:33 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(cloudyspring53 @ Sep 5 2006, 10:02 PM)
hi bmkid,
wen t time i seeing t drama, t DVD running with a very2 loud n noisy sound, some DVD can seeing smoothly but some can not - hang running hang tat type  (i had tested the DVD using DVD player n it is ok ). tat y i think the DVD player got problem.... any idea on this ....

thanks ... one private q here, r u from bm, pg?
Well...I think the laptop dvd rom reading head is a bit sensitive compare to the DVD player. I tested before I used a DVD wth scratches all at the reading site I place it at the DVD rom at the laptop if read and got hang hang status but if put it in the dvd player it run smoothly no hang at all. I think u can lie to dell it u want to change a new one but dun make dell to sent a technician to ur house to check because it will charge some money. U can say now i could not read some disc that I played or sth else. Last time I complain is a disc that i burn photo and it cannot read out the photo and take a long time it call you to try reburn and ask quite detail about it the photo format and call me to do reformat the whole comp although they guided you through the whole process but u will lost all the document in the C drive.

[Off topic] I am from bm, peanng. Why ?? u also from here ??

This post has been edited by bmkid: Sep 5 2006, 10:36 PM
julchin_09
post Sep 5 2006, 10:56 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Yeah, I also compared the DVD-Drive to the DVD Player in my hall and the hall player can read more discs than mine.

I called DELL for my case and just complain that I couldn't read my DVDs and brought them to test. The nice technician didn't ask any questions and straight away change it for me.

P:S If you complain that your DVD-Drive cannot read any DVD's or if you make them think so, the technician will definetly bring a replacement unit in their car/van just in case they can't repair your problem.
snorlax
post Sep 6 2006, 12:05 AM

Sleeper
1,308 posts

Well, since it's Dell, they probably will replace it if it's under warranty. You might have to bug them a bit though. My 1440x900 WXGA is probably going to be a 1920x1440 WUXGA soon. Leakage!!!!
bmkid
post Sep 6 2006, 12:22 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 5 2006, 10:56 PM)
Yeah, I also compared the DVD-Drive to the DVD Player in my hall and the hall player can read more discs than mine.

I called DELL for my case and just complain that I couldn't read my DVDs and brought them to test. The nice technician didn't ask any questions and straight away change it for me.

P:S If you complain that your DVD-Drive cannot read any DVD's or if you make them think so, the technician will definetly bring a replacement unit in their car/van just in case they can't repair your problem.
But I know if they call technician to ur house ned to pay some charges. U can convince them through phone and they can sent a new one for u without paying any charges fees. Last time I help my sister to complain and they say they could sent out technician by another 2 days and the laptop is inneed to take it to oversea by the next day afternoon so they sent it by tomorrow morning they sent another replacement for us straight away thumbup.gif thumbup.gif service.

QUOTE(snorlax @ Sep 6 2006, 12:05 AM)
Well, since it's Dell, they probably will replace it if it's under warranty. You might have to bug them a bit though. My 1440x900 WXGA is probably going to be a 1920x1440 WUXGA soon. Leakage!!!!
Good for u. How does u get the leaking ?? how does it look like. I am quite noob at tis.

This post has been edited by bmkid: Sep 6 2006, 12:26 AM
julchin_09
post Sep 6 2006, 02:50 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I claimed mine during warranty. LCD,Touchpad and DVD-RW so 2 trips by the technician but = 0 charges....
TScloudyspring53
post Sep 8 2006, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(bmkid @ Sep 6 2006, 12:22 AM)
But I know if they call technician to ur house ned to pay some charges. U can convince them through phone and they can sent a new one for u without paying any charges fees. Last time I help my sister to complain and they say they could sent out technician by another 2 days and the laptop is inneed to take it to oversea by the next day afternoon so they sent it by tomorrow morning they sent another replacement for us straight away  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  service.

Good for u. How does u get the leaking ?? how does it look like. I am quite noob at tis.
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 6 2006, 02:50 AM)
I claimed mine during warranty. LCD,Touchpad and DVD-RW so 2 trips by the technician but = 0 charges....
Hai all sifu, thank you velli muchies. Finally i manage to call Dell n get the DVD change from DELL sweat.gif . The nice girl ask lot of question and told me at last - i will sent the techinician to ur house on next monday and there is no service charge. But sound like after change if still got this problem then can not change laio rclxub.gif . how can i sure the yet to be change DVD got not problem ???

Actually i try to test the leakage follow steps as show on Inspiron 6400 thread at this forum but i failed. (rclxms.gif sure got sifu laugh me test leakage also tak tau, jes found actually i shld post my topic on the Inspiron 6400 thread)

O/P - i not from bm, but from SPS rolleyes.gif
steventan85
post Sep 9 2006, 03:05 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 6 2006, 02:50 AM)
i changed a new LCD , keyboard , whole chassis , motherboard , modem b4 .....hahaha

basically whole notebook d ....and juz 1 & half months ago , juz changed a new Inspiron 6400 from my 6000...coz .... the technical support also doesnt know wat happended to my notebook......whahahaha...wat i can said is the technical support is very nice , and i used centrino mobile for 5months , and coreduo now....
chengyue
post May 4 2016, 07:11 PM

111 posts

Mine won't work anymore after 5 years

0.0168sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:48 PM