Fundsupermart.com v7, DIY unit trust investing

wodenus
post Sep 17 2014, 01:33 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 17 2014, 01:27 PM)
If got long-term investment horizon i.e. not trading, if u holding quality company stocks, I'd suggest to stay put, do nothing and just reap the dividend yield. Unless u very good trader can time your sales and purchases like King of Gambler biggrin.gif
Actually no downtrend yet, just not uptrend any more smile.gif let's see how it goes smile.gif
wodenus
post Sep 17 2014, 01:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 17 2014, 01:35 PM)
To put it simply, the days of easy/fast money is over. smile.gif
Yea now we will see who the good fund managers are smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 20 2014, 08:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 20 2014, 04:53 PM)
Talk to me about DOS and LOTUS 1-2-3, then only ancient  laugh.gif
eh - upload to Google Sheet and share share lar  brows.gif
You mean you never had to use CP/M? or Applesoft DOS? smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 23 2014, 03:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 23 2014, 02:17 PM)
thanks...

have no choice to liquid all investment there and cabut with 19.63% return...
Uptrend is gone.. party is over smile.gif
wodenus
post Sep 23 2014, 07:34 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Sep 23 2014, 06:27 PM)
Okay, so for Q3, distribution can actually be categorized into two types: Unit increment and unit price increament.
Unit increment is like:
Before distribution: 1000 units x RM1/unit = RM1000
After distribution: 2000 units x RM0.5/unit = RM1000
So even though the total amount is still the same, but we gain more units.

But if its like this, then is this distribution consider an income? I dont see any earning from here  hmm.gif
Correct... dividends and unit splits mean nothing in UT.. they are just done to lower the "price" without lowering the value. See a lot of people think unit trusts are like shares, they are not. The price of a ut goes up because the fund manager is good, there are no fundamentals that will cause the price to go up. Saying a fund price is too high is like saying the fund manager is too good lol. Most people don't like high prices, but they like to have the value of the fund go up. But for the value of the fund to go up, the price has to increase. But most people will not buy into a high-priced fund because wah so expensive how to buy. So we need a way to control the price but still retain the value.

So how do we retain the value of the fund, without increasing the price of the fund? The solution is to lower the price and then declare a div for the amount it was lowered. The price comes down, but the value does not change, problem solved smile.gif

So that's why they do it. If the fund manager thinks people will not buy the fund because the price is too high, they will do that stuff (unit split, dividend etc.) so they can drop the price without affecting the value.

wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 11:26 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 25 2014, 11:24 AM)
I am at awe at your awesomeness my dearest :Tok-kok sifu!"  notworthy.gif

Xuzen
He might be right though.
wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 11:37 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 25 2014, 11:35 AM)
AmDynamic Bond registered a net loss of 1.1 this year oo
And to think this fund used to be so popular the entire allocation was taken up tongue.gif

wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 02:22 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 25 2014, 11:43 AM)
Really? I thought they open new subscription?

Anyway, I sold of almost 20k RM funds last 2 days.. May be you all can go to grab.. haha
Ha... so lack of faith smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 03:23 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 25 2014, 03:14 PM)
ES just gave u some angpow... sweat.gif
Really they cut until 50%? wow.

wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 04:02 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Sep 25 2014, 03:53 PM)
Fund Name
Eastspring Investments Small-Cap Fund

Fund Source
Lump Sum

Units

Average Price

Indicative Price

Cost

Market Value

Unrealised Gain/Loss

Profit/Loss(%)
rclxub.gif  cry.gif  sweat.gif  shakehead.gif  blink.gif
So another rich person.. smile.gif
wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 04:25 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 25 2014, 04:20 PM)
How does this unit split work and how does it benefit us? Can someone explain?
Basically nothing happens to your money, they cut the price by 50% and then double your units. They do this to lower the price of the UT and keep the value. Nothing changes except the price smile.gif

wodenus
post Sep 25 2014, 08:14 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 25 2014, 04:36 PM)
So if i had 1000 units before at RM 1.50, now ill have 2000 units at 0.75?
Exactly.

wodenus
post Oct 1 2014, 11:02 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(lcs89 @ Sep 29 2014, 12:25 PM)
waa.. like that bo siok lar .... everyday see profit red colour niaaa
Usually about one week, should update after that.
wodenus
post Oct 2 2014, 08:52 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Oct 2 2014, 08:46 PM)
Big crash for ESC and KGF
So it is. ATM issue probably caused a lot of people to lose faith in the market for a while.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Oct 3 2014, 01:02 AM
wodenus
post Oct 12 2014, 03:53 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(NeN51 @ Oct 12 2014, 03:39 PM)
Understood bro, what i meant is whatever "money" I have contributed to these "funds", I would not withdraw out for any purpose and it would only retain as my retirement portfolio. I do plan to do switching whenever possible.

Just curious bro, are you working with FSM or?
I can never understand switching.. markets here as a whole pretty much follow one another, it's just a matter of degree. in 1997 pretty much every fund in the country lost money. After that pretty much every fund in the world made it back. What is the point of switching when every market is the same? pick like 20 UTs.. and you can see the that chart is pretty much the same lol smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Oct 12 2014, 03:54 PM
wodenus
post Oct 12 2014, 04:38 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 12 2014, 04:16 PM)
hmm.gif  happens to surf and noticed these...

Not all funds are created equal...so are its returns.
Not a representative sample smile.gif

Go here :

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...erateTable.svdo

Close your eyes and pick 20 funds. Then plot them and see the return. Unless you have an incredible amount of money, there won't be a lot of difference if you annualize it smile.gif

wodenus
post Oct 12 2014, 09:02 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 12 2014, 07:22 PM)
notworthy.gif good info.....checked....10yrs periods
annualized from 0.53% to 16.76%
lowest 11 < 4%, highest 11 > 12%...average annualized 8.66%
lowest 21 < 5%...average annualize 3.65%
highest 24 > 10%...average annualize 12.51%
annualized variance of top & btm 21 is about 8.8%

then variance in % of Total ROI terms in 10 years?  hmm.gif
is it 365% and 1251% and variance 880%?
Or we'll make it a game of chance.. given all these funds, among funds with 10-year track records, what is the probability of picking a fund that will outperform FD rates (ie. 3.9 - 4.2%) ?

Another way of thinking is this : if you bought all 20.. would you do better than FD?

Now if we throw active switching into the mix, how do you know when to switch? and how do we know that active switching will mean more profit?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Oct 12 2014, 09:07 PM
wodenus
post Oct 13 2014, 10:14 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 12 2014, 11:34 PM)
There's no time indication whereby one should switch or not.

Some said use the switching method to "lock" the profit.
Where do you switch to then?
wodenus
post Oct 14 2014, 02:49 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 13 2014, 10:22 PM)
My strategy to perform switching from super under performed fund to another more promising fund.
Why did you not pick the more promising fund in the first place then? smile.gif

wodenus
post Oct 22 2014, 01:02 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 22 2014, 12:39 PM)
hmm.gif  ya-lor...lost making?
hmm.gif  how long already?
hmm.gif sustain able?
hmm.gif worst case scenario?
hmm.gif possibility of worst case?
They don't hold your units, usually a trust nominee holds them. If they go bankrupt the nominee will usually not be affected.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0577sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:20 AM