Recommandation for Digital Piano RM5k - RM7k range, Recommandation for a Digital Piano
TStigaxxx
Aug 26 2014, 04:15 PM, updated 11y ago
I am looking for a decent digital piano for my daughter within RM5k-RM7k range... So far only Yamaha CLP-545 is on my list. Anyone can recommend other brand such as Kawai, Casio etc ? Edit :Finally bought Yamaha CLP 545
This post has been edited by tigaxxx: Oct 15 2014, 08:49 PM
amazingwave
Aug 26 2014, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Aug 26 2014, 04:15 PM) I am looking for a decent digital piano for my daughter within RM5k-RM7k range... So far only Yamaha CLP-545 is on my list. Anyone can recommend other brand such as Kawai, Casio etc ? If your budget is RM5k-7k, go buy kurzweil stage piano (SP Series). Choose 88key hammer weighted key.
pipedream
Aug 26 2014, 08:56 PM
Roland F130R http://www.roland.com/products/en/F-130R/I tested it last week, really not bad in terms of action and sound. But why digital? With that budget you can easily get a recond Kawai upright grand, which frankly, a much better tool for learning than digitals. This post has been edited by pipedream: Aug 26 2014, 08:58 PM
TStigaxxx
Aug 27 2014, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 26 2014, 08:56 PM) Roland F130R http://www.roland.com/products/en/F-130R/I tested it last week, really not bad in terms of action and sound. But why digital? With that budget you can easily get a recond Kawai upright grand, which frankly, a much better tool for learning than digitals. where did you test? it's quite difficult for me to find Dealers other than Yamaha..
pipedream
Aug 27 2014, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Aug 27 2014, 12:34 PM) where did you test? it's quite difficult for me to find Dealers other than Yamaha.. Chambers music @ Sg Wang Alternatively, you can go to Roland's HQ in PJ. Believe they have more choices there.
TStigaxxx
Aug 27 2014, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 27 2014, 11:43 AM) Chambers music @ Sg Wang Alternatively, you can go to Roland's HQ in PJ. Believe they have more choices there. thanks...try to go there this weekend
juicyliana
Aug 27 2014, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 26 2014, 08:56 PM) Roland F130R http://www.roland.com/products/en/F-130R/I tested it last week, really not bad in terms of action and sound. But why digital? With that budget you can easily get a recond Kawai upright grand, which frankly, a much better tool for learning than digitals. Ya, I think a upright piano is better than digital. Buying a recond unit from shops is better or buy a used from end user? I saw a few uprights for sale on mudah but worried that I will be buying someone's problem.
pipedream
Aug 27 2014, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(juicyliana @ Aug 27 2014, 12:59 PM) Ya, I think a upright piano is better than digital. Buying a recond unit from shops is better or buy a used from end user? I saw a few uprights for sale on mudah but worried that I will be buying someone's problem. I guess shops is better since they provide warranty and probably checked in detail, shouldn't be much problem. But if you are scared, you can always find a luthier to accompany you while purchasing, check for cracks in wood etc.
TStigaxxx
Aug 27 2014, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 26 2014, 08:56 PM) Roland F130R http://www.roland.com/products/en/F-130R/I tested it last week, really not bad in terms of action and sound. But why digital? With that budget you can easily get a recond Kawai upright grand, which frankly, a much better tool for learning than digitals. I prefer digital, more easily moved, and transported and can practice using headphone to avoid disturbing neighbors btw Roland RP401R looks good too... rm5299 retail
maltrone
Aug 27 2014, 06:24 PM
Guys, I'm looking at getting one for the missus. She's a very good pianist, but forego her old upright when we moved in to a small apartment together. So, I'm looking at a good digital as a surprise.
Question. Is the key "touch" or "feel" really that important to you pianists? I'm not talking about beginners, but rather the more seasoned ones (and for someone moving from an upright).
So far, we've seen the Yamaha CLP-535 and she likes the "touch". If I recall correctly, it's around the region of 5.5k. I saw some comments above about Roland (the RP401R seems right around the same price). Is the feeling similar between both models?
pipedream
Aug 27 2014, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(maltrone @ Aug 27 2014, 07:24 PM) Guys, I'm looking at getting one for the missus. She's a very good pianist, but forego her old upright when we moved in to a small apartment together. So, I'm looking at a good digital as a surprise. Question. Is the key "touch" or "feel" really that important to you pianists? I'm not talking about beginners, but rather the more seasoned ones (and for someone moving from an upright). So far, we've seen the Yamaha CLP-535 and she likes the "touch". If I recall correctly, it's around the region of 5.5k. I saw some comments above about Roland (the RP401R seems right around the same price). Is the feeling similar between both models? Yes, very important. Different manufacturers has different version of the key "touch" or action. And the playability varies amongst individuals, it is best to choose whatever your missus likes. Having said that, both models are superb choices (on the light side like an upright). But I would be more interested in the CLP-535, mainly from the Bosendorfer sound samples it comes with This post has been edited by pipedream: Aug 27 2014, 08:43 PM
TStigaxxx
Aug 27 2014, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(maltrone @ Aug 27 2014, 06:24 PM) So far, we've seen the Yamaha CLP-535 and she likes the "touch". If I recall correctly, it's around the region of 5.5k. I saw some comments above about Roland (the RP401R seems right around the same price). Is the feeling similar between both models? CLP- 535 is 'on sale' till 31Aug.. 5.1+k at yamaha dealer...clp-545 is 6.6k clp 545 comes with 20 builtin rhythms with slightly different key action & materials This post has been edited by tigaxxx: Aug 27 2014, 08:56 PM
Pugface
Aug 27 2014, 09:47 PM
Yamaha 545 has wooden keys. key actions are pretty good. suitable for classical. has rhythms and different voices also. got hammer actions. quite good touch la. i think price 6k plus only. if classical is your path, go for it. can play with earphone. even if your kid decided to stop learning one day, atleast its suitable for modern contemporary too.
maltrone
Aug 28 2014, 02:30 PM
I guess there goes any element of surprise, then. Thanks a heap, guys! I'd rather bring her to test it out than to bring a lemon home as a surprise. Sorry for hijacking your thread, tigaxx!!
TStigaxxx
Aug 28 2014, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(maltrone @ Aug 28 2014, 02:30 PM) I guess there goes any element of surprise, then. Thanks a heap, guys! I'd rather bring her to test it out than to bring a lemon home as a surprise. Sorry for hijacking your thread, tigaxx!! No problem at all..in fact I dont consider that as "hijacking"  Every comments are welcomed...
empire
Aug 28 2014, 03:39 PM
Digital piano will never have the same 'touch' as a real Piano. I am an advanced pianist...not a beginner...so my view is not biased.
TStigaxxx
Aug 28 2014, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(empire @ Aug 28 2014, 03:39 PM) Digital piano will never have the same 'touch' as a real Piano. I am an advanced pianist...not a beginner...so my view is not biased. Of course they dont have same touch, feel or sound.. but close enough
empire
Aug 28 2014, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Aug 28 2014, 04:38 PM) Of course they dont have same touch, feel or sound.. but close enough  hehehe...sadly....not even close
SUSMatrix
Sep 8 2014, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(maltrone @ Aug 27 2014, 06:24 PM) Guys, I'm looking at getting one for the missus. She's a very good pianist, but forego her old upright when we moved in to a small apartment together. So, I'm looking at a good digital as a surprise. Question. Is the key "touch" or "feel" really that important to you pianists? I'm not talking about beginners, but rather the more seasoned ones (and for someone moving from an upright). So far, we've seen the Yamaha CLP-535 and she likes the "touch". If I recall correctly, it's around the region of 5.5k. I saw some comments above about Roland (the RP401R seems right around the same price). Is the feeling similar between both models? Touch is THE MOST IMPORTANT factor for a pianist. I moved from keyboard to digital piano...man dun wanna touch a synth...EVER after that!! And i am only a noob. Digital pianos are pretty good nowadays, especially the more expensive ones.... You must go ask your missus to try out the piano...no point asking for comments about that because we are not her...only she can tell what she likes in the touch.
SUSMatrix
Sep 8 2014, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(empire @ Aug 28 2014, 05:22 PM) hehehe...sadly....not even close  I disagree....the high-ends one are really good.....not 100%, but really good enough if you are not planning to use it as a concert performance. But of course, eye yam noob. My opinions does not hold very high value... This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 8 2014, 10:22 AM