English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Welcome to United, Falcao!

sunblaze
post Aug 27 2014, 09:36 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Aug 27 2014, 09:25 AM)
With our midfield and defense, I doubt Di Maria can do much. Even Messi would struggle in this team.
Kinda agree. He adds energy and creativity going forward, but looking at the goals conceded.... our defense and midfield looks in dire need of improvement.

First 2 goals were basically totally suicidal play that gave opp clear chance. From then on.. sigh

Now we have our marquee signing.. hopefully the club can work on the CB/CM/DM part. And offload the under-performers.

sunblaze
post Aug 27 2014, 09:39 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(ashportal @ Aug 27 2014, 09:37 AM)
Are we going to suck for another season?
For the first 3-4 months is my guess.
sunblaze
post Aug 27 2014, 10:10 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(jetpacker @ Aug 27 2014, 09:53 AM)
im starting to think SAF long tenure at the club is cancerous...the mentality of most of the players/staff probably still at SAF era..living too comfortably..unable to adapt to changes..that's why when moyes or even now LVG came...all sesat jalan
Well it was a long and successful tenure. Anyway, not even past the 1 month mark of the start of the season... these things take time smile.gif

sunblaze
post Aug 28 2014, 12:51 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(aeronchan @ Aug 27 2014, 08:54 PM)
If he signs vidal and another cb, Woody is the type of student that studies last minute and yet achieves flying colours? LOOOOOL
Not only that. The kind that study last minute, looks like sure fail horribly, but suddenly score top marks.
sunblaze
post Aug 28 2014, 04:54 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Aug 28 2014, 04:03 PM)
wateva it is..... there will be 4 players confirm starter every match bar injury:

rvp
roo
mata
di maria

will need to think of a formation that fit all 4 of 'em
4-3-3 or some variation of it.

di maria in the midfield left side together with herrera and 1 other (*cough* sign someone kayu *cough*).

roo-rvp-mata as a front 3.

will need our fullbacks to recover from injury and show decent form.. presumably Shaw and Rafael.

sunblaze
post Aug 29 2014, 12:00 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Aug 28 2014, 11:53 PM)
what is puzzling is that we start to allow more ppl to leave when we are so low on numbers in midfield now...

Is that a sign that more midfields is coming? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Either signings incoming, or youth being promoted smile.gif

sunblaze
post Aug 29 2014, 09:46 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 29 2014, 09:33 AM)
I'd rather see Hernandez leave rather than Welbeck. Chica is a good poacher, but without a good supply, Chica is invincible. Welbeck on the hand, doesn't score much but he contributes with his smart running and workrate. Not to mention his flexibility to play in many positions unlike Kagawa and Chica.

Welbeck is a utility and squad player. I hope Lvg keeps him.
Invisible tongue.gif

Good point though, Welbeck is both homegrown AND more utility. Only question is whether he is willing to stomach more time as 3rd choice (even when we are playing 2 strikers now).

sunblaze
post Aug 29 2014, 10:17 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Aug 29 2014, 10:14 AM)
kesian anderson no one want to take him...
Read that a Brazilian club was willing, but he wasn't =_=

No need to kesian!

sunblaze
post Aug 29 2014, 09:49 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(king_eric @ Aug 29 2014, 08:23 PM)
Me like too, but pity cant show his talent here. This guy is excellent playing in limited space, he's calm when under pressure and very aware of his surroundings. i just feel that sometimes, the other players dun wanna take risk and pass to him when he's being marked. kagawa likes to play in such space coz he posseses good one touch play. he will absorb oppo pressure and make space for the others to go fwd....

you put him in barca team, he become god...
i just saying..  tongue.gif
Not only that... there have been games where you see him making runs into open space... but then he doesn't get the pass. Forgot which game it was, fans even made gifs of Young having the ball and Kagawa being wide open and running towards opp penalty.. butttt didn't receive the ball.

sunblaze
post Aug 30 2014, 12:49 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Aug 30 2014, 10:43 AM)
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...s-freefall.html

JAMIE CARRAGHER: Don't blame Sir Alex Ferguson for Manchester United's freefall
The only mistake Ferguson has made is underestimating just how good he actually was.

Nice article.
Yea, he makes some very good points with numbers and facts
sunblaze
post Aug 30 2014, 09:32 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Aug 30 2014, 08:33 PM)
Last year when people said we don't have quality, I can accept.

This time we have quality from LVG to player on the pitch but this team is very much disjointed sweat.gif
Shaw, Herrera, Rojo all not on the pitch. Only di Maria could play among the new signings.

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 03:52 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Aug 31 2014, 01:29 AM)
Now if we really sell kagawa, can LVG promised this Mata can performed week in week out? How if he lost form or injured? Who to play that hole? Sometimes u just need to rotate between kagawa and mata
Rooney would be the obvious choice to move into the #10 role if Mata is injured.

Other alternatives: Januzaj, Fellaini (his best form for Everton was in a similar position).

This is assuming Kagawa really is on his way out.

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 03:57 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(juststayreal @ Aug 31 2014, 01:06 AM)
1) man utd already has the squad to challenge top 4
2) the only reason that they are failing is because of

FORMATION 3-5-2

anyone agrees? (whoever agrees +1)
Disagree. The team is struggling because of injuries (how many of our new signings have played extensively in our opening 4 games this season?) and players learning on the job on how to play.

Takes time.

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 04:13 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(john_white @ Aug 31 2014, 04:00 PM)
but fellaini cant be playmaker... in everton i think he just another second striker
maybe lvg can use him as super subs
sometime i think he can give something that ronney,rvp cant give
*shrugs* many ways to do it. main point i feel is that we got enough (central) attacking options to rotate around.

the bigger issue to worry about is CM and wide players.

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 04:32 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 31 2014, 04:20 PM)
sounds like sept 14 is going to be a good day? with everyone back? shaw, herrera, and rojo?
fingers crossed. this is one time when an international break buying us time is good.

flip side is hopefully nobody else gets injured during the break.

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 06:49 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Aug 31 2014, 06:43 PM)
Vidal deal still on?? Our last transfer?? Pls~
Highly doubtful tongue.gif

sunblaze
post Aug 31 2014, 07:28 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Failed JJ @ Aug 31 2014, 07:10 PM)
Does anyone actually think this RVP-Rooney-Mata front 3 can work? hmm.gif  I look at them and none of them can run really fast, there is Welbeck but his finishing is vomit blood level.  rclxub.gif

Why the fk doesn't LVG give Hernandez a chance, RVP doesn't even look fit. sweat.gif
RVP isn't fit.

Chicharito has played poorly when he has had minutes this season. Not sure why.

Actually Welbeck should play, his finishing might be poor but his speed and movement make our attack less static. He's linked with a move out though..

sunblaze
post Sep 1 2014, 10:54 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Aug 31 2014, 11:31 PM)
dortmund has confirmed kagawa's transfer

good bye kagawa! hope u can re-start your career there.

on the other hand, daley blind too has stated his good byes to ajax in his social network accounts

chicharito n cleverly soon to follow huehuehue
Heavy heart. Such a pity he never got to do for us what he did for BVB. Sigh... hopefully his move back there goes well for him.

sunblaze
post Sep 1 2014, 11:06 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 1 2014, 01:07 AM)
Well, SAF bought him but he wasn't even at the starting 11 under SAF. Moyes case is pretty similar, if you noticed how Kagawa played last season, how he exposed the left back leaving no cover at all? So SAF's fault too?

Surely you can say Kagawa was not used at his full potential, but as a player you are supposed to play what is instructed of you. Mata is a CAM, he played left/right but did he play as bad as Kagawa did? Nope. Kagawa is too complacent, he is too comfortable with one position making him non-versatile. LVG didn't like him, his attitude and refusal to play a wide role lead to his departure from the club. Januzaj, natural CAM or centre forward. Last season played left or right. Still nailed it. Why? They are versatile.

As talented as he may be, I don't see anything special about him. Good to see him back at Dortmund, hopefully he will become as good as what was expected of him, our club has too many no.10 anyway. Maybe flop isn't the word, more like unable to adapt to the BPL.
Specialist player. Basically he was a really good #10, and really poor in any other position.

I really feel SAF signed him with intent to have a replacement for Rooney in #10, but then he retired. Moyes keeping Rooney on a long term contract, emergence of Januzaj, and signing Mata was the nail in the coffin since all 3 can play #10 AND do a better job in other positions too compared to Kagawa.

Can say he didn't fit the team (since we are now flooded with #10s) and wasn't flexible enough to earn a spot in another role.

Still a pity for me, though. So much time being benched and played out of position, but never saw him throw a hissy fit or kick up any fuss. His attitude and performance at BVB are plus points for me. He just didn't fit into our plan.

For LVG obviously he wants players who can be flexible in terms of playing positions.... so selling him was the logical (but sad) conclusion.

QUOTE(damnself @ Sep 1 2014, 01:33 AM)
I am more annoyed when he asked for transfer twice.
EXACTLY
sunblaze
post Sep 1 2014, 11:17 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(theirwan @ Sep 1 2014, 11:10 AM)
Due to the news that chicharito might loan out to madrid, welbeck out to spurs and rvp need to undergo surgery and out for at least 4 months, I don't think that signing falcao is a bad thing.

So much for a midtable club eh? Hehe  brows.gif
Honestly, Falcao doesn't excite me.

Midfield and defense are the most problematic parts now. Midfield performance in our 4 games so far has been giving everyone heart problems, and the defense is not much better in terms of confidence.

Kagawa and Chicharito both out means -2 squad players who could not nail or seriously challenge for a starting spot. Hopefully more of this happens (trim down the squad player size) and we get the midfield and defense sorted.

RVP surgery thing is just a rumor so far? Could be nonsense? Even if it is true look at alternatives namely Rooney, Welbeck (loaned out?) and Wilson. Could just lead to us swapping to play 1 striker while RVP is out (since that would allow more players in defense/midfield). We got a fair amount of attacking midfielders, and since we only have domestic games this season (now left EPL and FA Cup only) we should be ok.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0513sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:01 AM