WTA DSLR lens

TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 12:37 PM, updated 12y ago

1,551 posts

hi , I new into this ,

looking one DSLR lens for shooting, any advice?

was thinking get one second hand unit Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens

price around RM1200

pls advice me

Newbieeeeee
post Aug 24 2014, 12:41 PM

:)
1,286 posts

What do you want your lens to do? What made you choose the 15-85? If you've already chosen why are you still hesitating?
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 12:58 PM

1,551 posts

I just see ppl sell this within my budget , so I think think ,

that's y I ask for advice here

mingyuyu
post Aug 24 2014, 01:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 12:58 PM)

do u see good deal then buy? doh.gif

if you don't even know why you want to buy other than the good price, then don't even buy it, it's a waste anyways.
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 01:04 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 24 2014, 01:00 PM)
do u see good deal then buy?  doh.gif

if you don't even know why you want to buy other than the good price, then don't even buy it, it's a waste anyways.
sifu wat u think?
I only have 18-55 stm lens , I just learn this

was thining buy myself a better lens,

any advice?

mingyuyu
post Aug 24 2014, 01:34 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 01:04 PM)
sifu wat u think?
I only have 18-55 stm lens , I just learn this

was thining buy myself a better lens,

any advice?
ask yourself what do you lack of from the 18-55 lens? focusing? IQ? build quality? or? If it's just little matter, then you don't need to upgrade at all. If it's more important things, like focusing speed and accuracy if you shoot moving subjects a lot, then consider to upgrade.

Even if it's a good deal, but if you don't really need it, it will only collect dust and left unused after bought.
ChinWY
post Aug 24 2014, 01:36 PM

633 posts

it is not the lens but the photographer that decide how the image is created.

having a good lens does help to give you some special edge but that has nothing to do with creativity.. you have to horn those skills yourself.. If you are lucky to have a good mentor than you will progress a lot faster (hopefully) but it all boils down to good habits and practice.. Going back to the same old boring place is good at horning your skills. You get to correct your mistakes.

I can stand on the same spot at the same time each day on top of the bridge with the same hardware and still come up with totally different effect each time... I dont get bored.. I just go home, critically examine the photo, go back and take another dozen in the next opportunity.

Once you master that , you hopefully learn and understand your hardware a lot better and then can decide what is your next best addition.. to pick a prime or zoom? all that will be part of your learning curve.. no short cut..

If you have deep pockets then it is a totally different story.. you can afford to buy to show and tell if need be.. that is a different game.

and lastly, each area of subject interest require different approach.. you am like them. you may not.. or you may even change through time.. they my require different hardware too..

Have fun and take plenty of pix.. you have already paid for the equipment.. it is FOC after that..
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 01:50 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 24 2014, 01:34 PM)
ask yourself what do you lack of from the 18-55 lens? focusing? IQ? build quality? or? If it's just little matter, then you don't need to upgrade at all. If it's more important things, like focusing speed and accuracy if you shoot moving subjects a lot, then consider to upgrade.

Even if it's a good deal, but if you don't really need it, it will only collect dust and left unused after bought.
Thanks for advice,

I think I should go to any course first before I buying. Am I right .
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 01:51 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 24 2014, 01:36 PM)
it is not the lens but the photographer that decide how the image is created. 

having a good lens does help to give you some special edge but that has nothing to do with creativity.. you have to horn those skills yourself.. If you are lucky to have a good mentor than you will progress a lot faster (hopefully) but it all boils down to good habits and practice.. Going back to the same old boring place is good at horning your skills. You get to correct your mistakes. 

I can stand on the same spot at the same time each day on top of the bridge with the same hardware and still come up with totally different effect each time... I dont get bored.. I just go home, critically examine the photo, go back and take another dozen in the next opportunity. 

Once you master that , you hopefully learn and understand your hardware a lot better and then can decide what is your next best addition.. to pick a prime or zoom? all that will be part of your learning curve.. no short cut..

If you have deep pockets then it is a totally different story.. you can afford to buy to show and tell if need be.. that is a different game. 

and lastly, each area of subject interest require different approach.. you am like them. you may not.. or you may even change through time.. they my require different hardware too..

Have fun and take plenty of pix.. you have already paid for the equipment..  it is FOC after that..
Appreciate that,

I really need a mentor, I don't have friend like this, I alone,

May I know where to get an starting course ?
flamephotography
post Aug 24 2014, 03:01 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 01:51 PM)
Appreciate that,

I really need a mentor, I don't have friend like this, I alone,

May I know where to get an starting course ?
Go to a camera shop with friendly sales man. Spend hours there to chit chat. Is better if you are purchasing something.

This post has been edited by flamephotography: Aug 24 2014, 05:53 PM
mingyuyu
post Aug 24 2014, 04:37 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 01:50 PM)
Thanks for advice,

I think I should go to any course first before I buying. Am I right .
don't need to any course for a beginner i think, there's plenty of useful information around the internet.

go to website like youtube/ 500px/ flickr more oftenly and you will slowly find the type of pictures you like then slowly observe and learn from the photographer.
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 24 2014, 04:58 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 12:58 PM)

Nono, why did you even think of buying a new lens in the first place? What do you want to do that your 1855 is limiting you? Do you want the 1585 because of the additional 55-85mm zoom? Or the USM? What?
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 09:11 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 24 2014, 04:58 PM)
Nono, why did you even think of buying a new lens in the first place? What do you want to do that your 1855 is limiting you? Do you want the 1585 because of the additional 55-85mm zoom? Or the USM? What?
Just wish to get myself a new toys, u have for sell?

Newbieeeeee
post Aug 24 2014, 09:24 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 09:11 PM)
I see. So there's no reason la? Just for fun. Hmm I'm not very sure about Canon's lenses, how about you try a prime instead? Like a 50/1.8. That way you can play around with the 1.8 instead of the useless extra range.
vincentlee90
post Aug 24 2014, 09:31 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

if this is the only reason, better forget about it. ppl get specific lens for various kind of photography needs
TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 10:50 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 24 2014, 09:31 PM)
if this is the only reason, better forget about it. ppl get specific lens for various kind of photography needs
noted, than i will stick with my 18-55 stm lens

TSderic79k
post Aug 24 2014, 10:51 PM

1,551 posts

by the way, need ask something , normally u all shooting use which mode?auto?
mingyuyu
post Aug 24 2014, 10:53 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

don't buy better, use those money in places you need more.
QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 10:51 PM)
by the  way, need ask something , normally u all shooting use which mode?auto?
depends, Av 90% of the time, M for flash. Tv for sports sometimes. Modes don't matter that much, as long as you know what you need to take control (iso? shutter speed? aperture?)
vincentlee90
post Aug 24 2014, 10:58 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 24 2014, 10:51 PM)
by the  way, need ask something , normally u all shooting use which mode?auto?
mostly full manual. almost 90%. only when shooting sport photography will changed to shutter priority mode
TSderic79k
post Aug 25 2014, 02:09 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 24 2014, 10:53 PM)
don't buy better, use those money in places you need more.

depends, Av 90% of the time, M for flash. Tv for sports sometimes. Modes don't matter that much, as long as you know what you need to take control (iso? shutter speed? aperture?)
Thanks sifu, really wish can learn from u more. I totally no idea of using it
TSderic79k
post Aug 25 2014, 02:10 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:58 PM)
mostly full manual. almost 90%. only when shooting sport photography will changed to shutter priority mode
Thanks sifu for feedback
ragnarokB2
post Aug 25 2014, 03:52 PM

137 posts

Master your kit lens first.
Know the effect of low / high aperture and differences between focal lengths. The kit lens covers the basic of these major aspects before you move one to specific photography.
After you decided which path to go, look for lenses within your desired category and do a bit of research. Statistics of lens alone is not enough to determine its performance, this is where reviews are helpful.
I also a beginner to photography, and just like you, I straight went to find a better lens since I got the money. Just recently realised what a mistake it was.
Attending a course is a shortcut, you can always google what you want to know. I spent over a month of idle office hours on photography site tongue.gif .
Also, DSLR is not all about body and lenses, accessories like flash and diffuser are needed too. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ragnarokB2: Aug 25 2014, 03:58 PM
vincentlee90
post Aug 25 2014, 08:11 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 25 2014, 02:10 AM)
Thanks sifu for feedback
i not sifu, i'm a hobbyist. anyway, if u want to learn photography skill, u must force urself to set ur camera settings with all manual
TSderic79k
post Aug 25 2014, 10:17 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 25 2014, 08:11 PM)
i not sifu, i'm a hobbyist. anyway, if u want to learn photography skill, u must force urself to set ur camera settings with all manual
noted, will try it out
goldfries
post Aug 25 2014, 10:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 25 2014, 08:11 PM)
sweat.gif and forum is where we come by crappy advice like this.

please ignore the above. you need not force yourself to set your camera settings to all manual to progress in photography.

The 15-85 is a superb lens. I've been using it since 2011 and it hasn't failed me, it's my all-rounder lens and my favorite.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 25 2014, 10:27 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

lol

instead of using manual mode, better read your camera manual and understand your camera functions.
goldfries
post Aug 25 2014, 10:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Maybe it's time we organize a lowyat.net photo outing again. biggrin.gif It's been a while.
SUSXiia0Ban
post Aug 25 2014, 10:31 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2014, 10:29 PM)
Maybe it's time we organize a lowyat.net photo outing again. biggrin.gif It's been a while.
It's good to hear that. Count me in. rclxm9.gif
vincentlee90
post Aug 25 2014, 10:37 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2014, 10:23 PM)
sweat.gif and forum is where we come by crappy advice like this.

please ignore the above. you need not force yourself to set your camera settings to all manual to progress in photography.

The 15-85 is a superb lens. I've been using it since 2011 and it hasn't failed me, it's my all-rounder lens and my favorite.
of course there's might a better way to improve skill smile.gif
goldfries
post Aug 25 2014, 11:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

The photography scene has been 98% technical but 2% art. Many are too focused on gears but know not what is a good photo.
vincentlee90
post Aug 25 2014, 11:50 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2014, 11:13 PM)
The photography scene has been 98% technical but 2% art. Many are too focused on gears but know not what is a good photo.
i'm quite often use M mode. of course, the difficulties is higher as quite often take "failure" photo. anyway, i'm agree ur statement
goldfries
post Aug 25 2014, 11:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Something's wrong if your M is quite often taking failure photo. biggrin.gif manual mode is best when you want consistency.

I use M for my product photos at my website. Photos are almost all straight-out-of-camera. In short, exposure is perfect all the way.

Even when you use priority modes like Av for example, the failure still happens because the exposure is only what the camera thinks but not what you want, that comes to exposure compensation part. smile.gif

In fact M is in some ways easier, for example at events. I would just set to 1/80 | f/5.6 | ISO 1250 and let the camera decide on the flash using TTL but if the ceiling and lightings are quite constant then one could even manually set the flash power and it'll work just fine all the way.
vincentlee90
post Aug 26 2014, 12:14 AM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2014, 11:56 PM)
Something's wrong if your M is quite often taking failure photo. biggrin.gif manual mode is best when you want consistency.

I use M for my product photos at my website. Photos are almost all straight-out-of-camera. In short, exposure is perfect all the way.

Even when you use priority modes like Av for example, the failure still happens because the exposure is only what the camera thinks but not what you want, that comes to exposure compensation part. smile.gif

In fact M is in some ways easier, for example at events. I would just set to 1/80 | f/5.6 | ISO 1250 and let the camera decide on the flash using TTL but if the ceiling and lightings are quite constant then one could even manually set the flash power and it'll work just fine all the way.
because i'm still learning with M mode
TSderic79k
post Aug 26 2014, 01:34 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2014, 10:23 PM)
sweat.gif and forum is where we come by crappyadvice like this.

Wow, think I have to grab the lens
goldfries
post Aug 26 2014, 07:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 26 2014, 12:14 AM)
because i'm still learning with M mode
ahh well, just use priority modes when you're out and photographing. Helps a lot. smile.gif

more important is to know when to use which mode.

goldfries
post Aug 26 2014, 07:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 26 2014, 01:34 AM)
Wow, think I have to grab the lens
http://www.shutterstock.com/g/goldfries
http://www.dreamstime.com/goldfries_portfolio_pg1

Guess - which one taken with 15-85? smile.gif
ragnarokB2
post Aug 26 2014, 09:29 AM

137 posts

Noob can hop in ah? drool.gif
inb4 too far
goldfries
post Aug 26 2014, 09:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Our outing has no restriction on brand nor skill level. biggrin.gif

It's just unfortunate that the participants are often Canon and Nikon. sad.gif Donno why they don't join, maybe inferiority complex or superiority complex. tongue.gif
ragnarokB2
post Aug 26 2014, 09:39 AM

137 posts

Poor photographer (PnS) : "Photo outing is only for rich gears"
Mid photographer (DSLR noob) :"Photo outing is only for FX gears"
Pro photographer : "Photo outing is only for those that can't make money out of their camera"
Like that?
SUSsupersound
post Aug 26 2014, 10:00 AM

11,554 posts

Depends what type of photos you want to take.
If more on night, fast zoom lense of F2.8 will be good, since boosting ISO or longer shutter speed will result to noise and blur photo.
But a zoom lense with F2.8 will cost >rm5000

TSderic79k
post Aug 26 2014, 11:26 PM

1,551 posts

okok, i waiting for it
goldfries
post Aug 26 2014, 11:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 26 2014, 10:00 AM)
If more on night, fast zoom lense of F2.8 will be good, since boosting ISO or longer shutter speed will result to noise and blur photo.
sweat.gif

1. there are plenty of zoom lens with f2.8 that are below RM 5k
2. if you think f2.8 is great for low light / night photos then LOL case already.
3. get a tripod / learn to use flash
4. pro photographers use ISO 12800 or higher even for night photos, just that many newbies aren't aware of it because they haven't actually met such pros. the more often come by other noobs that think ISO must be at ISO 800 or below.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 26 2014, 11:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 26 2014, 11:31 PM)
sweat.gif

1. there are plenty of zoom lens with f2.8 that are below RM 5k
2. if you think f2.8 is great for low light / night photos then LOL case already.
3. get a tripod / learn to use flash
4. pro photographers use ISO 12800 or higher even for night photos, just that many newbies aren't aware of it because they haven't actually met such pros. the more often come by other noobs that think ISO must be at ISO 800 or below.
Third party do cheaper than rm5k, but lasting or not it depends to usage, not to mention quality of the photo(I know, skill does matters, but I never see a paid photographer using third party lens on people's event).
Flash are good, but then once it can't reach, it still can't.
Tripod are good for slow or still, but not for fast moving objects.
You are right, f2.8 are not everything, but still on an entry level body, it still can help.
goldfries
post Aug 27 2014, 12:02 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1. NEW Canon 16-35 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 can be acquired for less than RM 5,000. 3rd party lens photo is actually pretty good, not that people can tell the difference.

2. your posts mentioned NIGHT but not specific so I highlighted what are the options available.

in reality f2.8 could allow you faster shutter speed but it's not always the better lens. an f/4 lens with IS (2 - 3 stops advantage) could in many situations work better than an f2.8 lens.

case by case, at events people often shoot at f/4 - 5.6 with flash.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 27 2014, 07:58 AM

11,554 posts

But non of the Nikons are at the price you mentioned.
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 27 2014, 11:49 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 27 2014, 07:58 AM)
A Tamron 70200/2.8 costs only less than RM3k
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 27 2014, 11:49 AM

1,286 posts

double post

This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Aug 27 2014, 11:49 AM
SUSsupersound
post Aug 27 2014, 11:50 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 27 2014, 11:49 AM)
A Tamron 70200/2.8 costs only less than RM3k
But I still prefer Nikon's lens drool.gif
goldfries
post Aug 27 2014, 11:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 27 2014, 07:58 AM)
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f2.8D ED

AF-S Zoom Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF Autofocus Lens is slightly above RM 5k i believe.

can't get the trinity f/2.8 smile.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 27 2014, 11:36 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2014, 11:15 PM)
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f2.8D ED

AF-S Zoom Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF Autofocus Lens is slightly above RM 5k i believe.

can't get the trinity f/2.8 smile.gif
Both you mean new or used?
Used 17-35mm need rm3800 last time when I came across it.
goldfries
post Aug 27 2014, 11:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Referring to new. smile.gif Used unit I think you could get some of the trinity lenses under RM 5k.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 28 2014, 12:22 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2014, 11:48 PM)
Referring to new. smile.gif Used unit I think you could get some of the trinity lenses under RM 5k.
Nope, 17-35mm still fetching rm6000 for new. That's beginning of the year price I got. Getting this better go for 14-24mm, which is about there also.
If the trinity set of f2.8, it still need rm11000-15000 sweat.gif
goldfries
post Aug 28 2014, 12:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

most people aim for the 14-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 trinity for no overlap. biggrin.gif

alternatively one can just go for 16-35 + 24-120 + 70-200 F4. If I were to go Nikon FX body I would go for those, all lenses have VR.
Ask_Yip
post Aug 28 2014, 08:36 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 26 2014, 10:00 AM)
not all zoom lens with f2.8 cost >rm5000

and aperture is not the only factor for low light photography
SUSsupersound
post Aug 28 2014, 08:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 28 2014, 08:36 PM)
not all zoom lens with f2.8 cost >rm5000

and aperture is not the only factor for low light photography
Yup, you are right, not all cost >rm5000, when considering non Nikon together.
All the elements(aperture, ISO, shutter speed) are equally important.

0.0267sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:52 PM