70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

~Camcorder Thread~, All Brands - DV, DVD or HDD

C-Fu
post Sep 10 2006, 11:19 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

www.youtube.com is a great place to share vids for starters.

and mvx3i? KEEP IT! its a great camera, superb lens. seriously dude that is a great cam for the price, its still a great one even now. just learn how to use the aperture and gain up settings.

This post has been edited by C-Fu: Sep 10 2006, 11:19 AM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2006, 11:39 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Sep 10 2006, 11:19 AM)

and mvx3i? KEEP IT! its a great camera, superb lens. seriously dude that is a great cam for the price, its still a great one even now. just learn how to use the aperture and gain up settings.
Yeah, I think its a great camera. Some more at RM1599 new. I can't resist myself tongue.gif Got it from warehouse sale. I didn't think of buying one. I thought of getting Sony 3mp Hc90e camcorder, the best lowlight camcorder at RM3000. but mvx3i totally got me tongue.gif
ozak
post Sep 10 2006, 12:27 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Sep 10 2006, 11:19 AM)

As we just an average jo, how we know which or what camcorder lens is the best? And each brand claim there have a good lens. I used to own a Hi8 with carl leis lens. Since it is a analogue, not much I can't done with the quality picture. Now I get a panasonic 3ccd with leica lens. But I still not satify with the quality picture that I get. Maybe my expextation is too high. My main now is how to improve it in NLE. What codec, setting, encoding or filter apply to it is the best. I m still playing around with this setting. Hope C-Fu can teach us more. Thanks in advance C-fu. icon_rolleyes.gif
C-Fu
post Sep 10 2006, 05:37 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

hmmmmmmm which lens is the best.....

i also dunno how to check biggrin.gif

well, I guess the best way is to do your research via google, DV magazine, etc. first. magazine reviews are great, IMO. although camcorder mags are kinda expensive, you don't really have to get them every single month.

http://www.camcorderinfo.com is good, but there are hundreds of great camcorder or dv sites. dvguru la, studiodaily la, dvguru la, dvcreators la - best to check around for info on which cam to use, on which budget. http://www.videoguys.com/ is perhaps the biggest (but crappiest looking haha) site for video stuff.

http://www.downloadsquad.com/2006/09/08/pr...-videos-part-1/
check this out. some dude made a great video, with a DIGITAL CAMERA. not a camcorder. perfect example of using what he know, not what he has.

Hi8 is a very underrated technology, IMO. if you have great lighting setup, good shots, you can in fact produce great looking videos.

rule of thumb that most amateurs and hobbyists don't like to follow: be patient and hassle yourself more with the shoot setup, like lighting, etc. than trying to hassle yourself like hell in NLE. i find it very nice to see and read how people shoot DVuse with what you can get for cheap. those damn DV guerillas.... biggrin.gif you want great lights? use tangloons!

http://www.izzyvideo.com/
eh what's this? whistling.gif
http://digitalliving.cnet.co.uk/specials/0...280337-1,00.htm
eh? whistling.gif

a question, did you guys went to the recent IBIS at KLCCC? rugi la if you didn't go!

This post has been edited by C-Fu: Sep 10 2006, 10:53 PM
ozak
post Sep 11 2006, 01:57 AM

17,021 posts

Thanks c-fu. The website info is fantastic. Will need somtime to read all of it. Using camera to shoot video is not bad also. I discover the picture quality is much better than my 3ccd camcorder. I just brought a Canon S3 camera last month and try out the video shooting. Supriselly it so clear and sharp. Only the problem is the preimeire cannot read the file format. Got to convert to others codec. Damn. Got to abandon my camcorder already. Taken video shooting more than taken picture using my camera. heheheh...
kingmarul
post Sep 12 2006, 03:40 PM

13 posts

hi all...
last time i bought miniDV camcoder to shoot my weeding day but since the camcoder had a prob (and still at JVC manufacture), i think i want to buy a new one....and i dont like the miniDV system...i mean i have to convert into my pc also i should hv a big storage....damn it vmad.gif ....but i know the quality of miniDV tape is better but i need the easier system like DVD camcoder...can just record like plug and play...or if i'm busy just leave it in the cd...dont worry 'bout my pc storage...
so, my question is what model is the best (my budget < 2.5k) and can u all (my frenz) gv a various model so i can hv a choice to choose which one better...
C-Fu
post Sep 13 2006, 07:14 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

then you are in the "just shoot2 stuff" lo. which means that I'd have to recommend you to get hdd-based cameras.

but really, mpeg2 isnt really designed for editing, so you might encounter problems with it.

and if you really want editing, then you gotta invest lah. aiyo how much is a 400gb sata harddisk nowadays wat.
andybiz_2005
post Sep 13 2006, 10:49 PM

143 posts

Great to have you C-Fu on this thread. A very knowledgeable guy who freely shares his info. Much of what he said is true. Well, currently the leaders in lens are Sony (Carl Zeis), Panasonic (Leica Dicomar) & Canon (Canon). I have tried to search on Google to find out which of these 3 lenses are the best, but so far turned out with zero results.

One thing to note about harddisk-based camcorders is that they're more fragile & can get easily broken, esp when dropped. As you know external notebook harddisks are already so fragile that you take great care not to drop it. Even more so a hdd-based camera.

I would personally recommend Panasonic cameras instead of Sony as Sony cams are overpriced & I've read many Internet reports of dissatisfied customers of Sony & how their customer support give them a hell of a time. Do a google search on "Sony sucks", or "Sony customer complaints"

I have personally dealt with Panasonic customer service staff a number of times & all those times have been pleasant experiences of really caring, patient & helpful staff. Kudos to Panasonic. I'm running out of time, will contribute more to this thread later. Meanwhile......stay tuned smile.gif

Andrew
C-Fu
post Sep 14 2006, 03:27 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

if you think those three lenses are the best ones, wait till you see RED lenses for yourself...... OMG

RED cams are like ferrari, and your average consumer camcorders are like..... basikal XD

every single cam fanatic that I've seen and read about are pissing in their pants waiting for this cam to come out.....

http://red.com/

macam robot siot! u like 12MP dSLR cameras? well how about 12MP video cameras?

Only the problem is the preimeire cannot read the file format.

what about premiere pro 2.0?

This post has been edited by C-Fu: Sep 14 2006, 04:17 AM
andybiz_2005
post Sep 14 2006, 08:51 AM

143 posts

Yes yes, C-Fu. I've been aware of The Red One since last year. So cheap! Costs only USD17,500 compared to the Cinealta, Varicam, XDCAM, or Arriflex D20, or even the Viper Filmstream which can cost half a million dollars with prime lenses, cinegear, etc. The D20 can only manage 2K resolution but the RedOne hopefully will be able to come out end of this year with 4K resolution. Jim Jinnard of the Oakley Corporation is the master-mind behind this beast of a cam. He's a photographer first & an cinematographer second. I'm very confident in the lens that Jim makes for the Red, since his company has had years of experience making lenses for Oakley sunglasses. If Jim Jinnard can pull this wonder camera off, then I'm sure Sony's Cinealta & Panasonic's Varicam will really loose market share. The Red is gonna RED-efine the way future movies are made. But the only way to project 4:4:4 raw 4K image unto widescreen will be to use Sony's ultra-HD projector systems. The only cinema camera I think that is better than the Red is the Panavision film cameras used to shoot most Hollywood flims. But then again, the Panavisions are only for rent, not for purchase. I wonder, if they sold the Panavisions, how much would it cost? Any ideas C-Fu?

The problem I see in the future if the RedOne does get to market is what NLEs will support raw unconpressed 4:4:4 image & what kind of editting workstations can handle such collosal video data processing? It's great having a superb camera to shoot with, but then how will we edit it, assuming we want the very best quality (raw)?

This post has been edited by andybiz_2005: Sep 14 2006, 08:52 AM
andybiz_2005
post Sep 14 2006, 08:57 AM

143 posts

The RedOne decided to use a CMOS sensor the size of 35mm film instead of CCDs. Some people argue that 3CCDs are better than just 1 CMOS chip, but I beg to differ. It depends on how the sensors on the CMOS are spaced together & the overall dimensions (35mm). So a bigger CMOS sensor, as Red calls it the Mysterium will really look a lot like film. I like the look of the RedOne cage. It looks so cool don't you think?

The DVX100A on it's own can only manage 4:2:0 color samples natively, but if you want to get 4:4:4 color samples out of the DVX, it's possible. You have to purchase the Andromeda add-on. This module has to be inserted into the camera where their technician will have to open up your DVX & install this module. Therefore your camera's warranty will be void.

But with this Andromeda add-on, you can actually capture full 4:4:4 color samples from your DVX. Currently, Reelstream has begun supporting PAL DVXs, but the software that comes with it only supports the Mac platform, not the Windows yet. It's pretty expensive too. Check out this url : http://www.reel-stream.com/headline.php?id=104

This post has been edited by andybiz_2005: Sep 14 2006, 09:04 AM
lokgotz
post Sep 14 2006, 09:48 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

i am using a Canon XL-1....but i am a total noob in video recording.....hehehe.....that camcorder is my company's.....and i heard it's quite expensive....

can i just ask...

for DVD camcorders, the media they used...is it the same as the ones we use on computers???

because the ones i saw selling in Sony wings, they are about rm40-50 per pc.....whereas the computer ones are just about rm3-4....

what's the difference??

thanks!
andybiz_2005
post Sep 14 2006, 10:01 AM

143 posts

I think the DVDs used in camcorders are smaller diameters & less capacity than regular DVDs used in PCs.
ozak
post Sep 14 2006, 01:15 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Sep 14 2006, 03:27 AM)
if you think those three lenses are the best ones, wait till you see RED lenses for yourself...... OMG

RED cams are like ferrari, and your average consumer camcorders are like..... basikal XD

every single cam fanatic that I've seen and read about are pissing in their pants waiting for this cam to come out.....

http://red.com/

macam robot siot! u like 12MP dSLR cameras? well how about 12MP video cameras?
what about premiere pro 2.0?
Wah! That camcorder look futuristic and damn high spec. If it make avaiable for consumer market, I m the first one to buy it. Price high. No problem. Even ve to pawn my underwear. tongue.gif

I m still using premiere pro1.5 and Sony standard premiere. will try it out. Thanks.
andybiz_2005
post Sep 14 2006, 01:27 PM

143 posts

Actually, the RedOne camera is more for serious movie makers. It's a film camera replacement for making Hollywood movies.
kingmarul
post Sep 15 2006, 03:04 PM

13 posts

thanks for all of u guys....more info here...gud sharing... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif .....
currently which one is the best HDD or DVD camcoder system???... thumbup.gif
C-Fu
post Sep 16 2006, 08:12 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

I only know the everio series for hdd-based cams...
Hotel_California
post Sep 17 2006, 06:58 PM

50 posts

Thanks everyone! I was hoping for some insight into this area from such well versed people from the industry!
Hotel_California
post Sep 17 2006, 07:07 PM

50 posts

Actually I don't mind cheap cameras. I've always thought the quality of the work is from the artist than the equipment. Also I can save money for other stuff! flex.gif
andybiz_2005
post Sep 17 2006, 08:47 PM

143 posts

You're welcome Hot California. You're right, more than just cutting-edge cinema technology & good cinematography, what is the most fundamental & most important in movie-making is a superb & interesting storyline. If the script tells a good story, then good cutting-edge technology & directing will follow. When people are watching a movie, they don't oohh! & aahh! at great the lighting is, or how artistic the camera angles are, or what an excellent director he/she is. They just want to see a good story unfold infront of them.

70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:11 PM