~Camcorder Thread~, All Brands - DV, DVD or HDD

Cyclone
post Jun 8 2007, 09:27 AM

**Dark Knight**
Validating
1,227 posts

any one knows how much is the cost of the tape (1 hour, miniDV) ? i think im gonna take the sony HC48E smile.gif
williamngwl
post Jun 8 2007, 09:36 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone @ Jun 8 2007, 09:27 AM)
any one knows how much is the cost of the tape (1 hour, miniDV) ? i think im gonna take the sony HC48E smile.gif
DVM-60R
Mini DV Tape (Regular Memory)
RM45.00

DVM-60RM
Mini DV Tape (Premium)
RM58.00

DVM-60MM
Mini DV Tape (Master Memory)
RM108.00
BeastX
post Jun 9 2007, 09:32 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone @ Jun 8 2007, 09:27 AM)
Dont pay more than rm15 per tape...
motohead
post Jun 11 2007, 03:59 PM

149 posts

Since there are lotsa camcorder experts here, can anyone help me to figure this out?

I have been using a Sony TVR33 for past 4 years. Used mainly for home video. Everything is fine. I capture the video from the MiniDV tape from the camcorder with FireWire cable. For the software, most of the time I use ULead VideoStudio 8.0. Then burn into DVD.

My problem is, I am not able to capture the date and time stamp which is on the tape. When I playback the tape directly on the camcorder, or output to the TV through the camcorder, I can see the date and time stamp in my footage. But when transfered the video to the PC, there is no date nor time stamp.

I want the date and time stamp on the video in my PC, and thus DVD. I want to be able to remember the date the footage was shot. I have checked all the option on my camcorder but couldn't find any thing on allowing/blocking the date from being exported to the PC.

Appreciate if someone could help me out here. sad.gif
sotong168
post Jun 11 2007, 10:04 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(motohead @ Jun 11 2007, 03:59 PM)
I want the date and time stamp on the video in my PC, and thus DVD. I want to be able to remember the date the footage was shot. I have checked all the option on my camcorder but couldn't find any thing on allowing/blocking the date from being exported to the PC.
Appreciate if someone could help me out here. sad.gif
it's not your camcorder's fault, it is rely on whether your video capture software provides the feature or not; that is one of the reason i chose cyberlink powerdirector, you can have the option to choose timecode to be on/off during capturing.

This post has been edited by sotong168: Jun 11 2007, 10:06 PM
motohead
post Jun 12 2007, 06:57 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 11 2007, 10:04 PM)
that is one of the reason i chose cyberlink powerdirector, you can have the option to choose timecode to be on/off during capturing.
Thanks. Will google for cyberlink powerdirector later.
eng98
post Jun 19 2007, 07:59 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

hey guys... i just got the SR42E... just want to ask that... anyway i can record it in MPEG2 format? i play PC playback shows that is a MPEG format... thanks guys
stringfellow
post Jun 20 2007, 01:55 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The very reason why im disinclined to pick DV tapes over HDD, is the real-timeness of it all, from recording, reviewing, transfer and editing. Compared both the Canon HV20 yesterday with Sony HDR-SR1E, and although the Canon HV20 has the slight edge on image quality, the very fact that it runs on HDV tapes totally turns me off. I dont find turning back the hand of time rewinding and forwarding tapes ala VCRs exciting.

Still considering though, but it's only a matter of time before im convinced about my going to an HDD-based camcorder....unless someone here can convince me otherwise.
nightzstar
post Jun 20 2007, 11:10 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

Hey guys and girls wanna ask. Do camcorder have memory card function instead of using hd and dvd?
C-Fu
post Jun 20 2007, 02:03 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

The ones that can take pictures have memory cards.
betaiso
post Jul 8 2007, 11:39 PM

110 posts

SONY DCR-DVD908E

http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/p...ubcategoryid=20

This post has been edited by betaiso: Jul 10 2007, 09:53 PM
dashday
post Jul 24 2007, 11:11 AM

20 posts

Hi all

I own Sony DCR SR42E HDD base cam, picture indoor shoor quality is good when ur lighting is good, but if dark better find some emergency light or 'kalimantang' light for lighting purpose hi hi,

But outdoor shot my S2 IS camera perfomance much better than this cam. but of course lah

Canon S2 IS compression = .avi

Sony DCR SR42 E = mpeg2

no wonder lah ( correct me if i wrong)

This post has been edited by dashday: Jul 24 2007, 11:15 AM
neoardi
post Jul 25 2007, 06:30 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 20 2007, 11:10 AM)
Hey guys and girls wanna ask. Do camcorder have memory card function instead of using hd and dvd?
Sony Singapore just release this new model....using only mspd and records in HiDef... drool.gif But the price... doh.gif
http://www.sony.com.sg/handycam/products/hd/cx7e.html

This post has been edited by neoardi: Jul 25 2007, 06:31 PM
sotong168
post Jul 25 2007, 07:22 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 25 2007, 06:30 PM)
Sony Singapore just release this new model....using only mspd and records in HiDef... drool.gif But the price... doh.gif
http://www.sony.com.sg/handycam/products/hd/cx7e.html

what format it record in? how long could store on a 8gb card?
neoardi
post Jul 25 2007, 08:52 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jul 25 2007, 07:22 PM)
what format it record in?  how long could store on a 8gb card?
The new Handycam HDR-CX7 model is the world's smallest and lightest AVCHD high-definition camcorder. It can record nearly three hours of full HD 1080 video on an 8-GB Memory Stick PRO Duo(tm) media card (LP mode).

Note that, it says on LP mode, but on XP mode (the highest quality) only can records around 1 hours.
http://news.sel.sony.com/en/press_room/con...ease/30036.html

This post has been edited by neoardi: Jul 25 2007, 08:53 PM
average.joe
post Jul 29 2007, 02:29 AM

156 posts

hi all

i have been following this thread for quite some time and found it helpful in enlightening my insight on camcorders. got one thing to ask: current HDD (hard disk) camcorders mainly records into MPEG2 format. is there ever any HDD camcorder that is capable to record into DV-AVI format? from my observation so far, apparently there isn't any. i wonder what is stopping camcorder manufacturers from incorporating DV-AVI capability into their HDD camcorders. if storage is an issue, then let say theoretically a 80-GB HDD camcorder should be able to record up to 6 hours* of 25-Mbps footage (standard DV-AVI bitrate). technically or commercially, any reason or opinion? correct me if i am wrong. thank you.

*assumption: nothing else (stills, or recordings of different formats/bitrates) is recorded into the hard disk.

This post has been edited by average.joe: Jul 29 2007, 08:52 PM
weikeat
post Aug 1 2007, 01:26 AM

172 posts

can i ask how many times does the MiniDV can record?
i heard that, if record/erase about 5-10 times..the quality
will drop is that true?

mucklampir
post Aug 1 2007, 12:56 PM

318 posts

hello, i realised most sifu here said dv quality is best when u want to do editing. but how if no editing is needed? does it still outperform hdd with large gap?

currently considering sony sr42, panasonic sdr-h20 and jvc mg37. all with nearly same price 2k(all hdd too). any comments? and for dv the price less than 1k. its really temting but is ti too difficult to used if i can ignore the longer time needed?

videoman
post Aug 1 2007, 02:56 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(weikeat @ Aug 1 2007, 01:26 AM)
can i ask how many times does the MiniDV can record?
i heard that, if record/erase about 5-10 times..the quality
will drop is that true?
Wouldn't advise you to use MiniDV tapes more than once BUT..... if you are using your own camera then just whack the tape until it tears! I would only use it 3 times if I have to. After all they are only RM10 - RM15 a piece. I believe in keeping the master tape for backup purpose.

Added on August 1, 2007, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(mucklampir @ Aug 1 2007, 12:56 PM)
hello, i realised most sifu here said dv quality is best when u want to do editing. but how if no editing is needed? does it still outperform hdd with large gap?

currently considering sony sr42, panasonic sdr-h20 and jvc mg37. all with nearly same price 2k(all hdd too). any comments? and for dv the price less than 1k. its really temting but is ti too difficult to used if i can ignore the longer time needed?
Well, If there is no editing is involved then either one is good enough - HDD or DVD. That is if you are not worried about the quality of the video - just need to keep for memories.
Try out the cameras. Dont judge the camera by what you see in the LCD display. Record some footages, load it in your PC and compare the visuals.

DVcams(tape) less than RM1k could be tempting but are the specs equal to the HDD models. I dont think so. They may do good on outdoor shoots but indoors they probably suck.

Good luck

This post has been edited by videoman: Aug 1 2007, 03:07 PM
funnyTONE
post Aug 2 2007, 01:36 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

If the future of handycam is in High Def, isn't that going to be the end of MiniDV? Since MiniDV can't produce image quality higher than err....itself, how is it 'better' than DVD/HDD camcorder with 720p/1080i or 1080p video quality?

Plus, I believe only HD ready media can record a 5.1 audio, and MiniDV can't. Correct me if I'm wrong.

BTW, I just bought me a Sony HDR-UX1E. Yeayy!!

70 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:22 PM