QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 01:09 PM)
shopping cart all stuck University Multimedia University Thread V8, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate
University Multimedia University Thread V8, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate
Sep 10 2014, 01:10 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 10 2014, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 01:23 PM) The system so poor. One subject supposedly only 3 credit hours. End up they listed 5. Now i cannot add the subject because timetable clashed. Another sub in my course structure need permission from faculty only can register. Really don't understand. timetable clashing i think is error from your faculty manager or assistant manager side |
Sep 10 2014, 02:16 PM
Sep 10 2014, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 05:28 PM) hmm...I heard they are working with a company that do tertiary sub reg system..wonder y problem still occurs...the timetable clashing is the worst..certain faculties always kena complained almost every sem and yet keep happens...haiz if not mistaken, a UK company..this system is used by many unis around the world too.timetable clashing mostly happen because students are not following the structure anymore. so this is one of the reason why it is important to follow the structure, hence the policy. to make it worse, students who are not following the structure are taking different subjects. imagine that and see the multiplication. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 06:15 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 06:57 PM) 1. I did faced complaint before when people clashing subject even though following course structure.. the AM will usually arrange it nicely dy..then start getting request, so change here and there, finally become rojak..i used to complain too but after some time, i understand how difficult it is to do the timetable...need to take account of classroom capacity too.2. Not in FET, but for FOB, there are situation like tihs-> senior fail, senior retake, class full, junior no place to take, have to adjust course structure, then when they take junior slot, junior kena again, and this continuous several generation... with fixed capacity, junior say they folo course structure so they have the priority, while senior say they should grad 1st, so hv the priority...haiz~ another problem is when the faculty has to offer many repeat subjects, so have to pull lecturer from other subjects, so capacity also affected. haha several generation..yes..to be fair, as long as a student follow course structure, he must be given a seat...nice slot or not, different story. |
Sep 10 2014, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 07:17 PM) hmm.sometime I pity them, but cnt just say becuz it is tough then nvm ma...in that case the manager have to do something..after all students paid not expecting to listen 'susah la buat' if the AM has tried and cannot get an ideal schedule (which is possible due to clashing), then the only solution is, give priority to normal structure, followed by graduating students..those who are not following structure or repeating but clashing, then the student have to make adjustment to their own structure dy..take next trimester, etc. this is the consequence which the student has to bear. this is one timetable.hmm..i do agree when people repeat..things getting tough...so what to do? improve teaching quality? or better if increase entry requirement? I do heard from my senior last time mmu admission requirement very high..haha as for the quality, in an ideal system, the process is fixed and all output, regardless of input, will be of high quality but let's face it, that is impossible to achieve. like you said, there are some poor lecturers, myself have encountered them too and there are some good ones as well. however, education is not just base on lecturers alone. ask your friends, how many of them actually self study with extra materials? my own observation, none. some just rely on the few pages of slides..just to pass...and has been discussed before, some just have no interest at all. to be honest, our education at primary and secondary level is very very worrying. have you mix around with those new intake students? check out their fundamentals..or maybe, just check out the way they dress, haircut, the language that they use at FB...etc..you can guess the attitude dy |
Sep 10 2014, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 07:55 PM) hmm.ok, maybe they should take in.let's say next trimester..but if next trimester not offered/clash as well? so of them gonna wait 1 yr to take the subject again..n let's say there is 1 specific subject that many people fail, n appeal subject is not available..they gotta q for few yrs for the subject? If you ask me, personally my answer is yes. if the subject is not offered next trimester, then take it when it is offered again. there is supplementary test system. meaning you are given two chances. But fortunately, i am not the president Doesn't sounds good, especially when new policy cmg out, whereby extend gonna make it pay a lot..extra fine and etc..if let's say some1 really failed 3-4 times, he/she deserved it. However there might be other unforeseen situation, maybe not feeling well, and other thing that we should be taken into consideration. Of course this can be idealized whereby 'students' should study hard, get good result regardless watever other factor', but again when campus management can claim their problem on introducing new things (sub test/new system, watever) as 1st try, why cnt students claim that they cnt be a perfect 1 for the 1st try in final too? If campus management expect all the students to study hard, follow coruse structure, can all the students expect all the lecturer to be A+, campus facilities and system A+? I cnt comment much on new generation, but again, old generation always think that new generation are worse than them..or we can look from another side, why MMU fail to attract talents and good students? just my 2 cents Based on your example, if there is a specific subject that many people fail, the chance for it to be offered in the subsequent trimester is high. I am sure you are aware of this too. In your faculty, the number of repeat subjects being offered is many right? so this all consume resource and affect the normal subjects. Unforeseen things like not feeling well, etc..there is the supp paper again. If your MC is valid, you take it as first attempt. I don't get your point on,'why cnt students claim that they cnt be a perfect 1 for the 1st try in final too'. There is the supp system right? Yes, students can expect everything to be all A+ but are the students willing to pay a higher fee? On why MMU fail to attract talent and good students, that is a good question. There are some factors that I have come to observe: First, there are more unis nowadays compared to 5 years ago, so the talent pool gets distributed. There are good students, but the number is not as many as 5 years back. At the same time, scholarships..wealthy families..will always make overseas their top choice. Second, this may be based on personal observation but all my relatives (the good ones) are going for form 6 and consequently IPTA nowadays...some due to medic course, some due to cost factor. Could this be a trend? Third, bad publicity. I am not only referring to the last month protest but if you notice, MMU suffer from two things. The grads and students will never fail to mention that MMU is a money making university..and that MMU programs are difficult. This will make potential students to shun away (general, not top students only). At the end of the day, the students themselves will suffer (employer point of view) because of this negative publicity. Fourth, other IPTS unis are catching in research work. MMU used to be competing with the IPTA on the publications and grants. Nowadays, other unis are challenging as well. Research work is one of the tool to attract talents. Ask yourself why this happen? Is it because all the repeat subjects every trimester, etc are taking away the lecturers' research time? This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 08:36 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 08:58 PM) If yes, then what's the way to solve? things gonna continue to roll, not gonna end there. how to solve? hehe, no idea...but from mmu point of view, the new policy is one of the way to reduce it i guessYes for FET, but maybe not for FOB or FOL.. Let's say I sicked for quite some days and get well right 1 day before exam, any comment?I know this might be extreme case, but there are such people as well. you gotta achieve a minimum marks in order to go to sup test, that's the trick here. What I am trying to say is that , if management claim dun expect them ..we dun say A+, but at least up to standard (dun tell me server problem happens every sem is up to standard, n the new cmg 1 oso like that), how could they expect all the students to pass all the paper and follow course structure? I do agrees on the 1st 2 points, and I see nth much MMU can do, but for point 3, yes I do see that happens..and MMU rather spend money on big advertisement board on there, than putting the money to improve the facilities so that students will help publicize.. well, if mmu expect students to manage their time well, able to study hard and score well, I think it is not that bad for students to expect lecturers to manage their time and able to provide quality teaching and researches despite the teaching work load as well? =P and after all, students pay for lecturers to teach, not to do research, eventhough i do aware that research is the main player for a lecturer.but sometime I don't really feel good when certain lecturer say ," it is not my responsibility to teach u, my focus is do research," fine then, get all your salary from research grant, dun ask students to pay for tuition fee. seriously, if you are not feeling well..get an MC from the panel..one of the reason why students tend to sit the paper even he is sick, is because of another favorite MMU rumor, that supp paper gonna be tougher minimum marks for supp paper is 40 only ler..if you cannot get 40, then seriously, better study the whole course again to improve on knowledge and skill. aiyo, that server issue you bring up to management la..i also face palm see this camsys funny that you bring up on the advertisement board...one of the many thing about MMU is, the money spent on marketing and advert has been very low all this while compare with other IPTS. In fact, you can hardly find MMU advert all these while until recently. Bear in mind, as in all organization, there will be budget allocation for A, B and C. as already shown by the slides, facilities improvement works are going on. You cannot expect things to improve in a sudden. The procurement, tender process etc already consume months ler. you are wrong there. students pay to the university for education and the university pay the lecturers for their services. The three main items are teaching, research and admin works. we are talking about students who fail and retake subjects, which consume extra resources. on the salary from tuition fee, my statement above is applicable This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 09:20 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 10 2014, 09:08 PM) wait till u come public university MMU also the same but not so critical. research and publication are given a lot of focus too but lecturers wont sacrifice teaching because both are equal baskets.research and publication is so important that students are doing it for assignment and lecturers are putting their name on good paper writen by students I dont see tat much with MMU lecturer, but when u come to public uni they are missing doing their research project sometime even lecturer hours It have become so much an issues, that they are review this policy. Publish publish and publish more paper than the year before |
Sep 10 2014, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 09:41 PM) One of the reason why students still sit for the paper is because if you are taking supp, the most student can score is C, which is 2.0. For students aiming to obtain good results, obtaining a C could mean that 4 years of their effort will be wasted. If it is me, i would have taken the paper even with drug injection. aiyo, you need to read the exam rules and regulation. if you have a valid mc and approved by the board of examiners, you will be granted to sit for supp as 1st attempt..meaning just like normal paper..can even get A+Regarding camsys, server down when the traffic is high is one thing, server down even when there's no more students logging in is a new achievement unlocked. luckily i no need to log in to anything camsys |
Sep 10 2014, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 09:31 PM) hmm. it just remind me of gov policy, instead of improving the economic, increase the fare of causeway link so that people will not want to go S'proe work.. then have to eat chicken essence, ginseng, power root, jamu, etc to make sure fit and healthy during exam week Well, sometimes you sicked for few days and started to get well 1-2 days before final, not really sick anymore but still need to rest, that's where things gotta come.. well, 1st try ma..you tell me , do u tink the work of our system deserve even 40marks? hahaha I am not trying to complaint to you, I am just stating my opinion on this matter.lectuers may see themselves separate from managment since they have no authority on that, but you can't blame students to look both management and lecturers as one yes, why last time MMU spend little? becuz last time students praise MMU and attract their junior join. I entered MMU as my senior recommended it.. It was great during prof ghauth time, and after the zaharin..haiz. maybe new students really not as good as the old 1, then MMU should do something to adapt, not just blaming students to break the reputation. At the end of the day, no matter how much MMU put on advertisement, opinion from friends or seniors still matters more.isn't? of course mmu can continue to blame students not up to the standard, and things still gonna continue like that...haha Yes, and I am talking about those lecturers who can't provide a proper teaching and always mentioned that students should study themselves and dun expect on lecturer, den why should I pay? har? 40% consider low cut off point dy.. haha students..kena bar blame lecturers i dont deny that ghauth time...mmu golden years..after that...you know, i know.. the advert and marketing, i see it just as a normal marketing tool la..even manchester united so famous, still spend millions on advert..normal..on why now only wanna advert? maybe got a new dynamic marketing team. some lecturers who went overboard, just complain lor...cannot lump all lecturers into one just because of some negative ones. |
Sep 10 2014, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 09:47 PM) Ei is it? But what if the board of examiners don't approve and i have already skipped the exam? So now i get finally get myself sick during exam. You make sure you get a genuine MC from a valid panel..read the regulations properly coz got certain time and duration one..you skipped, then only you get MC..not so convincing mah.I only managed to register 4 subjects out of 6. One of it requires permission from faculty. Need to ask for a 'code' apparently. 2nd one is wrong credit hours assigned. Notified FOB but until now still no change. haha need to ask for code..like top secret |
Sep 10 2014, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(AansHans @ Sep 10 2014, 09:51 PM) Soooo how do you relate that the quality has decrease due to lack of good student? please elaborate.You guys tryin to say that the quality of MMU now has decrease cause lack of good students and less attraction due to IPTA and Oversea Uni's ?? Sorry to menyampuk.. I read mmu thread since last few version.. Then the impact goes to lecture as they lost interest in teaching the way they should teach?? I think it's time to do some massive changes~~ the quality of the programs, if you ask me, have actually increases because we have to follow these tight requirement from the various accreditation bodies. and if you are talking about the quality of the graduates, those good ones should be able to grad with no problems..quite famous sayings..mmu easy to enter but hard to go out i don't recall any of us here mention that the lecturers lose interest? wah, dont put words into our mouth...seditious ler |
Sep 10 2014, 10:03 PM
Sep 10 2014, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 10:02 PM) No need to put blames on mmu lecturer la. Most i have met until now has been good. Knowledgeable, patience, willingness to teach, punctual... actually will fed up for a while..and then start introducing new stuffs like open book, different assignment topic, plagiarism checker, etc..You know why lecturers become disinterested over time? Imagine attending classes everyday with the enthusiasm to teach, then turn up more than half of the students are playing with their tablet and smartphones. I've seen how management students do their assignment. They either copy paste the whole things from different articles with different font types, or or simply lump in whatever they know without thinking. Most or more than half of the students do this. So, imagine if you are the lecturer, are you going to get fed up? QUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 10:11 PM) wah, i want! QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:06 PM) don't get me start on FoL..you should know the lenglui SRC member from FoL right? This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 10:14 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(AansHans @ Sep 10 2014, 10:16 PM) Urmm.. no apology needed, this is an open forum My apology on my last words After all, it depends on an individual of what they responsible for ~ as long as they keen to work on it the lecture will help, am I right?? i am sure the lecturers will be more than happy to guide the students..you can see from the posts here, most agree that the lecturers are helpful...but as in everywhere, there will be some bad apples too...and these bad apples, i encourage students to lodge complaints as we need to weed them out. |
Sep 10 2014, 10:20 PM
Sep 10 2014, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:22 PM) wah, you don't update with SRC news ar after you leave MMU...SRC ler..hah don't want name her la QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:23 PM) actually i m little bit regreted took enigneering..hahahaha..so go take management, be top of them n enjoy like a boss with girls. XD your batch all guys?This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 10:25 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:26 PM) Retire ad ma..this batch 1 ar? I only saw 1 girl not bad 1..maybe thats' the you refer to.. yeah, should be that one..invite her to lowyat..she can become SRC rep here..can help to reply to students' complaints..sue no problem, i can summon many other law students here to counter but law 1 jaga jaga la..ltr tak suka sue u XD |
Sep 10 2014, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:29 PM) 10 consider many dy for ME programs, am i rightQUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:30 PM) later i go post at MMU crushesQUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 10 2014, 10:33 PM) aiya..dont want him la..need people with expertise in lawQUOTE(chaukeng @ Sep 10 2014, 10:30 PM) Im not sure why, but when i ask for advise from my lecturer, he asked me to never consider taking MBA. Though i have no idea why he said that. better ask your lecturer why he gave that advice..maybe on certain circumstances only?This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 10 2014, 10:35 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0457sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:14 AM |