4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

...... Pre-intel Macs' !, ...Any of you has an aged Mac ?

Kernkraft400
post Nov 12 2014, 12:15 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Anyone using a Power Mac G5 around?
Kernkraft400
post Dec 25 2014, 06:58 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Dec 21 2014, 09:30 PM)
....are u using it ... I have one, its a piece of art with a computer in it  smile.gif
Yes, I'm using it on a daily basis still for my fix of music through Spotify. Brilliant machine.
Kernkraft400
post Mar 26 2015, 06:49 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Just managed to restore my Power Mac G5 to 10.5.8 Leopard smile.gif
Kernkraft400
post Mar 27 2015, 11:00 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 26 2015, 09:34 PM)
dry.gif vmad.gif  sad.gif
alu casing?
Yeah bro, it's still a beast. Can run most programs of its time without hick up. Mine is the Dual Processor. Will post a picture smile.gif
Kernkraft400
post Mar 27 2015, 03:10 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 27 2015, 12:11 PM)
it is and i think it would be able to handle modern web browsers but since new web browsers need to be installed in new OS so even for basic stuff it crawls worst than my IP4  laugh.gif
QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Mar 27 2015, 01:05 PM)
Use camino?
TenFourFox, designed under the architecture of FireFox is good alternative. With 4 GB RAM installed, it's quite solid for normal use.
Kernkraft400
post Apr 1 2015, 03:48 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Will post photos of my beast when I'm done tuning it up smile.gif

By the way, any of you use Final Cut Pro or Logic Studio on a G5?
Kernkraft400
post Apr 5 2015, 10:09 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Final Cut Pro and Logic Pro on the G5 is still relevant and spot on! But I'm having trouble with the temperatures. How do you guys maintain a cool environment during heavy workload for the G5?
Kernkraft400
post Apr 5 2015, 11:22 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Apr 5 2015, 11:09 AM)
G5's are known to hVe heat issues... Like I mentioned earlier, most of us here ... Dnt push the beast to its limits anymore... Just wanting it to keep running as long as possible ... So we do not have much of an issue with the heat problems....

Unless some sifu can guide !

However, this one link WIC I picked up WIC is caused by the Hdd heat.... Check it out...http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G5/G5_drive_heat_tips.html

U should try it luck at Mac Rumours... Sure to find a solution !
Thanks for the fast reply, man. The beast rovers around 45-50 degrees celsius during heavy work. Been trying my best to lower down to 35-40 degrees celsius, do you think exhaust fans could do the trick?
Kernkraft400
post Apr 7 2015, 04:45 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

None of you guys use the G5 as a day to day computer? I'm thinking of running it as a server, but the heat disrupts me :/
Kernkraft400
post Apr 8 2015, 10:13 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Apr 7 2015, 05:34 PM)
If you going to use it as a server....for your other Macs....u can run it headless....that will take a lot of heat issues away... I ran my macmini headless... Its a huge difference... nod.gif
Haha I'm such a complicated person I find. Because I reckon the aesthetics and ergonomics of the G5 is just beautiful. Running it headless defeats the overall beauty of the beast. Thanks for the advice, mate. Will try to be creative to run down the temperature.
Kernkraft400
post Apr 10 2015, 01:11 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

The quads are known to have Liquid Cooling System (LCS) issues though.
Kernkraft400
post Apr 10 2015, 02:10 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Do you guys add in exhaust fans or running fans onto the G5?
Kernkraft400
post Apr 11 2015, 02:39 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Apr 10 2015, 03:25 PM)
However...if u are serious about it...then tis might b ur option... Of course minus the tubes..

[attachmentid=4405938]
This is something that I've been talking about, but I need to know the specifications and connections especially to make this work smile.gif

Thanks for the idea guys!
Kernkraft400
post Jun 15 2015, 06:26 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 15 2015, 09:07 AM)
i am still waiting for anonymous to buy the laptop dry.gif
What laptop? A Macbook white?
Kernkraft400
post Jun 16 2015, 01:09 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Anyone's willing to let go of Apple Airport Extreme that works with a G5? smile.gif
Kernkraft400
post Jul 21 2015, 12:43 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

I'm currently been beasting out my Power Mac G5 to run 1080p videos. Still tweaking.
Kernkraft400
post Sep 2 2015, 12:36 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

I'm buying a Power Mac G4, with a good deal. Condition seems mint. What do I need to consider before getting one? I'm in love with the G5.
Kernkraft400
post Sep 3 2015, 12:05 AM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Sep 2 2015, 01:09 PM)
Which Power Mac G4 ..... There three models... Not to mention the Power Mac G4 Cube !
Apple Power Mac G4 - Quicksilver 2002 (800mhz)
Kernkraft400
post Sep 4 2015, 04:35 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Any of you guys enable remote access from external network to your file server?
Kernkraft400
post Sep 12 2015, 09:14 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

So sorry, that this is about off topic. Since I'm buying a Mac Pro, which is an Intel machine.

Any thing I need to know before I splurge some cash on this machine:

Xeon 8 core 2.8ghz 512mb nvidia? Sifu please advice.

This post has been edited by Kernkraft400: Sep 12 2015, 09:14 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:13 PM