Compilation of Good And Bad Contractors V2

vernee26
post Apr 29 2021, 12:54 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Robert.johor @ Mar 20 2021, 09:12 AM)
Can you show some prove to show us, so we might be avoid from him, if you cannot proved that... that are meaning you are trying to talk Nonsense at this forum!
I’m fully support Mr Yap and he doing very well done job at the oval Resideces Klcc .
Please make sure that your words are correct and can show us the shit problem he been done.
Sharing my input here.

TLDR
Conclusion : I would recommend my friends and family to reach out to him if they have reno work, purely based on my discussion with him as he seems practical, honest and NO UPFRONT DEPOSIT required for wet works
Quality of work : I have no idea, have never met him before nor seen his work

I've been reading this thread and looking for tiling contractors and decided to reach out to Mr Yap and see how's it like.
My current situation : I have engaged an ID to redo my landed home. Generally, pricing still acceptable (of course slightly higher than general contractors) but tiling price was crazy expensive.

I reached out to Mr Yap today to provide a quotation for tiling works (hack existing tiles, cement screed + retile whole ground floor and toilets)

I whatsapped Mr Yap and gave him my measurements. He requested to have a call to understand better (quick response from him). He was quite chatty and wanted to provide lots of comments/input. During the call he understood my situation and provided very good practical advise :

1. Why pay deposit to wet work contractors??? (although he did say it was stupid of me to have done so, it was not harsh and I guess he was quite frustrated that consumers would do that).
His practise is that he never collects deposit but starts work first. His argument is if the company no cashflow to start work, you trust that company?
(caveat : not applicable for carpentry/built-ins as it's customized built)
Sound good in theory, but so hard to find any general contractors or even ID that doesn't require down payment

2. I shared with him my current quotation by my ID and he shared the market pricing/his indicative PSF pricing for tiling works.
He commented that my ID quote (with self purchased tiles) is expensive. If included tile price, then it's still acceptable. As there were demolishing works required (remove existing cabinets, hacking works for plumbing and electrical), he advised, better to nego with my current ID (since I've paid deposit) instead of looking for multiple subcons which will cause more communications/defect blaming headache later.

Based on the conversation I had with him, Mr Yap is practical and seems honest. Instead of wasting both our time and trying to win the job (him providing quote, site survey, me deciding whether to engage), he provided sound advise.

vernee26
post May 7 2021, 05:33 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vernee26 @ Apr 29 2021, 12:54 PM)
Sharing my input here.

TLDR
Conclusion : I would recommend my friends and family to reach out to him if they have reno work, purely based on my discussion with him as he seems practical, honest and NO UPFRONT DEPOSIT required for wet works
Quality of work : I have no idea, have never met him before nor seen his work

I've been reading this thread and looking for tiling contractors and decided to reach out to Mr Yap and see how's it like.
My current situation : I have engaged an ID to redo my landed home. Generally, pricing still acceptable (of course slightly higher than general contractors) but tiling price was crazy expensive.

I reached out to Mr Yap today to provide a quotation for tiling works  (hack existing tiles, cement screed + retile whole ground floor and toilets)

I whatsapped Mr Yap and gave him my measurements. He requested to have a call to understand better (quick response from him). He was quite chatty and wanted to provide lots of comments/input. During the call he understood my situation and provided very good practical advise :

1. Why pay deposit to wet work contractors??? (although he did say it was stupid of me to have done so, it was not harsh and I guess he was quite frustrated that consumers would do that).
His practise is that he never collects deposit but starts work first. His argument is if the company no cashflow to start work, you trust that company?
Sound good in theory, but so hard to find any general contractors or even ID that doesn't require down payment

2. I shared with him my current quotation by my ID and he shared the market pricing/his indicative PSF pricing for tiling works.
He commented that my ID quote (with self purchased tiles) is expensive. If included tile price, then it's still acceptable. As there were demolishing works required (remove existing cabinets, hacking works for plumbing and electrical), he advised, better to nego with my current ID (since I've paid deposit) instead of looking for multiple subcons which will cause more communications/defect blaming headache later.

Based on the conversation I had with him, Mr Yap is practical and seems honest. Instead of wasting both our time and trying to win the job (him providing quote, site survey, me deciding whether to engage), he provided sound advise.
Sharing my follow-up experience with Mr Yap

I decided to reach out to Mr Yap again, and this time not to request for a verbal quotation, but site survey for a more accurate quotation. To me, when a consumer decides to have site survey, they are quite serious and not “saja-saja” trying to waste either the contractor or their own time trying to arrange for it. My routine question to all contractors/suppliers is to upfront ask clearly if they charge any fees for site survey + quotation (I picked this up from a LY thread) to avoid any miscommunication or being “potong” by contractors when you don’t engage them.

To my surprise, Mr Yap who called me “stupid” ("why so stupid": does sounds like it's directed at me) for paying deposit to contractor/ID instead of 0% upfront and pay progressive (refer my earlier post), he wants to charge me for the site survey. If I engage him, then the site survey would be refunded.
(btw, the reno works not superly huge, estimated >RM60k)

I’m not upset nor pissed at Mr Yap, it’s a free market, he has the right to determine if it’s FOC site survey or not, and for consumers to decide if they want to pay for it. Just that based on the above paragraph, I was a bit surprised that it’s coming from him.
So far from my personal experience, main cons, termite companies, and other sub-cons I’ve gone through provides FOC site survey and I intend to keep it that way as my personal preference. Anyhow, I politely informed Mr Yap I do not intend to proceed with site visit with him.

vernee26
post May 8 2021, 11:18 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Robert.johor @ May 8 2021, 08:38 AM)
Mr Yao did show me your message,and he didn’t talk to you on phone call, just a text message. U ask for any FOC if for site inspection or call survey. It’s a normal practice service in construction and renovation line. And he offer to refund if successful awarded. Why not have a try with him? Meaning that, you are fishing here and there.
And the text you write out is already specific all the scope and floor area, if you truss a contractor, you wouldn’t have to ask this question of FOC or whatever.
Through out this. He mention to me he never and ever call you “stupid”. This you have to apologize to him in this post.
You been seeing a lot of house owner get con by the contractor, last advise Mr Yao is not that kind of businessman. Thanks for your feedback.
Just to be clear, hope we're talking about the same Mr Yap, not Mr Yao.

In my earlier sharing, I have clearly mentioned I spoke to him and already stated that he said "stupid", but I guess when it's a good review, nobody will criticize, my post even got a like from you!

QUOTE(vernee26 @ Apr 29 2021, 12:54 PM)

Well, I guess it's a case of "he say vs I say" and if it makes you or Mr Yap feel any better, I apologize and retract that statement as I do not have any proof of recording of him saying it.
Shall let forumers decide for themselves whose "I say vs you say" is probably true

1. Please see attached pic of proof that I spoke to Mr Yap for approximately 13min 55sec

2. I highly doubt it's "normal practice", perhaps other forumers here can share their experience if it's "normal" to pay for 1st site survey + quotation.
Anyhow as I said, it's up to the contractors whether they want to charge for site survey, no right and no wrong. And up to consumers to choose whether they are comfortable with that. Also as mentioned, from MY personal experience and preference, I would never pay for site survey and haven't done so after meeting more than 5 main/sub con/ suppliers.

3. What do you mean by "fishing here and there"? Getting multiple quotes? Isn't that what all consumers should do? get a few quotes to compare? Or perhaps you meant something else?

4. Quote "if you truss a contractor, you wouldn’t have to ask this question of FOC or whatever."
"You been seeing a lot of house owner get con by the contractor, last advise Mr Yao is not that kind of businessman."
Thanks for highlighting that many owners get "conned" by contractor, but at the same time I'm suppose to place my trust in a contractor I've never met which is being promoted by you? Blindly accept whatever the contractor tells you and not question anything? Consumers cannot request for FOC site survey or bargain?

I'm purely sharing my experience here and I believe all good and bad experience should be shared in this forum for everyone's benefit. But seems like some people only like to see "good reviews" of their "connections/recommendations". dry.gif

This post has been edited by vernee26: May 8 2021, 11:24 AM
vernee26
post Dec 31 2021, 01:17 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(NobodyII @ Oct 12 2021, 10:01 PM)
Planning to start researching for my 1st condo reno in Bangsar South area. Have been an active reader on LY kopitiam posts and of course, turn my attn here after lurking around similar topics in LY after getting my keys end of last year but due to MCO, shelve my plan to reno til now.

Looks like Yap is pretty popular around here, wonder those who took his services recently especially on the electrical part, still find fault with his workers?

From my very initial research, true, very rare for ID/reno company to start job without a deposit. Just wanted to know from the experience heads here, what are the deposit range you were asked to pay prior to starting work? 30% or maybe 50%?
ID reno company I engaged =
20% deposit (then they start doing the drawings - layout and built-ins, MBPJ application)
15% upon start work
30% upon completion of electrical wiring work
30% upon arrival of cabinets at site
5% upon handover

0.0180sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:15 AM