Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V13, MIUI 6 official developer released :)

briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 04:53 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

under the useful information. I think can put this. just imho.

Q: when never i upload a pic in instagram, it will end up a black blank picture.
A: Go to settings in Instagram, camera and turn off "Use high-quality image processing".

Q: whatsapp could not send picture, fb messeger could not send audio.
A: Go to Security app (the green one), go to Permission, Manage App Permission, go to App tab, find the application that is causing u problem, choose Trust this app. Reboot ur phone and try again.

Q: in messaging app, sms from same contact creates 2 message thread.
A: Install Number Fixer and add +6 to all contact numbers. Then when u sms the contact, ur message will appear in both of the separate message thread created earlier. Now it's fixed. But you'll need to sacrifice 1 message thread and delete it. Future sms from same contact will not create a separate new message thread again.

hmm.gif what else can add guys?

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 10 2014, 04:54 PM
briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 05:06 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Aug 10 2014, 04:59 PM)
should I put in 1st page?
about CM11, not sure. Coz I dun use it. laugh.gif Can include too I guess.

But I'm looking at stuff like FAQ. Some common app question asked by mi3 users. hmm.gif Waiting for other users to add on what to put in FAQ. Maybe others can contribute too. So far I can only think of these 3 problem.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 10 2014, 05:06 PM)
Thanks for this Number Fixer, I am finding such apps some times. smile.gif
welcome~ Just sharing some app that is useful for most of us. nod.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 10 2014, 05:07 PM
briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 06:52 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(kwwk87 @ Aug 10 2014, 06:47 PM)
You might as well add in the instagram blank picture fix. I forgot I posted on dunno what V liao. Occasionally there's still people asking for solution.

At Instagram > Setting > Camera > Untick "Use High-Quality Image Processing"
added in 5th post. Still looking for more FAQ to add. hmm.gif

Btw, Miui 6 to launch on 16th August? 16th August is beta test or official launch? drool.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 10 2014, 06:52 PM
briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 07:29 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Aug 10 2014, 07:21 PM)
Well, if you read HERE, I guess it's just a launch with 100 people only get to test it.

cry.gif
Because...

whistling.gif
shakehead.gif Well. Guess we'll have to wait longer. It's worth the wait if MIUI is based on android L and launch both the firmware update together. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Surely Xiaomi will neglect 4.4.3 and 4.4.4 as both are juz patch for some security issue as mentioned by Google.
briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 07:42 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Aug 10 2014, 07:38 PM)
Just curious actually since most newbies or less tech savvy would prefer to know that everything is alright
Tested the preview version on my nexus 5.

the visuals are stunning, refreshing actually. but still buggy, we'll see if Xiaomi's engineers are adventurous enough since Hugo already mentioned the kernel will be released soon  rclxm9.gif
kernel release = more support from xda, more mods, custom roms. thumbup.gif

I love Nexus 5's stock ui look, which is why i installed Google Now Launcher on my mi3. laugh.gif
briantwj
post Aug 10 2014, 08:39 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Aug 10 2014, 08:23 PM)
I'm on v23 and got problem displaying Lowyat forum using chrome, some part of it doesn't come out/blank. No problem when using stock browser. Anyone else got this problem?
same as me, but I'm using chrome, sumtimes the white parts blinking sumore. experienced same thing on my Nexus 7. So i suspect it's either Chrome's fault of LYN's website fault. hmm.gif
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 12:20 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Well. Maybe coz most of the Lenovo and Xiaomi users in Msia used the app to fix the area code issue instead of reporting the problems to Lenovo and Xiaomi. doh.gif

For us still ok, we can fix it on our own. If to those elderly who is not computer literate, then pity them.

Better most of us make a feedback on this case in miui forum. hmm.gif
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 12:46 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

I've done my part. Select report bug and chose network issue. Not sure right category anot. Lel.

For those that is lazy to type, can copy pasta what i typed.

for Malaysia users. when the area code +6 is not added, it will cause several problem to the phone.

1) duplicate contacts in contact app.

2) some contact name not appearing in message app. instead some contact appears as phone numbers.

3) in messaging app, 1 contact will have 2 message thread. Meaning that message from same contact will not bind into 1 message thread. instead it separates into 2 message thread.

hope there will be an update to solve this issue.
Not sure if my description described most of the +6 issue. Come on guys. Lets all report this bug and make them fix it permanently for us for the next update. icon_idea.gif
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 01:32 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(haleluya123 @ Aug 11 2014, 01:23 AM)
no 1 have this problem after the latest update?
nope, didn't face the problem.

V23 is ok for me, maxis user, no call drop issue, no network issue, no sms issue after fixing the +6 using the Number Fixer app to fix it.

Now patiently waiting MIUI 6 and android L. thumbup.gif
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 12:27 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Aug 11 2014, 12:23 PM)
Last night about 11pm, while I was watching movie from my PC & my wife was asleep, I heard a blow up sound, my PC went blank. I had a shock....
Found out that my wife's charger - a 4 years old HTC charger blown up while charging her Mi3. Been charging the Mi3 for the past 3 weeks without any problem.
I quickly remove the phone & check, luckily no problem...noticed that, this happen after she updated to the latest ROM V23 & going usual night charging. Now it's back to Xiaomi original charger since the incident.

Anyone have this before? Wonder if this is got to do with the new ROM ?
a bit hard to troubleshoot. Might be the HTC charger issue maybe it degraded, or electricity spike, or might be the extensions' socket degraded. Was the extension socket in good condition?

Coz i got 1 extension, 1 of the socket damn scary, whenever i plug in anything (charger, kettle) into the socket, I hear like electric buzzing. sweat.gif
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 02:17 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Aug 11 2014, 02:11 PM)
Yup...my PC was not on the same socket, but was from the same main fuse. The small explosion trip the main fuse to trip. That's why my PC also kena. Nothing relate to phone. Just the extension & adapter burnt.

I would conclude the old aged extension & charger.
well. Look at the bright side, at least it's just the charger and extension problem. If ur PC and mi3 kena sure gg, nid to spend money to buy new phone again. Coz I think warranty will not cover for this type of situation.

Time to buy a new charger and extension. Btw, u can use 2A charger to charge ur mi3 too, will charge slightly faster. But iinm, Mi3 max can accept 1.5A input only. It will auto regulate to 1.5A when charging ur Mi3. nod.gif

I'm using my Nexus 7 2A charger to charge my Mi3, did notice that it charges a bit faster compared to the stock charger.

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 11 2014, 02:18 PM
briantwj
post Aug 11 2014, 02:32 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Aug 11 2014, 02:25 PM)
can we use 2.1A ipad2 charger too?
Not sure. But it shud b the same result i think. Coz Mi3 max input supported is just 1.5A iinm.
briantwj
post Aug 13 2014, 12:32 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 13 2014, 12:05 AM)

This is nice, though a bit excessive. I wish they'd do an in between product... one that adds a bit of bulk for enough protection (rather than ridiculous amounts of protection), without adding 2 cms to each side...
drool.gif

any1 willing to do bulk order?

$29.80 convert to RM is about RM95. Not bad price since it offers such durable protection. drool.gif
briantwj
post Aug 13 2014, 10:53 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Aug 13 2014, 01:11 PM)
sad.gif  cry.gif  My mi3 just gg afta 2 months , cant charge (no Led light) canot go in recover mode with manual way by pressing pwr + volume up buttons . Strange thing is it feel hot afta pressing pwr + volume up buttons but still in dead condition , will it explode lol
Is it ori? If yes. Pls send for warranty asap. Xiaomi Service Center

briantwj
post Aug 14 2014, 07:31 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Any mi3 user using the LG G Watch? Able to pair? I saw the requirement, it says phone nids to be running at least at 4.3. Juz wanna see if any mi3 user pair their mi3 with G Watch b4 anot and see how ut fares.
briantwj
post Aug 16 2014, 01:56 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

guys, could u guys find any live stream for the MIUI6 event? Could not find any. hmm.gif
briantwj
post Aug 16 2014, 04:09 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ Aug 16 2014, 02:36 PM)
Look...minimalist? And ain't this looked familiar. hmm.gif
I thot MIUI6 will be based on Android L. Mana tau its the looks that is based on Android L. laugh.gif
briantwj
post Aug 19 2014, 05:11 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Aug 19 2014, 12:04 AM)
mi3 what deference between  screen protector anti glare n clear ? which one better  ?

and for  mi3 case... flip case or soft case better ?
anti glare = matte finishing, less reflective, very little finger print, colours might degrade just a little
clear = very reflective, finger print magnet, requires u to wipe the screen frequently, colours shud look very similar to without screen protector, hence it looks like u are not using a screen protector. brows.gif

So basically it's up to ur personal preference. I use anti glare coz I lazy to wipe. If u don't mind wiping finger print and want it to look nice, can go for clear.

Both case oso nice. Just check if there is a tiny hole at the side of the camera flash. That is the back microphone of the phone. Make sure the casing have a hole for it. It not ur voice camera might not work. tongue.gif

I'm using aluminium bumper though. brows.gif
QUOTE(mrag @ Aug 19 2014, 05:01 AM)
managed to run google now launcher..thanks for tutorial.but the problem now is i cant find stock music player in widget.can someone who also using google launcher check this.
Just checked mine. Yea. No stock Music app's widget. rclxub.gif Didn't notice it b4 diz. Maybe coz I seldom use it. I installed MusXmatch Player and the widget appear though. hmm.gif

briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 02:35 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

hmm.gif some weird issue rrecently. After adding +6 to all my numbers.

In 'Message' app, it automatically remove the +60. So hp numbers appear as +60123456789. And sometimes, it still creates a new sms thread with same contact number. It's like if I sms from my contact +60123456789. When the person reply me, I will get a reply from +60123456789 and starting from a new sms thread. sweat.gif

And also when i reply the person, he did not receive my sms. But this problem is not consistent though. Sumtimes he can receive, sumtimes can't. Wonder if it is Maxis prob or mi3's prob. weird. Any1 experience this?

Btw I'm on Maxis and V23.

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 21 2014, 02:37 PM
briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 02:55 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Aug 21 2014, 02:36 PM)
Try a 3rd party messaging app and see whether it helps
might help. But I wanna kip my phone clean from 3rd party message app. sweat.gif

I've posted my prob in MIUI forum. Hope they have an update to fix the bug.

miui

0.0499sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:10 PM