5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V13, MIUI 6 official developer released :)

kadajawi
post Aug 24 2014, 01:16 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Aug 24 2014, 01:00 PM)
That's like the half price of Mi3.  shocking.gif
Sounds normal. Other brands also more or less like that.

You can check how much the screen is... I think Xiaomi has glued the screen to the glass, that improves image quality but makes it expensive to repair... need to swap the display when the glass is cracked. Some other brands let you only swap the glass + digitizer.
kadajawi
post Aug 24 2014, 02:23 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 24 2014, 01:23 PM)
screen... nope
others... yes
---
some digitizer is integrated, mayb tat is the reason it expensive
and dont forget, u need to pay for the workmanship... no free labor sweat.gif
I thought the digitizer is always integrated in the glass... the problem is if the screen itself is too. Cause that is really expensive. And yes, workmanship costs too, especially with a phone so integrated/one piece.

If it is 370 without screen it is too expensive.

The sound quality is really disappointing if it doesn't even match my laptop. Will try and connect it to my stereo later, see how good the phone sounds then.. My Galaxy Nexus did quite ok...

Not sure about the mod, cause then the profile will be really useless. But I'm not a fan of the sound they were trying to achieve... quite sounded... The Sounds sound better without profile, but Hiromi seems better with. You only removed that thing from the earphone? I thought some people inserted something else from another earphone...

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Aug 24 2014, 02:25 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 24 2014, 06:08 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Echo^fish @ Aug 24 2014, 06:00 PM)
hye guys.. before i know about mi3 i was looking at honor 3c.. but then i just found out about mi3 and interested to buy a new 1, where do u guys bought ? whats the current price? and is it safe to buy from http://www.mi.com/my/

* but need to wait for nearly 1 month for that shipment.. anyone bought from this website before?
mi.com/my is the only safe place to buy a Xiaomi. All other places you may end up with a fake or without warranty.

I bought mine there, and I think many others here too, some several times (I had 2 orders so far from them).

Delivery was within 1 week in both cases, but some waited longer AFAIK.

The Mi3 is clearly better than the Honor.
kadajawi
post Aug 24 2014, 06:54 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Aug 24 2014, 06:31 PM)
Can Samsung earphone use on Xiaomi mi3 ?

Because I know Mi3 does not include earphone in its box.

What Mi3 package include if my Xiomi Malaysia ? (online).  Does it include USB cable ?
USB cable, 1A charger (I think the phone can charge with 1.5 or 2A) and a bit of cardboard. The box is pretty though. biggrin.gif Looks posh.

As long as the earphones have a standard 3.5mm plug that's fine.

Box got sim ejector? Where?

Oh and if you really want to protect your Mi3, search for Love Mei for the Mi3. That case seems rather solid.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Aug 24 2014, 06:57 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 25 2014, 12:27 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Aug 24 2014, 09:46 PM)
U guys use any screen protector for MI3 ?
Temper glass ?

Is it necessary ? Because Mi3 already got corning gorilla glass 3 protect...
I do. Simple tempered glass one, RM 20. I'm not really scared of scratches, but when I drop the phone I want the screen protector to crack, not the actual screen. Screen protector: RM 20. New screen: RM 370. Plastic screen protectors won't help against cracks.
kadajawi
post Aug 25 2014, 12:03 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(blitzx @ Aug 25 2014, 10:58 AM)
What the difference between the china set xiaomi with the version they sell Xiaomi Malaysia? other than the warranty?
China got fake ones unless you directly buy from Xiaomi. And there are 2 or 3 versions. At least one doesn't work in Malaysia. They also come without Google apps. etc.

At least he is asking for a fair price. biggrin.gif Search for the Xiaomi thread in Kopitiam, or go to the garage sales.
kadajawi
post Aug 25 2014, 10:12 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Aug 25 2014, 04:53 PM)
I was using a USB port 2.0 lol...

now using wall charger le hahaha, i thought it's convenient to use the laptop to charge
Then, I will be back in another 4 to 6 hours to see if anything goes wrong with the powerbank. Thanks all for the input, really helpful  notworthy.gif
Convenient yes, if you have the time. laugh.gif

In the past few days I've noticed that not every time Whatsapp, Facebook Messenger, Viber etc. react to new messages or a phone call. I guess some rather aggressive power saving setting I haven't seen yet? Any idea where to check?

One handed... depends on your hands I would say. But it's a stretch... actually I prefer 4.6". I can reach most corners, but not comfortable, and a bit dangerous. Can't really grip it.

@ngkhanmein: Not complaining about the Pistons, they are fine for the price, though not great. But considering price, even if the build quality were absolute rubbish they'd be good. And the build quality is way beyond what you could expect for RM 50. If it were RM 300 I wouldn't be saying they are overcharging...
However the headphone jack of the Mi3... a bit disappointing. They said it's the same chip as found in some iPhone? Well, either Apple did something better or the iPhone sounds bad. If my old laptop sounds better something is wrong. In 2 weeks I should be able to compare Mi3 and a soundcard costing just as much, I'm curious how the difference will be. laugh.gif I'd say if you're an audiophile, better look elsewhere.

I'm rather impressed by the speaker though, it's clear and reasonably loud, good for listening to podcasts in the bathroom. biggrin.gif
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 02:44 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 26 2014, 01:49 AM)
For the whatapp, viber and facbook messenger to be able to get instant notification, you need to go to security app (not the security in setting app ) and select permission and then manage app permission, select the app tab and go to those app and add auto start and trust that app. Try it. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks, I will. Right now I have the security permissions thing off... will see if that works.

I can also see that method as useful if you only have one charger, and want to sleep. Instead of only being able to charge one device (because you won't wake up to swap the device) you'll get to charge them all, more or less.

The PB has been extremely cool to me... my other powerbanks tend to heat up quite a bit while charging and discharging, while the PB stays relatively cold...

I think I've been asked about my screen protector? I bought it at a small shop in a shopping center, mine is by Kemiao. No name one, but it seems to do the job just fine (it could be a bit bigger though, I'd say 0.5-0.8mm more on all sides would be fine, though you'd have to be very accurate). It is rounded at the corners and the cut out, which makes it feel nicer, more pleasant. I haven't had it long enough to see how good it really is.

Btw. I've heard that it's the oleophobic coating that makes the glass so tough and hard to scratch. But the coating wears off...?
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 11:52 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 09:40 AM)
No, oleo coating is for anti-finger print only, no other purpose and it wears out fast, so its a gimmick selling point only.
Misconception 2: The oleophobic coating, not the glass itself, is what's causing the scratches, so use sand paper to grind the coating away!!!!!!!!!

DON'T!. According to Corning's own documents (link below), the anti-brasion/oleophobic coating on the Gorilla Glass actually provides better scratch resistance than "naked" glass surface.

Corning performed an experiment where half of the Gorilla glass was treated with the coating and the other half was naked Gorilla Glass, and they rubbed silicon carbide sand paper on it. You can see the resulting picture on the link below. To use their words, there was a "significant scratching on the non-coated region whereas few visible scratches existed on the coating".

If you already have scratches on your Gorilla Glass screen, then it would've been worse had the coating not been there.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s2/...-glass-t1866049
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 12:09 PM

544 posts

Seems to me there is a difference...

So the question is if the coating wears off, will it still be as scratch resistant...? Or do SP makers use a lesser coating than what Corning uses?
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 01:20 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 26 2014, 01:02 PM)
china product? u didn't show me how i buy oh?? wink.gif

piston 2 won't beat those RM200 but soundstage indeed better than those IEM cost around RM1xx but what i tested m'sia piston v2.1 compare with sg unit got abit different in terms of the sounds quality..
He bought some earphone at a garage sales that used to be more expensive.

Not fair. New products should be compared with new ones, or at least relatively easily available ones. Also, second hand IN EARS? Yuck. biggrin.gif The Pistons 2 are good value for money.

@Cavino: Erm... translation please?
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 01:37 PM

544 posts

If you puncture Li-Ion batteries they can explode or at least start burning, so the casing should be strong so that can't happen. I'm fairly confident the Xiaomi casing is more than strong enough. biggrin.gif Might want to buy a casing for the PB though... not to protect the PB but to protect other things in the bag. laugh.gif Worried it will scratch up everything.
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 01:56 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 01:45 PM)
Oh yeah, it will scratch up all right. PB metal casing seems extremely susceptible to scratches. Gotten those silicon cases. Since the PB is mostly cool when charging and discharging, not really too concern if the silicon cases trap heat instead of disperse heat like the metal casing.
No, I mean I keep it in the camera bag together with my DSLR and lenses... I'm worried THEY get scratched. laugh.gif
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 03:19 PM

544 posts

@andrekua:

Good active studio monitors have an EQ built into the speaker. And for my speakers there's an accessory that is specially designed for the speaker to make the sound even flatter than it already is... 41-20000 Hz at -3dB, from relatively small bookshelf speakers. thumbup.gif It's put between source and amplifier (actually should be between pre-amp and amp, but that's too fancy for my budget), and it really works.

In theory Xiaomi has done the same, in practice somewhere along the way something went wrong.

As for being the most robust phone? I don't think it is anywhere near. I have a Motorola A925... the screen (plastic) was recessed by something like 5mm! That thing was impossible to kill, though I really tried (I got angry with it... a lot, but smashing it into the wall etc. couldn't hurt it). My HTC Magic too was impossible to kill. Parts are missing from the back, the back is cracked, paint is missing everywhere, the phone dropped countless times, on concrete, asphalt, tiles, even down some stairs (tiles), all without a casing and without a screen protector. There are no scratches on the screen, let alone a crack. They just knew how to design phones back then!

In terms of form factor maybe my favorite phone ever. All the necessary buttons, a nice cursor, nice to hold, and because of that curve the glass screen could never ever touch the ground.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Aug 26 2014, 03:20 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 04:44 PM

544 posts

Off-topic:

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 26 2014, 03:35 PM)
Probably not good enough.

My Edifier S2000 has a bypass function to bypass the Bass/Treble altogether.
Erm, the other way round. I'm talking about stuff like Genelec etc. Bass and treble dials are a sin, what I meant is profiles that are designed for the speaker, to counter any unevenness there is in the frequency response curve.

I'm using Nubert bookshelf speakers (the biggest, though not most expensive ones, actually quite similar to the Edifiers, but without amp).
http://www.bardey.net/events/nubert/high-end_2010/5989.jpg

Your Edifier are certainly impressive, but they represent the best Edifier offers, while mine are entry level for the manufacturer (their bigger speakers are also competing with for example the B&W Nautilus series). In any case, looking at the specs Edifier gives it seems to me as if either the numbers are... extremely optimistic or they are using an EQ. There is no way they are really getting 48 Hz out of those without boosting the low end. Again, nothing wrong with that if it's well done.

Btw., http://www.edifier.nl/e-gb/S2000_reviews.html It seems like you should turn off the bypass and just put the dials into the center setting.

On-topic: So far notifications seem to come through. Will see what happens when someone calls our land line next time though...
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 06:25 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2014, 06:12 PM)
Can anyone help if KXDMIBF23.0 can be root? I tried using MI3_WCDMA_stable_root_4.4.zip from MIUI website without success Install update failed.

Any idea? Thanks.
Erm, IIRC I rooted that firmware by installing ClockworkMod (look at xda-developers in their Xiaomi section, IIRC), and that offered me to root the phone when I restarted it.

@GameSky: And the result was...? What did you set in Viper4Android?
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 10:40 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Aug 26 2014, 10:24 PM)
Is the screen easily scratchsince u use it naked ?  No temper glass protection too...

I also plan to use it naked....(I heard back cover slippery)
If you use your phone naked scratches are the smallest thing I'd worry about. You'll probably end up with a cracked screen.
kadajawi
post Aug 26 2014, 10:58 PM

544 posts

My main concern is cracking the screen. My HTC Magic didn't have any protection at all, because they designed it in a way that I wouldn't need one.

On my Galaxy Nexus I started without screen protector, because I thought it wouldn't scratch easily. Turns out that wasn't the case, because in order to get the glass curved they had to go with some not so good glass. But for a year or so I haven't had a screen protector on it anymore. I have a rather decent case (Casemate Tough) on it, so there's no risk of cracking the screen anyway. The oleophobic coating is gone though, which is really annoying.

On the Mi3 I now have a tempered glass protector. I think you hardly notice any difference between having the protector or not, and it gives another layer of protection against a shattered screen (as the case I have isn't that great). It feels great, just as good as having no protection. Just skip those plastic SPs.

The phone is semi slippery when naked... my HTC Magic was extremely slippery (good thing it didn't mind crashing into asphalt etc.). If you want to improve grip, go for a glossy TPU case. Yes, there may be fingerprints and stuff, but they the matte TPU cases are rather slippery. Also, TPU cases will give you reasonable protection for your phone against drops. If you want to protect your investment, tempered glass screen protector + glossy TPU case (as thick as possible). Mine adds about 1mm on every side, so the phone is still pretty slim and sexy.

My SP is a no name brand (Kemiao) for RM 20, and a no name TPU case for RM 10. I wish I could get a better case, but since none are made that I like...

I have no problem with responsiveness, and there's a glove mode in the settings that should make the phone more responsiv, if necessary.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Aug 26 2014, 11:02 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 27 2014, 01:06 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 27 2014, 08:33 AM)
It is these so-called small things that are not really listed as specification that makes me wanted to stay with Samsung S range for my personal usage since I used the phone extensively as my pda and note taking. Thus stability and familiarity takes precedence. Guess I will stick to future Samsung S range or Notes for now. The audio quality really trumped MI3 after using IEM and others.

Amoled screen DO save lots of screen batt especially when we used dark based background since black pixel does not use power.

Most of the S-function are next to useless for me tho, a gimmick I barely use.
My AMOLED powered Galaxy Nexus had awful battery life as soon as the display was on. And usually, despite low brightness settings, something like 40-50% of the battery consumption came from the screen. I do miss that screen though, the black levels are just wow. The Galaxy Nexus screen displaying black is blacker than the Mi3 screen... when turned off. laugh.gif When on it's grey.

I personally really don't like the Samsung customizations. Big fan of stock Android, though MIUI is really good. My favorite Android after stock. I also think Samsung has no taste... their UI is ugly. The fonts they offer are not nice. etc.

The Mi3 audio output is... shall we say less than stellar. Apart from that though I love the phone. biggrin.gif

One thing I noticed with the Mi3 though is font sizes. I have set it to small, but sometimes huge lettering appears, like when it lets me pick between mobile phone calls and internet phone calls (VoIP). Have they forgotten to change that setting...? It lacks a bit in consistency...

@jolokia: Why would you say the Mi3 is weak in the photo taking department? The camera is fine, it's used in many high end phones from last year. The UI is a bit simplistic, but there are other apps to fix that, and apart from the Mi2 and LG G2 it's the only phone I'm aware off that takes raw photos. Being able to circumvent less than stellar and way too aggressive noise reduction algorithms and too aggressive JPEG compression is great, also being able to adjust the white balance etc. afterwards and to recover highlights and shadows that would usually be lost. It's great.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Aug 27 2014, 01:07 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 27 2014, 01:37 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 27 2014, 01:14 PM)
How to take RAW photo with mi3 ? shocking.gif
Look for Mi2raw. smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:14 AM