Just testing Piston 2 with Mi3. Damn disappointed.
There's no word to express it.
Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V13, MIUI 6 official developer released :)
Aug 22 2014, 12:18 PM
13,476 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Just testing Piston 2 with Mi3. Damn disappointed.
There's no word to express it. |
Aug 22 2014, 07:57 PM
Aug 23 2014, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(ralyon @ Aug 23 2014, 09:18 AM) With Mi 3?, any good iem will sound bad. I don't know what's wrong with Mi 3 sound driver, it's just horrible. Tried with Note2. Better but still not quite what I would say good enough to beat RM200 headphone.Try it with better player like Sony android players or any android device with good a sound mod installed. Wont work with Nokia 808 at all. Anyway, Mi3 didnt sound good, as I had confirmed it myself when I got mine during the first batch. I never knew it will sound so horrible with Xiaomi own product. Moreover, some who has gotten it say how good it was with the MiSoundEnhancer. I knew it was over-hyped but never did I thought by so much. Even my very old Mylar 1B which didnt have great vocals, seem to have better vocal clarity than Piston2. Waiting for NudeAudio Super-M then. Super disappointed... thought this was going to help me overcome the wait for Super-M. |
Aug 23 2014, 09:29 AM
Aug 23 2014, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(upm @ Aug 23 2014, 09:47 AM) i am not audio expert and although the sounds not superb but i feel ok and comparable to my ip4. Well, your expectation is low...Maybe u should play around with other type of format and quality?? I am using piston lite and often use to listen music and for conference call.. satified |
Aug 23 2014, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Aug 23 2014, 03:58 PM) Sad to know the dissapointment u experienced with ur piston earphone. I did not say its not worth RM50. Frankly i dont feel as bad as u commented on the earpeice, and of cos pls dont compare with rm200+ iem, it may be u having too high expectation. Rm50, with its sound and build quality, cant expect more . Pls dun revert to say my expectation is low, just sharing, cheers All Im saying its a waste of time, given how people rated it. Moreover, it sounded the worst when being used with Mi3. I didnt say its overpriced, just over-rated. Thats all. Would I buy again? No... its just a very average IEM. Having said so, I kinda expected the hype people given to Piston2, but would like to hear how good it could be. Definitely not good at all. Maybe you bought it because its only RM50, but I bought it because people say it could sound as good as RM200-300 IEM. I wanna hear it myself if there's any truth to that. |
Aug 24 2014, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 23 2014, 08:14 PM) bro u butthurt again.. inside the earphone more or less the same quality depend use what kinda diaphragm with the voice coil & alot more stuff.. now u using RM200-300 actually the hardware still using the same shit.. Haha... Butthurt? Probably not.Well, if you want to argue, they are all using the same dynamic driver design. Of course, there will still be audible differences, otherwise there would just be one brand all over the world. |
Aug 24 2014, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Aug 23 2014, 10:47 PM) Pretty butthurt huh, paid rm50 expect to get rm200 to 300 iem quality haha then now whinned and said ppl low expectation. Hmm... How should I said it?I used to spent little on headfi, even some rm200 iem may b worse quality then xm piston. I am pretty impressed by spending rm50 gotten its sound and quality for average usage. If u r looking for better iem , u may consider klipsch s4 someone in garage sales selling rm200+-. And u may want continue using the piston, may be it can burn in for better sound, cheers! It's not like I did not expect the hype thing. I just never imagine it would be so bad. I haven't bought any headphone in the last few years. I had no idea what and how a RM 200-300 headphone sounds today. What I had for comparison was a RM15 Altec Lansing UHP336 iem I bought from a warehouse sale and a RM120 Mylar 1B that I bought 5 years ago. It didn't beat either one. So I was wondering what kind of junk you bought for RM200-300 nowadays that the Piston2 beat. It didn't beat the Philips HP890 that I bought for RM120 as well (sold it to a cousin) |
Aug 24 2014, 08:22 AM
Aug 24 2014, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(w143 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:07 AM) I suggest you try it on other mi3 and see, just to verify if your mi3 got issue. Also, if your friends have the xm piston earphones, try to compare them. Personally, i think xm earphones are not bad, but just don't expect too much. I have RM700 headphones, which sounds way better, but audio quality can be subjective. Well, Mi3 headphone out really sounds terrible. Without a doubt.Yeah, not bad, but not good either. Tried with several other gadgets, N10, Note2, iPhone5. Other device yield better sound, but not spectacular. Update: Since I already given up on piston 2, went ahead with filter mod and true enough it sounded better. However it also change the IEM sound altogether. The bloated bass is lesser now. Remember how I said the vocal were bad? It is clearer now. The veil is taken off. It did sound much brighter now. The bad? Remember the instrument separation which is quite good? It's totally gone now. This post has been edited by andrekua2: Aug 24 2014, 10:50 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Aug 24 2014, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 24 2014, 11:27 AM) Have you burned them in yet? I have only for maybe 7 hours so far... Do the mod. It's pretty good.In any case they sound fine for the price so far. Not sure if the profile for them is better or not, I can get used to both sounds after a minute. They seem to sound better on my laptop, which is a big disappointment. I thought the Mi3 was supposed to sound good? They were better, if you had a proper fit. Which was nearly impossible to get. That is very easy with the Pistons. Also the price of the Xears is 3x as high (official price of the Xears is even 11x or so). So yeah... not too bad. The Pistons are fun, look great, are well made and dirt cheap. I can understand the hype a bit. Mi3 headphone out is not as good as some other phone. Not to mention output power is low. |
Aug 24 2014, 01:55 PM
Buy a new one more worth. Even the outer plastic already damaged.
Aug 24 2014, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(UntilUComeBack @ Aug 24 2014, 02:26 PM) 370 compare 800? I feel it's OK, but ultimately choice is yours to make.if buy new one , this one do what also. if 500 maybe i consider to buy redmi note. yes. i think 370... a bit expensive but if still ada warranty should be oklah.. If like Samsung, 600 vs 1800, then I will change screen only. |
Aug 24 2014, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Aug 24 2014, 03:37 PM) What untilucomeback got is a back COVER and not a case. I have been throwing Mi3 onto tables, chairs. Its pretty durable. Drop it once too. I can see some dents here and there. Nice to use phone naked after a long time.I always recommend a proper case that encloses all edges and has sufficient thickness. However, to each his own since many people prefer naked beauty with its attendant risks against proper protection. I always get bad feedback from a fair number who insist on having no protection or useless skins/covers. I got a Rock case from a gs seller which cost me only rm35. Nice and solid all round protection. This post has been edited by andrekua2: Aug 24 2014, 04:31 PM |
Aug 25 2014, 08:02 AM
IEM burn in? LoL...
More like getting used to it after playing so many hours with it. |
Aug 25 2014, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(jojoe @ Aug 25 2014, 07:29 PM) i got the piston orignal from mi malaysia today..... Dont use any MiSoundEnhancer is the best.according to the xiaomi forum.... with the clip is piston 2.1. i have plug to mi3.... using "misound enhancer" with be best for it? i found out only use Piston-1 will product good sound! is this piston 2.1??? But Mi3 headphone out is really a bit below average. |
Aug 25 2014, 09:19 PM
Today I dropped my Mi3 from car roof height and it survived. One really bad chip at the back top left, and some smaller chips here and there on the back cover. Really not bad...
On a sidenote, my bro's wife dropped hers and didnt fare well. Shattered screen... |
Aug 26 2014, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 25 2014, 09:25 PM) I got one at RM15 but you won't be able to buy it. It's not that hard to find an iem which may well sound better than Piston2 if you look around for bargain. But for lazy people, probably Piston2 is as good as it gets for RM50 I suppose. |
Aug 26 2014, 02:20 PM
Aug 26 2014, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 09:51 AM) I'm surprised at how low quality you keep saying Piston 2 is. It has more bass, not much better bass. In fact, it has too much, 50% of the time. Drown everything else out, unless you mod it. The clarity also improved with the mod. I'm not an audiophile, just someone who listen to music at leisure. I have multiple sub RM100 iem and 2 RM199 sony iem with dynamic driver with heavier bass (quite good review) and 1 other balanced armature (the cheapest one with practically zero bass but very clear sound). When I first used Piston 2 on my S4, I dislike it, it sounds hollow and music sort of crack. Then after adjusting thru S4 adapt sound to fine tune the IEM AND using it for at least 10-20 hours or so, it somehow turns out sounding better and better. Oh, it still could not beat those mid-high range IEM, its bass is not as good as my RM199 dynamic driver IEM, its sound is not as sharp as my ba unit but it has clearer sound than that dd iem and much better bass than that ba one, thus it turned out to be better balance than both my RM199 iems. High volume seems to crack it a bit while both my IEM can withstand it without issue thus the Piston do have major weakness BUT at RM50, for me, it beats out all my sub or par RM100 IEM by far. So still wonder why you're complaining it like its worth only RM50 OR LESS. For me, it already worth RM100 but still not really on the range of RM200 ones tho, as mentioned above, its somehow balance up. Those mentioned better than RM300, really, don't know what RM300 IEM they use, fake ones? I dont want to end up repeating the same thing over and over again. Fanboys are the most annoying bunch. For RM50, its definitely not over paying, like I mentioned earlier, but this is definitely not in the same league if you can spent 3-4 times the money. Its not the price. I wont even buy for RM20 if I had the chance to listen to it. To me, its not the price, but the sound. I dont pay a lot for most of my stuffs that I bought at bargain price from warehouse sales or online sales. If you are comparing to the overpriced branded junk that you bought at full retail price, then the Piston2 is like an angel falling from sky. On top of that, I dont like EQ at all. It may not sound natural out of box, I accept it as it is instead of tweaking the EQ to play the sound that you want to hear. I like my cheapo RM15 BA the best. I think BA really excel at vocals, clarity without all those annoying fake bass. I think Piston2 is trying to create a listening environment, much like when using LME49720 opamp. It gets a wide soundstage, with good instrument separation which offers a live-like experience, but if you are aiming for just enjoying pure music, then it really lacks the refinement. I dont mind paying 3-4 times the price of Piston2 for that. Piston2 didnt deliver my expectation. |
| Change to: | 0.0506sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:03 AM |