Are you appreciated by your company?, Let's share...

TSbuffy
post Aug 24 2006, 02:14 PM, updated 20y ago

33 posts

I seriously dun think i'm appreciated in any ways and i'm expected to do every single department's works... vmad.gif
kokfun
post Aug 24 2006, 02:25 PM

222 posts

company will appreciated u when u dont wan ur salary
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 24 2006, 02:32 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

ME TOO...

so what?
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2006, 02:44 PM

52,874 posts

Appreciate as in what sense?
Fred
post Aug 24 2006, 03:17 PM

142 posts

no .. not at all .. sumore i've got not so very good boss ..
Ray_1882
post Aug 24 2006, 08:40 PM

256 posts

ya my company always appreciatd by MOUTH only...always will say u r damn good but never action...hahaha....
eyeball
post Aug 24 2006, 09:02 PM

481 posts

yeah, my boss talks cock too..
sankai80
post Aug 24 2006, 09:08 PM

freakish chicken
2,019 posts

well, I don't care whether they care for me or not as long as I'm taking home the FAT paycheck every month. tongue.gif
sunbeams
post Aug 24 2006, 11:53 PM

878 posts

How do you all meassure company's appreciation towards you?

If you are thinking in terms of Ringgit and cents as a yardstick for benchmarking gratitude, then I would say you will never feel satisfied or appreciated, as money becomes your master. The grass will always seem greener on the other side.

Yes, bonuses and increments is often used to find out if you are being appreciated. But that's not all.

So occasionally, your boss comes in and superficially compliments you in front of everyone else. The first thought that spurs is that he/she is putting up a reality TV act. But think twice, at least you are noticed, and he/she knows that you've done well too.

Some companies have bosses who give toastmaster style speeches, making every employee feel like a blue-chip share. Words like "the company has no assets, but you" or "you are the beacon that drives the success of the organisation, and without you, who will light the path?..." may sound a little exaggerated. But at least the management is bold enough to make such statements.

Personally, I don't like being a spotlight junky. Appreciation can be felt, when you feel the intrapersonal sense of how your boss talks to you. Seeing that smile on his/her face when you accomplish a major achievement. Or taking time off from busy phone calls to walk over to my cubicle and ask me about my welfare and satisfaction of the job. Or at the very least, memorising/calling your name correctly, and perhaps even remembering previous conversations, be it about how my car got scratched by some a$$ driver or if the kuey-teow stall still gives me stomach aches.

We tend to focus on concrete returns, and as a result, miss out the small details that make us feel appreciated.

Just my dua-sen, once again
devil98
post Aug 25 2006, 09:22 AM

591 posts

same here, wat i do here they NEVER appreciate mad.gif
althu they train me and its international company, bt the mgmt style like d chinese style business keep saying no budget no budget keno giv u adjustment vmad.gif damn im damn low salary in d market i always consider im d cheap labour in such company, i requested N times always told me no budget no budget, bt in fact giv all d adjustment to those senior mad.gif

TSbuffy
post Aug 25 2006, 09:39 AM

33 posts

mine is the diff case, it's the new startup company, only got 2 staffs... the one that doing creative is taking fat paycheque but only need to concentrate on designing only... but me... have to do every single department's work... work like hell n damn low salary... some more they talk special kind n give special attention to the other fella but never me... i dun mind they pay low if they appreciate how i willing to sacrifice for the company... but they seems to only treat her good by asking her how she feel everyday n stuffs like that... some more treat me like invinsible... cry.gif
ykc
post Aug 25 2006, 09:49 AM

1,884 posts

I'll look for another job if I found I'm not appreciated ... If someone not appreciated, that's mean his/her future in the company is greatly affected in term of salary increment or promotion.
TSbuffy
post Aug 25 2006, 10:21 AM

33 posts

so far only the lady boss still ok... the other 2 shakehead.gif
TSbuffy
post Aug 25 2006, 11:16 AM

33 posts

but the fella oso mood swing wan la... really damn susah to survive...
darrencw
post Aug 25 2006, 11:34 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Aug 24 2006, 11:53 PM)
How do you all meassure company's appreciation towards you?

If you are thinking in terms of Ringgit and cents as a yardstick for benchmarking gratitude, then I would say you will never feel satisfied or appreciated, as money becomes your master. The grass will always seem greener on the other side.

Yes, bonuses and increments is often used to find out if you are being appreciated. But that's not all.

So occasionally, your boss comes in and superficially compliments you in front of everyone else. The first thought that spurs is that he/she is putting up a reality TV act. But think twice, at least you are noticed, and he/she knows that you've done well too.

Some companies have bosses who give toastmaster style speeches, making every employee feel like a blue-chip share. Words like "the company has no assets, but you" or "you are the beacon that drives the success of the organisation, and without you, who will light the path?..." may sound a little exaggerated. But at least the management is bold enough to make such statements.

Personally, I don't like being a spotlight junky. Appreciation can be felt, when you feel the intrapersonal sense of how your boss talks to you. Seeing that smile on his/her face when you accomplish a major achievement. Or taking time off from busy phone calls to walk over to my cubicle and ask me about my welfare and satisfaction of the job. Or at the very least, memorising/calling your name correctly, and perhaps even remembering previous conversations, be it about how my car got scratched by some a$$ driver or if the kuey-teow stall still gives me stomach aches.

We tend to focus on concrete returns, and as a result, miss out the small details that make us feel appreciated.

Just my dua-sen, once again
I agree with Sunbeam, if ur boss appreciates u.You yourself will like the company, get more motivated and u'll love to work.Its a simple human psychology.If ur boss is always busy and all of the sudden he comes to you and ask how are you doing and things.I think its more like a "wayang kulit".But if he takes time off and asks u out for lunch, cares about the workers constantly, thats what i call real appreciation.Like what sunbeam said, managements are very good at giving bullsh*t statements like "the company has no assets, but you" or "you are the beacon that drives the success of the organisation, and without you, who will light the path?..." This is true, for people who WANTS to HELP the company but not ONESELF. Hell, it would be good even if ur colleagues appreciate the help u've given them when they're on leave.

Just my 2 cents smile.gif

0.0141sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:34 PM