guys which to choose. skeptic, anyone who knows about resigning.

TSruztynail
post Aug 24 2006, 12:45 PM, updated 20y ago

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

i received a call today frm a reputable firm on my job approval, my dilemma starts where i hv another interview next fri from a better company thn this one. my interest is to go into the 2nd company where i hvnt gone through any interview process yet.

i hv one more interview pending somewhere in september as the closure of that 3rd one is in september, so the door remains open still for new recruits to write in.

so my question here is, should i reject the first one? and hope the 2nd one would take me in due time? (the 2nd one has two interviews, both of which i hv not gone through)

or accept the first one.. thn go for the 2nd one interview still, thn if the 2nd one accepts me. i hv to resign the 1st one. thn my question here is, how long of a notice do i hv to give bfr i can quit my job to join the other??

thanks bro thumbup.gif
Syd G
post Aug 24 2006, 12:47 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

"A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush."

TSruztynail
post Aug 24 2006, 12:50 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 24 2006, 12:47 PM)
"A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush."

lol nice quote. which is true on one hand. but say if i accept the offer, .. can i still join the other? and how do i go about it if i got the 2nd offer too?
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 24 2006, 12:50 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

probation normally is 24hours or 7 days notice...
wodenus
post Aug 25 2006, 12:53 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Aug 24 2006, 12:45 PM)
how long of a notice do i hv to give bfr i can quit my job to join the other??
Look at your contract terms. Should be stated there.

goliath
post Aug 25 2006, 12:58 PM

5,532 posts

or accept the first one.. thn go for the 2nd one interview still, thn if the 2nd one accepts me. i hv to resign the 1st one.
I'll go for this option. At least you are still working in good firm if things don't work out for 2nd company.

thn my question here is, how long of a notice do i hv to give bfr i can quit my job to join the other??
Look at your contract thoroughly before signing it. Normally, you need to hand in 24-hours notice during probation period or 1 month notice after probation period.

This post has been edited by goliath: Aug 25 2006, 12:59 PM
cktwai
post Aug 25 2006, 01:36 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

i received a call today frm a reputable firm on my job approval, my dilemma starts where i hv another interview next fri from a better company thn this one. my interest is to go into the 2nd company where i hvnt gone through any interview process yet.

i hv one more interview pending somewhere in september as the closure of that 3rd one is in september, so the door remains open still for new recruits to write in.

so my question here is, should i reject the first one? and hope the 2nd one would take me in due time? (the 2nd one has two interviews, both of which i hv not gone through)

or accept the first one.. thn go for the 2nd one interview still, thn if the 2nd one accepts me. i hv to resign the 1st one. thn my question here is, how long of a notice do i hv to give bfr i can quit my job to join the other??

thanks bro  thumbup.gif
in my opinion.. this is a good thing...

just go for the new company assuming it's not such a bad company but better than the one you're currently in.

then tell them in advance that you need to take some time off on that day itself... make up some stories man.. say you need to go back your old company to sign off some stuffs or collect your claims from your expenses (mileage or parking). Just make up something man...

If you actually get the 2nd preferred company, normally you can resign with 24 hour or 5 days notice. I think the downside is you will not get paid for that month lor...

So plan your resignation from your new company carefully... For instance if salary date is 25th each month .. don't go resign on 24th lar.. but resign on 1st or 28th or what ever..

Sometimes you have to be selfish for the better of your own future !!!

GOOD LUCK!! thumbup.gif

TSruztynail
post Aug 26 2006, 01:13 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Aug 25 2006, 01:36 PM)

thanks to u all guys.. thanks. lol.. i already did the medical check up today.. so say if i got the 2nd offer bfr sigining any documents frm the 1st co?? am i obligated to pay the 1st company the expense for the medical check up?? lol thanks allot guys. really dunno wat to do haha. sweat.gif

0.0136sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:30 AM