LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club - V3 -

neato4u
post Aug 2 2007, 06:41 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Oh thanks Kerry1136 and Jackie Leong.

I got a free balancing and alignment service at a new service centre here. I'll give that a try thumbup.gif

eika - Yes i use 7 speed mode when i need the surge (especially when overtaking other cars). To be honest, i don't like 7 speed manual very much (usually i use 7 speed mode auto or just shift to S gear) because i can't 'feel' the manual very much with it (not to mention my manual mode will always be overrided by the dummy proof control - which shift my gear up and down as it wish - when i want it to just stay there!).

City handling is not that bad.. I've tested before with a beamer, and he just can't keep up with me (at the moment i was using D gear with 7 speed auto mode - i'll surely lose him behind if i switch over to S gear) biggrin.gif
neato4u
post Aug 2 2007, 05:50 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Aug 2 2007, 09:21 AM)
neato4u : wat do u mean by the dummy proof control? the gearbox will on shift up for u when u exceed the safety zone, which is about 200rpm before the redline, if u wan u can always stay at 5k rpm at any gear u want and it wont change, are u sure u are in 7 speeed auto or 7 speed manual mode?

btw our car is good to a certain extent but definately cant fight in anyway compare to a beemer, they dun called as UDM for no reason smile.gif
Is it up until 200rpm before the redline or 2000rpm before?
Hehe i didn't notice, i was too busy flooring and can't hear engine sound too much as i turned my radio on. sweat.gif
Will check next time and see where it shift.

Oh yeah, i was a bit annoyed because it shifted down when i don't want it to tongue.gif
I know i know.. not really the point there (imagine who wants to stay in fifth gear when you're at 10km/h?) but somehow i just want total manual control.

For more expensive cars which have this manual auto option... does it work the same way as City does? Or it stays on manual no matter how hard you rev or how slow you are?

Coconot... what is UDM??

And hey i won on that test race (ehem, i was not racing, i was just testing how fast my car can go, and it was on a controlled environment - other's, please do not do this at home) laugh.gif . Not because of the car. But the beamer driver is not skilled enough. I overtook him when he was blocked by some cars, i slipped through and then he tried to chase me but i was too fast for him to catch up.

Before that we did a sprint on a straight empty road, i was flooring but the beamer just kept going faster (i think i was at 170, don't know how fast the beamer went 200 maybe?) shakehead.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by neato4u: Aug 2 2007, 05:56 PM
neato4u
post Aug 5 2007, 09:33 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

If i put those neon lights under my car.. will police disturb one? tongue.gif
neato4u
post Aug 6 2007, 03:16 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Aug 6 2007, 08:56 AM)
huh? after 3k then end?
no la.. once reach 3k rpm then only can feel the vtec kicking in.
gear put to D, then press once on the 7 speed mode
and press hard on the accelerator
there you go can reach 140km/h soon...
Huh.. 140km/h? My kancil can do faster than that whistling.gif

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Aug 6 2007, 08:56 AM)
er.. if i'm not wrong, those neon lights are prohibited.
i also wish to install tongue.gif green neon under the car looks cooool
Aw man.. prohibited? Then why are they still selling those.. crap sweat.gif
neato4u
post Aug 12 2007, 07:18 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

My city got some small2 holes in front.. like being hit by stone. Happens to my former car as well... I looked at other cars parked nearby but i can't see any small holes or stuffs.. all clean and smooth...

DOES THIS ONLY HAPPENS TO ME??!! cry.gif
neato4u
post Aug 14 2007, 06:41 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 14 2007, 09:20 AM)
No, it happens to me also.  My bonnet and front bumper got dents and holes, hit by flying stones during highway runs.  Maybe you can try using touch-up paint to fill up those holes so they're less noticeable  sweat.gif
Touch up paint? Where to get those and for how much?
Yea the holes are noticable from close range, and if you look closely, the colour are rather blackish.. pity my car sad.gif
Any way to prevent further injury? icon_question.gif
neato4u
post Aug 21 2007, 04:03 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Aug 9 2007, 10:18 PM)
As far as I know (researched), stelbel and piaa the best. But piaa mahal....hella horn the one pinkish is common but it doesn't suit our car because its reddish...unless u drive a red city but thats out of phase already that color.
Looks fine for me cool2.gif

neato4u
post Aug 21 2007, 09:28 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Guys, is this normal FC?
FYI i'm driving a 2003 idsi City.

Attached image(s)
neato4u
post Aug 22 2007, 12:22 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Hmm.. the 400km full tank case.
I rarely drive on highways. Just back and forth to work using normal road (traffic lights, jams, tight corners, slowdown, etc). Not sure if this is normal or not. I can say 95% normal road 5% highways.

I don't revv much. Just a bit of speeding but up to 140km/h only.

If i drive carefully, with full tank i can get around 500km.

Still, is this normal tongue.gif
neato4u
post Aug 22 2007, 06:06 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Aug 22 2007, 12:47 PM)
usually i also get around 400KM full tank....but mine is VTEC la....ur IDSI FC a bit high lo  smile.gif
Any ideas how to normalize my FC back? sad.gif
neato4u
post Aug 23 2007, 10:28 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Aug 22 2007, 10:12 PM)
maybe u should try to press the accelerator more gently....or maybe u should reset ur ECU.....i dun know if it will work or not but give it a try la tongue.gif
How to reset ECU?
I'm going to try and reset CVT first... see if this makes any changes

RESET CVT MEMORY
a) Start the car till it's normal temp
b) Do not switch on your air-con, radio, and other electrical stuffs
c) Apply handbrake (throughout this whole procedure)
d) Apply footbrake (do not release)
e) Put your gear to N for 2 mins
f) After 2 mins, put your gear to D for 1 min

sweat.gif
neato4u
post Aug 24 2007, 06:35 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Aug 24 2007, 01:15 AM)
to reset the ECU, the easiest way is to remove the fuse for the ECU. You can also disconnect the main battery.
Really meh?
But after reset ECU i still need to recalibrate the cvt gearbox?

I've done the 'hard' way of resetting ECU and also recalibrated my CVT gearbox just now. Then drive home from work. Felt a bit of pickup and steady acceleration along the way (but not sure whether i was pressing the accelerator more harder than usual) whistling.gif

Just filled up RM50 and reset my trip meter. Let's see how far i can go this time sweat.gif
neato4u
post Aug 24 2007, 10:51 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 24 2007, 06:58 PM)
I just got my 2nd hand City,and i did my 2nd time petrol fill up at RM64.9 for 510.3km. So does this car having good FC ?
That's really good, compared to rm60 for 400km
neato4u
post Aug 25 2007, 09:17 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

^ of course la.. can't compare honda with proton dude.. Wira also very light compared to City which is more heavier.

I'm still testing out my FC after recalibrating the CVT. Went out today with my family (car full 5 person) with luggage out to Jalan TAR for shopping. Plus traffic jams and stuffs.. let's see how far rm50 can go this time biggrin.gif
neato4u
post Aug 27 2007, 03:21 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Aug 25 2007, 10:06 PM)
Oh,i see.Maybe you try to pump fill tank then refill again when the petrol warning light comes out,that one i think will be more accurate to calculate the petrol and ringgit ratio. Between your car is using original sport RIM ?
My FC is still bad cry.gif
rm50 can go up to 264 only until light turns on sad.gif

Should i go to honda SC or to normal workshop and get them to troubleshoot for me?
Btw, i'm using standard rims and all other remains standard idsi.

neato4u
post Aug 27 2007, 03:48 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

see.. vtec also can do more miles than my idsi sad.gif
change to turbo engine lah like this tongue.gif
neato4u
post Aug 27 2007, 05:54 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(Jackie Leong @ Aug 27 2007, 04:42 PM)
that's not very accurate in measuring your fuel consumption.
you should fill it up to full, until the pump's trigger kicks off on its own.
travel till the low fuel indicator lights come on, then refill to full again (until trigger kicks off)..
then take that reading (RM or Litres and compare it with your Mileage).

My mileage was 33k and went for 50k servicing just now, cuz the 2 years warranty is already over.. the labour charges for 50k is super hefty doh.gif
Aiyo.. already fill to full last time, can do roughly about 400km on full tank only. The most i can do is 500km per full tank. And that's with consistant 80km/h driving (all the time!). Cannot tahan anymore leh, now drive like normal and full can go 400+ only sad.gif

No lah, don't have any lubang to change to turbo. I doubt that city can put evo engines?? The engine bay too small tongue.gif

Yaloh, next month i go normal service first, then only if FC remains the same i go and further check sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad meh.. i dun mind if FC bit more if HP can go up, but FC up and HP same, no point..
neato4u
post Sep 4 2007, 08:50 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Sep 4 2007, 03:49 PM)
NOPE not normal shakehead.gif since I have owned this car since 2004 till lately, never had this sound rclxub.gif
just recently maybe past 2-3 weeks it started, so am a bit worried as my wife drives it most of the time blush.gif
anyone else... blink.gif
The usual blame it on the wife story again? biggrin.gif

Anyway, have you added anything else recently that contributes to that noise? a new radio, tyre, some engine mods or maybe bodykit?
neato4u
post Sep 6 2007, 05:11 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Sep 5 2007, 09:52 AM)
wei mana ada weiiii..... whistling.gif good wan lar you.... rclxms.gif anyways, car stock standard still cuz waiting for the official
expiry of the Warranty before doing anything nod.gif cant be my tyres as changed them last December 06 blush.gif
sigh so sian, last nite went supper, my son keep saying up up and awayyyyyyy thumbup.gif  doh.gif
Hahaha.. no la.. we all loves our wive right brows.gif
This kinda remember me during my first week getting a new City. My wife opened the door from inside and a 'bump' noise was heard... she accidentaly well.. slightly banged the door and kena this next car parked beside us. Then i told her to be careful nanti kemek (in a.. well... slightly raised tone oso), and my wife told me "huk huk abang dah dapat kereta baru dah tak sayangkan syg lagi.. pun kene marah" sweat.gif

Kesian kesian...

But i do love my wife more than my car.. both oso cannot kemek2 one.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by neato4u: Sep 6 2007, 05:13 PM
neato4u
post Sep 9 2007, 11:50 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

triple02 > i bought a 03 idsi, mileage less than 70K. Yours is a bit high. My tip. If you're buying a 2nd hand car. Look for additional accessories (eg. Leather seat, tinted windows, bodykit maybe, speakers, ICE, rims, etc) -can save you lots of money in future, not forgetting a piece of mind after you've bought it. wink.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0531sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:19 AM