Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

xproc
post Jul 30 2014, 09:03 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(aivenrolx @ Jul 29 2014, 01:56 PM)
Hi, im not so clever with computer...
Would like to ask u guys opinion...
Brand: any brands (as long as part easy to find)
Budget: 4k max
Usage : browsing n games
Size: any

Im using my old laptop acer 4820tg, with upgrade 4gb ram...
Would like to change to better and faster laptop...
Recently i get an offer for used laptop...
3.5k For asus lamborghini vx7sx
The spec look nice...
But this laptop quite old already...
Should i get a brand new or used?
4k budget better buy new computer...
xproc
post Jul 30 2014, 09:25 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Jul 29 2014, 02:45 PM)
1. Preferred Brand:Any Brand
2. Budget: Below RM3000
3. Usage : Microsoft Office, photo Editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13-15 inch

I'm looking for laptop with FullHD screen (for photo editing), minimum 4 hours battery life and 128GB SSD (for faster boot).

Currently I'm considering Lenovo Flex 2 (upgraded with SSD) and HP Pavilion 14-N270TX. But I'm also considering Lenovo Y50 and Macbook 13 with retina display.. Is it worthy to save a bit more for Y50 and Macbook Pro Retina since I only use my laptop for Microsoft office and photo editing?

Anyway, thank you.. smile.gif

PS: Just ignore the naysayers in this thread.. IMHO, this is the best laptop recommendations thread in Malaysia.. No doubt about it!  smile.gif
depends on you lor... but if got budget why dont save more and buy better one? brows.gif brows.gif

retina macbook pro 13 just updated with newer haswell processor and now comes with 8GB ram...
xproc
post Aug 7 2014, 09:05 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(huangdi @ Aug 6 2014, 10:53 AM)
Don't every buy DELL laptops!

I have been using DELL computers and laptops for more than 10 years, I know what I am talking about. 

DELL laptops will conk out just after the warranty period.  If you still insist on buying DELL desktops or laptops, pay more for longer warranty period and pray for the best.
my personal experience vostro / inspiron 2008-2013 era deems to have problems... gave up recommending these lineup nowadays...

latitude / precision seems have better durability.... my company purchase 10 lat and 1 precision within 2013-now.. seems no hardware problem yet...
xproc
post Aug 7 2014, 09:08 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Aug 6 2014, 06:42 PM)
Thank you so much bro for your recommendations...  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

For the updates, I already bought Macbook Pro Retina Display on 31st July.. To be honest, I'm quite scared first to use Mac since I never use a Mac before.. sweat.gif I've been loyal Windows user for 20 years.. But this year, my works need to do lots of photography editing, so I followed your advice and get a Macbook.. It is so good in doing photography editing, the color reproductions also is very good and the OS is very snappy compared to Windows (not trying to be a fanboys).. I love its trackpad and keyboard so much.. No wonder Macbook's price is higher than some Windows laptop because of quality.. You got for what you pay for..  laugh.gif

Anyway, thank you so much.. Keep the hardwork in this recommendations thread.. icon_rolleyes.gif

the one you brought rctly is old spec 4gb ram retina mbp or newer spec 8gb gam ? recently spec just updated...

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 7 2014, 09:08 AM
xproc
post Aug 8 2014, 01:58 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Aug 7 2014, 09:27 PM)
I bought old retina display.. Got huge price discount since the newer retina display was released.. Anyway, there arent any differences between old and newer retina display other than RAM and little speed bumps.. smile.gif
oh okay... just scare old get old spec with old price...
xproc
post Aug 8 2014, 03:04 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Aug 7 2014, 11:29 AM)
1. Preferred Brand

Whichever

2. Budget

RM2000 or less

3. Usage

Browsing internet and streaming video/movies/dramas, work like mircosoft office.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size

14''-15"

thank you
hi jenli... time to buy laptop?
xproc
post Aug 8 2014, 03:07 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Aug 8 2014, 03:05 PM)
not for me....a gift
i see... if it is a gift... outlook is very important also...
xproc
post Aug 20 2014, 09:18 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

TJ, help me...

1. Preferred Brand: dell precision other brand workstation
2. Budget: RM10k-15k
3. Usage: work, autocad, engineering software
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13"-15"

currently have spec for precision m4800 with i7-4930MX, 32 gb ram, 256gb SSD mini card + 500 GB SSHD or 512GB SSD, dock station with U2719HM monitor

ask you whether got other model
xproc
post Aug 20 2014, 10:46 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 20 2014, 09:52 AM)
PM putochip123 or visit his FB page nod.gif
Give him your budget and see what he recommends  laugh.gif
recommending him because he is currently offering free XiaoMi phones AND/OR powerbanks with each XPS/Precision/Alienware purchases...
with your budget, sure get one laugh.gif
oh ok but no fb in my office...
xproc
post Dec 3 2014, 08:46 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 3 2014, 04:10 PM)
i hv 1 more... but dun think ur company approve it..  mayb ur company chairman oso dint use... precision m6800... a laptop tat work like a server
precesion m4800 lor... i using it.... pair with dell big screen at office very nice...
xproc
post Jan 17 2015, 01:43 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

NEW XPS 13 not yet on sale?
xproc
post Jan 20 2015, 01:55 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 18 2015, 05:32 PM)
haha
ya
but as u know
nth is perfect
if u wan nice design
then casual usage, light gaming such as web gaming should be ok
dota 2 i not sure
cause never test it yet
hmm actually got aw 14 not bad
just that u need top up a bit
if interest let me know
intel 5000 already can dota 2, 5500 should be better...

0.0583sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:39 AM