Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 02:36 PM

45 posts

Dear Sifus sekalian, need recommendation for laptop used for architecture purposes.

1. Preferred Brand

Any brand will do. Don't believe any specific brand is better rather its a hit-and-miss.

2. Budget

Within RM4000. Preferably just slightly above RM3000 but if RM4000 is what needed to get something good enough then let it be.

3. Usage

3D, Rendering, Animation, CAD

4. Preferred laptop/screen size

15-17 inch

Been looking into Illegears and MSI because they say gaming laptops always has the highest specs but I am not really sure if the specs for gaming laptop is relevant to the specs for an architecture laptop or not. Any experienced architect to give some advice?
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 03:22 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 26 2015, 03:14 PM)
yes, some gaming specs is relevent too..
it is best if have IPS display and ultra HD display  laugh.gif  1920x1080 and 3840x2160 especially

Acer V7-582PG-74501225, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080 IPS; touch) + 256GB SSD@RM3999, 12GB, 500GB, W8
Asus N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3799[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard
Lenovo Y50-70(59-418017), i7-4710HQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080 anti-glare)@RM3999[2.4kg], 8GB, 1TB, red backlit KB, W8.1, 2 yrs
ILLEGEAR Z5 + Nvidia GeForce GTX 860M 4GB GDDR5 + Up to 16GB Dual Channel DDR3L SDRAM at 1600MHz + 15.6" Full HD Anti-glare Display IPS/AHVA Wide Color Gamut & Viewing Angle (1920 x 1080) @Rm3,998

above jz an example.. lets see any thoughs from other sifu  biggrin.gif
Thanks! Been looking at the Illegear Z5 recently and it seems like the best specs among the RM4k tier laptops and have lots of good reviews. Just wondering if I could get something at RM3k - RM3.5k with lower specs but still sufficient for architecture. Saving that few hundred RM means a lot to me sad.gif
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 03:37 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 26 2015, 03:32 PM)
that IPS display will give u sharp display..  sweat.gif  dat makes it expensive. well its up to you. there is.. like R7-572G-54218G1T, i5-4210U + Nvidia GTX850M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3599[2.5kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1

i7 will gv more power for rendering 3D
hmm ok I understand that. I was just wondering if getting the Z5 would be an overkill or not or maybe there is no need to spend that much but still able to get my work done. Thanks so much for you advice smile.gif
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 06:03 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 26 2015, 03:59 PM)
illegear staff tell me z5 v1 that currently on the website is EOL  sweat.gif  v2 is  around RM4199.. sad  doh.gif

summoning jutsu.. Mr.Docter, Illegear z5 ver1 (gtx860m) still have?
One question, is SSD important for 3D and rendering stuffs?
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 06:18 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 26 2015, 06:15 PM)
If the software save/load a lot of stuff from the storage drive then SSD would help very much.
What if my main drive is already SSHD?
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 07:00 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 26 2015, 06:44 PM)
Which SSHD?
What I mean is if my primary drive for memory is a solid state hybrid drive instead of normal HDD would it be the same as having HDD + SSD or adding a mSata SSD still necessary for loading/saving large files smoothly without risk of crashing? Sorry maybe I ask this in a wrong section but since we've come to this...
ptrfaith91
post Mar 26 2015, 07:39 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 26 2015, 07:04 PM)
Hi ptrfaith91,

I would suggest you to go 128GB MSATA SSD + 1TB 7200RPM, that's way better than single SSHD if you have the budget.
Budget kinda tight but thanks for the recommendation smile.gif

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 26 2015, 07:15 PM)
Most likely the cache for the SSHD will be used to store your OS. Your application will not be stored on there I guess.
3D rendering won't affect much when you're using SSD or HDD. Only when you're saving it and loading it. When you're rendering the model itself it will requires your CPU/GPU power.
So CPU > SSD when rendering, SSD > CPU when loading/saving

Correct me if I'm wrong
Thanks for the clear explanation smile.gif so I can save a few hundred by opting for saving/loading slower...I guess that's quite a fair trade.
ptrfaith91
post Mar 27 2015, 07:53 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Mar 27 2015, 04:38 PM)
Hey ptrfaith91,

If you're willing to spend a little above RM4k then you can consider the MSI GE62 2QE @RM4,199

Intel i7-4720HQ
Nvidia 960M 2GB GDDR5
8GB DDR3 RAM + 1TB SATA HDD (7200RPM)

It's comparable to the Illegear Z5 v1 pricing but with a 960M GPU. However, if you got your own copy of OS then can save some $$$ with the Illegear model.
MSI new GE series can also support SuperRaid2 that uses 3x SSD in Raid0 format for fast read/write speeds. Good for accessing large files. Next best thing is single SSD.

For architecture, and when you are doing modeling and simulations, you really need a Quadro Card instead. But if no budget then next best thing is to buy a notebook with a fast CPU. Quad Core preferred.

Hope this helps. Happy Shopping!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

http://my.msi.com/product/nb/GE62-2QE-Apac...l#hero-overview
yea...Quadro is too expensive now still cannot afford...thanks for the nice info will check it out...however now Illegear has new model with GTX960m too but 4gb while the MSI only 2gb...

0.0718sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:26 PM