9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2014, 04:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(winkytoe @ Aug 12 2014, 03:27 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any (maybe consider compaq because mine lasted 7 years)
2. Budget: 1.5~2k (lower the better)
3. Usage: Watching movies, streaming, multitasking, office work and most importantly to play The Sims 4.
4. Preferred laptop spec: Must be able to play The Sims 4. Also 14" and maybe a lighter model?

Thanks yo.
No more Compaq yo bro laugh.gif
Anyways, older generation of notebooks are built to last, and are thus a hell lot expensive than now nod.gif

So try not to expect too much from today's notebooks, especially if you are going for the budgeted ones (<RM2.5k) nod.gif
Not sure what the requirements for the Sims 4 are, but based on its previous records, it won't be too demanding.

These are the best you can get for your budget:
14"
Asus
K451LN-WX046H, i5-4200U + Nvidia 840M@RM2199[2.1kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1

HP
Pavilion 14-N270TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia 840M + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM1899[2.03kg], 4GB, FreeDOS; W8.1@RM2099

*Prices in RRP
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2014, 04:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 12 2014, 03:53 PM)
HP Pavilion 15-p033TX @Intel® Core™ i7-4510U,8gb ram,15' screen,NVidia 840M @ RM 2699.

Guys, I don't see much recommendation on the above model. As I am targeting that lappy, mind to give some feedback on this?
I suppose that's because at the same price range, people would prefer going for the Flex 2-15 that comes with a FullHD Screen + hybrid drive hmm.gif
However, never buy a notebook solely based on the main specs... if you like the HP Pavilion (after you have tried it out), and don't need a FullHD screen, then its worth considering nod.gif
The most important thing is that you like it nod.gif after all, you will be stuck for it for several years to come~

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 12 2014, 04:47 PM)
thanks for the read, didn't know it is on the front page.  blush.gif

but the main problem is, where to test the laptops? not all physical shops have all sorts of laptops.
Some notebooks we will never get to try, especially higher end business notebooks.. but still, most of us will never consider getting those notebooks as well, so it doesn't really matter.

Most of us will be happy enough with premium-line notebooks for everyday tasks: They perform well enough and are reliable too~

As for gaming devices, apart from those close to or more than RM10k, they can be found as long as you try nod.gif

Anyway, mind sharing your budget and usage? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2014, 05:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 12 2014, 05:00 PM)
i asked before, and you gave suggestions already. but still, worried lo.  blush.gif

some people said, laptops with dedicated GC easier to kaput when compared with those with intel hd graphic, that's part of my worry as well.  rclxub.gif

but main point is don't want to regret la.
haha, sorry about that, I cannot remember who asked before huhu doh.gif doh.gif
Yes, that's the price to pay for getting a laptop with a graphic card, or should I say, the price to pay for gaming or doing intensive tasks on a notebook (especially those without proper cooling).

My gf's Dell Inspiron 1420 (6 years although this model is notorious for spoiling) outlasted my Alienware M14x (3.5 years) yo laugh.gif
because she only uses it to do very simple stuffs haha

Which is why desktops are still the best options for gaming or running torturing tasks since the cooling is better, and parts can be easily replaced..
Still, I understand that not everyone can buy a desktop, including me haha... so no choice lo, just hope for the best with a laptop nod.gif Just make sure you provide ample of cooling and regular maintenance so that it lasts longer.

Or get a notebook with longer warranty coverage so that at least you can get it fixed for amount of years of warranty you opted icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2014, 06:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(MSai @ Aug 12 2014, 05:26 PM)
Hi, sifu plz help.

1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget :  <rm1500
3. Usage : student, music,.movie, research, light game
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 - 15

FYI, I'll further study to uk soon for 3 years. N I think laptop price in uk is more expensive than Malaysia. Current laptop KO. Plz advice accordingly. Thank you.
Make sure the notebook you buy has warranty coverage over there in the UK nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2014, 07:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wangjw94 @ Aug 12 2014, 07:16 PM)
Hi sifu. Sila tunjuk ajar....  notworthy.gif

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand will do.
2. Budget: Below 3k.
3. Usage : Uni purposes. Quite alot of gaming as well. Especially Dota 2.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any size. Weight doesnt matter to me.

I would want a lappy with 8gb ram at least.  brows.gif  Preferably not an i7 processor because it heats faster and drains more battery? (Correct me if Im wrong on this). Would like one that doesnt heat up fast. Personally hate that.... Makes me abit scared. Weight doesnt matter to me. Bigger screen is better. Heavier is not an issue.  flex.gif
Hopefully this rig can last me 4 years.  wink.gif

Thanks in advance dear sifu.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif 
Maybe these?
15.6"
Asus
S551LN-CJ247H, i5-4200U + Nvidia 840M + 24GB mSATA + (1366x768;touch)@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, 3-cell

Lenovo
Flex 2-15, i7-4510U + Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)+ 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2799[2.3kg], 4GB, W8

MSI
GP60-2PEY, i5-4200H + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM2899[Dynaudio], 4GB, 750GB HDD, W8.1

*Prices in RRP
*upgrade to 8GB RAM
* The Asus and Lenovo are relatively slim, so they might get hot when on-load
* whether a notebook lasts or not depends on luck and user care

QUOTE(MSai @ Aug 12 2014, 07:33 PM)
Thank you for d reply.

Generally if cheaper laptop n let say we take good care of it, inevitably would not last longer than pricier laptop is it?
Whether a notebook lasts or not depends on luck and user care nod.gif
Its hard to say, which is why having warranty coverage is nice laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 11:26 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Aug 12 2014, 08:52 PM)
Hello guys, guess it's my time to ask around liao...  sweat.gif

So, I'm helping my mum to hunt a laptop. Any brand is okay...

Budget under 1k, usage mainly for emails, surf travel websites... Basically, a beginner's notebook...

I believe a netbook or any ultraportable under 11" would fit under the budget?

What say you, sifu [PF T.J.] ?  unsure.gif

inb4spoonfedbudakbalikkopitiamlar whistling.gif
Yo bro! Welcome back notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Nowadays there are hardly any more netbooks out there, especially those within RM1k huhu

Still, can consider these:
Acer
Aspire AOD270, Atom N2800 + Intel GMA 3650@RM1099, 2GB, 320GB, W7S, free Acer pouch, colors: red/black
Aspire AOD270, Atom N2800 + Intel GMA 3650@RM1099, W7HB, free Acer pouch, colors: aquamarine/carnival

Asus
Eee PC 1025CE, Atom N2800 + Intel GMA3650@RM949,2GB, 320GB(5400rpm), colors: blue/pink/purple

Lenovo Flex 10, Celeron N2805 + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1199, 2GB (soldered), 500GB, W8, Office Home & Student 2013, sleeve case

*Some are old models icon_rolleyes.gif
The specs are pretty basic for these, so try not to expect too much can alread laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 11:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pcteh83@yahoo.com @ Aug 12 2014, 10:52 PM)
Hi, I need recommendation for an ultrabook

1. Preferred Brand: Except Asus/Acer
2. Budget: <3k
3. Usage: Movie with good speaker, net surfing, power point presentation with good mobility, minimal gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"
My priority is 14'' with thin and light weight (< 2kg)

Can you please enlighten me? appreciate it.

Thank you
14"
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 2-14, i5-4210U + Nvidia 840M +(1920x1080; IPS touch)@RM2499[2kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8.1, 2 yrs; colors: red/white

*upgrade RAM to 8GB
*replace HDD with SSD
*spend remaining budget on a good pair of external speakers/ earphones as notebooks around this price range are not very good in terms of audio icon_rolleyes.gif

If you don't mind a normal HD screen, can consider these as well since they look great laugh.gif
14"
HP
Pavilion 14-V011TX, i5-4210U + Nvidia GT830M@RM1999[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red
Pavilion 14-V023TX, i7-4510U + Nvidia GT840M@RM2499[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 13 2014, 11:28 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 12:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bilboblue @ Aug 13 2014, 12:42 PM)
Hi ! Need advise !

Really like the ...

Flex 2-15, i7-4510U + Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)+ 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2799[2.3kg], 4GB, W8

...but cannot tolerate the Glare screen.

My question is :
1.        Is there any laptop with same spec ( + light weight, thin ) with 1920x1080 anti-glare screen ?

( Dont need the touch and the flex-like mode )

OR

2.        i need to put the anti-glare screen cover on the screen ? same output will natural anti-glare screen ??

TQ
Closest would be this one:
15.6"
MSI
GP60-2PEY, i5-4200H + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM2899[Dynaudio], 4GB, 750GB HDD, W8.1

But its no longer light and slim nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 02:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Aug 13 2014, 02:11 PM)
Thank you dai kor... laugh.gif Will deffo check them out...
Yeah, netbook trend macam mati liao these days...  unsure.gif
You are most welcomed bro notworthy.gif

Yeah, replaced by the newer generations of tablets tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 07:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 13 2014, 04:40 PM)
Guys, recommend me a laptop under RM2K for an architectural student:

1. Brands: Any brands would do, though I'm leaning towards Dell.
2. Usage: Architecture software
3. Budget: Under RM2K (can go a bit higher)
4. Preference: Prefer a laptop with a full-sized mSATA port for SSDs, though it is not a requirement. tongue.gif
Not really sure what's required of an Architecture notebook, but can consider this:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265@RM1899[2.02kg], 4GB, 500GB, Linux, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support; W8.1SL@RM2099

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 07:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Hann13 @ Aug 13 2014, 04:43 PM)
Hi sifu,
1. Preferred Brand : any brand but preferably lenovo or asus
2. Budget :  below RM3k (or up to 3.5k if necessary)
3. Usage : Architecture student(design software like autoCAD),gaming(D2,
                FIFA,COD)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15 or larger

I hope my laptop can last my whole degree life which is like in 3 or 4 years time..  which means I should find no problem operating those designative software in my laptop. (Gaming come last)  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Your help is sincerely appreciated !  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Usually I would recommend going for Dell for students; at least the fixing duration is fast (1-2 working days) if the notebook breaks down nod.gif
still
15.6"
Asus
G56JR-CN260H, i5-4200H + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080)@RM3299[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

*prices in RRP; upgrade to at least 8GB RAM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 08:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pcteh83@yahoo.com @ Aug 13 2014, 07:31 PM)
Thank you for your precious advice, I actually followed all your thread since first page, fantastic job of yours.
Just few questions:

1.  Is FHD experience in Flex 14-2 very big difference as compared with those 1366 x 768?
2. Do you have a link to review on HP Envy 14-k119TX, HP Pavilion 14-V011TX and  HP Envy 14-K125TX , really difficult to find, is it different model used internationally?
3. Devices below are the one in my mind after read through all your suggestions, which one has the better speaker? 
1. Dell Inspiron 14' 7000 (i5, 4 GB RAM)
2. Dell Vostro 14' 5470 (i5, 4GB RAM)
3. Lenovo Flex 14-2 (i5, 8GB RAM)
4. HP Envy 14-k119TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
5. HP Pavilion 14-V011TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
6. HP Envy 14-K125TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
7. Toshiba U40T-A102 (i5, 4GB RAM)

Thank you in advance.
Thank you man, appreciate it notworthy.gif
Yes, the resolution difference between FullHD and HD is very significant nod.gif
However, it also depends on whether you really need the FullHD screen or not nod.gif If you don't do a lot of spreadsheets, photo editing or perhaps multitask (I love to watch movie and surf net at the same time laugh.gif), then FullHD or not doesn't really matter nod.gif Unless if you love watching high quality movies with rich sounds and have a budget limited to RM2.5k~

Those HP Envy are quite old already, I don't recall HP refreshing those lines, still, I might be outdated already laugh.gif

Most notebooks do not have great speakers, even those that do have them can be easily pawned with a cheapo RM100 external speakers laugh.gif

Still, how about taking a look at these:
14"
HP
Pavilion 14-V011TX, i5-4210U + Nvidia GT830M@RM1999[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red
Pavilion 14-V023TX, i7-4510U + Nvidia GT840M@RM2499[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red

Go and test see whether the Beats are really that good XD

If strictly choosing from the list above, I would definitely pick the Insiron 14 7000 with warranty coverage laugh.gif I like that laptop alot, very premium for its price range thumbup.gif But that's just me la, you probably have higher expectations than I do laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 08:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 13 2014, 07:38 PM)
hmm.gif Is there a huge difference between 4200M and 4210U? hmm.gif
Quite a big difference between CPU performance and also battery life nod.gif
So it all depends on what you expect of your notebook, the former or the latter icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Hann13 @ Aug 13 2014, 08:28 PM)
How about Lenovo Z50? Do you think that will cope with my needs ? Because i'm trying to lower my budget as i can  cry.gif
Thanks anyway ! notworthy.gif
Well, the Z50 and others are one-class lower, so the games you can play at decent settings are also affected nod.gif
However, please do take note that the RM2799 variant of the Z50 is not worth it (the RM2.3k variant is), go for the Flex-2 14 instead icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 11:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ Aug 14 2014, 10:38 AM)
Guys,

Please help, i am looking for a laptop

1. Brands: Any brands would do
2. Usage: Coding & Dota 2 (High setting)
3. Budget: < rm 3,000.00
4. Preference: Does'nt overheat easily

There's some model that i shortlisted, unsure if it's suitable for my usage.

- MSI GP60 2PE Leopard Pro i7 model around RM 2,999
- Lenovo y410p, but this model pretty hard to find.

Please advise
Yes, both are suitable nod.gif
Go for the 15 incher if you want cooler temps icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ Aug 14 2014, 12:08 PM)
Thanks, another question, do u think it's worth for an upgrade for gtx850m for another extra rm400? Or do you think good enough settling 840m for my case
Dota 2 is not demanding, so its alright to stick to the previous ones nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 01:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Jaremkell @ Aug 14 2014, 12:21 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: below 2.7K
3. Usage: Gaming, Illustrator, Photoshop, Torrent
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: i7, 8GB RAM, with DVD Tray so later can convert to SSD

Thank you.
Lenovo Y410p? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 03:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Aug 14 2014, 02:51 PM)
Hi guys,
1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget : RM3k and lower
3. Usage : Work + Gaming(not really demanding games)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15 inch

really need a workhorse laptop for work mostly but with a decent graphic card no need cutting edge. I like the y410p spec very much but my only gripe is the 14inch screen. Similar spec with 15.6 FHD screen woulde be awesome.

thank you all for your hard work...really helpful.
This one is perfect for you my friend thumbup.gif
15.6"
MSI
GP60-2OD-034MY, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1

*Price in RRP
*upgrade RAM to 8GB at least

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 05:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 14 2014, 03:02 PM)
enuf with ur spider.. i gonna burn ur spider.. nao.. whn u free? i wanna come  icon_idea.gif
Wanna see spider? brows.gif brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 15 2014, 01:05 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:48 PM)
asus A450LC, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell; colors: black/red/white

others.. offer 1 yr warranty.. but actually asus comes with default 2 yr warranty unless thy stated the product comes with 1 yr warranty... Dell sales after service very good. if u have problem with ur notebook... and don't have transport to send to shop. u call the service center ask for help.. and the technician will come to ur place..  but depend with location la...

lenovo Ideapad Flex 2-14, i3-4030U + Intel HD4400 +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM1699[2kg], 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; color: black
lenovo G40-70, i5-4210U + AMD R5-M230@RM1999 , 4GB, 1TB, W8.1
G405s, A8-5550M + AMD HD8570M@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, W8@RM1699
lenovo S410p, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT720M + (1366x768, touch)@RM1999[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 2 yrs

2yrs warranty is min... i think will ease ur mind a bit.. cz u need a reliable stuff... after 1 yr.. the problem sure comes..sometimes, depends with ur luck oso la..  laugh.gif
Thanks for your help bro notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 15 2014, 01:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Aug 15 2014, 09:17 AM)
Hi. Please help me.

1. Any brand except Dell
2. Below RM2.5k.. lowest the better..
3. Office work, web surfing
4. 13".. Ultra lightweight coz I need to carry around. Fast and no lagging.

Thank you.

Note :

I'm thinking of below models.. but these are not lightweight  sad.gif  which one is the best?

Asus Notebook A450LC-WX043H

Lenovo G40-70, i5-4210U
There are no stock fast 13" below RM2.5k unfortunately
Closest would be these:
11"
Lenovo Miix 2, i5-4202Y + Intel HD + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2999[800g tablet], 4GB, W8.1

13"
Lenovo Yoga 2-13, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1920x1080 IPS; touch) + 16GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 8GB, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

*Prices in RRP

As for a lightweight 14", then this:
14"
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 2-14, i3-4030U + Intel HD4400 +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM1699[2kg], 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; color: black

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:43 AM