For IT ppl, how many will change job in:

sunbeams
post Aug 22 2006, 12:03 AM

878 posts

It's not really just about the salary factor. I'm getting quite good increments (steady 25% - 30% per anum)

After a few years in the same line, you might feel the urge to step out and try some other newer frontiers. Stick to it, and your exposure on the IT industry might not grow that wide.

I'm giving myself another few months before switching my career. Well, I'll be up for grabs soon!
sunbeams
post Aug 22 2006, 12:17 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Aug 21 2006, 11:08 PM)
shitzzz!! hahaha....i felt like i kena cheated...Bohohoohohh!!
so naive thinking tat 10% raise is max...rupa rupa the whole world is getting a 20-30 percent!!! hahahahha

Its not the salary factor....but its impt. Sometimes when u work so hard and salary like shit will make u feel even worse. Work like dog, but salary the lowest.

Then again, true...i just threw away a very good paying job for a huge paycut!, nearly haf my salary. Salary is not impt. Its wat u value most. True True True. Working for salary is only temp. I got tired too...of a high salary but no life job not to mention BORING..... rclxub.gif
Nice, FroGGy. Now that I know Scope pays real handsomely, I might put it up on my list of potential targets... thanks for the tip!
sunbeams
post Aug 22 2006, 12:32 AM

878 posts

As a consolation, being the DBKL gives you the chance to learn up a lot more. In the end, you stand to benefit.

I'm lucky to be in a company that has yet to establish a real 'organised' structure. As a result, I get to play the role or web programmer, business logic tier programmer, DBA (Oracle), system designer, and sometimes, the role of business consultant.

Sweet.

I heard from some ex-colleagues that in more established companies, if you are given the job as a web developer, that's exacly what you'll be doing every 9-6, Mon-Fri. Not many opportunities to explore other fields, but you get to be very good in that specific area.

0.0406sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:35 AM