Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 18 2014, 08:22 PM, updated 11y ago

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

The Big Family!

Pricelist

Continue all Canon EOS discussions here. Here is the link to thePrevious Topic

Guideline
Show some humility and respect, We are all here to learn from one another, not to discriminate by showing you a more superior than others in terms of gears and knowledge.

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Nov 13 2014, 12:30 AM
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 20 2014, 12:21 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Jul 19 2014, 07:11 PM)
wah so quiet here laugh.gif

anyway here's how to make canon’s New DPP 4.0 Works With SL1/100D, T4i/650D, EOS M, 70D, and T5i/700D Raw Files (with a little trick)

http://www.canonwatch.com/canons-new-dpp-4...s-little-trick/

Is it worth the effort? Judge by yourself with the 2 images below, which show the results on a RAW file from an EOS M (image credit: T.K_Photo/Slrclub). The first one is DPP 3.14, the second one DPP 4.0. Head over to Slrclub to see full size images, but even from the samples below you can note that the file produced by DPP 4.0 has more details and is sharper.

EOS M RAW file imported in DPP 3.14
EOS M RAW file imported in DPP 4.0

Looks like got slight improvement smile.gif
Oh DPP, The free software that comes with the camera, i never installed it, I assumed it is a basic function photo software as compared to photoshop and photoshop would have more tutorial online. Looks like slight improvement in CA in the middle of stork wings. but this is close up which i rarely shoot.

Thanks for sharing maybe someday I would use it.

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jul 19 2014, 10:19 PM)
Many Camera manufacturer are moving towards 4K
Really interested to see this new format on upcoming Canon cameras!
All lower resolution video cameras will lose their value soon. Even BMPCC has a 40% discount.

Only quirk is the my lack of 4K monitors and capable video editing rig to handle 4K footages lol.
I was contemplating between ordering the 70d and 7D from Lazada as the price is so similar (body only). I was wondering if buying xxD series would be considered downgrade since it is not magnesium alloy body and consider high end rebels. In the end i bought none and end up wih 60d cause cheaper. Haha, my hand was moving on the joystick area and I was like, hmmm, cannot be why am I moving my thumb near this area, and there is nothing here, then i took out my 20d , ou... i am so used to the joystick there.

Sorry what is BMPCC? New to this video thing, when u say video cams, you dont mean dslr with video capabilities right, u meant video cams in specific.
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 20 2014, 07:43 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jul 20 2014, 03:02 AM)
Hi guys,

Been awhile since im here, looking for inspirations of photography,

where do you guys find em?

I use to browse a lot of pictures online and go "Ah, I want to do something like this", Go read read how to do it and make a replica of it. This is all a learning process as we understand the theory behind each shot and we can apply them later. I think i understand how you feel, the more you look at pictures online, the more similarity you see landscape landscape landscape, rule of third potrait rule of third potrait rule of third potrait , and at one time it was HDR HDR HDR. You see until you want to puke everyone take the same pictures.

Maybe you do like silver above, when you look at it again, you will remember "Oh i took this picture because yada yada yada" it brings you memories when you look at it and at the same time you can frame it, edit it etc etc as artistic as you like and share it.

Nowadays I see got public event, i will go and mingle and shoot and then get to know people. Whilst there, i apply whatever I have learned rule of third, cropped framing, leading lines etc etc and shoot whatever subject i find interesting or whatever the event is. I DON'T prefer stage event as there are always dancing dancing, talking talking, real damn boring. From there you will find your inspiration, even a light bulb, a tree, or a traffic light, just stare and visualise a shot. Hey this helps me meet people and I can ask them if they ever need a photog, they can call me. Gotta make some money to pay for your gears right wink.gif. Im not a pro just a hobbyist.

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Jul 20 2014, 07:49 AM
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 21 2014, 09:43 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Jul 21 2014, 09:08 AM)
Finally bought myself a new addition to my gear, Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 non-VC. brows.gif

I was wavering between the VC and non-VC version of the lens, but ultimately decided to buy the non-VC version. I tried my friend's VC version and I didn't quite like its VC mechanism. Though it might be useful, for an ordinary hobbyist like me, the price difference isn't enough to justify the functionality. tongue.gif
Wah congrats on your purchase, no need VC lah. This range not zoom kao kao so won't be shaking if you zoom to 50 and hand held, unless you ahpek hands.
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 21 2014, 11:37 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jul 21 2014, 03:48 AM)
something fun biggrin.gif
user posted imageDSC02457-2hd by Cruxiaer, on Flickr
Tembak Burung ni bagus 200 1.8
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 21 2014, 05:49 PM

761 posts

What is APU, Asia Pac Uni issit?

U shoot model hio, u realry kaya.
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 22 2014, 08:50 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(Smilefaceeee @ Jul 22 2014, 07:32 AM)
dear all sifus, wanna ask ur suggestions...should I sell of my canon 40mm f2.8 and buy a sigma 17-50 f2.8? coz it covers the range already..I just bought I less than a month... =( got anyone interested boh this pancake lens??
I don't own both the lens so but i can only suggest you consider based on what you want to do with it.

Prime lenses generally gives higher quality picture in being crisp and sharp. Since it is a pancake lens it is light too.

Zoom lens give you flexibility in range and since it is fast at 2.8 definitely a go go, normally prime will give better quality pics but nowadays tech has improved and i believe it will give you pics that are just as good.

In terms of quality of picture , you can go compare web reviews side by side comparison. But i believe it is only when you zoom into the details then you see the difference or such as Chromatic abberation and vignette and etc.

In Conclusion, for myself i would prefer zoom lens and even if the quality lacks a bit in terms of CA, Vignetting and sharpness.

Happy deciding.
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 24 2014, 12:10 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jul 23 2014, 07:17 AM)
user posted imageLondon Eye by Victor_Ng, on Flickr

Late evening shot of Thame river with London eye behind in middle summer
Nice

Apa setting, what post processing technique you do?

QUOTE(leonghan @ Jul 24 2014, 09:16 AM)
Put me in the list smile.gif

Canon 6D + 24-105L
Orang kaya ni, L Lens, come share some pictures and technique ambik gambar
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 31 2014, 01:57 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(micgil @ Jul 30 2014, 04:31 PM)
I know but at least not someone that will rip me off for something I can sell at an acceptable price. The flash in the camera wouldn't pop up so I think it's quite difficult to sell it in the forum.
Hi Friend,

Try this for saving your pop up flash, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9ePwa0HDGA.

It is a common problem with Canon DSLR (I cannot say so for other brand as I have not used them) if you use external flash for a long period of time. I have to readjust once in a while after 3/4 hour event shoot as the external flash have been there for a long time and the contact button is stuck. Take a paper clip of what ever that can reach to fiddle the button under the metal in hot shoe.

Happy selling, market rate is around RM600 for 500D for body only and RM700 For 550D, Of course if you go to shop they will have to take it in for lower because they need to sell it for a profit.

Good Luck!
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 31 2014, 03:16 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(tboxmy @ Jul 31 2014, 11:48 AM)
70D owner.
Added you bro, post some pictures and techniques & setting to share.

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jul 31 2014, 02:33 PM)
I m switching to M43 bro.

I usually shoots RAW, and edit in Lightroom or Photoshop.
Oops, my bad quoted wrong person, wanted to reply to another member.

Cool, I also feel like buying one to play, maybe next time.

Share share your pics here too wink.gif

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Jul 31 2014, 05:02 PM
TScIvIc_noob
post Jul 31 2014, 03:17 PM

761 posts

Aiyo,

I just got a call from the client. They say I edit too much, my photo look like artistic rendering instead of photograph

The other day I ask what is to be removed, they say I can remove the construction tent poles and etc.

Haha, now they want it all back in cept for the poles.

So wasted nobody enjoy my artistic rendering so i post to share here.

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Jul 31 2014, 05:06 PM
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 1 2014, 10:40 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(tboxmy @ Aug 1 2014, 12:28 AM)
Have taken both photos at same distance, but why the 1st photo can't get the pet in focus?

Blur behind bars

Pets are in focus

I am attempting to use the auto focus feature of 70D and hope to learn further.
Because the pet is on the same plane as the bar so it will confuse which to focus.

I have always set the focus point to the middle and use that middle focus point for it to autofocus. 99% accurate, 1% for failing in shooting small subject far away.
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 1 2014, 12:20 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(tboxmy @ Aug 1 2014, 11:31 AM)
Strangely I managed to get the focus once as is shown in 2nd photo. Just could not get the focus again despite many attempts to change zoom, f stops. What should I do without doing manual focus?
1. Keep autofocus on, set focus point to middle.
2. Aim your middle focus point on animal through viewfinder
3. Half press shutter so it locks focus and don't let go, recompose.
4. Full press shutter
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 3 2014, 06:59 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Aug 2 2014, 10:40 PM)
If your works requires it just go ahead since you cari makan with photography biggrin.gif 
---------
long time tarak spam, meet my big boss.

IMG_05692 by nicotine [braindead], on Flickr
He nampak marah

QUOTE(leonghan @ Aug 3 2014, 02:21 AM)
ART super over budget d  cry.gif but i heard some ppl says the sigma 50 got focusing issue with 6D, not sure the info zhun or not..
I tried one almost a month ago with the 60d, some pictures turn out oof i don't know apa problem, I also won't be buying one cause i don't have need for it. Al cheapo 50mm 1.8 serves more than enough.

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Aug 3 2014, 07:01 AM
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 3 2014, 12:37 PM

761 posts

Wow long time i no hang out here see this fruitie's nick liao, i come back lepak here she terus quit canon. haha
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 7 2014, 10:02 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 5 2014, 06:09 PM)
Long time didn't post anything since I was busy with my study. Some recent photos anyways.
user posted imageIMG_9919 by tuna97, on Flickr
Hey this one kasi crop near near the bug, see if can see details, cuba first
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 8 2014, 03:09 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Aug 8 2014, 02:53 PM)
Hi guys, i need some 'brainwashing'
I was about to get an affordable DSLR, and i still not decided which brand to go for.
Nikon looks great on the paper and pricing, but some ppl advises me to go for canon due to the color looks better on human. but others do ask me to consider sony too,

i mean, why would you chose canon on day 1 guys? my friend bought a 700D and he told me he kinda regretted and he should buy nikon.

appreciate your feedbacks
Well,

Anyone who tried different brands come and explain to our friend here. But i believe all cameras will have their merit.

But ah, last time when i was promoting Canon cameras, I always tell people flip to the bottom and see where the cameras are made. All Canon even the lowest end DSLR comes from Japan, and all Nikons come from Thailand except the higher end unit.But now change liao, lower end made in Taiwan, i think 700d is made in Japan.

Best you use dpreview.com to check out and compare the camera you wanna buy and go to the shop and try one by one.

I am so used to the Canon's dials and positioning.
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 8 2014, 04:10 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Aug 8 2014, 03:23 PM)
Let me ask you this, why would you chose canon?
My personal reason I am using Canon is as follow, it may not apply to everybody.

My first SLR was a Canon film and i got it cheap with a Remote too, until today i still can use it on my new body. (Reason to buy: cause its cheap and i got a good deal and after taking some shots and processing it, i loved the bokeh produced by the camera and lens)

My second camera, digital was a Canon too as i can port the lens and accesory over. (I loved it, it was light and easy to use, colour wise can be manipulated in camera menu). Autofocus is fast and it was the cheapest DSLR in the market. (Reason to buy: Cheapest DSLR in the market at new and second hand! and it is made in Japan)

Then i traded some items with another film Canon with a zoom lens and accesories, i love how all the items are interchangeable between all and autofocus still works. Of course ef-s lens cannot go to ef body as they have different construction. (Reason to buy: didnt have to pay any money to get free cam, lens and accesories)

I then bought another semi pro DSLR from Canon because it has a magnesium alloy body and i tell you this is tough. (Reason to buy: Upgrade, magnesium alloy body, first time i tried the dial and the high fps, i am so hook)

Then i was working part time to support my studies as a camera promoter for canon, at camera fairs i get to socialise with many camera promoters and play play with many different brands. From there, Straight out of camera shots from the Canon are more naturally toned, sony's picture processing are more vibrant and Nikon's user interface wasn't very user friendly and they are all made in Thailand, back then, sony don't produce camera sensor and they were using Nikon camera sensors.

Some customers wanted to trade in, again i would makan myself if the camera is a good deal, i got another semi pro body for cheap, the cam was 8 years old, i tried it and it was still solid, everything was still functioning. Until today i still use it as my backup body and studio set.

I have been using that ever since and recently i added another Canon DSLR with video capabilities but sad to say they removed the magnesium alloy body from this range. (Magnesium alloy is really tough, I was in a product training and the trainer brought the camera frame of the 50d and he was easily over 100kg and he step onto it and it never even deformed.)

Why do I still use canon now?
1. My accesories and lens are canon specific and it will be a hassle to sell one shot, no reason to sell too.
2. I am used to the interfaces and dials
3. Fast autofocus
4. Most cantik-cantik photo you see online are photoshop, so its not always about the camera.
5. I know how to repair my own gears for example by taking a whole lens apart and changing parts.(There are tutorials online if you ever need one because many poeple use canon.)
6. I've used my cams under drizzles and no problem.
7. Most people i know uses canon and we sekejap sekejap "Bro, i got event to cover tomorrow, my lens under repair can pinjam yours as spare" or the next photographer i meet be it pro or amateur"
8. I've also used the service centre before, they are professional and get the repair and service done.

Why should you consider a canon?
1. I believe they still give 2 years warranty now, at one point of time they even back their product for 3 years warranty. Brands aside, you know warranty is always very important for electronics in case you get a lemon unit.
2. The lower end nikons cannot use af on their 50mm and has to mf, the canon ones from the first eos camera the 650 until the highest end one can use it. And the canon version cost like 300 bucks. I think the nikons are like 4-500.
3.Also if you go to a major sporting event, you will realise that a majority say 70% shoot canon, take a look at the pic below. The white lenses are all canon shooters. Why people use Canons? FAST AF. But please you must know the USM motors are the driving force of these lenses, not all lens are built equal. user posted image
4. You like natural skin tone straight out of camera.

Pls dont tell me TLDR, I spent some time writing this i hope you read it.

At the end of the day, whatever you choose, just practice practice practice, and capture the moment, and i remember a photog once said "I dont know of any good photographer and I only know those who post their best photographs."
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 8 2014, 04:32 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Aug 8 2014, 04:22 PM)
i am truly, truly appreciate of your writings, damn it was the best article to persuade me to get canon, thank you very much bro!
what is TLDR??
my aim is to get canon 700d as a starter camera, unless you suggest otherwise hehe...
budget wise erm, less than 2k
btw, i found this on mudah.my, isnt that too cheap to be true?

http://www.mudah.my/NEW+Canon+700D+with+18...ag-28385144.htm
TLDR, Too long, didnt read.

Any camera will do, why don't you just buy your friends camera since he say he wanna buy Nikon.

I've seen the sellers name many times in many platform should be trustable. if you takut, just go to the shop to buy.
TScIvIc_noob
post Aug 9 2014, 10:57 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 8 2014, 09:39 PM)
Well I got my first dslr 3 years ago. Asked a lot people regrading which camera to get during that time. End up choosing between the Sony a57, Nikon d5100 and canon 550D/600D.

When I go to the shop, the salesman recommended me canon instead of sony and nikon, so end up getting it since I am newbie that time and don't have much knowledge.

Didn't regret choosing Canon system actually, albeit the super loud shutter, slow burst rate and bad dynamic range (for my 550D at least), it's still a good system. even a cheap 550D served me well for 3 years already without any fail or malfunction.

And talking about user friendly, I don't think Nikon stand any chance against Canon in this aspect. Used my friend's d3200, d5200 and few more entry level Nikons, the user interface is so bad. You have to press another button to go inside the menu (like the Q button on canon) then scroll around to get what you want to adjust. With canon you have the 4 direction keybad which serves as 4 shortcut keys already then 1 dedicated ISO button. all of these made adjusting settings really easy.

Canon have relatively cheaper lens too compared to other manufacturer. From cheap kit lens to higher end lens, a lot of them are cheaper than the nikon/ sony equivalent.

Too bad Canon didn't make a well designed mirrorless like Sony, if not I would never consider to leave this system. Sometimes DSLRs are really hard to bring around.
Yes , i remember i was using some d3000 if i was not mistaken, to set iso, i need to go into menu. I was shocked, that i thought was one of the most adjustable properties when taking picture as sometimes we have have maxed out our aperture, and reach the limit of the hand held, what to do next, mah bump up iso loh, imagine, you go in and set set iso and your subject lari sudah, fuuuuuuUuU.

The 60D im using now missing the WB button, althought i tulan but at least can custom button for it, the old xxD series use to have dual function button near top LCD but now all single function. Well what to do, marketing strategy, we end up losing.

0.0294sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:32 AM