6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V12, Strictly on technical discussion ONLY!

apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 07:58 AM

:: 35mm ::
3,326 posts

Finally..

New thread, now this is fresh..

Good luck TS, hopefully you won't turn into the dark side
cool2.gif

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jul 18 2014, 01:16 AM)
so. where should we post mi3 related thing. this thread build too slow LEL
1.16AM i'm still in dreamland la macha.. i think most of us too.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 18 2014, 01:54 AM)
Nope, I'm not closing it.

As I said in my last post, I'm allowing multiple threads discussing MI3 to co-exist.

The one that thrives will, well, thrive.

Oh and house rules: don't go trolling each others thread starters in their topics.

That's all, thanks.
This is fair policy.

thumbup.gif

QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Jul 18 2014, 02:26 AM)
Hello, is there any other ways to wake up screen besides pressing the power button? Cause each day I press it quite a lot to wake up my Mi3 and I afraid the button will spoil easily in one day  sweat.gif
1. Mikey
2. Gravity Screen App

But personally, I doubt buttons will spoil so easily. Maybe after a few years, but lets be honest, with Xiaomi's trend of cheap quality phones, maybe when the button do spoil you'd be with a Mi5 already

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 18 2014, 03:51 AM)
Thanks.. I'm open for suggestion & critics from fellow mi3 users.. if any of you find out I'm not appropriate TS just vote for next V13.. for now, I'm the TS  drool.gif
rolleyes.gif

you no sleep ah?

shakehead.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 08:29 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jul 18 2014, 08:17 AM)
Epic politics last night. You should read the last couple of pages of v11.
cool2.gif

Dawn Attack

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jul 18 2014, 08:25 AM)
guys, can we move or install data/app on usb otg storage instead of internal storage?
Yes,

just link the folders using FolderMount App

thumbup.gif

apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 09:24 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jul 18 2014, 09:03 AM)
survival of the fittest game?

i don't think it should be run this way
The best option so far tongue.gif

QUOTE(mufid10 @ Jul 18 2014, 09:07 AM)
Hi all,newbie here.
Just want to know is there any other different between ori msia set and ap set than warranty especially the spec?
ROMs definitely different laugh.gif

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jul 18 2014, 09:20 AM)
New TS. Keep It up the Good Job ya
OT: Hows 1+1 compared to Mi3? MIUI vs CM11s? cool2.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 10:17 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jul 18 2014, 09:27 AM)
brows.gif  brows.gif  Faster, bro Simple Plain Android UI very neat to Stock Vanilla Android.
Battery Life one full day for my usage with SOT nearly 5.5hrs
Well, reason being 1+1 is the benchmark now, it's good to know how does the Mi3 stack up
tongue.gif

Got a new replacement glass SP from seller as previous one just won't stick at the top corner.
But now the other top corner won't stick, confirmed no dust whatsoever.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

But in the mean time, i play play with old glass SP.
after 5 minutes abuse, the SP gave up.

initially very hard to stab or scratch, but after i bend the SP until crack, then easy to stab flex.gif

this is cheapo china brand, so i can only imagine what a branded high quality one can offer
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 10:34 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 18 2014, 10:26 AM)
Usually its the gums / stickers that worries me for cheapo glass or sp. After removing glass, will the residue still be there and cause a stain. Nillkin or similarly quality branded glass SP should be adequate but Spigen or same quality gum should stick much better and supposedly leave no residue.

The thinner the glass is, the easier it is to break. I'm a bit sceptical about those 9H claim tho, I think these cheapo glass claim's should be taken with a grain of salt.
So far all cheapo SP i tried, only small residue at edge due to dust.
Since most will give you alcohol swab, so clean like mad, no worries tongue.gif

about the hardness, i have no idea how hard is 9H,8H or what, but from my test, quite hard until it cracks.
once cracked, no hard at all

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 18 2014, 10:27 AM)
You're getting me worried, I have one with that batch at home still have no sim inserted yet.
you're far away from SC?
maybe can try ask SC if can courier instead
icon_rolleyes.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 10:44 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 18 2014, 10:37 AM)
Not far lar but have to take leave to go if really got a lemon. My leave very expensive one...now pokai, cannot waste leave...
If SC accept courier, can ask courier collect from you laugh.gif

Update:
Hardness & quality of cheapo glass SP not bad lah.
Just that the oleophobic layer only easily worn off

apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 11:01 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 18 2014, 10:46 AM)
The oleo thingy is really overhype. It usually works for only a short while. For my RM120 Spigen Nano, abt 3 months, tho some mentioned lesser. SO either way, its gonna be gone in short while. No oleo film after that...

No fault yet, just worry coz unit not tested. Go home tonite test. As for courier send SC, it will definitely take MUCH longer to repair if not send in person.
Overhyped eh? Then luckily i bought cheapo ones laugh.gif

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 18 2014, 10:54 AM)
mind to share the brand & cost for the SP? might be useful information for other user.
This one generic no brand, bought from eBay for RM13 only tongue.gif
Example Seller

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 18 2014, 10:55 AM)
what happened?
Nothing happened, I just changed to another SP.
So the old one I just test la whether if true about the hardness & shatter proof.

So my opinion, cheapo glass SP is quite hard though, i stabbed a lot but still won't shatter, after few minutes of bending & stabbing only it cracked flex.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 02:38 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(ottomatteseo @ Jul 18 2014, 12:15 PM)
Guys i hv a question

I bought an official mi 3 flipcase, but there is no hole for notification light. If say i want to make a hole using paper puncher, would it be alright? I dont want to damage the flipcase

Hv anyone tried this before?

Thx in advance
I'd say go with kopipeng's idea.

A wall drill with a good point, can adjust speed to get clean & precise hole

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jul 18 2014, 01:18 PM)
Hi guys

My mi3 is having problem with connecting to the wifi

Even when the signal is excellent it is stuck at either authenticating or obtaining ip

Avoid poor wifi connection is unchecked

btw i was able to connect just fine till yesterday
check your router, happened to me with Unifi router.
I just restarted both phone & router, and all went better until today
cool2.gif

apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 03:02 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 18 2014, 02:44 PM)
Do you experience this after update from whatsapp today ?  icon_question.gif

The DND mode not function anymore, my whatsapp still play sound after I switch to DND mode....  doh.gif
Never really used DND sweat.gif

You tried restarting?
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 03:19 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 18 2014, 03:11 PM)
Yup, I reboot d.... still the same  sad.gif

Just googled, it's a pre-existing bug since MIUI V4.5.30 build tongue.gif
SOS

Like always, lets hope the developers would fix it when lots of feedback are given
icon_rolleyes.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 03:39 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:28 PM)
My mi3 is taiwan rom version 18/ 4.4.2 stable rom

It happen before i upgrade on version 14 /4.3 even

Try all that already, still same...
Just a suggestion, maybe can try MY ROM or International ROM instead?
cool2.gif

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 18 2014, 03:31 PM)
before update to this version, it works just fine.... so regret after updated, can revert back to the previous version ?
Definitely can.

But you need to:
1. Install CWM in recovery & Full Wipe
2. Download previous Full ROM version HERE or can use other ROMs
3. Install ROM in CWM
4. Full Wipe

Did the above for my friend's 64GB China Mi3 tongue.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 03:50 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 18 2014, 03:47 PM)
but the update i meant is whatsapp not rom wo  sweat.gif
Ops..
My bad..

Too distracted, smelling Ayamas Ayam Percik in the office sweat.gif

notworthy.gif

Just uninstall, then download previous versions like HERE

tongue.gif

Edit: Just checked, if update from Mi Market, latest version of whatsapp is 2.11.304 rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by apache_utara: Jul 18 2014, 03:52 PM
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 05:09 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 18 2014, 04:02 PM)
To uninstall whasapp, do I need to backup all the conversation to PC and put back after install ?

I am update from Mi market, play store was 2.11.301.
Just manually backup:
Whatsapp - Settings - Chat Settings - click "backup conversation"

So when u reinstalled, it will prompt if you want to restore

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jul 18 2014, 04:42 PM)
Yeah did that and its okay now...funny thing is other devices can connect before restarting the router...

Thanks anyways notworthy.gif
Something to do with DNS flushing or what, can't remember.
But at least it's solved laugh.gif

QUOTE(boon96 @ Jul 18 2014, 05:00 PM)
Fellow Mi3 owners, anyone can help me with these problems that started since last week Dev rom?

1) Insensitive touch screen

2) Randomly have to re-type sim lock code(if didn't realise then cannot recieve calls)

3) Extreme RAM usage in idle

4) Home/Back/Options button unresponsive from time-to-time

Please help if you know how to solve this
For 1 & 4, try use hardware diagnosis to check, *#, #64663#*#*
I think can calibrate as well.

For 3, high usage is good, fully utilize, worry when 100% usage & phone lagging even when in performance mode laugh.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 05:13 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jul 18 2014, 05:04 PM)
Cheapo like Nillkin? hmm.gif
I have no idea if mine ever worked. After a week got lots of oil on the screen no matter how often I cleaned it. Just touch it once and there's a freaking fingerprint there that you can clearly see  doh.gif
Nillkin where got cheapo laugh.gif
This one rm13 with postage, no brand

Oleophobic I think just makes it easier to clean.
Not sure if exist any clear SP without fingerprints when touched.
Though last time I've read 3M released a self healing anti fingerprints SP but expensive wei
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 06:00 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jul 18 2014, 05:19 PM)
IMOS search garage sales.  brows.gif
IMOS is godly but pricey too

QUOTE(jay2you @ Jul 18 2014, 05:46 PM)
hey i realise when we hit lightly the back cover near camera there, there will be a sound like something is lose. (i guess is the camera sound) is that normal?
Mine okay je..

apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 09:40 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(patrick94 @ Jul 18 2014, 06:33 PM)
International rom running jb or kitkat? Anyone tried?
I'm using International Dev Rom, KitKat 4.4.3 tongue.gif

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 18 2014, 07:53 PM)
The rattle is very weak so you probably don't feel it.

Happen on my Note 3 too biggrin.gif
I read Lumia's Camera Lens module are "hanging" or rather resting on bearings for image stabilization purposes.
I wonder if you knock on it can hear same like Mi3 or not
tongue.gif

The lens on bearings at time = ~0.34seconds liddat laugh.gif

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 18 2014, 08:46 PM)
May I put this info in 1st page as reference? Might reduce people asking the same question over and over again.
Go ahead man, u da TS, thumbup.gif
Update: Here's the link for CWM custom for Mi3 that I used CWM
Original thread can be found HERE

This post has been edited by apache_utara: Jul 18 2014, 09:45 PM
apache_utara
post Jul 18 2014, 11:04 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(ottomatteseo @ Jul 18 2014, 10:23 PM)
If the camera rattles, does that mean it has some sort of  physical stabilization texh in place?
For mi3, doubt so
sweat.gif

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Jul 18 2014, 10:52 PM)
Me using maxis too
Dunno where the prob comes from

But when my phone hv this network issue,
I just knock it at the back

If i don't  do it, the prob will continue to reappear 3-5 times
From the teardown, looks like mi3 is using a single thin coaxial antenna

Maybe the connector is loose, so when you knock it, it fixes itself
hmm.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 19 2014, 05:54 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jul 19 2014, 12:32 AM)
If 5 star rating, how u will rate Mi3 ?

Someone said u got button issue, true ?
I'd give it 3.5/5 because:

1. Camera continuous auto focus is annoying & no option to turn it off doh.gif
2. No custom ROMs available sweat.gif

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 19 2014, 12:53 AM)
True oso. i deduct another 0.5 down to 4 point coz signal lousy.
but iphone speaker also like that what?
So far I've never had any issues with signal with Digi from stock to latest dev rom.

Location in Putrajaya - Desa Pandan - Taiping, all clear signal though internet can be lousy in certain areas sweat.gif

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 19 2014, 12:59 AM)
about the speaker, I mean when I put horizontal (or vertical) while playing Clash of Clan, the sound completely blocked by my hand.. even tho I put 90% volume already.. sometimes I don't even realize that the sound is on.. LOL
Mi3 needs stereo man!
tongue.gif

Oh yeah, forgot to link last time. Here's the video of the cheapo glass SP I tortured cool2.gif

This post has been edited by apache_utara: Jul 19 2014, 05:55 AM
apache_utara
post Jul 19 2014, 05:58 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Jul 19 2014, 04:55 AM)
Guys, I'm new to Mi 3 here. Just got the phone like a week ago. Of course, if I'm new to the phone, I am new to the whole MIUI system as well. I find their theme system the worst. I mean, there are a lot of 3rd party themes out there which are awesome and I just can't install them if they're not from the theme store directly. I've read this on their forum, they said this is to protect the copyrights of the creators and all. I am not saying I have a better solution for this, but there are definitely solutions better than this. If you are really hoping to install a 3rd party .MTZ theme file, you must signup as the designers for MIUI themes, upload those you wanted to the store, and wait for approval and then only you can really get the theme you wanted working.

I am also having issues with NFC as well. I don't get it, I've enabled both NFC and Android Beam in the settings already. It just won't work, and I cannot understand what is going on.[COLOR=blue]

To be honest, I believe there are a lot of people here like me. Really impressed with the hardware, especially for this price point. It is actually the software that ruins the phone, in my opinion. MIUI and its whole ecosystem are just plain not working well.

Edit:
This particular phone of mine, is all clean. I have not modify a single thing right out of the box, no root, no nothing.
I'm not using themes, so no idea. sweat.gif

But for NFC, I've been playing it a lot and i love it, made my life so easy laugh.gif

You need to explain in detail what exactly did you do which is not working?
Did you mean transfer files between phones/tablets with NFC? or NFC tags not working?
hmm.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 19 2014, 11:18 AM

3,326 posts

Tried updating to latest Dev ROM today but heck, got error doh.gif

Before this all okay

After some trial, had to download the whole ROM then only can update

doh.gif

Well, at least it's good to know that even if install new update from full ROM instead of incremental update, no data was lost.

So, no need wipe also can thumbup.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:21 AM