Sep 1 2006, 01:03 AM
991 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PeNaNg |
There he's. Finally the threadstarter has came back. Mebe the mod can reopen it or the threadstarter can just copy whtever u hav mentioned & continue updating w/ the rest of ur info
Sep 1 2006, 02:21 AM
1,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: i miss goatse :( |
QUOTE(kenzilla @ Aug 31 2006, 02:13 PM) First and foremost, my apologies for not continuing my last post. It appears the ever diligent moderator has locked that thread. I started the post the day before my trip, and did not finish it because I have an early flight, and only got back yesterday. whats wrong with posting it now?I am quite suprised at the responses from the original thread. If the moderators allow me some leeway for a couple of weeks, I will keep my promise and complete that post, complete with pictures of all the tools and projects. the way i see it, empty 'preview' posts like these dont serve any purpose, if only to bump up your post count. |
Sep 2 2006, 08:43 PM
15 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
eBola,Sep 1 2006, 02:21 AM]
whats wrong with posting it now? the way i see it, empty 'preview' posts like these dont serve any purpose, if only to bump up your post count. [/quote] Sorry if it appear that way. As I expained previously, I was away for a couple of weeks which I why I did not finish my previous post. Coming back, I was suprised at the response, so I promptly replied. Unfortunately, being married with a 1 year old kid and running a business means my hobby pc modding have to take a distant 3rd place. Looking at the feedback from my previous post, I thought I will take photos to accompany my new post, which I will get around to do...hopefully tomorrow. |
Sep 2 2006, 08:47 PM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
Thread reopened n merged. Hopefully it doesn't become a kopitiam thread again.
This post has been edited by ianho: Sep 2 2006, 08:47 PM |
Sep 2 2006, 08:57 PM
3,622 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Geez, like 8-balls said, all the hoo-ha. We want pix, not just "i can mod" or "i modded 1293812 cases".
Sep 2 2006, 09:02 PM
686 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
thread starter......are you that one i knew?? lol...are u?
Sep 2 2006, 09:19 PM
To reply to some of the posts here. I started modding in 2000, and done major modding on 2 - 3 cases. Water-cooling, double-PSU, cigarette lighters, the works. At the end of it, I trashed all those cases because the results was frankly, in a word, disastrous. Too much bling, and the workmanship was really atrocious. I started with a jigsaw, since I could not get my hands on a dremel early on. I am a engineer by trade, so I have quite a comprehensive set of tools, from circular saws to jackhammers, but most of those tools are WAY too rough to use on a PC case. I know first hand, and you should see all the panels I warped! My case painting in the beginning also did not went too well. It was hard to get a good finish (especially if the panel is warped!) Even when the finished is good, I find the paint work was too easily scratch or damaged. The last couple of years, i did mostly utilitarian mods, i.e., blowholes and wiring, to improve the cooling performance, rather than the aesthetics of the case. The reason is simply I did not have as much time for my hobby as I used to have. This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 2 2006, 09:30 PM |
Sep 2 2006, 09:29 PM
Tomyam,
I think not, as I have no idea who you are...sorry CloudX, Yeap..P3. 1 GHz to be exact. I still remember when CPU hit 1 GHz. It was a landmark back then. I did not even notice when it pass the 2 or 3 Ghz mark. We all get blaise after a while. I went shopping for a casing yesterday, and I could not find a virgin beige steel casing. I have no idea what it MATX though. Anyway, I actually prefer a beige ugly steel casing for RM75, rather than today's casing with windows/blowholes. For one, with all the existing features, it is difficult to add other mods. And if the manufacturers want to add fans, why can't they put in 120mm fans than the dinky and noisy 80mm? The ugly beige casings are like a blank piece of paper, to do what you will. Today casings you have to work with the pre-existing features. eBola & Acey, I am not here to gain recognition or bump up my post counts..(why? Do I get a prize if I post a lot?). I am not even in the computer trade, scene or whatever. I only came across this forum because I was checking out some prices for my new pc. I posted because I perceive that while there is a lot of old and expert modders here, there is also a lot of newbies in Malaysia trying to start modding. I figure that if I could share my experience with them, it would make their modding experiences slightly easier and less expensive. I only modded less than 5 casings, all for my own use, and all but 2 was a disaster. You guys got to relax. I am not here to claim your glory (what glory?). When I started modding, I pick up a lot of tips from the web, so I just thought its my turn to contribute. Nothing more, nothing less. I do have a living to make, and I am assembling my new AMD X2 3800 AM2 PC. Plus I am repairing my old AMD dual CPU A7M266-D motherboard, so I will take my own sweet time completing my post if its OK with the both of you. I was not aware there is a time limit here in this forum. This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 2 2006, 09:51 PM |
Sep 2 2006, 09:32 PM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Sigh...
Don't just talk talk laa... Put real pictures... All talk talk then this topic will be kopitiam topic, and later on, it'll be closed again... Don't just talk, put the pictures... |
Sep 2 2006, 10:01 PM
sHawTY,
No offense taken. What is a 'kopitiam' topic? For all intends and purposes, what is wrong with this being a coffeeshop talk? Sorry, but I am new to this forum, so I am not aware of the connotations behind 'kopitiam' topic. Secondly, I just got back from a business trip. My old A7M266-D PC was acting up, so decided to do a spring cleaning on the inside the PC. Clean it up, added two extra blow-holes and line the insides with foam for better acoustics, and the bloody thing suddenly decide to stop working. So I spent the last two days getting it to run, plus I need to assemble my new PC. Why all this pressure for the photos? Is it to prove I really know how to cut a blowhole? This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 2 2006, 10:06 PM |
Sep 2 2006, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(kenzilla @ Sep 2 2006, 10:01 PM) sHawTY, That's not the problem...No offense taken. What is a 'kopitiam' topic? For all intends and purposes, what is wrong with this being a coffeeshop talk? Sorry, but I am new to this forum, so I am not aware of the connotations behind 'kopitiam' topic. Secondly, I just got back from a business trip. My old A7M266-D PC was acting up, so decided to do a spring cleaning on the inside the PC. Clean it up, added two extra blow-holes and line the insides with foam for better acoustics, and the bloody thing suddenly decide to stop working. So I spent the last two days getting it to run, plus I need to assemble my new PC. Why all this pressure for the photos? Is it to prove I really know hoe to cut a blowhole? None of us here says that you can't cut a blowhole... It's just... All the talks, but no pictures, it's going to be harder for other people to understanding what you're doing... So, easier way is to put the pictures, together with the grandpa story just like bro "ianho" are doing... That's going to be better isn't it? Peace bro!! |
Sep 2 2006, 10:06 PM
3,622 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No offence but once there is a new thread about personal modding here, we ALL expect pictures or questions regarding confusion/new ideas when it comes to mods. Its becoming more of a chatroom in here.
Sep 2 2006, 10:09 PM
sHawTY,
Point taken. Will use my camera tomorrow.. Acey, Boy, you guys really pile up the pressure here. Just a suggestion, but a more relax attitude from the senior members help. For a while there, I wonder what I have gotten myself into. Its a hobby, for christsakes, not a competition.. I promised photos, but not right now. My project are all in my office, and I am not going back there 10 pm at night to take photos. That place is reputated to be haunted. This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 2 2006, 10:15 PM |
Sep 2 2006, 10:12 PM
Can't wait for the pictures...
Just some heads up, post the pictures of your modification on the first page aite? So that it'll be easier for all forumers here to look at it... Just some heads up... |
Sep 3 2006, 11:25 PM
Thanks sHawTY,
Picture included in original post. |
Sep 4 2006, 01:12 AM
1,666 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Spore/JohorBP |
anticipating ur work
got to give u 10cheers for using a cheapo ugly case. I believe in modding a simple case or ugly case impressively rather than expensive casing & exotic high end hardwares whcih i've done for others .... perhaps i lack creativity, now i await urs !! cheers .. |
Sep 4 2006, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(uglyvamp @ Sep 4 2006, 01:12 AM) anticipating ur work Actually, I love cheap ugly cases. No fans, no windows, no aluminium and preferably is beige. That way, if I f*#k it up, I don't feel so bad. Anyone know where I can get this kind of cases?got to give u 10cheers for using a cheapo ugly case. I believe in modding a simple case or ugly case impressively rather than expensive casing & exotic high end hardwares whcih i've done for others .... perhaps i lack creativity, now i await urs !! cheers .. I have another 2 projects which I will post when I have the time. If I started a new project thread before I am ready, there is too much pressure to post pics and complete the thread. Anyway, thanks. |
Sep 5 2006, 12:46 AM
1,666 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Spore/JohorBP |
seems like u do reply to every responses here
that's courtesy of ya .. spend more time to finish up ur job |
Sep 5 2006, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(uglyvamp @ Sep 5 2006, 12:46 AM) seems like u do reply to every responses here that's courtesy of ya .. spend more time to finish up ur job I did not get the top blowhole screws placement 100% aligned, and you can see the panel slightly warped. If I make the screw holes larger, that would solve the problem. The paint are all scratched up. This is an old casing afterall. Most of the modding here are for the looks. I am modding to keep my pc cool and quiet. Different priorities. This is my old workhorse, and I cannot afford to spend too much time on it, since I need to work also building a new PC. I need to get this one working asap, so as long as it run stably and quiet, I am fine with it. It is hidden under my desk anyway. BTW, I see you are also active in garage sales, and one of these days, I will pick something up from you. This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 5 2006, 08:41 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:17 AM |