PC Modding - My Story, Personal experiences on PC modding

TSkenzilla
post Aug 19 2006, 11:16 PM, updated 20y ago

15 posts

I been modding PC since 2000, when modding was very much in its infancy in Malaysia. Then, you cannot get hold of any decent kits or tools in Malaysia, and I wasted a good amount of money ordering from overseas, mainly from US and Australia. Today, a good number of items such as UV lights, water-cooling kits and whatnots are readily available from Low Yat Plaza.

I see in this and other forums many questions that I faced myself when I take up modding, and I obtained many answers and help from the internet, so I thought maybe it is time I contribute my own experiences. Here is my take on PC modding.

Nowadays, I do mostly utilitarian mods, i.e., for better cooling or better acoustic, rather than aesthetics. In other words, its ugly but it is cool and quiet smile.gif

For example, below are a simple mod I just completed. It is an old ICute casing for my dual-CPU A7M266-D motherboard. It is an old workhorse now, but it was state of the art when I bought it. It have 2 Athlon MP 2000 CPU, 2 GB of registered RAM and 2 x 120 GB HDD. It also has 2 x DVD-RW drives, and 6 x 80mm fans. The PC was exhibiting PSU problems in that sometimes it cannot detect the 2nd HDD, and I suspect that the PSU cannot deliver enough juice to the 2nd PSU. Since this is an old motherboard, I have problems finding a replacement PSU.

So I take the PC apart and gave it a good cleaning after 2 years of accumulated dust. Rather than trying to source a new suitable PSU, I decided to add a 2nd bay at the bottom and put in an old 2nd PSU to support all the fans and the none-critical drives. This way, with decrease demand on the PSU, I should be able to get another few years of use. The picture below show the molexs I added to the ICute casing for when my 2nd PSU bay is ready.

Since I am doing all this, I decided to optimized all the fans. The front of the casing has 4 x 80mm intake fans, and the back has another 2 x 80mm. Together with the dual CPU, and 2 other fans inside the PSU, the machine sound like a jet engine when switch on. It really was a bit too much.

So I decided to get rid of the 4 x 80mm fan and replace it with 1 x 120mm fan instead. To do this, I have to cut a new hole at the center of the existing 80mm fan bays. The new 120mm was then mounted on a rubber gasket.

The front plastic bezels have only teeny weeny slots (something which I never understand) so I decided to cut a blowhole in the plastic for better airflow. The problem is that the power and reset switch sits right smack in the middle of the bezel. Therefore, to minimized the amount of workm I simply cut around the switches and create an U-shaped blowhole.

To improve the air-intake further, I add an extra 120mm fan on top of the case. The fan was again mounted on rubber gasket, with an air-filter and fan-guard. My rationale for such a high proportion of intakes is that I rather have intakes through my filters, rather than have negative pressure inside my casing and draw unfiltered air inside my casing. Secondly, I insulated my casing with rubber and foam, which seals up a lot of gaps so negative pressure will not work anyway.

For better acoustics, all the fans, including the ones inside the PSU are remounted either on gaskets or rubber washers. For example, the top 120mm fan was mounted on rubber gaskets, and foam was fitted into the top of the 3.5" bays. Foam was added to the bottom and side panels as well.

A. Essential tools

1. Jigsaw

This is a good tool for cutting large openings like side panels, but it is essential that the right blades are used and the panel properly supported.
It is panel is not properly supported or if you are using thin aluminium panels, it is possible that if the blade catch during the cutting operation it will warp your panel. Also, it is difficult to get a good smooth precison cut from a jigsaw, which is why I use this tools only when I have to, which is for large openings which will take too much time and effort using a Dremel. One should be prepared to do a lot of finishing work using files and sandpaper after cutting with a jigsaw. You can get this tools from pretty much any hardware store.

2. Dremel
I got mine way back in 2000 from a shop in Jalan Pasar. It was bought from Soon Huat Hardware, but when I visited them last weekend, they no longer carry the tool. I saw from Case Modding Tools post that Dremel is also available at a hardware shop at Jaya Shooping Complex, but I have yet to personally check out the place yet. I also see from the same post that Black & Decker offers a similar tool which is more readily available from hardware stores such as ACE Hardware at MidValley, but the complaint seems to be that it overheats rather quickly.

Dremel allows a much more precision cut than using a jigsaw, but unless you are using a diamond cutting disc (which I have yet to find in Malaysia) you will end up using 4-8 normal cutting discs on just one 120mm blowhole, depending on your skill and how may disc you cracked mad.gif . The good thing is that these type of cutting disc seems to be readily available in Jalan Pasar.

There is a similar tool that looks very much like a Dremel sold in electronics shop in Jalan Pasar. It is quite cheap (<RM100) and comes with similar accessories. However, you will see that it takes power from a transformer, and it is way underpowered for cutting through steel or aluminium panels. It is a waste of money since it is an extremely limited tool.

3. Files
A simple and cheap tool, but often overlooked. Always get a set of files, and the most useful are the circular and sem-circular file. You should also get a set of the small files, which comes in a series of shapes, i.e., square, triangle, round, etc. A set of the small files will set you back RM10 from any hardware shop. Use the large files are large openings and the small files for small opening, tight corner and complex shapes.

This post has been edited by kenzilla: Sep 3 2006, 10:23 PM
gengstapo
post Aug 20 2006, 12:13 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

no picture or image at all ka?
ynneb25
post Aug 20 2006, 12:37 AM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(kenzilla @ Aug 19 2006, 11:16 PM)
I been modding PC since 2000, when modding was very much in its infancy in Malaysia. Then, you cannot get hold of any decent kits or tools in Malaysia, and I wasted a good amount of money ordering from overseas, mainly from US and Australia. Today, a good number of items such as UV lights, water-cooling kits and whatnots are readily available from Low Yat Plaza.

I see in this and other forums many questions that I faced myself when I take up modding, and I obtained many answers and help from the internet, so I thought maybe it is time I contribute my own experiences. Here is my take on PC modding.
A. Essential tools

1. Jigsaw
This is a good tool for cutting large openings like side panels, but it is essential that the right blades are used and the panel properly supported. It is panel is not properly supported or if you are using thin aluminium panels, it is possible that if the blade catch during the cutting operation it will warp your panel. Also, it is difficult to get a good smooth precison cut from a jigsaw, which is why I use this tools only when I have to, which is for large openings which will take too much time and effort using a Dremel. One should be prepared to do a lot of finishing work using files and sandpaper after cutting with a jigsaw. You can get this tools from pretty much any hardware store. Personally, I use a Ryobi jigsaw.

2. Dremel - I got mind way back in 2000 from a shop in Jalan Pasar. I remember it was a small storefront selling power tools, and I remember the shop keeper telling me that the only other customer that bought the tools was using it in a dentist shop to make false teeths! I saw from Case Modding Tools post that Dremel is also available at a hardware shop at Jaya Shooping Complex, but I have yet to personally check out the place yet. I also see from the same post that Black & Decker offers a similar tool which is more readily available from hardware stores such as ACE Hardware at MidValley, but the complaint seems to be that it overheats rather quickly.

Dremel allows a much more precision cut than using a jigsaw, but unless you are using a diamond cutting disc (which I have yet to find in Malaysia) you will end up using 4-8 normal cutting discs on just one 120mm blowhole, depending on your skill and how may disc you cracked  mad.gif .  The good thing is that these type of cutting disc seems to be readily available in Jalan Pasar.

There is a similar tool that looks very much like a Dremel sold in electronics shop in Jalan Pasar. It is quite cheap (<RM100) and comes with similar accessories. However, you will see that it takes power from a transformer, and it is way underpowered for cutting through steel or aluminium panels. It is a waste of money since it is an extremely limited tool.

3. Files
A simple and cheap tool, but often overlooked. Always get a set of files, and the most useful are the circular and sem-circular file. You should also get a set of the small files, which comes in a series of shapes, i.e., square, triangle, round, etc. A set  of the small files will set you back RM10 from any hardware shop. Use the large files are large openings and the small files for small opening, tight corner and complex shapes.

To be continued...
wow....an old timer for pc modding!! nowadays got alot of pc modders wannabe...(i am one of them tongue.gif) hopefully 'sifu' can share wif us your knowledge and experience tongue.gif

jinkinz
post Aug 20 2006, 02:23 AM

♥HIEK!my name is BOXXY!♥
1,162 posts

dont just talk..show us ur mod masterpiece
pizzaboy
post Aug 20 2006, 02:34 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(jinkinz @ Aug 20 2006, 02:23 AM)
dont just talk..show us ur mod masterpiece
my goodness, can you sound a little more well-mannered?
btw, it's a "rotary tool" thread starter....Dremel's a brand.
ccy1989
post Aug 20 2006, 09:56 AM

2,415 posts

I hope TS can show us some of the picture for all these tool you have owned them. tongue.gif
Traveler
post Aug 20 2006, 06:19 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Great post kenzilla! Good to know another old hand at case modding. I've been modding casings since 1999, so looks like we started modding around the same time.

One thing to bear in mind when using power tools like jigsaws and dremels is to always use eye protection! You don't want those little bits of metal flying into your eyes do you? shocking.gif

bombman
post Aug 21 2006, 03:13 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

kenzilla : Diamond cutting wheel can be found in M'sia act smile.gif

And act u wont need so many cutting wheels (I assume u r usin' Standard Cut-Off Disc or Heavy Duty) if use Fibre Reinforced Cutting Wheels. Just a single wheel can cut whole side panel wink.gif
miraged
post Aug 21 2006, 08:52 AM

405 posts

u guys are awesome!
keep ti up!

eBola
post Aug 21 2006, 01:51 PM

blah
1,928 posts

wow, seriously, all this hoo-haa over a single post?
GoldenHawk
post Aug 22 2006, 01:56 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

Hehehe biggrin.gif Started modding WAAAY back, while I was still schooling. About 1997-ish tongue.gif Teaktown.com & Casejunkiez.com were my main feed then laugh.gif
1st case I shaughtered was my Acer Entra 500 laugh.gif Used a hand-saw to get the window done laugh.gif Files & hammers were my best friends biggrin.gif Couldn't (...or didn't know where to doh.gif ) find acrylic easily back then, so I resorted to using spare window panes, the one with the patterns laugh.gif

Used to remember going to LowYat & asking for sleeves & CCFL's. laugh.gif Should've seen the look on the shopkeepers' face when I tried to explain what the HECK it was! laugh.gif Classic-man! laugh.gif

Man, things HAVE changed! wink.gif
bombman
post Aug 23 2006, 12:59 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

Wht is the objective of this thread act ekk? Sharing stories or sharing knowledge? tongue.gif

GoldenHawk : Seems the most emoticons used in single post laugh.gif
Cloudx
post Aug 23 2006, 01:35 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

QUOTE(bombman @ Aug 23 2006, 12:59 AM)
Wht is the objective of this thread act ekk? Sharing stories or sharing knowledge?  tongue.gif
GoldenHawk : Seems the most emoticons used in single post  laugh.gif
Duno lo... the threadstarter disappear without completing his story... sweat.gif
fantagero
post Aug 23 2006, 06:33 AM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

yeah... threadstarter should show his masterpiece..
as mod from 2000.. sure got many rite.. huhh
notworthy.gif
ynneb25
post Aug 23 2006, 10:20 AM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 23 2006, 06:33 AM)
yeah... threadstarter should show his masterpiece..
as mod from 2000.. sure got many rite.. huhh
notworthy.gif
laugh.gif i guess its an one-off thing.....talk abit then disappear sweat.gif
fantagero
post Aug 23 2006, 10:27 AM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

I been modding PC since 2000,

i hope u not saying that
u mod once in 2000... huhuuh
where are u TS ???
Cloudx
post Aug 23 2006, 12:57 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Haha i really wanna hv a look at his modding. 2000 is the year of P3 rite?? Wanna see how he mod those bulky MATX case tongue.gif
eBola
post Aug 27 2006, 06:15 PM

blah
1,928 posts

oh look, a soon-to-be-dead thread filled with me-too and useless posts.

how pointless can this get?

whee.
ianho
post Aug 27 2006, 11:11 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

This thread has become a useless spammers kopitiam. THREAD CLOSED.

This post has been edited by ianho: Aug 27 2006, 11:12 PM
TSkenzilla
post Aug 31 2006, 02:13 PM

15 posts

First and foremost, my apologies for not continuing my last post. It appears the ever diligent moderator has locked that thread. I started the post the day before my trip, and did not finish it because I have an early flight, and only got back yesterday.

I am quite suprised at the responses from the original thread. If the moderators allow me some leeway for a couple of weeks, I will keep my promise and complete that post, complete with pictures of all the tools and projects.

This post has been edited by kenzilla: Aug 31 2006, 02:13 PM

0.0222sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:45 AM