834 posts

congrats on new tered yo rclxms.gif
dares
post Jul 13 2014, 04:22 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kulatkia @ Jul 13 2014, 03:55 PM)
I dun think air bag place inside driver seat,  am I right...
Side airbags are inside the front driver and passenger seats.

dares
post Jul 13 2014, 09:53 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kulatkia @ Jul 13 2014, 09:51 PM)
Thx...  I assume you are referring to our toy preve as well... Before this I thought both 3rd n 4th air bag are from pillar :-P
All side airbags deploy from the seats wan, it's the same with all cars with side airbags. nod.gif
dares
post Jul 15 2014, 08:23 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jul 15 2014, 07:54 PM)
engine 3 years..other parts 2 years.
I believe the user manual was not updated with the 5 years warranty term. Best to check with WetakCare.
dares
post Jul 16 2014, 12:01 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(sAm fIsher @ Jul 16 2014, 11:31 AM)
hi all sifus here. did u check the manual gear shift release when u took your car. i did and found that i was not able to shift to any other gear when 'cucuk'ing the release button. when i told this to SC, the rep told me that is normal for preve which is unlike any normal car. he said need to start car 1st, then cucuk n change gear. sounds very funny for me. do u experience the same? or the method i used was wrong. read the manual a few times on that.
You mean the shift lock release? at the bottom of the gearstick?
dares
post Jul 17 2014, 01:12 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jul 17 2014, 12:54 PM)
Normally the SC willing to do touch up paint for us too, in FOC?
No
dares
post Jul 17 2014, 03:32 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(sAm fIsher @ Jul 17 2014, 03:29 PM)
Yeah
That button should be able to release the shifter even with engine off, otherwise defeat the purpose of that button dy, eg, when you can't start the car but need to push it to the side of the road, you use that button to be able to shift into N.
dares
post Jul 18 2014, 11:11 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(sharpex @ Jul 18 2014, 10:08 AM)
i'm not sure. go a few SC last monday since I on leave that day.

1st SC : After checking, they suspect brake disk/brake pad problem. But advise me to go to Shah Alam because my ODO below 400km

2nd SC (Shah Alam HQ) : Need to make an appointment since its a peak time for servicing (Hari Raya). Earliest is Wednesday (But I can't go since got urgent meeting).

3rd SC (Glenmarie) : Need to make an appointment. Earliest is next Tuesday.

4th SC (shah alam, Random SC i use GPS) : Not even checking my car. When I say got helicopter sound, they advise go to SC HQ. They mention its a claim problem and the stock is not ready.
Well, I decide to go back, and wait after hari raya only make an appointment at HQ. The receptionist at SC HQ did mention, small SC never want to take the responsibilities. Ayat dia lebih kurang macam ni. "Buat apa kami lantik dia jadi SC kami kalau diorang tak nak ambil kes?" There is no such thing as below 500km, must go SC HQ.  doh.gif  doh.gif
Have you tried Proton Edar SCs instead of authorized SCs?
dares
post Jul 18 2014, 12:42 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jul 18 2014, 10:37 AM)
feel sad to heard so many minor problem from users.. also worry about my new preve.. hmm have to check see whether got problem in coming.. but for the test drive unit, i did experienced the "helicopter" braking sound.. since is new 2014 unit, i hope its just new braking pad, and disc.. so hopefully my car have no this issue.. *Finger cross*
I'd rather pay RM73k for minor quality problems, instead of paying the same for less safety or pay over RM100k for gearbox problem.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 18 2014, 12:43 PM
dares
post Jul 19 2014, 08:21 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 19 2014, 08:09 PM)
with a discount of over RM4k, wat difficulty are you talking about? hmm.gif
Because vincent818 is not in Sarawak?
dares
post Jul 22 2014, 02:38 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 22 2014, 02:30 PM)
I just met with a Proton SA from TTDI and I got RM800 personal discount from him and the JPJ number plus other gifts.

Problem is that I don't have car license YET thus I need a guarantor for it  doh.gif
No driving license can buy car? hmm.gif
dares
post Jul 27 2014, 06:38 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Jul 27 2014, 06:32 PM)
what petrol you guys using ya?...

thinking to switch to BHP from Shell....got difference ar?...
one is Euro2, one is Euro3.
dares
post Jul 28 2014, 10:13 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(ZeroHavoc @ Jul 28 2014, 10:09 AM)

Mind explainin what is these euro?
In simplified terms, Euro3 is cleaner than Euro2 fuel, for both the engine and the environment.

In Malaysia, only BHP is Euro3, the rest are Euro2.

In the meantime, the rest of the world has moved on to Euro5 grumble.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 28 2014, 10:13 AM
dares
post Jul 28 2014, 07:26 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Jul 28 2014, 05:54 PM)
yup i know about the euro 2 & 3 diff,

i just wanna know in experience, feeling wise, is it really got diff =)
Personally I feel Shell gives me the least performance and worst FC. but may just be placebo.

I use either Caltex or BHP.
dares
post Aug 2 2014, 11:09 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(kulatkia @ Aug 1 2014, 10:51 PM)
Just curious after 2 weeks is SA still responsible on this type of matter? My one superb...  I found my front boot scratches(confirmed induce before car delivery) after 3 days and ask for claim, who know my SA said I didn't claim during car delivery so it's my own issue... So no choice I had signed the paperwork and acknowledged car in good condition during car collection so I blame no one...  But to b honest if you need very details check during car delivery at least you have to spend few hours there with SA,  to me this gonna b bored n shame, dun u agree me?  tongue.gif
This SA is clearly not looking for repeat business from his customers.

My Proton SA would drive to his customer's house and collect the car and send to it the SC for repairs. I know about this from his other customer who discovered the defects right after he collected the car and went home.

Too bad the dealership has since changed ownership and the SA has resigned and is now working in the used car business.
dares
post Aug 8 2014, 12:04 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 8 2014, 11:59 AM)
Checked my Preve at the shop. 100% OK. Engine is not as loud as I expected (maybe I was comparing it with my old Wira! Ha).

Cannot find any crack or rusty spot on the car. Good.

But found a wet battery in the Preve while expecting a dry battery as I learnt from one friend in the forum that his has a dry battery. Asked the head of service there and he said normally it is wet battery. Can you check whether yours is wet or dry battery?

Have to wait till Tuesday to get my car as JPJ is not open on Sat and some excise duty issue.

Cheerio.
It should be a RAMCAR brand maintenance-free wet battery, not dry battery.

This post has been edited by dares: Aug 8 2014, 12:05 PM
dares
post Aug 16 2014, 01:41 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 16 2014, 01:22 PM)
BB
page 81 "4. Avoid using the washer continuously for more than 20 seconds."
==> Big problem when the rain is for more than 20 seconds then! Ha. I think they are referring to a certain condition where the 20 seconds condition applies. But what condition? Dry windscreen?

It meant don't run the windscreen washer fluid pump (that sprays water on your windscreen) continuously for 20 seconds. Why you wanna spray water on your windscreen when it is raining? blink.gif

EE
page 128 Waxing & Polishing. I thought they are the same thing. What is the difference?
Not the same. Waxing applies a thin layer of wax to protect your paint against the elements. Polishing grinds of a thin layer of clearcoat to restore the surface gloss and remove shallow scratches.

When you do wax and polish at a detailing shop, the polishing comes before the wax.

page 134 "The spare wheel for this vehicle is of a different size to those fitted to your car and should only be used temporarily."
==> My first reaction - why? Stupid idea! BUT after thinking about it for awhile, it is a good strategy. I assume the proper wheel is more expensive than this spare wheel. So why pay for an expensive wheel which will be just sitting there until needed? Ya, you need it for a flat tyre. The cheaper spare wheel can also be used for the flat tyre scenario. After x years, you will need to replace the spare tyre even when it has not been used. Cheaper with the above strategy.

Smaller spare tire occupy less space in the boot. If you put a full size tire in the spare tire compartment, the boot floor will need to be raised.

HH
page 161 " SAE 10W-30".
==> Mach 5 is 15W-40, a higher spec than the required 10W-30. Why then some of our friends here use synthium etc? For better protection, longer mileage before oil change?
Mach 5 is mineral oil. Syntium is Semi Synthetic. In layman terms, mineral is suitable for 5k km oil-change interval, while semi synthetic can lasts 10k km.

Is it necessary to switch off the ac first before switching off the engine?

Need to remove CD from the player before switching off the engine? Or OK to leave it in there by switching off the engine?

It's not necessary to switch off AC before switching off the engine. But it is advisable NOT to start the engine with the AC already on. This is to avoid the compressor loading the engine upon startup. Consequently most people just switch off the AC when shutting off the car.

Also there is no need to remove the CD.

This post has been edited by dares: Aug 16 2014, 01:44 PM
dares
post Aug 16 2014, 08:09 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 16 2014, 06:03 PM)
Just checked the spare wheel as I wanted to ensure that the pressure is at the required 4 bars.

They say it is smaller. By smaller, I thought they were referring to tyre's width (narrower). I stood it side by side against the normal wheel. It is about an inch shorter! Now imagine putting that spare wheel on, the car will be tilted at one corner! Now I cannot understand why they use this smaller wheel and not the same size wheel as the rest.

Or is this the norm for other non Proton cars?

Yes, it is normal for non proton cars as well.
dares
post Aug 29 2014, 02:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(nelsonmui87 @ Aug 29 2014, 01:55 PM)
My rim got scratch a bit also. Just worry will it become rusty?
Alloy rims won't rust.
dares
post Aug 31 2014, 03:54 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 31 2014, 03:44 PM)
if now my tyre botak already.. shud i just change the front tyre? or i use my back tyre as front and use my new tyre at the back? if like tat means i dont benefit from the new tyre( better traction, water removing etc) at the front esp where it is more important than the back tyre.
Do this

0.0442sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:58 AM