Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

Magnarod
post Oct 12 2014, 08:28 PM

89 posts

I'm currently planning for a trip to Japan on 2016 (I know it's early, but the earlier I plan, the easier the planning in later stages will be), but I'm can only select one from these events:

- JAEPO (Arcade Game Expo)
- Anime Japan
- Music Media-Mix Market aka M3 (It's like Comiket, but one day and limited to music)
- COMITIA (It's like Comiket, but only original works)

Which one would you recommend to me? Also, M3 and COMITIA requires entrants to have an event catalog. It is possible to purchase it near the event place early in the morning, but I prefer to buy it earlier. So, what kind of places are likely to stock them? Is it possible to buy them in shops in international airports (Haneda or Narita)? Any feedback is appreciated! icon_question.gif
Magnarod
post Oct 13 2014, 08:46 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 13 2014, 11:57 AM)
Fuh, really got people plan trip 2 years in advance? Plan early is good but this is overdoing it liao IMO. I mean you can't buy flight tickets ... hmm.gif
I just want to get a general idea how the trip will go as those events are scheduled for the final day of a 3D3N stay. Once decided which event to attend I can start saving money to collect funds. Let's see the options I mentioned earlier:

JAEPO (February)
Pros - Can sidestep bans on visiting arcades imposed by my elder sister who will come along with me.
Cons - It is located in Chiba, which would be expensive if go from Tokyo. I plan to visit Akihabara and Odaiba as well.

AnimeJapan (March)
Pros - Worthy for staying inside the venue whole day long and I heard that it is not as packed as other events.
Cons - Less interesting compared to other events.

Music Media-Mix Market aka M3 (April)
Pros - Can get through quickly and more spare time to visit somewhere else. Just but a few music CDs and get out.
Cons - If cannot get catalog then cannot enter. Also, too near to Haneda Airport.

COMITIA (May)
Pros - More interesting compared to other events. I plan to buy some music CDs and games from the event.
Cons - If cannot get catalog then cannot enter and got heavy language barrier, even compared to M3. At least some staffs of M3 organizing committee know English.

Still can't decide. cry.gif rclxub.gif
Magnarod
post Oct 17 2014, 10:14 PM

89 posts

Just to share (after some really confusing searches on the information rclxub.gif )in case of anyone want to go for either Music Media-Mix Market or COMITIA. Both events require catalog for entry, which can be bought as early as 9am around the entrance of the event area. If you want to avoid risk of having the catalog sold out there, you can actually find the catalog in stores that stock anime goods.

If you want to locate stores which stock them, the organizers do keep a list of stores ( Here for Music Media-Mix Market and here for COMITIA) which stock them. Keep in mind that the pages are only active when the event is near and the catalogs' official selling date depends on the organizers and it is possible that by the time you have arrived in Japan the catalogs are sold out. Hopefully this tip helps!

This post has been edited by Magnarod: Oct 17 2014, 10:15 PM
Magnarod
post Nov 11 2014, 09:44 PM

89 posts

Currently still on planning (and fund saving) phase and got some ideas, but now I got some questions before I can plan further:

1. Just how crowded comiket exactly is? I saw photos of the event and there's no space between people at all, but would it be just as crowded if I arrived on afternoon as suggested by preparation committee?

2. Other than some night shopping and viewing night landscape at observatory decks, what are the things to do in Tokyo at night?

3. Is it cheaper to buy stuffs from supermarkets? Any recommendations?
Magnarod
post Nov 13 2014, 07:08 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 13 2014, 12:22 AM)
What's Bank Negara rate ?
You can always check their latest rates at their website. As for yen, it is displayed lower area of the home page's side bar. I always looked there for their rates.
Magnarod
post Nov 13 2014, 08:20 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(XIII @ Nov 13 2014, 12:57 PM)
Wohoo I've gone to comiket last year. May I know first what do you wish to do by visiting comiket? Depending on your answer will of course give you different times to line up with the crowd. If you are like me want popular event-limited goods you may have to go early (die hard fans line up at 1AM at event day in the winter  blink.gif ) or if you just want to go and get a 'feel' on what is comiket you can come afternoon to look around the 3 different halls as the people will be 'lesser'.

FYI I went there quite 'late' in the morning on the first day, if I remember correctly I reached Kokusai Tenjijo Station (International Exhibition Centre Station) around 08:30AM and join the long line of people. I think I lined up more than 2km from the convention hall.  (Refer to pics)

Took me almost 30 minutes of walking/lining up to reach the halls after the event started at 10am!  biggrin.gif

Then more lining up to the commercial exhibitors! Well at least I got some exclusive GSC goods by myself  tongue.gif

I plan to buy music CD and side merchandises from doujin circles that I like. I think while they are reasonably popular, I don't think their stuffs would sold out when I come around 12pm as planned. After all, just getting even 1 CD is enough for me, but my shopping budget just for the event alone would be at least 5 CDs.
Magnarod
post Nov 15 2014, 07:03 PM

89 posts

I plan to change some of my money into Yen at Bank Negara Malaysia, but as far as I know the smallest denomination possible is merely 1000 yen. Is there any way to exchange 500 and 100 Yen coins locally? If not, is there any option in Japan?
Magnarod
post Nov 20 2014, 07:42 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(raisedbywolves @ Nov 12 2014, 03:07 PM)
2. As for Yen I went to Bank Negara to change, because we needed to change a 5-figure sum. If it's a smaller sum, then Pyramid's money exchange rate is quite good.
From the currency exchange thread:

QUOTE(NREG @ Nov 20 2014, 01:21 PM)
I called to Bank Negara and they mention that they do not exchange to public and advise me to go to money changer. Wonder how you manage to change it at Bank Negara, please do share. Thanks.
I'm wondering the same thing too.
Magnarod
post Nov 23 2014, 11:07 AM

89 posts

Are game IDs (E-amusement, Banapassport etc) purchased locally compatible to the arcade game machines in Japan? If not compatible I'll leave them at home when traveling there. If lost have to pay approximately RM 70 for all of them on top of those unrecoverable game progress. cry.gif
Magnarod
post Nov 30 2014, 08:10 PM

89 posts

Based on my observations, the rates will be stable for now. But expect rates from money changers fluctuate around 1000Yen = RM 29, which is approximately RM 1 = 34.4 yen.
Magnarod
post Jan 18 2015, 10:27 PM

89 posts

I don't have actual plans to do this for the time being, but will Japanese immigration get suspicious if I enter in the morning and I said I will exit by night the same day? Sometimes I feel like if I am going solely for an one-day-event over there there's no point in staying more than that plus waiting time for plane.

0.0523sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:40 AM