Audi A4 2012 1.8T Service RM2700 ++, 60K Mileage

TSkahjye
post Jun 23 2014, 10:28 PM, updated 12y ago

4,494 posts

hello sifus.

today i called euromobil and they quoted me RM2.7K ++ for 60k mileage .

the car is already above 2 yrs.

so its no more warranty.

is it advisable to go back service or others?

2.7k is not a small amount for "service" blink.gif

This post has been edited by kahjye: Jun 25 2014, 12:17 AM
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 12:16 AM

4,494 posts

bump
kww
post Jun 25 2014, 12:23 AM

320 posts

At least you can list it out what is in the 2.7k quote. I was quoted 7k for my vw polo 9n at 80000km, I go outside workshop for 2nd opinion.
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 12:25 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 12:23 AM)
At least you can list it out what is in the 2.7k quote. I was quoted 7k for my vw polo 9n at 80000km, I go outside workshop for 2nd opinion.
hmm..

i have no idea cause i asked how much for them to service the A4 on the 60k mileage.

wow 7k...thats crazy bro.

how much did u saved for going 3rd party workshop ?
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 12:28 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(HeartRock_Cafe @ Jun 25 2014, 12:27 AM)
2.7k is crazy  rclxub.gif

7k!!!  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif

glad i am driving accord  sweat.gif
yeah man...i was shocked when i heard of that amount lol.

so i wonder if its worth to go back there.
sengasdf
post Jun 25 2014, 12:36 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jun 25 2014, 12:28 AM)
yeah man...i was shocked when i heard of that amount lol.

so i wonder if its worth to go back there.
I dont think 2.7k service is expensive for 60k, most probably intermediate or major service. You are driving conti not jap, so accept the fact or take risk servicing outside which is cheaper

kadajawi
post Jun 25 2014, 03:02 AM

544 posts

That high price tag must include things like replacing the timing belt for example, so you pay for the parts and for lots of work. Basically it's not that easy that you can let any other workshop do it.

Of course you can go to an outside workshop, but perhaps they won't replace the part. Or they replace it with an imitation that won't last. Or they try but don't know what to do and damage other stuff. And on and on and on. I know that my SC checks my car thoroughly, so that parts can be ordered in time and be replaced before they cause further damage/standing by the roadside.

I don't know how good your Euromobil SC is, there are SC that will cheat too, mostly heard that about Japanese SC. But if you chose not to go there, find a VW/Audi specialist that knows exactly what he is doing. Might not be that big of a saving though, I don't know.
KeV
post Jun 25 2014, 07:29 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

Join Club Audi Malaysia in facebook. Usually we send to our club workshop in Autoreign Sunway. More realistic price and detailed quote there. Own a Audi Q7 now smile.gif
jwrx
post Jun 25 2014, 08:12 AM

515 posts

without listing down what they are doing for the 2.7k, no one can advise you. it could be very value for money, it could be cut throat who knows

But there are plenty of audi specialist outside who can do a 60k service
19 Degree South
post Jun 25 2014, 08:19 AM

1,684 posts

Did I read wrongly or what? Audi is still using timing belt ah?
overfloe
post Jun 25 2014, 08:25 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 25 2014, 04:02 AM)

I don't know how good your Euromobil SC is, there are SC that will cheat too, mostly heard that about Japanese SC. But if you chose not to go there, find a VW/Audi specialist that knows exactly what he is doing. Might not be that big of a saving though, I don't know.
even 'outside' workshops also cheat.. there are good workshops and there are bad workshops. knowing your car a little bit more is a good start. this way you will know what is necessary to replace/service. knowing where to source genuine parts with lower price tag than SC is a bonus thumbup.gif

RM2k ish for a major service sounds normal.. ask for the breakdown list.
kadajawi
post Jun 25 2014, 08:48 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jun 25 2014, 08:19 AM)
Did I read wrongly or what? Audi is still using timing belt ah?
I was just giving an example. I don't own an Audi, and it could be different for different engines. Didn't VW at some point switched back to timing belts? In any case all I wanted to say was that there is probably a reason for that high quotation. 60k should be a major one, that pricing might be justified (though it does sound a bit high to me).
dtna7
post Jun 25 2014, 08:55 AM

456 posts

60k mileage 2.7k is normal la. You are driving an Audi for Christ's sake. doh.gif

Even D Segment is normal to charge upwards of 1.5k during major service.

Merc/BMW might even cost more than that i reckon.

Just do the major service and keep your warranty. Or next we're gonna see you open a thread complaining Audi voided your warranty when you tried to claim.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 08:58 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 12:23 AM)
7K?? Can you tell what they replace?

It's probably cheaper to push your car off the cliff, claim insurance and use the 7K for downpayment for another new car!!! sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 09:00 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jun 25 2014, 08:55 AM)
60k mileage 2.7k is normal la. You are driving an Audi for Christ's sake. doh.gif

Even D Segment is normal to charge upwards of 1.5k during major service.

Merc/BMW might even cost more than that i reckon.

Just do the major service and keep your warranty. Or next we're gonna see you open a thread complaining Audi voided your warranty when you tried to claim.
Haha...true also...if no money, don't buy expensive car.....like getting high-maintenance girlfriend...unless you are loaded, think twice..
rcracer
post Jun 25 2014, 09:00 AM

?????
3,772 posts

2.7k i fast fast take and do

go outside instead of 2.7k you will end up spending 3-4k, they will break stuffs while fixing then blame it on old age, from normal service become major overhaul
sengasdf
post Jun 25 2014, 09:09 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 25 2014, 09:00 AM)
Haha...true also...if no money, don't buy expensive car.....like getting high-maintenance girlfriend...unless you are loaded, think twice..
Many of them buy car without understand maintenance cost, especially out of warranty. Or they set their expectation cost is more or less like jap.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 09:36 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just to share...my friend peugeot 308 ignition coil pack busted....cost him Rm1600 , plus dunno what. Total Rm2k. How much is ignition coil pack for say a Vios or City or Forte? Just wanted to know for comparison. hmm.gif
amdxp
post Jun 25 2014, 09:38 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jun 23 2014, 10:28 PM)
hello sifus.

so its no more warranty.

2.7k is not a small amount for "service"  blink.gif
O thought your ride is a Accord ?

After warranty not worth going back lar. Or ask of the itemise list, check from third party workshop and decide from there.
tampinmy
post Jun 25 2014, 09:48 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 25 2014, 09:36 AM)
Just to share...my friend peugeot 308 ignition coil pack busted....cost him Rm1600 , plus dunno what. Total Rm2k. How much is ignition coil pack for say a Vios or City or Forte? Just wanted to know for comparison. hmm.gif
Kia Forte comes with individual Ignition coil, circa RM200 each, just need to change the unit that fails, not the whole set.
dtna7
post Jun 25 2014, 09:51 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 25 2014, 09:36 AM)
I changed my own 4 coil packs, that is used by Audi R8 (yes they share the common part), Rm600, with 15mins of my own labor. Rm1.6k for a Pug 308 is overkilled.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jun 25 2014, 09:52 AM
amdxp
post Jun 25 2014, 09:53 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 25 2014, 08:48 AM)
I was just giving an example. I don't own an Audi, and it could be different for different engines. Didn't VW at some point switched back to timing belts? In any case all I wanted to say was that there is probably a reason for that high quotation. 60k should be a major one, that pricing might be justified (though it does sound a bit high to me).
I think those using engine before the currect EA888 series do use timing belt, not chain.

BTW its not a hard fact that timing chain in superior to timing belt.

For example :
-----------------
Mercedes used to adopt duplex timing chain in its M111 series of 4 cycliders engines, the last being 2300 cc Kompressor from 2002-2004. Then in 2004 they introduced M271 1800cc Kompressor engine which is extended to the recently retired 1800cc direct inject turbo, but this M271 engine is using singlex (non duplex chain). All Merc owners must change their timing chain plus tensioner at below 100,000 km. Many did not know the problem and the non duplex chain is not robust enough and "extend" over time, slip on the tensioner, bend the valve etc it was a nightmare for many rclxub.gif

So, sometime belt is not worse, at least the users are mindful to go and change in when it hits 80,000 km wink.gif

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 25 2014, 08:58 AM)

It's probably cheaper to push your car off the cliff, claim insurance and use the 7K for downpayment for another new car!!! sweat.gif
Are you making a joke ? biggrin.gif If everyone thinks like you, then many BMW owners will push their car off cliff sweat.gif Or most conti car owners rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by amdxp: Jun 25 2014, 09:57 AM
calvin_ng
post Jun 25 2014, 09:56 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

hello sifus.

so its no more warranty.

Consider cheap... cause your car buy brand new cost how much RM200K+

my Insight major service also RM1500 my car cost less than RM90K
MR_alien
post Jun 25 2014, 10:15 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jun 25 2014, 09:56 AM)
Consider cheap... cause your car buy brand new cost how much RM200K+

my Insight major service also RM1500 my car cost less than RM90K
my saga blm's 80k major service also cost RM1.3k(if not wrong) if do it in SC
but if i bought all the parts outside, exact same part
with labour ....its around RM7++...consider RM800
dtna7
post Jun 25 2014, 10:23 AM

456 posts

Wait a min, your warranty only 2 years? Hmm...then you didn't manage to get the upgraded 4 years warranty package.

You can start finding a good workshop for it then.
jasonlim
post Jun 25 2014, 11:00 AM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

my peugeot 308T 50k service 2.1k

shit! same level with audi d the service charges
kww
post Jun 25 2014, 11:01 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 25 2014, 08:58 AM)

I like your suggestion, but I still like this car a lot, maybe next major service I will do as you said.

Anyway I just go for a quote since it is a major service. It is good to know what the manufacture will do for major service. I got a shock for it as well.
End of the day I still go back to my normal shop for actual work, and the guy told me no need to change all that 1 shot, a lot can be service or reuse or change later. He just do a normal service for me for rm310 (engine oil and filter).

Here I attach page 1 of the quote, by the way my car is manual transmission, I don't know why they quoted me DSG oil. Page 2 is all 4 absorbers. Total is rm78xx.00

This post has been edited by kww: Jun 25 2014, 11:02 AM

calvin_ng
post Jun 25 2014, 11:04 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 11:01 AM)
I like your suggestion, but I still like this car a lot, maybe next major service I will do as you said.

Anyway I just go for a quote since it is a major service. It is good to know what the manufacture will do for major service. I got a shock for it as well.
End of the day I still go back to my normal shop for actual work, and the guy told me no need to change all that 1 shot, a lot can be service or reuse or change later. He just do a normal service for me for rm310 (engine oil and filter).

Here I attach page 1 of the quote, by the way my car is manual transmission, I don't know why they quoted me DSG oil. Page 2 is all 4 absorbers. Total is rm78xx.00
2 posibble scenario...

They keyed in the wrong spec... or they trying to cheat you...

they mostlikely follow the standard replacement schedule which sometime can be stupid...

rcracer
post Jun 25 2014, 11:17 AM

?????
3,772 posts

lol drive conti expect proton price for servicing
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 11:19 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Lets see:

Section 1) - Labour is cut throat ..RM 3xx!!
2) Brake pads and disc no need to replace if still ok, only replace those which are worn out.
3) Totally no ideas what is all these except the timing belt...maybe some sifu here care to share the price and need to change these stuff.
kww
post Jun 25 2014, 11:22 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 25 2014, 11:17 AM)
lol drive conti expect proton price for servicing
Which part do I mention proton?
rcracer
post Jun 25 2014, 11:23 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 11:22 AM)
Which part do I mention proton?
get shocked means expecting cheap servicing for premium conti
dadurtyz
post Jun 25 2014, 11:31 AM

658 posts

why bother the service price when u can afford a conti car.

otherwise, if 2.7k for proton or Japanese sure its sounds doesn't make sense at all
kww
post Jun 25 2014, 11:33 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 25 2014, 11:23 AM)
get shocked means expecting cheap servicing for premium conti
I never said I expect cheap service. I am just sharing my experience since TS said he is shock for 2700 service from Audi. Have you seen a proton with repair bill of rm7k? You driving ?
Since when vw is premium conti?
rcracer
post Jun 25 2014, 11:36 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 11:33 AM)
I never said I expect cheap service. I am just sharing my experience since TS said he is shock for 2700 service from Audi. Have you seen a proton with repair bill of rm7k? You driving ?
terperanjat means there was some epxectation of affordable servicing
kww
post Jun 25 2014, 11:44 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 25 2014, 11:36 AM)
terperanjat means there was some epxectation of affordable servicing
If you have nothing better to type, please stop typing.
rcracer
post Jun 25 2014, 11:44 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 11:44 AM)
If you have nothing better to type, please stop typing.
lol terasa, okay ciao
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 11:50 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Jun 25 2014, 09:38 AM)
O thought your ride is a Accord ?

After warranty not worth going back lar.  Or ask of the itemise list, check from third party workshop and decide from there.
this is my dad's ride. asking behalf of him haha.
looks like alot ppl is recommending to go sc.

dtna7 wat 4 yrs warranty?

omg nvr heard of it leh
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 12:00 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jun 25 2014, 11:33 AM)
Support you. You were just sharing. thumbup.gif

Proton RM7k normal service. Confirmed to push off cliff and claim insurance and buy new Proton! rclxms.gif
fr0sti3
post Jun 25 2014, 12:02 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

if you go to euromobil sc confirm kena slaughter one
go to other 3rd party audi workshop (like exquisite marques)
lemer
post Jun 25 2014, 12:18 PM

This is the beauty of owning Proton. Spare part everywhere because produced locally and cheap and every model is cheap to maintained. I am suggesting to you sell the car and get Suprima S.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 25 2014, 01:05 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Jun 25 2014, 12:35 PM)
my B8 year 2009 is 2 + 2 years warranty. Its also a con job. My mounting kaput within 3 years and they say the third year warranty doesnt cover the mounting but i already complain during the second year, they just say no problem. Anyway the +2 years warranty is by insurance company, not by Euromobil.
Euromobil service sucks and if your warranty is over, I strongly recommend you to go outside and fix, cheaper. If you worry a lot, you can go EverAuto or Auto Reign, they can actually send your car to be fixed by Euromobil and they get special discount for parts and labour which will still be cheaper than you send in to EM yourself.
Its normal. All the Extended warranty by insurance all con jobs. Only engine and gearbox are covered, with many hidden TnC.
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 01:12 PM

4,494 posts

damn loll... conti sucks uhh haha
amdxp
post Jun 25 2014, 05:12 PM

239 posts

I think only starting from 2013 Audi gives 4 full years warranty. All the car sold prior to that only comes with 2 years warranty.

BTW, all BMW come with only 2 years warranty. Even today.
TSkahjye
post Jun 25 2014, 06:09 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Jun 25 2014, 05:12 PM)
I think only starting from 2013 Audi gives 4 full years warranty.  All the car sold prior to that only comes with 2 years warranty.

BTW, all BMW come with only 2 years warranty.  Even today.
i check thru the audi`s website.
its still 2 years.

i guess its 2+2 warranty , same as VW `S 2+3 so called 5 years lol
Mavik
post Jun 25 2014, 06:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

hello sifus.

so its no more warranty.

Service can be a lot of factors.

If the RM2.7k includes
- Brake disc rotors (4 rotors)
- Front and rear brake pads
- Brake sensors
- Oil change
- Fuel filter
- Brake fluids
- Aircon servicing
- Spark plugs
- Ignition coils

Then it is reasonable (since it is at Euromobil and they provide all Ori Audi parts).

Otherwise, like everyone has mentioned, since your warranty is over, it is definitely a lot cheaper to service your car outside. Having the full detailed quote from Euromobil will give an good indication of the breakdown.

0.0329sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:54 PM