Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

a-hp
post Jul 20 2014, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:44 PM)
Honestly it boils down to what kind of drive you like and what your priority are. Is power and handling is not the priority, then go for NA. If you like more power and handling at the cost of some comfort, THP.

No point going out of your comfort zone coz of price. Example, if today THP is cheaper than NA, and you buy it. But your first priority is comfort driving and family comfort, then u will be regretting the purchase coz you complaint the ride is hard and bumpy, etc etc.

So go for your own comfort zone and main priority. But from my experience so far, the ride on the THP is not as bad la...definitely not as soft and comfy as the NA, but is not bone jarring and not like ridding on a horse. For me, all these issue goes away when i whack into a corner and see how planted and stable it is. Even my other half was saying that my car take corner damn stable.....
Thank you for your modest yet eloquent opinion towards 408NA.

a-hp
post Oct 11 2014, 07:24 PM

Labor charge at Nasim is considerably high. Always has been? I wonder.
a-hp
post Oct 13 2014, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 12 2014, 10:42 AM)
This's not only Nassim, other makes also the same. On paper, an SC is supposed to be fully quipped and have adequately trained mechanics to service/repair respective models. Hence higher charges.

In reality, independent specialist do a better job cos it's their own business! Glad to see Pug volume increasing cos this will lead to more independent workshops. Better price, better maintenance!
Had almost 7 years with Ford, the labor charge was not as high as Nasim. Has been almost 4 years with Hyundai, also not as high as Nasim. It's a fact. Agree with you though, that independent specialist can deliver better result at a fraction of SC's price.
a-hp
post Nov 2 2014, 08:25 PM

moments ago I realize that the + and - signs were no longger there. Then I came to notice that they were just stickers. huh.gif
a-hp
post Nov 15 2014, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(chenglong @ Nov 14 2014, 09:52 PM)
I had been drove to Cameron highland before but no problem at all when climb up. Overtaking very easier..Mine is 2.0 anyhow...kl <-> Cameron not need refill petrol... laugh.gif
Just like you.. I enjoyed driving my 2.0 up to CH recently.
a-hp
post Nov 17 2014, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Nov 17 2014, 04:24 PM)
Did you use Manual mode? I find my 2.0 is a bit slow on hill slopes, usually because the GB is using the highest possible gear.
No, I did not. I tried both mode while climbing towards Menora Tunnel for countless time, came to conclusion that the auto mode function just superb. The transmission was responsive enough. While climbing, when the engine start to lose power, the gear shifted downward and restore the power so that the speed can be stabilized. Yes, the speed was reduced because of the climb but only slightly. Thus, while climbing towards CH, auto mode was my choice and it did not let me down. Actually I'm a bit surprised when you wrote that the GB is using the highest possible gear because that's not what I'm experiencing with my 2.0.
a-hp
post Nov 18 2014, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Nov 18 2014, 10:49 AM)
Yeah. I'm pretty sure something is wrong with my GB. Just yesterday I was driving up a slightly inclined slope and it wouldn't downshift automatically. The car started slowing down, and when i pressed harder, it simply maintained speed....causing me to hold up traffic. This morning the RPM looked like it was accelerating but the car wasn't. A couple of seconds later the rpm dropped then it started accelerating. I gotta complain about this again when I send it in for the next round of repair.
You should do that. Maybe ASAP & not waiting till next round of service/repair.
a-hp
post Nov 20 2014, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Nov 19 2014, 09:43 PM)
paiseh paiseh

anyway, to the bro who started the oil pedal term, the actual thing is called accelerator pedal  cool2.gif
or gas pedal.. to the Americans
a-hp
post Nov 22 2014, 11:21 PM

A friend of mine drives a Teana. Recently, the Teana's AC kaput. The compressor if I'm not mistaken. He brought the car to Nissan SC to get it rectified. The SC told him that the main reason that the AC kaput was because he did not use dual-zone i.e he had been on mono since day 1. For the record, he has been driving the Teana for almost a year. I'm wondering, is it true that the habit of using mono all the time will harm the AC system (I'm not saying that Nissan SC is a liar, just curious)? If it is, would our Lions face similar problem? Please, anybody, share the experience or knowledge.

a-hp
post Nov 23 2014, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 23 2014, 12:01 PM)
I seriously doubt if there is any truth in that. As the air-con system is designed to work in mono and dual settings, there is no reason for it to fail if used at any setting for any length of time! There is nothing in our manual that settings must be alternated or single zone operation for a long time will cause failure.

I can't vouch for Nissan's air-con, but Pug's air-con systems are designed to work perfectly in both mono and dual zone settings  for any length of time!
That's what I thought. Just like I wrote, I am not saying that Nissan's SC a liar, just curious and have a doubt. The thing is, my '07 1.8 Ford Focus which I sold to switch to 408 had never had that problem even though most of the time I was on mono. I can't recall any one single time I used dual on that car.
a-hp
post Nov 24 2014, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 24 2014, 08:44 AM)
Ya nothing to worry! But gf don't complaint aah! All the time cold air on your side only....lol biggrin.gif !
Complaint? Nahh.. she doesn't even care. As long as the windows are up, cool air coming out from the ventilation.. everything is perfect! Even the setting in her ride (Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport) which I did it last May is still there, untouched! doh.gif
a-hp
post Dec 3 2014, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(logen @ Dec 3 2014, 05:11 PM)
My sales agent booked the number for me, top edge of windscreen bubbled from left to right, looks like delamination, and fitted with 2012 tyre
my goodness! 2012?! that's too much.. BTW, anybody using Toyo Proxes C1S or T1S? I used to have C1S on my previous Ford Focus, nice tyres. But then I can't compare with MC5 as both sets are on different car with different kind of characteristics.
a-hp
post Dec 3 2014, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Dec 3 2014, 05:32 PM)
I am using T1R now...
Advise is topup a little bit for PS3
So, T1R and MC5.. care to compare?
a-hp
post Dec 5 2014, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Dec 4 2014, 08:45 AM)
I prefer T1R over stock MC5
Grip: PS3 > T1R > MC5
Noise: T1R > MC5 > pS3
thanks for the input.
a-hp
post Dec 5 2014, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 4 2014, 09:43 AM)
How much is T1R? I've just changed to MC5, did alignment. Perfect now, got rid of the infamous left pull! MC5 does appear more comfortable than the original CS3 that came with the car.

Btw, both my rears are still the CS3 that came with the car. 35Kkm already still can go for another 5K - 7K!
yeah... left pull! is it one of the lion's characteristic?
a-hp
post Jan 4 2015, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Dec 31 2014, 10:59 AM)
Original can look for EP6CDTM
Aftermarket can search Borsch brand, 28/28
Do you happen to know the parts number for that Bosch 28/28?
a-hp
post Feb 2 2015, 11:14 PM

Got a letter from Kurnia today reminding me that my 2014 408NA's insurance will expire soon enough (end of March). Kurnia suggested 89K for renewal. So, a simple question ; should I take it or no? Any advice is highly appreciated.
a-hp
post Feb 4 2015, 06:26 PM

QUOTE(a-hp @ Feb 2 2015, 11:14 PM)
Got a letter from Kurnia today reminding me that my 2014 408NA's insurance will expire soon enough (end of March). Kurnia suggested 89K for renewal. So, a simple question ; should I take it or no? Any advice is highly appreciated.
hello.. anybody.. advice is needed. thanks.
a-hp
post Feb 4 2015, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(eusened @ Feb 4 2015, 06:53 PM)
My advise is to buy your car insurance from M2U.
10% on top of your current NCD. Means now your NCD is 55%, total bill, they will give you another 10% discount.

LOL. I am not a Maybank employee or anyone related. Just, another 10% discount, I will take it.
thanks for the advice. is the sum insured i.e 89k offered reasonable?
a-hp
post Feb 5 2015, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(giko @ Feb 4 2015, 07:14 PM)
try this market value calculator, or goggle for other calculators = http://www.einsuran.com/b001001.aspx

yes, get etiqa as there's a 10% rebate now plus a small profit-sharing payable to you after your policy matures. = https://www.imoney.my/car-insurance
thanks my friend. I will check the sites.

0.0362sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:19 AM