Aircon DIY cleaning., Cost saving maintenance DIY.

spreeeee
post Mar 27 2017, 02:01 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

notice some mold build-up near the blower.. AC unit quite new.. less than 4 months of using..

anything we can DIY to clean? like sprayer? e.g.:

http://www.lazada.com.my/mr-muscle-mold-an...22.html?rb=3374

http://www.lazada.com.my/clorox-mold-amp-m...47.html?rb=3484

http://www.lazada.com.my/astonish-mould-am...0.html?rb=53139

picture as example.. not too bad in real.

Attached image(s)
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 09:29 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 07:10 AM)
Get a AC guy to clean. Are you in Klang Valley? That's why now I go for air purifying AC with ionizer that cleans the internals (clean mode, mould proof operation, auto clean depending on manufacturer and model) as they will kill the mould inside.
but even after pay to clean, the mold could be still build-up sooner or later.. lately room only just put Sharp Air Purifier

spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 11:51 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 10:42 AM)
AC air is drier but AC pipes at the fins will sweat due to higher indoor humidity whilst in operation. Mould growth cannot be avoided. I've seen or heard of it in all AC that's not been serviced.

I would have thought this is general phenomenon unless an old technique is being overlooked to deal with this apart from blower unit cleaning?
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2017, 10:47 AM)
I don't have such problem. There is only dirt at that blower side.

Room humid during aircon is 40-45%.

New type aircon normally have antimold treated on the fin, water tray or some parts.

The air blowing out is dry. So shouldn't be mold grow on it. Unless at the water tray below the fin.
what about using DRY mode? does it helps?
also, how to check humidity level/%?
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 12:17 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 12:14 PM)
Dry mode basically dries the air. The AC will still sweat at the heat exchanger except that the air produced is mildly drier than before but temperature may not drop as much. Basic dehumidifier function.

Get a hygrometer from Ace hardware or Homefix sells Stadler Form Selina. This will read your room's humidity. Some wall clocks like Seiko or Citizen have thermometer and hygrometer built in feature.
ok, will try get one and try.. what is the recommended humidity level/%? for room/living hall/kitchen?
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 01:58 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2017, 12:19 PM)
You can buy at ACE or Caring, watson etc.

I have the sharp air purifier which have humid reading. So I can see my room humid.
this one can use?

http://www.lazada.com.my/easybuy-built-in-...41844.html?ff=1

"Stadler Form Selina" is too way expensive..
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 02:14 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:03 PM)
Indoor Humidity at 80%RH at 24°C (Cameron) is nice but at 80%RH at 28°C (e.g. bathroom) it's very stuffy already..worse even at 29°C onwards. Tiles will repel hence, the place will stay damp or humid vs marble which will absorb it.

Old AC without inverter has a very straightforward program that dehumidifiy and lowers temperature but beware of long term health effects as the lungs can dry out. Old folks and young children health will be a concern.

Newer AC inverters have a human comfort level that keeps it at a comfortable humidity-temperature range. 45-65% is comfortable but 60-65% is not too drying healthwise which I sense is optimum. But different ppl have different preference. Some like it colder which is because it's too warm in the day or even the night due to room configuration (evening sun) or just used to this feeling.

What tricks the mind to perceive comfort is moving air. Ceiling fan is the great helper here. If you can get the AC to blow towards the ceiling fan e.g. Coanda effect, the added windchill should allow setting the AC higher like 25-28°C depending. Or even dry mode.

Kitchen should be colder as esp where cooking is done.
still confuse biggrin.gif

cut it short, what is the ideal humidity level to watch during sleep?

air cond use (basic one):
http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-...2skh-1_5hp.html

sleep with 24C, fan blow auto, mode use iAuto..

also turn on ceiling fan with minimal speed at 1..
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 02:16 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:08 PM)
Should be good enough.
by the way, digital better or analog?
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 02:23 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2017, 02:19 PM)
If you want to hang or put on the table, get a nicely look la.

table type
http://www.lazada.com.my/sh-high-precision...05109.html?ff=1

hang type
http://www.lazada.com.my/lcd-digital-therm...68773.html?ff=1
yah.. will do.. considering those wall type..
spreeeee
post Mar 28 2017, 02:26 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Mar 28 2017, 02:25 PM)
Mentioned before...up to personal preference. Mine is between 60-65%RH at 27°C.
if 24C?
spreeeee
post Mar 29 2017, 08:16 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 29 2017, 08:08 AM)
From time to time spray some 3% hydrogen peroxide on it. H2O2 is safe and non toxic and it kills mold and mildew effectively.
Any specific brand to recommend? Friendly to AC as well?
spreeeee
post Mar 29 2017, 09:09 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 29 2017, 08:48 AM)
Pharmacy got sell in small bottle but it is not cost effective for general cleaning.
I bought a 500ml 35% h202 for RM50. More cost effective if dilute with distilled water.
To get the 3% h2o2, dilute 1 part 35% to 11 part distilled water. Keep the 3% h2o2 in used spray bottle.
Distilled water can get AEON brand. 90sen for 1500ml bottle.
sounds complicated to me.. i will be more worry biggrin.gif

anything in the market is pre-made and ready to use one?
spreeeee
post Mar 29 2017, 09:16 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2017, 09:13 AM)
You can use this --> https://www.tilex.com/tilex-bathroom-cleaning-products/

I use it on my bathroom.

Can get it from ACE.
But not sure ok or not for AC
spreeeee
post Mar 29 2017, 09:25 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2017, 09:19 AM)
Your AC got special mold ?

This spray is deal with mold.
there are mold around the vent and blower.. maybe i also want to spray a bit at the coil..
spreeeee
post Mar 29 2017, 10:01 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2017, 09:28 AM)
Spray, rub and rinse.

Easy way, get a service.
aircond boss.. how to rinse.. or u mean use damp cloth to wipe?! biggrin.gif

the aircond still cold, if get service guy jz to do cleaning, dun think worth it though coz they may likely charge full price
spreeeee
post Apr 3 2017, 09:47 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 29 2017, 11:08 AM)
If complicated, forget about the 35% hydrogen peroxide and the dilution.
Just go pharmacy buy the ready to use 3% or 6% in small bottle. Around Rm6+. Can also be used for standby first aid for minor cuts and bruises.

Add on:
Oh ya, hydrogen peroxide in low concentrations (3% or 6% ) is definitely friendly to your aircon.if it can apply to human, aircond lagi no problem. After all, it is water with extra oxygen atom.
ok, i bought the hydrogen peroxide 30ml from pharmacy, cost me rm4 only:

it contains 6% hydrogen peroxide as what u have mentioned before, could you re-brief what i should do with this 30ml contents? smile.gif

spreeeee
post Apr 3 2017, 10:19 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Apr 2 2017, 04:20 PM)
Thanks for tip  thumbup.gif  , very good product and definitely the foam dissolves the dust inside the cooling coil. Recommended for anyone who wants DIY clean their indoor unit cooling coil  thumbsup.gif
thanks for your recommendation on this Waxco.. indirectly i also found WD40 also has their own cleaner..

i believe both equally good!

http://wd40.asia/products/3-in-one/3-in-on...itioner-cleaner
spreeeee
post Apr 3 2017, 10:26 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 3 2017, 10:23 AM)
30ml too little, should buy at least 100ml. Because you need to put into a sprayer.
Anyway, mix the 30ml 6% HP with equal amount of distilled water in a used spray bottle. Then spray your ac.
I have 500ml 35% h2o2, can make a lot of 3% h2o2. if you need more hp, I can share it with you.

Below is picture of 3% hp in a spray bottle.
[attachmentid=8680304]
means with my this 30ml hp, i can only have 60ml (after mix with dilute water) to spray, right?

after spray, no need to rinse, and just let it sit and dry, right?
spreeeee
post Apr 3 2017, 05:51 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 3 2017, 12:06 PM)
Just leave it dry. Use the finest mist sprayer possible.
thanks..
spreeeee
post Apr 12 2017, 04:31 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(DanKa @ Apr 12 2017, 04:21 PM)
I'm going to clean 3 a/conds this weekend.
Managed to find and buy a few Silver-ion filter clothes at Daiso for RM5.90 a packet.
whats that for?

0.0258sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:27 PM