STPM 2014/2015

stickmanchong17
post Jun 16 2014, 06:59 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Joelyn @ Jun 16 2014, 04:32 PM)
Hello! I am STPM 2014/2015 batch . I got the offer to study Diploma teknologi Kejuruteraan elektrik in UTHM, but I think i am gonna continue my Form Six.

Btw, I take Bio,Maths T, Chemi, and PA.

Can anyone share with us the way you learning these subjects efficiently? tongue.gif(My Add Maths and Chemi not so good , I don't have strong foundation in these two subjects, manage to get an A in add math and but B+ IN Chemi  ! cry.gif )
Sorry, cant help u wif this as I oni got A- for Chem, but I suggest dat u know how to balance equations, know d reactivity series and master d basic stuff first. U shud oso print out d "Sukatan pelajaran" (learning outcomes), which in simple terms, means wat questions may come out in exam. (Its wat my teachers say) All d best~
sagethesausage
post Jun 16 2014, 08:51 PM

657 posts

I can't wait to fail in Maths T. biggrin.gif
WanHuz
post Jun 16 2014, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jun 15 2014, 08:45 PM)
Humanities is pretty much more easier than Science, provided that you study consistently.

If you do not understand certain part of teacher's lectures, just ask.

Sometimes taking notes will help in revision later on.  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the tip notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by WanHuz: Jun 16 2014, 10:09 PM
WanHuz
post Jun 16 2014, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(stickmanchong17 @ Jun 16 2014, 06:52 PM)
Make mind maps~
Mind map is really not my style. Everytime I do mind map, it's so confusing that I can't even understand what I write tongue.gif
BlueMuffin
post Jun 17 2014, 01:14 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Jun 15 2014, 09:01 PM)
It's only been a month since I commenced my First Term STPM, so I can't really say much about my teachers.

But from what I can see hitherto, I fond of the way my Chemistry teacher teaches her students. She knows really well on anything that she's trying to convey to her students and she'd love to go beyond that just to show us that there's more to STPM Chemistry. And based on her experiences, she's a veteran of that subject in my school.

My Math T teacher is quite alright, neither extremely superb nor too poor. But, she often clings on to her own teaching notes/books and she seemed hesitate to budge from it....

Nothing much for my Physics and PA teacher, due to the fact that I seldom meet them before the holidays.

Well to be frank, you don't really need to depend on your class teacher all the times. This is STPM we're talking about, hence independent plays an essential role in order for us to learn all the subjects/materials by ourselves if we can't follow up with the unpleasant teaching methods of some teachers.

But, I believe that most of the Form 6 teachers don't teach too badly though, and having said that, you might wanna try to learn something firsthand before you enter the class. And that if you have any doubts or question, just ask them.
Haha I too think that STPM is the time for us study independently, this is why I have another question.That is do we SERIOUSLY need TUITION? I know it's a bit late to ask that now but please enlighten me in this tuition matter. Because (not disrespecting or anything) some of my teachers doesn't really know their syllabus well and as their first language isn't English I think they have a hard time conveying the lessons to us. So I'm still thinking whether to have tuition or not...

TQ biggrin.gif
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Jun 17 2014, 03:13 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(BlueMuffin @ Jun 17 2014, 01:14 AM)
Haha I too think that STPM is the time for us study independently, this is why I have another question.That is do we SERIOUSLY need TUITION? I know it's a bit late to ask that now but please enlighten me in this tuition matter. Because (not disrespecting or anything) some of my teachers doesn't really know their syllabus well and as their first language isn't English I think they have a hard time conveying the lessons to us. So I'm still thinking whether to have tuition or not...

TQ biggrin.gif
If you think that you can't really cope with your teacher and that dire situation coerces you to take up a tuition class, by all means, go for it. With or without tuition teacher, one way or another, you have to find out the ways to gain the right information and knowledge that can give access to your success in your exams. That should be your priority.
michlsy
post Jun 17 2014, 05:37 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(BlueMuffin @ Jun 17 2014, 01:14 AM)

TQ biggrin.gif
When I started form 6, I didn't want to go to any tuition. As you said, time to be independent. Unfortunately, my maths teacher is kinda hopeless. Its her first year teaching us and she is very soft-spoken. Maths is a subject that needs someone to explain to you. At least that is the case with me. So, I had to take tuition. Unfortunately.
I know how it feels like. "Noo.... tuition is for the weak! Don't go to the dark side!" haha

If you think you can't handle it, I think its better to go for tuition first. You can always stop later when you think you can cope without it.

In the end, I benefited from the extra tuition classes. The teacher was really good and even sent us many trial papers to practice. It was totally worth it.
300thecat
post Jun 17 2014, 07:21 PM

790 posts

No need tuition wan la. Your teachers aren't as clueless as you make them out to be. Pay attention in class and frequently ask questions. Build repo with them.

If all else fails, learn from the better students in your class. Take the initiative to ask them. Make friends with students from other schools as well and borrows their exercises.

And btw, tuition teachers are prone to teach unnecessary stuff too that might confuse students. Or even wrong syllabus/format. So do not neglect your school teachers as they went through kursus d. Also, they're teachers and human beings, and I'm sure it's their best intentions to teach you guys even though they seem incapable.
sagethesausage
post Jun 17 2014, 09:01 PM

657 posts

Sigh, missed out on the first chapter of every subject thanks to PLKN. I have so many catching up to do now, and yet there's not enough free time T_T
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Jun 23 2014, 07:51 PM

654 posts

This is the timetable for the STPM Term 1 examination for us lower 6-ers.

On the side note:
-We're still 142 days away from our first Term of STPM 2014/2015 exams, so use the limited time wisely. smile.gif
-For those of you who will be taking MUET(Speaking) test in the month of November, you still have 112 days worth of preparation. It won't be too long before that time comes...

Anyway, wish each and every one of us a steady progress in academics. Good day and good luck! icon_rolleyes.gif
TSscgoh123
post Jun 26 2014, 08:58 PM

【鬼の隠し拳:天地ガエシ】
846 posts

Thanks for the timetable. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by scgoh123: Jun 26 2014, 08:59 PM
TSscgoh123
post Jun 26 2014, 09:02 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(300thecat @ Jun 17 2014, 08:21 PM)
Make friends with students from other schools as well and borrows their exercises.
I think some of the teachers will prohibit their students to share studying material with other students from other classes or schools sad.gif
TSscgoh123
post Jun 26 2014, 09:04 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jun 17 2014, 10:01 PM)
Sigh, missed out on the first chapter of every subject thanks to PLKN. I have so many catching up to do now, and yet there's not enough free time T_T
Don't worry, you are not alone. Spend less time on Facebooking and you can do it! thumbup.gif
Krevaki
post Jun 27 2014, 02:56 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jun 16 2014, 08:51 PM)
I can't wait to fail in Maths T. biggrin.gif
Don't be such a pessimist.

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jun 26 2014, 09:02 PM)
I think some of the teachers will prohibit their students to share studying material with other students from other classes or schools  sad.gif
Why? hmm.gif

Oh, pro tip: Use the Quote button to reply to multiple posts.
blackstar88
post Jun 27 2014, 03:00 PM

424 posts

i thought it is now easier to after change to semester system...?

Although got add more things to study, but after splitting the semester, the load so not so tough.

I remember last time after STPM go uni study, somehow suddenly feel exam very easy to study haha
TSscgoh123
post Jul 1 2014, 03:52 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Jun 27 2014, 03:56 PM)
Why? hmm.gif

Maybe they are stingy or they don't want to get in trouble (actually sharing of past year papers is prohibited) sad.gif
TSscgoh123
post Jul 1 2014, 03:54 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Jun 27 2014, 04:00 PM)

Although got add more things to study, but after splitting the semester, the load so not so tough.

I remember last time after STPM go uni study, somehow suddenly feel exam very easy to study haha
NOOO. I rather take one and a half year to prepare and take all at once rather than rushing through the syllabus.
All my teachers are as fast as catching up the speed of a rocket. rclxub.gif
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Jul 1 2014, 04:38 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:54 PM)
NOOO. I rather take one and a half year to prepare and take all at once rather than rushing through the syllabus.
All my teachers are as fast as catching up the speed of a rocket.  rclxub.gif
So, how's it going for you? Do you find it easy to cope with the vast syllabus, or you're having trouble keeping up with the faster pace of studies?

After I'm in Form 6 for not longer than a month, I've realised that time is moving really, really fast. We did almost nothing but a short study/revision before the 2 weeks holidays in the month of June. But after the holidays, all of my class teachers were hastening their teaching pace and this seems to be true for our workloads and experimental coursework(kerja kursus). The moment before we knew it, our homework grew substantially into a pile of mountains from nothing under a short period of time. It goes on and on perpetually and we have not a single clue on how to finish them up sooner. Life in Form 6 is certainly challenging.

This post has been edited by RED-HAIR-SHANKS: Jul 1 2014, 04:41 PM
Krevaki
post Jul 1 2014, 04:48 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:52 PM)
Maybe they are stingy or they don't want to get in trouble (actually sharing of past year papers is prohibited)  sad.gif
This is actually the first time I heard about such a rule. sweat.gif
Just Visiting By
post Jul 1 2014, 10:49 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Jun 27 2014, 03:00 PM)

Biggest misconception. With the introduction of modular system came with the troublesome assignments and projects. There are more things to deal with in shorter time.

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:52 PM)
Maybe they are stingy or they don't want to get in trouble (actually sharing of past year papers is prohibited)  sad.gif
Sharing of past year papers is never prohibited. The papers are legally published and sold in Popular.

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:54 PM)
All my teachers are as fast as catching up the speed of a rocket.  rclxub.gif
True. smile.gif

69 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:01 AM