Samsung Samsung D900 Thread, Add a lil shine = D900i pics on Pg #1

lord
post Oct 14 2006, 10:33 PM

392 posts

hmm feel like getting this phone...just wondering..how long is the video recording??any limitation??i heard tat the video recording is superb(compare to k800i)..is tat true??n 1 last thing...cant use mp3 as msg ringtones?

thanx ya~~~ icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
lord
post Oct 16 2006, 04:35 PM

392 posts

Thank you for your interest on Samsung products. For your information,
currently Samsung Malaysia only carry black color for SGH-D900. At this
moment, we also do not get any information from Handphone Marketing
whether Samsung Malaysia will carry other color or not. Thank you.
sigh..taiwan has red(maroon) for this phone...very nice drool.gif ...luv it...but not in msia... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
lord
post Oct 17 2006, 04:06 PM

392 posts

aww man...i want the red 1...anyway,means cannot transfer games or other java application thru cable??i think i'll get this phone after raya...c the price will drop a bit or not... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
lord
post Oct 18 2006, 06:57 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(evilguy @ Oct 18 2006, 10:23 AM)
@lord
nop, you cant transfer games n jave app using cable. that is what i've read from somewhere. better clarify with LiNKInPaRk108.

which area do you live? what's the price in your area?
im at pj area...i havent checked out the price yet...lazy..lol..bcoz if i buy most prolly i'll buy from lyn members...my fren's bf is selling hp but dunno whether he has samsung or not...
QUOTE(LiNKInPaRk108 @ Oct 18 2006, 01:27 PM)
@ evilguy, lord

ALL samsung phones have a policy of not letting you install java games the official way. Though, there are always ways (enter specifc code and specific programs) for almost every samsung phone to transfer games through BT or cable to it. However, we need to have both JAR and JAD file and game compability is also an issue, as some games works and some don't. But glad to say that i have some links for d900 games (qvga 320x240 size) and the know how and had successfully transfered and played games on my phone for FREE! smile.gif Samsung phones also have limited JAVA space of around 4MB. As for the pricing, i'm not so sure. Din went out to survey lately. Sorry.

@nicholas84

Old samsung phones such as e700 will ONLY autosave sent msg. As for the later d500, when sending msg, the 1st option is to save and send, 2nd is send only. But for d900, the sequence is reversed, 1st option send only and 2nd send and save. I guess it is up to personal preference and phone companies can't do anything unless they let you specify which option you usually use. As for me, it is a good change as i don't usually save sent msg so d500 was troublesome for me and d900 suits me more. smile.gif
ooo...macam tu....i think the sms thingie is ok for me bcoz i seldom have serious talk on sms...mostly crap...important 1 then will save it..
QUOTE(nicholas84 @ Oct 18 2006, 03:54 PM)
it's a bit troublesome for me and sometimes dangerous
i work in the financial planning industry
sometime really need to keep track what i text to clients
erm i think just have the press the down button once when selecting send or send n save...so just have to get used to it...
lord
post Oct 18 2006, 10:58 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Oct 18 2006, 09:57 PM)
This phone is not that hot is it? Coz only few people using it. I'm still observing feedbacks from you guys coz i'm planning to buy one.
ya..i look at k800 thread...madness...here...only few... sad.gif

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 18 2006, 10:09 PM)
It was one of the phones that I wanted to buy, but ended going for SE K800i

It has good size and slider form factor, build quality is great too. But functional wise it's worse than its Nokia and SE counterparts (N73 and K800i, respectively)
erm...for n73 is a symbian phone so function sure lose d...but for k800 except for the 3G,wht else is lack of??

for me the disappointment is the 3g lor...maxis having promotion...i wanna try video call.. whistling.gif whistling.gif
lord
post Oct 19 2006, 05:08 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 18 2006, 11:32 PM)
hmm, quite a lot to name actually.
- 3G (as you said)
- Camera (Major difference is here I can say - although both are 3MP, k800i is admittedly better with bestpic and xenonflash just to name a few)
- Battery life. If you only enable GSM but not 3G, it can easily last 3-5 days under normal usage. I've been using my phone for whole day (one call, around 10 SMSes, took a few pics and navigated around) and it hasn't drop a single bar yet (91%)
- Radio
- Support USB 2.0 instead of 1.1
- Has speaker phone mode

of course I'm not saying that K800i pwns D900 badly just because I own one. There are something that K800i lack of, but available in D900
- Document viewer (PDF, words etc)
- TV output
- Slider form factor, lighter ,and thinner!
-
wht is speaker phone mode??as in loud speaker?

QUOTE(evilguy @ Oct 19 2006, 09:30 AM)
owh.. man if that your dream phone, sure you a lot fussy than me  smile.gif actually i'm use to SE too. Use w800i for a while. i have dificulity to choose between this samsung and k800i.

what i like about d900
1. slim look
2. bright lcd compared to k800i

what i dont like
1. suspicious about the battery performance
2. no 3G

what i like about k800i
1. the camera
2. 3G

what i dont like
1. the design not nice, bulky
2. a lot heavier than d900

see... the pros and cons a equal. that is why i still in dilema  unsure.gif
lol ya no 3g is a waste...i console myself by thinking not many of my frens have 3g phones so no1 to video call... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

oh ya...cant use mp3 as msg tones but can use as ringtones?

This post has been edited by lord: Oct 19 2006, 10:02 PM
lord
post Oct 20 2006, 09:26 PM

392 posts

hmm im getting it after raya too...havent seen the real phone yet...dont think i'll wait for the 3g ultra model bcoz IMO will be more expensive...n dont think i'll use 3g often..n abt the batt life...if scared then buy another batt lor...so no need to wait for it to charge everyday... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
lord
post Oct 22 2006, 07:44 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(LiNKInPaRk108 @ Oct 22 2006, 12:07 PM)
@ evilguy

Ya the batt cover takes forever to open, as much force is needed and we don't wanna break this phone apart. Opening regularly is not recommended. For total darkness, the camera flash can only take bright pictures from a range of less than 50cm. ISO is just settings to tweak about. I usually set it to auto. As for night mode noise, i didn't really looked into it. Try looking at comparison review pics online.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif i hope i wont break the phone...
QUOTE(evilguy @ Oct 22 2006, 01:18 PM)
here is the night mode shot. it is consider good but with some blur. probably because shaking hand.

yeah...got a bit blur...but the colour still not bad...

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 22 2006, 06:46 PM)
Darn, could i only get that CK box at the front?Its awesome...
lol luckily i'm not a CK fan...the pouch is nice though..
lord
post Oct 22 2006, 09:45 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(dannytzh @ Oct 22 2006, 08:26 PM)
The pouch look like any black leather pouch leh? Sorry la maybe it's my eyes but I really don't see the significance...
actually not much diff from a normal blakc leather pouch...and now im wondering whether the pouch can be closed... unsure.gif unsure.gif
lord
post Oct 26 2006, 08:17 PM

392 posts

erm...may i know what kind of memory card does this phone use??MicroSD or MiniSD??any diff btwn these 2 types??

gonna get this phone nxt week... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif will survey the price tmr...
lord
post Oct 27 2006, 09:38 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(evilguy @ Oct 27 2006, 07:13 PM)
you know what... after all i want to buy d900. however the reason that make me change my mind last minute becouse my friends told me a story about his friend using samsung phone. he said his friend bought samsung phone and it always rosak after a year. that person buy 3 samsung phone in the last 3 year and all of them rosak. not totally malfunction. but some minor rosak like speaker become slow, lag and other minor2 stuff.

seem like it hard to believe. i also dont know how i believe such a rumor. maybe due to satisfaction in SE phone i used before. that is why it is so hard for me to jump to samsung phone. but as i said, i really love d900 even though i dont have it  smile.gif

@jimbet1337

choose wisely. hope you satified wit your decission later on. gud luck.
QUOTE(LiNKInPaRk108 @ Oct 27 2006, 08:32 PM)
@ lord

AFAIK samsung ONLY uses MicroSD. =/

@ samurai1337

Samsung makes great sliding mechanism and crisp screens.

@ evilguy

Ur fren's prob seems 2 b firmware related 2 me. However i witnessed hardware probs. From experience, it's QUITE true. However, i don't know whether is it i'm just plain lucky, but flagship phones tend to last longer. The most fragile part is the flexi-cable inside. My flip e700's (flagship) screen gave problems abt after 2 yrs. Mom's slide e800's speaker starts 2 b troublesome after abt 1 yr caused by d cable. Bro's e760's keypad starts 2 hav probs nearly after 1 yr. Thankfully my d500 (flagship) was perfectly fine after more den 1 yr except for a more loosened sliding mechanism.
har...dont scare me leh...i'm expecting this phone to last at least 2 yrs...i don wanna any problems to occur...i have frens who used samsung phones n they said not tat good...but they were using those old models so i tot may be now got improvements... shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif my sister has a k800 from uk but none of us wants it bcoz we think is too big...don really like thick n big phone...
lord
post Oct 29 2006, 06:01 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 28 2006, 08:23 AM)
What is so special about the cK edition other than the box (which you don't carry it with the phone usually), the pouch and also the pre-set wallpapers (which you can find it easily)? It's like doing free advertisement for cK only
dont think got big diff...they should at least change the colour or add a CK at the back or somewhere....

QUOTE(evilguy @ Oct 28 2006, 06:29 PM)
well af 1st i also thick k800i is thick and bulky. but after i hold it on my hand... i love it  smile.gif it not so thick and heavy actually. my previous (and still using it) 3310 is much heavier. lol. it it the legend phone after all.  icon_rolleyes.gif

we not intend to scare you. just tell base on story. but LiNKInPaRk108 story is base on his experience. maybe it is true after all. but... all phone may not last forever.  smile.gif
i dont see and different between those CK and normal version. i think it just as the davinci version of w810i. the phone is almost similar plus additional accesories.
yeah...was considering n73 but the keypad is too small for me...will just go for d900...
lord
post Nov 16 2006, 08:16 PM

392 posts

aiyaya...oppsie..i accidently filtered the threads...no wonder these few days only saw SE thread...paiseh...

erm i bought from lyn member for 1500+ with the memory card...without memory card is 1400++...i didnt survery the price in lowyat bcoz lazy n quite far...n i dont really thrust tat place.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

okok...review time...erm...great phone?i think my review will be like most of the others'...

ok lets start from the screen,awesome i would say.n the theme is cool bcoz it will change according to the time,country u go n the signal(it wil be nicer if it will follow the weather as well... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif )there r only 2 colours for the skin which r black n white...cool enough though..

then the camera...wow 3mp!!dont play play...the quality is superb...very nice...will put some pics up later..HOWEVER,when it is in low light condition,the pics r quite doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif bcoz the LED flash cant help much..well..cant complain bcoz i wont be as slim if they install a flash like k800...n the loading time for camera is quite irritating too...abt 2 secs...

the video...again,great.CIF,which is 328x288 i think...very clear...recorded video wil be in mp4 format...

other functions(lol lazy to write EVERYTHING in detail ler...just ask if got quenstion)...the mp3 player is good enough for me...i've never listen to other walkman phone so i cant compare the quality of audio..ringtones r not VERY LOUD but is loud enough for me...aiya...wht else..erm...

so the conclusion is

advantages:
nice screen,camera n video recording..
nice design n unique(you see so many k800 users...so we r special.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif lol don flame me)
has most of the main functions tat needed(alarm,calender,memo,voice recording...)

disadvantages:
no 3G loh...(but the upcoming model has it)
cant take nice pic at nite
pics n videos taken wont be saved directly into memory card..have to DIY..
cant view contacts seperately from sim card n phone memory...all in 1 phonebook.. doh.gif
cant transfer java applications thru bluetooth or usb..have to download using gprs(this is what i heard...nv try it bcoz seldom play games)

thats all for now... whistling.gif whistling.gif

some pics(adi posted them in another thread)
with auto focus

will add some outdoor pics nxt time... tongue.gif

lord
post Nov 17 2006, 09:10 PM

392 posts

erm...i think in bright environment it is comparable with k800(better ask other k800 users to confirm..like evilguy biggrin.gif )....but in low light environment or night it definately cant compare with k800...k800 got strong flash...not sure abt 903 though..but i like tat phone too.. biggrin.gif
lord
post Nov 23 2006, 05:06 PM

392 posts

erm...regarding the battery life...bcoz i charge everynight so cant really tell...but i wont say is long lasting bcoz i tried once...took quite a number of pics...listen to mp3...accidently set screen brightness to 4...cant last for 2 days...1.5 days no batt... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif so my advice is...charge everynight... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

actually i never bother abt those iso or white balance...don even know wht is tat for... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif just use auto...
lord
post Nov 27 2006, 03:32 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(evilguy @ Nov 26 2006, 10:18 AM)
but the design is not nice laaa  sweat.gif

@lord
did you use edge on that phone? how's the speed? i thinkyou should try the ISO and white balance setting in the phone. sometime it produce better picture than using auto setting  smile.gif
just realised the function of while balance.. tongue.gif tongue.gif ISO has no shortkey for it so kinda lazy to keep going to setting n change...err maxis has edge??i dunno wor...havent used b4..even gprs oso havent tried...cant find a reason to use it.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(DreMAx @ Nov 27 2006, 11:19 AM)
eh Lord...i wanna ask, how much did you buy your D900??? i asked for the price this morning RM1530
i bought at 1465 from lyn member... smile.gif smile.gif

anyway...i really think crystal casing doesnt suit this phone at all..the sliding feel is different without the casing...much nicer...but i accidently tore off my screen protector n hav no choice but to protect it with casing now...n casing makes it thick.. shakehead.gif
lord
post Nov 29 2006, 03:47 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(evilguy @ Nov 27 2006, 10:11 PM)
yes, maxis has edge at some location. however not as wide as digi edge. well, you should try gprs or edge. what the point use superb phone if dont maximize it's usage?  tongue.gif 

dont put crystal casing laa. the feeling if got crystal case is different la.  smile.gif

p/s: i also use crystal case  tongue.gif
loo bcoz gprs mahal mah...n quite slow to surf with tat...

i wanna remove the casing adi...after i get my screen protector ler...k800 can use silicon what...use tat 1 la...although a bit ugly... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Nov 29 2006, 12:19 PM)
1465 with new registration or what arr?? the price is still so high and it hasnt dropped isnt it since it was first launched
1465 just the phone.....i don think lyn member got offer those registration..do they?i think when it was rm1600+ when i was launched..not sure ler...have to ask LiNKInPaRk108...but don see him around recently... ohmy.gif
lord
post Dec 3 2006, 10:49 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(evilguy @ Nov 30 2006, 02:32 PM)
k800i in crystall case really ugly. i admit that. however sometime i open the crystal casing. really satisfy couse it still like new.  smile.gif i use both, screen protector and crytal casing.

yes i admit that gprs/edge/3g is a bit pricy. if you have streamyx or other broadband at home, there is not need to use data servis. maybe sometime la like want to send mms or checking email urgently. but as for me i dont have streamyx in my place. so i'm rely on data package. now choice for me  wink.gif

i think the price for this phone when 1st release is rm1699 in jb area.
took off the casing d...feel much better when sliding..i've tried mms on this phone...i don know how do u define fast but 4 this phone i don hav to wait at the sending screen until everything is sent...there will be a sending logo blinking n i can just let it finish itself...

QUOTE(DreMAx @ Dec 1 2006, 02:15 PM)
i am hoping that the price will go down even further so i can afford it...
i realised tat the price hasnt been dropping tremendously like wht i expected...may be will drop like hell if the 3G version is out...
lord
post Dec 12 2006, 05:36 PM

392 posts

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif bump a bit..

dunno y the left hand side of my fone is a bit loose... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
lord
post Dec 12 2006, 10:53 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Dec 12 2006, 10:30 PM)
But do you mean by "the left hand side"? Is it the slider spring is having some problem?
as in i feel tat there is a tiny gap between the slides...i can feel tat there r some space when i press the phone...but only on the left side of the phone(or should i use left half?).it it alrite when i slide up the phone....only happens when i close it.. flex.gif flex.gif

0.0231sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:53 PM