10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V29, Kitkat 4.4.2 is here !! ND4 May 2014

TSjoytest
post Aug 26 2015, 07:45 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Aug 26 2015, 07:29 PM)
I have been waiting for Note 5 all this while but then when the specs were out, no expendable storage and no battery replacement were a disappointment to me (most of Note lovers I think).

So there goes my urge to get Note 5, still with my Note 2, which is serving me very well... except for the peeling of the color at the sides of the phone  whistling.gif . BUT, I love the SPEN features on Note 5. Do you guys think Samsung will port those features to Note 4 instead?

If Samsung will port those features to Note 4, I guess I'll be scouring the shops for Note 4 instead...and hoping the price will come down as Note 5 goes on the market...
I suspect the Screen off S Note feature can be ported, since it is just turning off the screen. Time will tell. The folks at XDA are a resourceful bunch.
TSjoytest
post Aug 27 2015, 07:38 PM

13,188 posts

This looks good

Lenovo Phab Plus Phablet Goes On Sale In China For $406 | Androidheadlines.com - http://www.androidheadlines.com/2015/08/le...na-for-406.html
TSjoytest
post Aug 28 2015, 08:57 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 28 2015, 08:49 AM)
for me... dun have good impression of Lenovo phones...

update 1: oh ya... i guess very soon, Lenovo phones don't officially exist anymore. read news that they will close the mobile arm and sell under Motorola instead.
I know, I don't have a good impression of Lenovo phones either, but this is a rare all round good mid ranger with :
1. Snapdragon
2. Effing huge screen (I like)
3. Full HD
4. SDcardddddddddddddd

1 Will mean it is easier for custom ROMs.

This is 25% cheaper than the Huawei P8 Max.
TSjoytest
post Sep 7 2015, 01:30 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Sep 7 2015, 12:23 PM)
Does the S-Pen work in CM12.1 and Radio?
S-Pen works in all ROMs, CM, AOSP, whatever.

For the radio, I think you need to buy the app called Spirit Radio which supports a lot of FM models. I'd say it's worth it since you get to keep your FM radio fully functional without needing to buy a separate device.
TSjoytest
post Sep 25 2015, 02:25 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kimirockz @ Sep 25 2015, 02:23 PM)
is it trustable? scared ciplak. and then explode.
Sunglobal, Momax seem to be good alternatives for a lot less. Get it from larger outlets like the ones in LYP or Digitatl Mall, or even Harvey Norman.
TSjoytest
post Nov 8 2015, 10:44 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Nov 8 2015, 10:20 AM)
There is a V4, but usually these things latest doesn't necessarily means better or more stable. So, I guess v3 is the most stable?

I have just started to root mine after years delaying it  blush.gif
Use whatever you are happy and comfortable with. The latest does not necessarily mean the greatest.

It's called bleeding edge from all the blood and tears you shed.

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 8 2015, 10:45 AM
TSjoytest
post Nov 11 2015, 02:50 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Nov 11 2015, 01:35 PM)
just wondering... would installing this apps gives the phone (running custom ROM) to be able to use even more of the pen functions?

S Pen SDK by Samsung
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...dk.spen30&hl=en

anyone with custom ROM, like maybe CM, can test? then see if double click, etc all can work? or still need more integration?
It's an SDK for developing apps based on the S-Pen, not sure if it will enhance any functionality that is not there in the first place. It isn't an app.
TSjoytest
post Nov 12 2015, 09:58 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 12 2015, 09:12 PM)
haha dropping by here after leaving the note 2 camp 1 year ago and dam still no movement 2 hitting V30 dang laugh.gif doh.gif
3 years for a device is an eternity. Those were fun times.
TSjoytest
post Nov 16 2015, 10:24 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 16 2015, 10:18 AM)
Still using as my main phone
never flash since day1
but nowadays it's showing signs of erratic behaviors cry.gif
like sudden slow down, not responsive for few secs, or totally hanged
Batt drain fast, slow charging
but usually can be solved by reboot the phone
Last time almost never reboot phone, but recently from monthly, then weekly, and now... almost daily sweat.gif

Drooling over Note5, but no budget cry.gif
thinking of switching to those cheaper 5.5" china phones but with almost similar performance hmm.gif
Change the battery. LiIons usually die within 18-24 months.

As to erratic behaviour, you could try a factory reset. It might help.
TSjoytest
post Nov 16 2015, 04:05 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 16 2015, 03:29 PM)
what kind of problem is that?
This was when Samsung released a couple of batches whereby the EMMC had a defect but they never admitted it.

There's an app where it will tell you whether you have an "insane" chip or not.

Phones with this chip tended to die within 6 months, but seems like quite a number have lasted up to 3 years.
TSjoytest
post Nov 25 2015, 12:31 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Nov 25 2015, 10:47 AM)
my note 2 LCD gone blank now.. any idea how can I mirror the phone to my laptop without installing any software (like I can) on my note 2?
You need Samsung SmartSync or some kind of client, otherwise there is no way to mirror.

Other clients are Airdroid, or MyPhoneExplorer.

The only other way is MHL output to some kind of monitor.
TSjoytest
post Nov 25 2015, 02:54 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Nov 25 2015, 01:38 PM)
Can use smartsync to mirror? I thought it is only for backup/restore and outlook sync only
Sorry it's called SideSync. Allows you to mirror your phone screen onto your PC.
TSjoytest
post Nov 27 2015, 07:29 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(HandsomeDupe @ Nov 26 2015, 11:45 AM)
my note 2 bricked this morning, I checked through ADB and it shows that all my partitions are gone. Unable to flash (no partitions to flash). Anyone encountered this problem before ?
I had something similar with my first gen Mediapad.

What I did was to perform a partition clear and format in TWRP, then try a reflash.

Worked for me at least.

Looks like your eMMC is about to die.
TSjoytest
post Dec 7 2015, 10:57 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Dec 7 2015, 11:50 AM)
Guys,
Since last night, my Note 2 is rebooting endlessly. It just stuck at the Note 2 logo and then reboot itself again and again. Anyone knows why?

Thank you....
Either your battery is dead, or the board is dead.

Faulty batteries can cause this symptom.
TSjoytest
post Dec 10 2015, 11:09 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Dec 10 2015, 06:19 PM)
I dissembled my Note 2 and took out the motherboard... Left out all the parts for some time and then put them together back again.... And then walla.... My Note 2 works again...  thumbup.gif  rclxub.gif  Although I am happy but puzzled as why the bootloops? Huhuhuu.....
Faults that are cleared by depriving power to the board indicates a capacitor failure.

It will likely recur again, but you could get lucky.
TSjoytest
post Dec 11 2015, 12:24 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Dec 10 2015, 11:59 PM)
I am noob in electronics... Capacitor failure means motherboard failure as it is soldered to it, right?
For devices of this size, all the components are surface mounted and you need specialized equipment and skills to trace and replace.

Try out your device for a few days and see if it recurs. If it does, then it's time for a new phone.

If you aren't hard up for the S-Pen, any recent 5.5"+ device will do fine. I personally like the Lenovo Phab Plus since it is cheap, good (IMHO), and large-screened.
TSjoytest
post Dec 28 2015, 10:04 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Dec 28 2015, 08:57 AM)
My Note 2 screen crack. But still function in 100%. Means the digitizer is not damage. Anywhere to replace the glass cheap?
Page 1 there is a forumer "donos" I think. Last year it was around RM200 for a glass replacement. Prices might have changed tongue.gif

TSjoytest
post Aug 1 2016, 06:32 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 31 2016, 09:54 PM)
is it the original battery from sme is retailed at rm130?
That would be the price from a Samsung outlet

QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 1 2016, 11:31 AM)
asking on behalf...

1. suspect sds
2. recovery show: E:unable to find partition size for '/boot'
appreciate on any advise.....
unable to find boot sounds like emmc corruption. Time to change tongue.gif

Note 2 has served as a very good workhorse.
TSjoytest
post Aug 1 2016, 11:08 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Aug 1 2016, 10:30 PM)
does know how to get the original samsung usb cable? as there's alot counterfiet, everyone is claiming its real, as for battery, it is easier to identify as their have sme packing.
IMHO you don't need to buy a Samsung cable. It's overpriced and not very much better than a standard RM15-20 cable.

I'd say get one of those cheaper cables, test that it handles 1800mAh ratings with Galaxy Charging Current, then buy a couple more as spares.
TSjoytest
post Aug 3 2016, 01:11 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 2 2016, 02:27 PM)
in download mode, the product name is there, still begging for hope and try my best to help on behalf. Finally I found the correct PIT file, no more Re-Partition operation failed error. but odin stuck in Set Partition status, the log just show:"Get PIT for mapping"
seeking for anyone had such experience before, please help. thanks
As I said above, I do think yours is an emmc failure, and not SDS.

This is likely due to the "insane emmc chip" scandal which never got fixed.

I had a similar issue with my original Huawei Mediapad. It couldn't see any partitions despite brute formatting everything via recovery.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0277sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:58 AM