> Digital Television in Malaysia V1, You will get it by latest end of 2015!

RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2014, 12:52 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 5 2014, 05:37 PM)
Maybe they want to milk the first gen digital transmitters in Klang Valley for all it's worth first? Say only no digital in Klang Valley, actually DVB-T1 signal has been transmitting since 2006... Only difference is other states getting DVB-T2 instead first, before Klang Valley shut off T1 transmitters and force people to buy T2 tuners...

Only downside is Klang Valley cannot get HD, or will get HD in a form that some STBs cannot support (ie "Australian HD"- where MPEG-2 1080i signal is transmitted over DVB-T1 instead of H.264 over DVB-T2 like other countries, ie what they did for the 2008 Olympics).

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 5 2014, 05:37 PM)
Make it so.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 6 2014, 01:00 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2014, 01:09 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Jun 6 2014, 12:57 AM)
Are those old digital transmitters owned by Puncak Semangat in the first place?

Buying them up might not be useful since they will probably use some newer tech like DVB-T2 on 700MHz band than previous.

Besides, Klang Valley already have extensive coverage of ABNxcess and HyppTV via HSBB.

They don't need terrestrial transmission that much due to high density of tall buildings.
I don't think so. I think those are owned by RTM themselves, since they only carry RTM signal.

And I thought they agree that they will not be transmitting TV on frequency above 700MHz already so can free up to telco and use to allow roaming for US visitors (and those foolish enough to buy AT&T MiFi which cannot support 2.6GHz LTE)

Not really. The problem with HyppTV and ABN is most households tend to have more than one TV. So far neither have plans for supplementary boxes. So the TV in the hall will have ABN, HyppTV, etc. But the one in the bedroom will need some other method (unless Android TV box or STB output splitting is used, and STB output splitting has it's own problems- ie the two TVs are forced to watch the same channel). Also there are Luddites that are perfectly happy with terrestrial and don't want Pay TV- my parents are among of them.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 6 2014, 01:11 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2014, 01:24 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Jun 6 2014, 01:18 AM)
Which makes demand and need for Klang Valley residents less priority?

Most already subscribed UniFi at homes and given HyppTV STBs. ABNxcess is selling RM70 internet plus 50 TV channels bundled.

The priority are still more for the other urban cities in Malaysia.
Another thing is, even Klang Valley has a lot of "blind spots". Meru and Kapar, for example. Even today still don't have either ABN or UniFi, especially if it's housing estate outside of town area.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 6 2014, 01:24 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2014, 10:07 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jun 2 2014, 08:04 PM)
no matter what HD, local programming sucks
True, true.
RAMChYLD
post Jun 6 2014, 02:51 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Jun 6 2014, 10:25 AM)
Malaysia ada tak ? why selective only for eligible ?
I agree with this. Instead of giving only to eligible, they should give a RM100 voucher to everyone. Even rich country like US give voucher to every citizen during their Digital transition. And I mean everyone. My friend got a voucher, and so did his mother who lived in the same house.

It's not like the decoders are expensive anyway. They only got US$20 voucher, and that's enough to get a baseline no-HD decoder with only analog out which is more than enough for most people who still using CRT TV.

Also, those with certain TV sets ie. the Sony W804A TVs, are already prepared- those can receive T2 signals out of the box.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 6 2014, 03:12 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 7 2014, 02:09 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Jun 6 2014, 06:09 PM)
Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek said the Digital Terrestrial TV (DTT) project next year would transform Malaysia into an advanced broadcasting hub in the region.
Talking rots again. No way we can be a broadcasting hub. We are the last one to turn off Analog (Other Asian countries turning off in 2015. Malaysia 2016). Add in censorship and monopoly there is zero chance. Censorship stifles creativity, monopoly destroys the economy.

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jun 6 2014, 04:19 PM)
World cup ni dh start broadcast 4k, malaysia plak baru nk implement hd. cry.gif
Eh, the 4K broadcast is not for consumer consumption. There is no final transmission standard can handle 4K in fact. All digital TV standards currently cap out at 1080i. Not even 1080p. The 4k broadcast is just a trial by several standards bodies with no finalized specifications.

Besides, last two World Cup transmissions have HD feed, but only on assteruk...

QUOTE(stren89 @ Jun 6 2014, 11:53 PM)
Why Malaysia didn't went with ISDB-T but decided to use DVB-T?

Brazil and Japan using ISDB-T
Because Malaysia analog standard is PAL? DVB-T is primarily optimized for PAL countries.

Apparently only countries whose analog standard is NTSC is choosing ISDB-T or ATSC. Actually I'm puzzled as to why Philippines chose ISDB-T instead of ATSC like South Korea.

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 6 2014, 05:22 PM)
TV1Malaysia, UMNOtv, MCAtv, MICtv, GERAKANtv, <insert the other component parties>.

HarakahTV and MalaysiaKini wont be permitted to have their own channel.
Then they launch own transmitter in Selangor only...

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Jun 7 2014, 12:56 AM)
30 channel n nothing intereresting...msia lack talent cause by strick censor
n tv control
+1

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 7 2014, 02:31 PM
RAMChYLD
post Aug 15 2014, 10:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Jul 14 2014, 01:12 PM)
Of course DVB-T2.

DVB-T2 capable for both but DVB-T can't go for T2 reception. Ideology same as microsoft word 2013 can open .docx & doc file but microsoft word 2000 can only open .doc extension but not .docx
Actually, those are from the T1 trial signal transmitting from KL Tower since 2006. My LG TV which only has T1 tuner can also receive that.

But yes, in final phase signal will be T2. I suspect that they will shut off the T1 transmitters by then.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 15 2014, 10:29 PM
RAMChYLD
post Aug 15 2014, 10:57 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Aug 15 2014, 10:43 PM)
The Japanese ISDB-T technology does have its advantage over DVB-T.

Its transmission tower can serve as double transmittrer for both TV and mobile devices(cellphones).

Like in Japan, SD channels are delivered to handphones using 1-Seg of the 13 segsments whcih deliver full HD channels.

Japan has been persuading Thailand and many South American countries such as Ecuador to consider their technology.

Though DVB-T2 is more advanced, it's already entered 2nd gen.

Wait till Japan introduce the 2nd gen ISDB-T technology.

In fact DVB-T is more expensive because different transmitters are required to separate standard HDTV and mobile phone broadcasts.
There is two flaws to ISDB from what I can see

Firstly, it means switching our workflow over to 60Hz. Malaysia historically uses 50Hz. ISDB is a 60Hz system. Cameras have to be changed (not a problem if the studio hasn't upgraded to HD yet, but if they have, it will be an expensive exercise to replace the 50Hz HD cam with 60Hz ones), and then lighting because using 60Hz camera with 50Hz lighting causes flicker. Converter equipment to play back older 50Hz PAL archived material will be needed at TV stations. Ultimately it will need TNB to change our country to 60Hz power just to eliminate flicker, which will cause issues with equipment hard wired for 50Hz like air conditioning, ice cream maker and even fridge.

Secondly, ISDB requires use of mandatory license cards (B-CAS card), which equals bringing back TV license. While I don't mind paying for license if it will increase the quality of the TV shows airing, I do mind the risk that the money will only get songlap.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 15 2014, 11:10 PM
RAMChYLD
post Aug 15 2014, 11:24 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Aug 15 2014, 11:09 PM)
The Japanese ISDB-T system has a 1 stone kill 2 birds thing advantage by just using 1 unified transmitter.

While on paper DVB-T looks superior the implementation costs can easily double if you plan to reuse the same transmission for both mobile and home TV transmission. It already has 2nd gen specs out while ISDB-T is still in its 1st gen.

The westerners are good at cheating consumers to fork out more all the time.

Japan has a proven successful 1-Seg mobile TV market. It is already commercialized for many years.

Brazil improvised the tech by using more refined MPEG-4 compression tech.
Yes, but my point is, for us to adopt ISDB will require lots of changes to the country's infrastructure, even seemingly unrelated ones like power (otherwise if ISDB camera record anywhere still using 50Hz, light will be flickering because camera frame rate which is 60Hz cannot sync up with our 50Hz lighting). Also, ISDB mandates use of license card like assteruk which I'm not very fond of. DVB has license card implementation, but so far it's been optional.

As for mobile, well, most of us prefer IPTV solution on mobile anyway, since our mobile broadband infra is actually quite good.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 15 2014, 11:31 PM
RAMChYLD
post Aug 17 2014, 10:21 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ Aug 15 2014, 11:58 PM)
I can still run my US imported Playstation on my TV and besides the whole upgrade requires many new equipment to be replaced including STBs, and flat screen HDTVs to properly view them.

Malaysian mobile infra is way overpriced. Our fixed line operator monopolizes the entire country's infra for themselves which is bad for OTT IPTV operators.
That's not the point.

Take your PS3 Eye, set it to NTSC, point it are flourescent light. This is the flickering that will knock ISDB flat in Malaysia. The reason for the flickering is straightforward- the camera, to meet ISDB official spec, has to work at 60Hz. Our Malaysian lighting operates at 50Hz. The flickering is caused by the camera sampling rate not matching the light flicker rate(fact: flourescent lights are actually flickering 50 times a second). Sure, some cameras can compensate for that by adjusting their frame rate then use an internal DSP to pull it back to 60 Hz, but there will be sharpness tradeoff. Only other option is for the whole country to change to 60Hz, or adopt DC lighting like LED lighting, overnight.

Also, mandatory B-CAS means that license will be forced upon the rakyat. I don't like the idea of being forced to pay license unless the songlap stops and I know that my money will be put into bringing in quality programming. After the MACC revealed corruption and songlap in RTM recently, I am not holding my breath.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 17 2014, 10:31 PM
RAMChYLD
post Aug 18 2014, 05:15 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Aug 17 2014, 10:54 PM)
Have 2 questions:

Will 2nd generation teletext (user interface with buttons, selections, menus and page no. / page layout similiar to a magazine or webpage with multimedia elements like text, graphics, pictures, sound, music and video) be launched or carried with either RTM or Puncak Semangat service coming from their television station like in countries like England etc.?
They mention nothing about MHEG Digital Teletext. However they did mention that HBB and CatchUp TV will be a possibility eventuality, so not sure how they're going to go about it.

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Aug 17 2014, 10:54 PM)
RTM needs to include more non malay programming in their channels to cater for all races. Content in Cantonese, Mandarin, Tamil, Hindi and especially English must be included if RTM wishers to boost its audience and viewership.
This I agree. But my big problem with them is they're dubbing English shows (especially cartoons) to Malay. That have to stop. You can dub Japanese to Malay, or Korean to Malay, but please leave English shows as-is. Either that or learn to use the NICAM system they already have to transmit bilingual.
RAMChYLD
post Aug 19 2014, 12:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Aug 18 2014, 06:12 PM)
Let me guess... not umlimited and throttled (if low on quota)... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I'm more like thinking they're going to reimplement TV license using DVB-CI shakehead.gif

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Aug 18 2014, 09:26 PM)
I hope they implement 2nd generation teletext or MHEG Digital Text or some form of new teletext. It will be beneficial; entertaintment and information on your television set at your finger tips. I remember the good old days of Beriteks. I had a TV with fastext and it was good. You could even view stock market and travel info on it besides other things.

But like you said, not sure how they go about implementing it.
Second generation teletext is also only for Analog systems, so implementing it then shutting down a year later is not feasible. I hope Infonet and Beriteks comes back as MHEG Digital Text services tho- I really miss teletext. Even when I already had Internet, I still relied on Teletext for EPG and time/date. Also some times used it to see plane schedules. My mom is the heaviest user of Text, use it to play her saham on KLSE. It was a great loss when RTM then TV3 shut it down.

Back in the day before Internet became affordable, every single TV in my house has Teletext. Even now all my TVs still support teletext (apparently Teletext is still being transmitted in Singapore so TV made for both markets still support it). Only that there has been no transmission since Media Prima shut down Infonet.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 19 2014, 12:42 PM

0.0185sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:13 PM