Something I dun understand, Car Audio "enter sound"

TSDeReturner
post Aug 8 2006, 04:27 PM, updated 20y ago

99 posts

First of all, I like to say Hi~! to everyone here. As I newbie to car audio, there's something I don't understand on my upgrade.

Ok my car audio setting, HU, 1unit 4 channel amp, 1 unit 2 channel amp, 1 unit crossover, Front speaker will be 3 way component (newly installed), rear speaker is JBL 2 way component, then 1 subwoofer.

4 channel amp for 3 way and 2 way speakers

2 channel amp for subwoofer.

The problem. Newly install 3 way component had the sound of like aeroplane flying "yeeeee" when driving. And there's amp delay problem on the mid n woofer.
cry.gif

Every was fine, untill the technician burn my 2 channel amp n replace a same1 for me(is old unit), and I upgrade my 3 way component.

icon_question.gif Any expert know the cause or the way to resolve this problem? icon_question.gif

driftmeister
post Aug 8 2006, 04:42 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

take it back to the installer let them troubleshoot
too many posibility

bad grounding, cables placing, fuse, HU output
TSDeReturner
post Aug 8 2006, 04:51 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 8 2006, 05:42 PM)
take it back to the installer let them troubleshoot
too many posibility

bad grounding, cables placing, fuse, HU output
The installer also headache about what's the problem.
Hmm.. grounding check, cables check, fuse check, even modify HU. Any other possibility..

mad.gif Damn unhappy with the upgrade that cause me such problem.
driftmeister
post Aug 8 2006, 05:20 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

then u shud ask them to swap the HU, amps, crossover and see which is the culprit if it isn't the cables problem

make sure the power cable and speaker cable is seperate (shud be 1 at the left side..1 at the right to prevent interference)
TSDeReturner
post Aug 8 2006, 05:27 PM

99 posts

Yes the cable is seperate that way. Hmm..time comsuming headache thing, guess need to put my car there for another week.

Lemon
post Aug 8 2006, 08:33 PM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

Bro, most propably it's the RCA cable fault, If you are using Coaxial cable type, please use the one that with foil shielding. But the better is to use the twisted pairs type of cable, these twisted pairs, will form an electromagnetic shield which will reject the electromagnetic noise.
driftmeister
post Aug 8 2006, 09:05 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

if u bought the equipment from them
they have the responsibility to troubleshoot it
Lemon
post Aug 9 2006, 12:13 AM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 8 2006, 09:05 PM)
I agree, they should be able to troubleshoot it. BTW, what is your location bro DeReturner? maybe I can help?
Lemon
post Aug 9 2006, 12:17 AM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

Last time, I'm was using the coaxial type cable, it still got whinning noise eventhough I already isolate the power cable from RCA cables, then I DIY the twisted pair cables, the problem gone!
howiechoo
post Aug 9 2006, 03:39 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

the advantage of twisted pair is the signal will not reach at same time..so no interfere on each signal...so less noise..but it;s not really 100% noise free....btw, good cable are alwyas in coaxial..dunno y...maybe because the coaxial can transmit data more accurately....
TSDeReturner
post Aug 9 2006, 09:38 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Aug 8 2006, 09:33 PM)
Bro, most propably it's the RCA cable fault, If you are using Coaxial cable type, please use the one that with foil shielding. But the better is to use the twisted pairs type of cable, these twisted pairs, will form an electromagnetic shield which will reject the electromagnetic noise.
Hmm..didn't use twisted pairs before, is a good suggestion.

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 8 2006, 10:05 PM)
Yes it is, so I throw my car back to them last night, just tell them I don't care how, just get the problem solve. I can leave it till weekend. I presume should be more than enough time for them.

QUOTE(Lemon @ Aug 9 2006, 01:13 AM)
I agree, they should be able to troubleshoot it. BTW, what is your location bro DeReturner? maybe I can help?
My location is Penang Island. cool.gif Mostly all here from KL or Selangor?

loon1031
post Aug 9 2006, 11:29 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

I at Penang Island le..
DeReturner, May I know which shop install the ICE for you?

Lemon
post Aug 9 2006, 11:39 AM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

QUOTE(DeReturner @ Aug 9 2006, 09:38 AM)
Hmm..didn't use twisted pairs before, is a good suggestion.
Yes it is, so I throw my car back to them last night, just tell them I don't care how, just get the problem solve. I can leave it till weekend. I presume should be more than enough time for them.
My location is Penang Island.  cool.gif  Mostly all here from KL or Selangor?
Too bad.. i'm from terengganu.. laugh.gif
driftmeister
post Aug 9 2006, 02:09 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 9 2006, 03:39 AM)
the advantage of twisted pair is the signal will not reach at same time..so no interfere on each signal...so less noise..but it;s not really 100% noise free....btw, good cable are alwyas in coaxial..dunno y...maybe because the coaxial can transmit data more accurately....
bcos the transmission is more accurate
coax is basically more superior than TP anytime in any aspect
but in terms of noise... doh.gif
TSDeReturner
post Aug 9 2006, 02:13 PM

99 posts

Hmm..so normaly how to overcome noise problem?
craziechild
post Aug 9 2006, 02:23 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

good grounding, power and ground cable isolation, additional grounding between the equipments(from the troublesome amp body connect a wire to the other equipment's body... mostly amp to HU), change battery, check alternator... RCA isolation, speaker wire and power cable isolation... mayb got even more...

happy troubleshooting...

GRexer
post Aug 9 2006, 03:25 PM

3,815 posts

Actually, twisted pair's main point is that noise will cancel each other out due to the twisted design and not exactly because it'll arrive at a different time.

Coaxials are superior in noise rejection except those with 95% braided outer shield and above, the braided outer shield has the capability to prevent noise from entering the signal(in the core in the middle)
TSDeReturner
post Aug 9 2006, 03:44 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Aug 9 2006, 03:23 PM)
good grounding, power and ground cable isolation, additional grounding between the equipments(from the troublesome amp body connect a wire to the other equipment's body... mostly amp to HU), change battery, check alternator... RCA isolation, speaker wire and power cable isolation... mayb got even more...

happy troubleshooting...
Wah, is like start from scratch again.. sweat.gif
Thanks for the idea, oh well, do hard or do none.. vmad.gif

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 9 2006, 04:25 PM)
Actually, twisted pair's main point is that noise will cancel each other out due to the twisted design and not exactly because it'll arrive at a different time.

Coaxials are superior in noise rejection except those with 95% braided outer shield and above, the braided outer shield has the capability to prevent noise from entering the signal(in the core in the middle)
Coaxials cable with good shield very expensive eh.. ohmy.gif

But before upgrade all fine, I presume the cable running should be fine.
Lemon
post Aug 9 2006, 09:23 PM

donno lol..
1,443 posts

Just remember, don't let the technician install noise isolator. it will sound awful.
GRexer
post Aug 10 2006, 03:05 AM

3,815 posts

Actually, the cheapest coaxial based RCA cables would be to get those used in Video transmission, namely, RG-6(less flexible due to single core) or RG-59(more flexible due to multi-strand core), but try to look for branded ones as they'll usually have a higher percentage braided foil.

Beldens or Canare are available locally at a decent price for these coaxial cables. It's waaaaaaaay better than the usual cheap stuff RCA available for RM30-50 usually wink.gif

0.0166sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:52 PM