Unifi Scammers acting as UniFi

TSClericKilla
post May 31 2014, 12:45 AM, updated 12y ago

1,789 posts

Hello Lowyat Forum members,

I am not sure where to post this in the forum but I figure this is the best suitable place after reading the rules n regulations. Hope admin reads as well and consider where to move it to for the appropriate place.

A short intro for myself as a unifi user,
- I am a 5mbps user and I pay RM147 per month for the past 2 years.
- I am a consistent payer as I use auto bill every month

Today I got a shocking call from this number (03 5517 1188)

- We spoke for 2 minutes. The answer as such
A = him
B = Me

A : Hello sir, I am from the Telekom Malaysia. We know you are an unifi user for 2 years already but currently your debt you owed to us is RM500
B : Okay. I am an auto bill person and yesterday UniFi sent me a messaged that I have paid my bills.
A : Hello sir, unfortunately you had not pay at all. We need you to pay today or we plan to send this case to Court
B : Okay. I'll go and check my unifi bill first.
A : *Raised his voice* You better bank in before 5pm (30th May 2014) or we brining this case up to court
B : Okay. I'll go check first before 5pm and if its a need to pay i'll pay. Thank you bye.

- closes call -

As evidence I have always paid my unifi bill via autobill and unifi will always send me a message to confirmed I have paid,
and i receive a msg from them today (30th May 2014) stating I have cleared my payments.

So I am quite shocked on the fact that I owe them RM500, how is that possible when my bill is RM147 per month, it will never reach even number.
Why I want to open this thread? Because by far this scam seems very legit, it was in a office that he made a call to me and screwing me over the fact I didn't pay RM500 which I did.
I want to help by warning people if you have receive this type of call it's pretty much I can conclude a scam.

These company knows my phone, my surname and my history of UniFi thats quite surprising. After my call ended they sent me a message as well

This photo of my account numbers is from last year October 2013 when my autobill did not work because I changed my credit card so I have already solved the issue by entering new credit card number n every month my unifi is auto billed until 2014 with no any problems.
shocking.gif shocking.gif Another fact you can see the number account of mine they sent me isn't my number account and from there i can actually conclude its a scam at the same time these scammers wont give up, keep calling me.

- 014 7273 295
- 014 7273 280

Beware!!

This post has been edited by ClericKilla: May 31 2014, 01:01 PM
fireballs
post May 31 2014, 12:47 AM

5,646 posts

simple.. possibly your mailbox was broken into and your bill was stolen (thus have all your info)
TSClericKilla
post May 31 2014, 12:49 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 31 2014, 12:47 AM)
simple.. possibly your mailbox was broken into and your bill was stolen (thus have all your info)

There might be a possibility on this or someone actually passed all my info to scammer.
What I am very worry is people who had no experience in searching for hints and finding out for scammer, I am afraid they fall into the trap.

hope you can share this around to get some awareness or those who have gotten this before share your story to build up more info of this scam. Thanks!!
IccyAsd
post May 31 2014, 12:55 AM

845 posts

there is plenty of scam like this going on especially TM/TNB/Unifi. Its been years I last subscript to Unifi I still get calls for payment overdue, or phone bill overdue for 300-500. if you check they always get your name correct, but account number is different.

I think chances are they scam you to pay bill for other ppl's account.
TSClericKilla
post May 31 2014, 01:00 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ May 31 2014, 12:55 AM)
there is plenty of scam like this going on especially TM/TNB/Unifi. Its been years I last subscript to Unifi I still get calls for payment overdue, or phone bill overdue for 300-500. if you check they always get your name correct, but account number is different.

I think chances are they scam you to pay bill for other ppl's account.
Yes its true, its scary when they can get your information all,

bugger somemore raise tone at me wanna bring case to court all.. dafuq.
SUSTheHitman47
post May 31 2014, 01:04 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

wait, this is not scam by unifi..but someone or some group pretend they are from tm.
steventan85
post May 31 2014, 01:29 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ May 31 2014, 01:00 AM)
Yes its true, its scary when they can get your information all,

bugger somemore raise tone at me wanna bring case to court all.. dafuq.
it is not a scam from TM... its from other irresponsible group ..

check the account no. and payment history. if u have proof of payment , juz ignore them..

use some common sense will do icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
bai1101
post May 31 2014, 02:22 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

wonder which bank is that didnt look like maybank since maybank used 12 digit
alexwsk
post May 31 2014, 10:05 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ May 31 2014, 02:22 AM)
wonder which bank is that didnt look like maybank since maybank used 12 digit
that is unifi account number, not bank number
alexwsk
post May 31 2014, 10:07 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ May 31 2014, 12:45 AM)
- 014 7273 295
- 014 7273 280
and yes, telekom should not call or sms customer using mobile number
now our maximum credit limit from TM is only 3x monthly bill before they proceed to block your service, so if you can still use your service, you have not reach the max 3 months limit yet

maybe you can report these numbers to MCMC and get them to block it

This post has been edited by alexwsk: May 31 2014, 10:10 AM
petlu28
post May 31 2014, 10:33 AM

3,936 posts

When you call Unifi, their CS already mention about this. Beware!!!!!
bai1101
post May 31 2014, 10:55 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

ic ic

the one i kena before is there manage to hack skudai police station no. and call me.

say i involve ic c scam etc... lucky gooogle show such scam detail before prevent me for falling into it.
ryanlaw86
post May 31 2014, 10:57 AM

130 posts

lol ... using short forms such as "tnggkn" .... scammers penny wise when scamming as well ...
SamsengFan
post May 31 2014, 11:08 AM

423 posts

TS< what so special???

even the unifi installer ,unifi agent has your number.

mycrystal88
post May 31 2014, 11:08 AM

79 posts

"the one i kena before is there manage to hack skudai police station no. and call me."
+1+1+1+

scammer , scam
old time , caller shown private id or very odd and oversea ID number .....
lot of people ignore....

is 100% sure , scammer can fake and duplicate any Caller ID shown in your mobile phone .... and even you call back the number , the PIC name is there ,
but you will be never have way to talk to you..off course is 100% fake and scam

This post has been edited by mycrystal88: May 31 2014, 11:09 AM
ironite
post May 31 2014, 11:14 AM

59 posts

I've checked with whosecall app

the 014 number got scam alert

the 03 5517 1188 belong to one company named

Noble Nexus Sdn Bhd
No. 48, Jalan Pelabur A 23/A, Seksyen 23, Shah Alam

A collection company?

TSClericKilla
post May 31 2014, 11:32 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(SamsengFan @ May 31 2014, 11:08 AM)
TS< what so special???

even the unifi installer ,unifi agent has your number.
Then I assume you dont know how important your information can be. Because people like these who have our information they can leak it out to company like scam company n ppl get scam at the end of the day.

QUOTE(ironite @ May 31 2014, 11:14 AM)

Noble Nexus Sdn Bhd

A collection company?
Wow good information, later i'm going to write some report to MCMC to do something. Hope people wont fall for it or they google that number can come to this thread and learn about it.
Thanks bro! notworthy.gif
coolstore
post May 31 2014, 12:03 PM

1,524 posts

thanks for alerting the public.

u suspect this a real scammer or calling from debt collection company appointed by TM but mistakenly put your acc in target?
xXAaronXx
post May 31 2014, 12:06 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

Maybe u should change your title. Sounds misleading that Unifi is trying to scam ppl.
Icehart
post May 31 2014, 12:07 PM

14,899 posts

Got this before. They put the wrong account number for me to pay (I suspect the SMS not from TM anyway).
Just ignore it and stick to your account number. Pay promptly and subscribe for Email bill delivery.
SUSstren89
post May 31 2014, 05:27 PM

276 posts

My fixed phone got government office fax number giving calls at early morning and nights.

It's can't be govt offices after operating hours. 11pm - 3am?

When answered, no one on the other side but you hear like fax tones.
They are called phantom calls to detect active phone lines for future tele-marketing forwards.

This is obvious inside job either by TM contractors or civil servants.

Also TM VoIP call servers might be bugged or infected by malicious virus.

Anyone got receive Nigerian scam calls even originating from Bukit Aman number (03-26163999) before?

How they got the number, I suspect government offices and numbers are using UniFi VoIP accounts and they've all been leaked by inside jobs.
Most notably, are TM installers/contractors who provision the accounts or even the government IT staff who have access to the communications infrastructure.

If people can gain access into the UniFi BTU which holds the UniFi VoIP account settings/login, lots of unthinkabe things can be done with it.
One of it is running Nigerian scam call centres and future threats such as voice keyword detection now happening in western countries.

Forced bundling of voice service is actually unnecessary. We should follow SG and Thailand's national broadband initiatives. They don't force bundle voice and video on their services.
TSClericKilla
post May 31 2014, 10:14 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 31 2014, 05:27 PM)

and problem amongst us is we dont fight for our rights to be protected as a net user.
Max
post May 31 2014, 11:59 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(stren89 @ May 31 2014, 05:27 PM)
My fixed phone got government office fax number giving calls at early morning and nights.

It's can't be govt offices after operating hours. 11pm - 3am?

When answered, no one on the other side but you hear like fax tones.
They are called phantom calls to detect active phone lines for future tele-marketing forwards.

This is obvious inside job either by TM contractors or civil servants.

Also TM VoIP call servers might be bugged or infected by malicious virus.

Anyone got receive Nigerian scam calls even originating from Bukit Aman number (03-26163999) before?

How they got the number, I suspect government offices and numbers are using UniFi VoIP accounts and they've all been leaked by inside jobs.
Most notably, are TM installers/contractors who provision the accounts or even the government IT staff who have access to the communications infrastructure.

If people can gain access into the UniFi BTU which holds the UniFi VoIP account settings/login, lots of unthinkabe things can be done with it.
One of it is running Nigerian scam call centres and future threats such as voice keyword detection now happening in western countries.

Forced bundling of voice service is actually unnecessary. We should follow SG and Thailand's national broadband initiatives. They don't force bundle voice and video on their services.
please note, government doesn't use TM or unifi for its internet line, its under GITN network.

Ord_s
post Jun 1 2014, 01:30 AM

QUOTE(ironite @ May 31 2014, 11:14 AM)

Noble Nexus Sdn Bhd

A collection company?
This matter was raised in another post going back to November2008 involving Noble Nexus https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/843342/all
SUSstren89
post Jun 1 2014, 01:35 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Max @ May 31 2014, 11:59 PM)
please note, government doesn't use TM or unifi for its internet line, its under GITN network.
You are quoting the wrong service with a wrong thread.

It is not internet access we're discussing here.

It's TM's fixed line NGN voice network which was converted into a VoIP service just a few years back with the introduction of UniFi.

This VoIP login account can be found inside every UniFi BTU setting for users to make voice calls with its BTU RJ-11 port.

If you manage to access it, and knows what protocols they use you can create a call centre and make calls with that stolen VoIP account. There were concerns earlier that people's voice accounts getting stolen and high IDD calls were charged. Then TM made it compulsory that IDD call function must be activated by the account user through form filling request/calling 100 support.
patienceGNR
post Jun 2 2014, 01:56 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 31 2014, 12:47 AM)
Or someone in the TM customer care hotline has been selling customers' info. Quite common in telcos. Easy money to sell customers' details.

Per customer's details is few thousands, who wouldn't want that money?

In Singapore got people kena jail and sued for fraud already.
giko
post Jun 5 2014, 11:08 AM

376 posts

sorry, slightly off topic... how did you get RM2 off from the normal RM149 p.m.? TQ biggrin.gif

TSClericKilla
post Jun 5 2014, 11:30 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jun 5 2014, 11:08 AM)
sorry, slightly off topic... how did you get RM2 off from the normal RM149 p.m.? TQ  biggrin.gif
I dont know every month I got charged RM147 hahaha it sent as an sms
GameSky
post Jun 5 2014, 11:56 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(Max @ May 31 2014, 11:59 PM)
yeah, most majority gov office using GITN.
wildwestgoh
post Jun 5 2014, 02:31 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jun 5 2014, 11:30 AM)
I dont know every month I got charged RM147 hahaha it sent as an sms
It is autopay "reward", deduct RM2 every time, good for Credit Card users.
^pomen_GTR^
post Jun 5 2014, 02:37 PM

1,077 posts

Hello Lowyat Forum members,

I am not sure where to post this in the forum but I figure this is the best suitable place after reading the rules n regulations. Hope admin reads as well and consider where to move it to for the appropriate place.

A short intro for myself as a unifi user,
- I am a consistent payer as I use auto bill every month

Today I got a shocking call from this number (03 5517 1188)

A : Hello sir, I am from the Telekom Malaysia. We know you are an unifi user for 2 years already but currently your debt you owed to us is RM500
B : Okay. I am an auto bill person and yesterday UniFi sent me a messaged that I have paid my bills.
A : Hello sir, unfortunately you had not pay at all. We need you to pay today or we plan to send this case to Court
B : Okay. I'll go and check my unifi bill first.
A : *Raised his voice* You better bank in before 5pm (30th May 2014) or we brining this case up to court
B : Okay. I'll go check first before 5pm and if its a need to pay i'll pay. Thank you bye.

- closes call -

As evidence I have always paid my unifi bill via autobill and unifi will always send me a message to confirmed I have paid,
and i receive a msg from them today (30th May 2014) stating I have cleared my payments.

So I am quite shocked on the fact that I owe them RM500, how is that possible when my bill is RM147 per month, it will never reach even number.
Why I want to open this thread? Because by far this scam seems very legit, it was in a office that he made a call to me and screwing me over the fact I didn't pay RM500 which I did.
I want to help by warning people if you have receive this type of call it's pretty much I can conclude a scam.

These company knows my phone, my surname and my history of UniFi thats quite surprising. After my call ended they sent me a message as well

This photo of my account numbers is from last year October 2013 when my autobill did not work because I changed my credit card so I have already solved the issue by entering new credit card number n every month my unifi is auto billed until 2014 with no any problems.
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  Another fact you can see the number account of mine they sent me isn't my number account and from there i can actually conclude its a scam at the same time these scammers wont give up, keep calling me.

- 014 7273 295
- 014 7273 280

Beware!!
fact is...TM pipu will always call you using landline

0.0229sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:18 PM