Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V6, Talk of the town...HOT!

Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:14 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ May 29 2014, 11:12 AM)
i cant find any tool in the box to open up the sim tray

i try use paper clip to push the simtray out, but not too hard

not able to push it out
No tool? u need to lift the cardboard/paper holder of the phone. the tool is clipped right smack in the middle on a flap like holder. maybe u dropped it when opening? but do check 1st, shud be there.
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:31 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

BTW, seems like after 3 days of use, i can conclude that the battery life of the Mi3 is not that outstanding as most reviews on the net touted about. Should be in the OK region, but not praise worthy imo.

Consumption wise compared to a Z Ultra (same 3050mah capacity) with a bigger screen (6.44") and comparable processor, the Z Ultra fair better in terms of standby power drop from my test.

But one saving grace for Mi3 is the Optimization option. Noticed that if you go to the security app > check > optimize, you can have a small boost in battery life. But had to occasionally, not often, open this and run optimization through the day to get good battery life.

To my experience, directly out of the box, Sony's Stamina mode, and Samsung's battery saver modes are better implemented to get good battery usage as you dont need to frequently 'optimize' anything to get good juice out of your device.

But as a whole this is one snappy phone. Wouldn't complain on anything else. thumbup.gif

Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:41 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(ychlee @ May 29 2014, 11:34 AM)
assume your sharing = comparison = complaint
end of the  statement u give  thumbup.gif
what is the purpose writing in such a lengthy article?
you already wrote the answer to it.

QUOTE(ychlee @ May 29 2014, 11:34 AM)
sharing = comparison = complaint
Saw a few guys complained about the battery a few pages back. so i decided to share my gripe also and also a comparison and solution scenario. Am I in the wrong place to share izzit? hmm.gif
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:46 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ May 29 2014, 11:42 AM)
samsung battery saving mode does 3 things.
underclock processor to 1.497Ghz instead of stock 2.25GHz,
lower screen power consumption by reducing max brightnesa and lower refresh rate
disable haptic feedback

really good at saving battery without feeling anything.
you can selectively underclock using any rootapp of your choice on xiaomi mi3, underclocking reduce alot of heat during long hours of browsing and gaming.
Thanks for the info on the underclocking. will look for good Set CPU rootapps to try this out.
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:48 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(Flying knight @ May 29 2014, 11:45 AM)
Sorry, may i know When is d next launch date for mi3 ah??
Follow the Xiaomi Malaysia FB page. Usually they will announce there 1st. If considering the post 20th May sale last time, the announcement was made 2 days after the sale on 22nd if not mistaken. just camp out on their page. tongue.gif
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 01:47 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(ryuken74 @ May 29 2014, 01:35 PM)
how to know fake xiaomi pb?

any recommended charger for these xiaomi pb?
can refer to this thread's front page. or HERE
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 02:31 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Why everyone so riled up by the Camera pic quality liao? Its not HTC ultrapixel crapiness here. That, u can rage, coz youre buying a 2k+ phone for sub-par quality pics.

Here for a decent rm900 phone like mi3, the pic quality is quite good imo. compare to same price range Lenovo, Oppo, and huawei the Mi3 still packs better quality i guess.
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 02:41 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(Tamamama @ May 29 2014, 02:39 PM)
where? i dont think i got one
open the top flap of your phone box. Dunno how to picture it. but just search for it on the top! icon_idea.gif
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 03:02 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ May 29 2014, 02:59 PM)
this i took at night, note that my hand are bit shaky but still can capture good ready
What mode u use? Nite mode with flash?

Yeap. looks enough for the normal consumers.

The ones complaining act all like prosumers but buy cheap fon and b1tch about pic quality and alogrithms. LEL
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 03:08 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ May 29 2014, 03:03 PM)
Flash off with auto settings, after all we are not Professional Outdoors Photographers.
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
oh dang! flash off? need to try this with my mi3. couldnt get a pic this good with my Z, even though same cam module.
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 05:57 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ May 29 2014, 05:43 PM)
how to know that its using Fedex or UPS to post?

last time they use Fedex to post but in the system stated UPS.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Same case as mine last time, 1st day Said ship thru fedex on Mi.com, then next day by UPS.

One thing is you can check the tracking no. If got Alphabet in it then its UPS, if 12 digit number only its Fedex

QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ May 29 2014, 05:48 PM)
Xiaomi Mi-3's Sony-made camera versus Sony Xperia ZL's Sony-made camera?

Flash off

Flash on

* Images were resized to 720p.

Mi-3's camera produced a much more natural/true color than ZL's, although both were made by Sony.  cool2.gif

Using flash however, the teddy is a bit overexposed on Mi-3.
Great comparison, maybe can prove to the skeptics that the cam is not that bad after all.
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 06:03 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ May 29 2014, 06:01 PM)
Micro sim adapter is not the one provide in the box, is the type that looks like mini sim but come with a micro sim shape slot in the middle.

If u just slot the micro sim adapter using mini sim tray without inserting the micro sim then it would jam & caused damages.

If u use the micro sim tray provided then no problem, that is also the reason xiaomi give we all the micro sim tray so that we don't go & use micro sim adapter.

Should post/pin this explanation on 1st page. Seems to deliver the message a bit clearer than the one now. Hope TS can update it.

Fasap
post May 29 2014, 10:58 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(tanaumaga @ May 29 2014, 10:53 PM)
for warranty claim, do they provide pick up service or we need to send it to them?
nope need to walk in..
Fasap
post May 29 2014, 11:17 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(mjoe @ May 29 2014, 11:06 PM)
is it possible to add widgets to the home screen like other android phone? since this phone android much similar to iOS...
QUOTE(jolokia @ May 29 2014, 11:10 PM)
Why not ?

Since when this phone like ios, i feel more like symbian since it can change theme like my old nokia...wakakaka
Cant blame if people relate it to ios. People not familiar with MIUI roms surely see the interface iphone-ish. even how they present the app folder animation and background blur effect, more or so like ios.

A good strategy actually, as ios users wll be tempted to migrate to the 'dark side'. Win for android, and Xiaomi. brows.gif
Fasap
post May 30 2014, 09:37 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ May 30 2014, 09:33 AM)
anybody has connection problem with mi3?

using maxis 3g... sometimes it will change to no service then emergency call only... then after less than 1min it will back to maxis 3g.

It happens around 5 times per day at different location so I doubt is telco problem.
Maybe simcard faulty. Try reinsert current sim or Try to check with other operator sim if you have access to. Had this issue last year, but with other phone la. same symptoms as you. Change simcard ok d.
Fasap
post May 30 2014, 03:03 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(lordraptor @ May 30 2014, 03:00 PM)
Sorry if i ask. What's the advantage of dev access? And what is the difference between dev access and flash to dev rom?

Sorry for the noob question hihi
As per front page info:
1. You have preroot accessibility. No need for manual rooting steps. Just go to permission and enable it
2 Kit Kat 4.4.2 ready, all the bells and whistles that make kitkat great
3. Ability to install google camera
4. improvements/changes/updates over current stable JB based rom. But still have bugs, hence dev rom.

Fasap
post May 30 2014, 03:05 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ May 30 2014, 03:03 PM)
so hard than my xperia becoz dont know where the nfc located.
The NFC sensor is located at the lower part of the phone. Xperia phones on top of back plate, Mi3 on the lower bottom of back plate. Not sure if this is what you are asking though.

NFC file/picture transfer works as intended. no hiccups during my tests.
Fasap
post May 30 2014, 03:13 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(harriss @ May 30 2014, 03:09 PM)
in my case , sometime work , sometime tarak sad.gif
I only used the NFC to transfer pics and connect to Sony NFC speakers. Both working ok. havent tried any other applications that use NFC though.
Fasap
post May 30 2014, 03:40 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(mjoe @ May 30 2014, 03:35 PM)
to use mini sim instead micro sim is necessary or just soft reminder?
Im using micro sim, with the included micro sim tray. No problem at all. 3 times already tried open and close. no stuck issue at all.

QUOTE(zito9 @ May 30 2014, 03:39 PM)
5 days for internatiomal courier delivery, quite common lor.
i ordered many stuff from Japan, it takes abt the same time using EMS.
True that bro.

Summore you guys are getting FOC delivery charge maaa, the only thing is u need to wait whether its short or a bit longer. There are bound to be hiccups in delivery as they are shipping en-mass not individually specific for you only.

This post has been edited by Fasap: May 30 2014, 03:43 PM
Fasap
post May 30 2014, 04:00 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ May 30 2014, 03:55 PM)
I got a question here too. When i OTG a memory card to mi3 via OTG cable. It is detected as USB storage. the problem is i cant seem to copy any file or create a folder in this USB storage. However copy files from this memory card to Mi3 internal storage is possible. Hence, how to make this memory card or USB storage writeable? hmm.gif
If not mistaken 4.4 kitkat google disable access to write on any connected card unless to allowed folder rclxub.gif
maybe can read here: http://www.androidcentral.com/kitkat-sdcard-changes

But there are alot of patches and workaround apps available on playstore provided that the phone is rooted.

This post has been edited by Fasap: May 30 2014, 04:01 PM

0.0534sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:02 PM