Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V34, Gunpla builders assemble!

TheAdmiral
post May 24 2014, 01:11 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Cactite @ May 24 2014, 12:49 AM)
Wait they announced the MG GN-X IV? NAOOOOOO!!!!
This was years ago but nothing came of it.

As a general rule of thumb if there is no concrete release date announced together with the reveal, it is not confirm that it'll be made into production even if the prototype is ready and displayed out to public. We've been burn by this b4 since 2002, anyone still remember those G Boys? MG Maxter? MG Dragon? MG Nobel?

Yeah we're still waiting Bandai......
TheAdmiral
post May 24 2014, 12:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kimirockz @ May 24 2014, 12:17 PM)
1 stupid question here, the neo zeong.. is it a sazabi inside it?
sinanju.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 2 2014, 09:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Jun 2 2014, 09:19 PM)
the hand is very fragile
rx-78-2 3.0 hand broken already
Its inconsequential. Sure the 3.0 hand wrist is weak and the fingers will become loose if it pop off and reattached multiple times, but none of rx78 weapons is heavy enough to cause any real problem.

And even if it does, the fault lies in the 3.0 hand which is shared by many other kits and it isnt a problem unique to rx78 alone.

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Jun 2 2014, 09:19 PM)
my another mg wing gundam ew can't even hold his weapon
It is an old design, what do u expect?
TheAdmiral
post Jun 4 2014, 01:16 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(vkcy @ Jun 4 2014, 12:48 PM)
This RE from a few information sounds like NG..
For all intents and purposes, it is.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 17 2014, 05:50 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jun 17 2014, 05:33 PM)
surely they will have the HG remake in the future
so carpathia, I wouldn't suggest to wait out, but if they do came out, it will be a worthwhile wait biggrin.gif
airmaster already seems lovely (although the wings looks minute compared to the rest of the body tongue.gif)
I wouldnt put so much faith in it tbh. If it appear in GBF S2 as 1 of the main guys then sure, but without it its chances are slim, even with the HG all project going full force. There is just too much stuff out there that Bandai could do, not to mention new series coming up soon, current running manga, origin, beltochika's children manga, there is just too much back log and so some design may ultimately be forgotten. And who knows how long this HG all project is gonna last. We all thought the rest of wing custom boys will finally be made, even the runners u can c where the custom parts could be molded on yet till now there is no news, not even a peep.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 21 2014, 11:03 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jun 21 2014, 08:50 AM)
usually how much? hmm.gif
Depend on where u shop. My recommendation is just go to Yodobashi Camera, easy to find, english speaking staff, lots of choices, generally below retail pricing, over 10k yen in a single receipt will waive u 8% off GST so long as u show them ur passport. However if u get too greedy and buy too much, once u landed u run the risk of getting tax by kastam, rendering all those discount that u hav saved pointless.

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Jun 21 2014, 09:15 AM)
Find the Japanese retail price, convert it to whatever currency you have, and presto.
Not quite.

While there are shops that sell at retail up front (mainly for new kits), there are also lots of shops that sell at below retail prices. Yodobashi gunplas is around 30% off retail for the most part, some small private hobby shops could even fetch u 50% off.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jun 21 2014, 11:04 AM
TheAdmiral
post Jun 21 2014, 08:49 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 21 2014, 07:24 PM)
hold on, did he mean buy gunpla in Japan, or buy online from Japan? lol
he didnt specify, but if buy online from japan the website should state the price + shipping fee so there is no reason to inquire about prices in the 1st place. Base on that i guess he meant buying in japan ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ rclxub.gif
TheAdmiral
post Jun 24 2014, 11:22 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Jun 24 2014, 10:10 AM)
It's designs like this that keeps me away from this hobby (why are v-fins getting replaced by bull horns?). I mean, I had a hard time accepting 00's shoulder bra cones, but was still generally ok. Unicorn was good but overused; Age was killing; Builders and Build Fighters killed it for me. Thunderbolts got me slightly excited but it was still an overkill.

The problem is Bandai's main concern seems to be "how can we milk an existing mould?", hence the designs. And the "new" designs tend to look like variations from popular designs. Not saying that it's wrong to do so, but it may get generic and become bland overtime.

Maybe I'm picky. Maybe I'm getting old for Gundam. Forgive me for the rant.

Its ironic that ur rant about generic/ugly design in itself is generic.

U seems to be under the impression that all this is new and recent, hell no, it has existed since the 90s.

Ever lived through G Gundam -> Turn A? Hey look that 1 has a dragon arm that spits fire, just like that 1 from a previous series that has dragon arm that spits fire... hey look that other 1 has gatlling gun and mass spam missiles, just like that 1 from a previous series that has gatling gun and mass spam missile.... hey look another 1 transform into a jet, just like that 1 from another series that transform into a jet... hey look that 1 is ugly as fk... hey look that 1 has a funky v fin... hey look that 1 look alot like something from Aura Battler Dunbine... Sounds familiar?

How about something newer, hey look that backpack look just like Dragonar... hey look another 1 look like Gun Lancer/Gun Saber/Cloud Breaker from SRW... Rings any bell?

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jun 24 2014, 11:26 AM
TheAdmiral
post Jun 24 2014, 11:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(afsarudy @ Jun 24 2014, 11:35 AM)
laugh.gif I just lmao reading your comments la Admiral. laugh.gif And feeling dizzy too.... rclxub.gif
Its to point out how ironic that rant is. I deliberately leave out naming the mecha in my post so that he can find it out himself how stupid it is to whine about G-Reko or Buildfighter design when Gundams from the 90s has been doing it ever since.

Heck i can even go further back to 0079 and nitpick its design similarity to other anime.
TheAdmiral
post Jun 24 2014, 02:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Jun 24 2014, 12:46 PM)
I know it's not new. I get what you're saying but what's passed is past. As I mentioned before, it becomes bland overtime, which is contributed by the continuing trend (thus, i did not say it's a new and recent thing, but that feeling peaked in the last few years). They should change it up a bit to keep things spicy but definitely not changing the V-fins to bull's horns! Most people still can't accept Turn A. Keep the main characteristics of a Gundam, but keep it fresh. Or are you gonna say it's ironically paradoxical again? rolleyes.gif
Changing stuff is fine but v fin is a no no? Since when v fin is sacred? EZ8 has no v fin at all and Musha Mk2 has horn for v fin too, why didnt u rant about it? Oh and how bout AoZ? Every single design in that damn thing dont even look anything remotely close to any ms ever made, its closer to ZOE then it is to Gundams, so where is ur rant on that?

Who says most ppl cant accept turn a, have u even watch it or are u one of those that judge a book by its cover? Turn a is unique, in both mecha design and gundam anime. As a model its one of the more balance MG out there and as an anime its one of the more character driven show with deep plot and intriguing universe. Those of us who did watch turn a appreciate its design and how it was portrayed in the show. It may not be the cup of tea for every1, but the same can be said of every other show out there. The very fact that u complain about turn a for its weirdness but at the same time blast others for being too generic is the very essence of being a hypocrite. What the hell do u wan? A generic non generic design?

Gundam doesnt hav a set rule of design, some hav v fin, some has x fin, some has no fin, some has chest fin, some has no mouth vent, some has no arms and legs, its a gundam because the show creator says so, simple as that, everything else is fair game. It can be a direct copy of another or it can be as weird as G-Reko or generic as hell like Strike. Doesnt matter, some 1 is bound to like it and if u arent one of em then find something else that u do.

QUOTE(Parody @ Jun 24 2014, 12:46 PM)
Oh a hardcore Gundam fan? Sorry i bent your V-fin.

It's fine between different animes because there's no continuity, and there could only be so much variations to a mecha design before it looks too organic. Don't you feel car designs copy each other a bit too?

And what difference is there between 2 different shows and 2 alternate universe gundam shows that doesnt even share the same timeline? There is no continuity either. If u wanna rant then the least u can do is be general with ur reasoning, being selective just shows ur bias against certain shows while ignoring the same flaws that plague all others just the same. If the show/design isnt to ur liking, fine move on. G-Reko is not for u yes we get it, its mayb not for most of us here either since Tomino himself says its for the younger generation. But u dont c us whine about it, we wait for others that suits our taste. Some r waiting for GBF S2, some are waiting for Origin OVA, some are reading Origin manga, some are waiting for Beltochika's Children manga, some r reading Sentinel novel, some are reading Bande Desinee. There is literally hundreds of design out there be it mainstream or obscure that suit some1's fancy and those design are being constantly made into HGs. If u have explore everything and are convince nothing in the gundam-verse past, present or future that suits ur taste then its time to move on, simple as that.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jun 24 2014, 03:08 PM
TheAdmiral
post Jun 24 2014, 05:26 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Jun 24 2014, 04:27 PM)
Different folks, different strokes, guys. Just let it go and enjoy the Gundams you prefer.

I never like Build fighters/ Age as much as the older series, but that never stop me from getting the gunplas (mainly for kitbashing, haha.)

G-reko looks like another radical departure of the Gundam formula, but that also means cool enemy MSs. Let's just wait and see.
+1000.

Exactly my point, no use ranting, complaining, whining, etc. Yes Bandai may be milking it so what? They have been milking it since 1979 and will continue to do so till kingdom come. The result of the milking vary from ppl to ppl, some like it some dont. Some of the most beloved design of the past 30 years is a milking/copying of previous work be it within the Gundam meta-verse or other series. We already have horse MA, dragon MS, windmill gundam, mermaid gundam, sterotype mexican gundam, a little horn for v-fin is pale in comparison.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 1 2014, 02:19 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Jun 30 2014, 10:29 PM)
hello sifus,

i've recently started this hobby and i've completed my first RG, i liked the result of my completion very much and i wen't ahead to purchase something bigger, the MG Zeta Gundam with HD color.

now my question is:
i sand it out after cutting the nibs out, now there's little scratch marks of the 2000grid sandpaper. what can i do to cover up?

i'm sorry if question has been asked before.
whenever u sand, be prepare to paint.

sanding will always leave scratch marks no matter how high the grit u use. Solution depends on what u wanna do with ur final finishing:

1. if u plan to paint it in different color, primer will help in filling in small scratches that 2000 grit produces
2. if u plan to flat coat it, u can leave the scratch mark alone
3. if u plan to gloss coat it, u can use polishing compound to get it as shiny as possible, let gloss coat to fill in the rest
4. the lazy way out, cover it up with decals
TheAdmiral
post Jul 1 2014, 04:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jul 1 2014, 03:19 PM)
I believe usually the scratch will be covered up after apply top coating.
Not all the time and depends on what type of coating u r giving it.

The idea of flat coating is to create uneven surfaces to disperse light so that it'll look flat and dull and not shiny to ur eyes. In that regard scratching and flat coating, though different in process actually achieved the same results in the end which is why if ur gonna flat coat a kit, u can ignore the scratches u had made during sanding. This has limits of course, too coarse and the scratches will be too deep and it'll still end up looking like scratches after flat coating, the right balance is anything above 800, scratches from those grit will look indistinguishable after flat coating.

Gloss coat on the other hand is to fill in the gaps created by the sanding to level out the surfaces to give it a smooth finish in order to reflect light better, to appear shiny to ur eyes. The limit in this case is how large a gap the particle can fill and level itself off after drying, 2000 grit scratch marks is small enough in theory but it also depends on how much scratches are there and the condition in which u apply the coat. Just to be on the safe side, its better to polish it 1st if u wanna have really glossy finish across the entire piece.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 1 2014, 09:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Jul 1 2014, 07:47 PM)
So my steps are going to be like this:

1) panel line with marker
2) clean excessive ink
3) polish it
4) remove parts
5) spray semi-gloss/gloss coating
6) decal

are these the right steps? or can i spray coating without removing parts by parts?
the proper thread for these sorts of question is actually here

but i'll just answer it for u this 1 time la since its simple

1. test fitting (cut the peg at an angle for easier removal)
2. take note on the seamlines and nub marks that r visible
3. disassemble
4. sand where necessary
5. polish where u sand
6. panel line
7. coating
8. decal
9. coating
10. reassemble

The best way is not to ask which steps or which order comes 1st, just go ahead and do it. U shouldnt rely 100% on it since each of us had our own variations to the steps above, use it as a general guideline and nothing more. For instance i personally skip 1 to 3 since i pre-plan my kit, i already know what color goes to where with photoshop, i dont test fit unless necessary, i partial assembly and/or use logic so that i know what is hidden and what is not to plan out where to sand and glue. Just try it at ur own pace. Dont be afraid to make mistakes, mistakes is inevitable, mistakes is where u'll learn the most.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 5 2014, 11:46 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jul 5 2014, 09:06 AM)
the left one seems interesting, i think it'll be a bit less fragile?
Nah, i dont c anything that indicate an improvement to the joint. Only slight changes to the shape.

Also the biggest problem with 3.0 hand is not the finger, its the wrist and I dont think they have change anything. So far all the poses we have seen is it holding the riffle straight down or tug it under the arm, its probably suffering from the same flaws as all other 3.0 hand kit. Mayb thats y Bandai nvr include the hyper mega bazooka launcher.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 7 2014, 11:49 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jul 7 2014, 11:12 AM)
Guys I wanna ask something about color. See the pic below (grabbed from Gundamguy) what's the color used to achieved the glossy metallic effect?

I compared with with mine which used silver leaf from Tamiya, it's not as glossy as this one.

Easiest method, Alclad. Best chrome paint ever.

Black underlayer, Alclad chrome over and then lightly dusting off with soft hand brush, kautim. However u cant get Alclad in msia (i cant find 1 anywhere, if u know pls do share that info), u'll have to import it from ebay or something.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jul 7 2014, 11:50 AM
TheAdmiral
post Jul 7 2014, 01:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(cheokchuanyi @ Jul 7 2014, 12:13 PM)
Bro did you try js hobby?they are aelling alclad paints.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 7 2014, 12:40 PM)
Ooooo. didnt kno js brought those stuff here. Nice. Thx brah rclxms.gif
TheAdmiral
post Jul 9 2014, 01:47 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jul 9 2014, 01:09 PM)
Is it possible to swap the price tag sticker without damaging the box?

need to teach him where to buy Gundam. prices in those department stores are crazy.
However, sometimes they price tag themselves wrongly and u can get great deals from it since their staffs know shit about gunpla. If my memories serve me correctly, some members here found dirt cheap RG at rm50 because they wrongly tag it with some other stuff.

Checking those large department stores once in a while can be rewarding, if ur lucky u can even cash in on their incompetence. Heck at the very least u can still get a laugh out of their ridiculous pricing.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 12 2014, 02:20 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(D-y @ Jul 11 2014, 10:27 PM)
I thought the bazooka was his only original long range weapon. Unless it has a rifle that I am not aware of hmm.gif
Yes the bazooka come standard. In the story its sole purpose is to be a counter measure mobile platform with tactical nuclear strike capability and nothing else, officially the bazooka is the only weapon that it has (discounting vulcans and beam saber of course). It does have a beam bazooka but that belongs to ms-v, along the lines of MLRS.
TheAdmiral
post Jul 15 2014, 02:31 PM

49 posts

There isnt really much rare limited gunplas out there. Bandai occasionally reissued most of their models no matter how old, even MG RX 78 1.0 so there isnt really much point to scalp gunplas when u know it will be in stock again sooner or later.

There are only a handful of them that are truly limited, but even then its mostly just color variations that can be easily replicated with some paints and custom decals rendering scalping pretty much moot.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Jul 15 2014, 02:32 PM

0.0547sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:38 PM