6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Redmi 1S - Official Thread V1, coming on 8 July 2014, online RM419 !

xperiaVuser
post Jul 15 2014, 04:08 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jul 15 2014, 01:57 PM)
anyone here facing so call 2G/3G bugs??
I have a feeling it's hardware quality issue... but lets hope it is just software and can be rectified.

QUOTE(hafic @ Jul 15 2014, 03:57 PM)
TQVM. I try to search for it this morning but couldn't find it.
np. I noticed this new ROM has an additional 70+MB compared to 24 ... probably google play and some apps to make it work.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 15 2014, 04:13 PM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 15 2014, 09:52 PM

1,201 posts

That new stable ROM they just put up is a whopping 555MB , size is much bigger than previous versions. ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 15 2014, 09:52 PM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 16 2014, 08:16 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Jul 16 2014, 08:00 AM)
ROOT ROOT ROOT...anyone successfully Rooted their Redmi 1S yet?

Here is the guide :

http://en.miui.com/forum.php?mod=viewthrea...ot%2Bredmi%2B1S

* I have successfully rooted my Redmi 1S with latest ROM - JHCMIBE29.0

Hope TS would pin this @ first page as reference.
Or use this method http://en.miui.com/thread-21881-1-1.html . Don't need to install TWRP and SuperSU

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 16 2014, 08:20 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 16 2014, 01:27 PM

1,201 posts

Just received 2 units, sent by frieghtmark smile.gif
xperiaVuser
post Jul 16 2014, 04:49 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Jul 16 2014, 02:41 PM)
Where is your location?
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 03:54 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jul 16 2014, 11:01 PM)
I made the tutorial.
It wouldn't work. Trust me. Lol. Malaysia firmware needs to get rooted that way. Anyways I can't provide support anymore as I'm using China ROM now!
Previously it wouldn't work. The author has already updated the file to make it work. smile.gif so make sure to update it to JHCMIBE29.0 first.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 17 2014, 03:59 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 08:19 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(WeSLeY @ Jul 17 2014, 12:00 AM)
I think the latest Global ROM causing many problem....

1. Battery drain real fast
2. Try run Antutu and the score won't reach 20000 (many site review earlier showing the score > 20000)
1. Have not really test the batt since i got the phone yesterday. Will give feedback a week later tongue.gif
2. Not true, my antutu score is 21000+ on JHCMIBE29.0

QUOTE(countdracula @ Jul 17 2014, 12:38 AM)
I see that the led would light up during charging and low batt but not for any other notification. Did i miss any setting? Unfortunately i couldnt find any setting.
My whatsapp and sms works fine so far, led will light up. What ROM are you on?

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 16 2014, 08:05 PM)
one think i like about this phone is the gps. it locks to the satellite within seconds of using the gps app.
Not sure where I read this... it seems this phone locks on Beidou satellite also. so got gps,glonass and beidou.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 17 2014, 08:37 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 10:38 AM

1,201 posts

yea CoC can use as much as 300+ of RAM. Everything else works fine so far for me.

Xiaomi marketing and the hype created is really contagious... some old folks I know already asking me to buy for them hehe
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 10:49 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 17 2014, 10:46 AM)
then most probably ram issue. my available ram for usage is around 200 to 300mb only. so it's not unusual for it to close other apps.

for good multitasking, you need at least 2gb ie mi3 or better still those with 3gb ram
Yup, probably. And people looking to play games and pushing the limit shouldn't even be looking at this phone.
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 02:06 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(WeSLeY @ Jul 17 2014, 11:40 AM)
trying reset everything and see whether will help increase battery life......
some info from MIUI forum.... some did mentioned on Global ROM ver

http://en.miui.com/forum.php?mod=viewthrea...Bbattery&page=1
On my first charge

Screen slider more than 2/3 with auto on. GPS about 15min+-. The normal calls,whatapp Facebook. Will see how it goes in another week.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 17 2014, 02:10 PM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 03:12 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Jul 17 2014, 02:09 PM)
serious battery drain.... sad.gif
I wouldn't call it shabby. How do you interpret the stats above?

It was 7pm since the charge. Explore all the settings,Miui apps ( since i'm new to miui ), update - apps, new rom, installing apps, running benchmarks, browsing, whatapps, calls, sms, took quite a few photos... did all these for the whole night. so isn't bad for a first charge and this size of a battery 2050.

QUOTE(wonger @ Jul 17 2014, 02:25 PM)
Yup I had to do the same. It didn't show up on My Apps list. So went to search and update. No problem after that as it would be in the list already.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 17 2014, 03:51 PM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 17 2014, 04:06 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 16 2014, 10:18 PM)
let's put it this way, when I'm browsing with multiple pages, it doesn't auto reload when I switch between pages.

however, if I multi task with other apps, then subsequently return to the browser, the browser pages will appear 'grey' and when I select that page, it will auto reload.

my guess is ram issue.

I think so too.

QUOTE(vit @ Jul 16 2014, 10:38 PM)
Ic... mne even if I don't open other apps just few tabs in the browser oso it will refresh every single time I switch between the pages...
Have you tried other browsers like dolphin browser? No refreshes on dolphin browser at least on my phone.
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 05:27 AM

1,201 posts

Is there a way to disable Micloud and it's related apps?
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 06:34 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 18 2014, 06:17 AM)
root
I see. Do you know which particular ones?

ok I have disable some apps, now phone starts at around 385-400MB free.

*update: restarted phone and do the clear memory thing, waited for awhile, now it hovers around 420+MB consistently. Uninstalled certain google apps that I don't need, and disable some other, will see if affects normal operation of the phone.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 18 2014, 06:59 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 07:58 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 07:14 AM)
share with all ppl what have you disable and also uninstalled...

thanks a lot...
Have not gone the root way yet, where some apps can be disable more. So far uninstalls and apps that be disabled.

Can't remember which google apps, but apps that remained in the google folder is gmail,maps,play music,google settings,voice search and drive, youtube. Uninstalled chrome and using dolphin as browser. MiTalk uninstalled. Removed the google search widget on the homescreen. Disabled exchange services, weather. 5 apps in auto-start. That's all I can remember off the top of my head...

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 18 2014, 09:01 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 08:17 AM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 08:11 AM)
Delete drive it will helps... I will try again today as I delete those useless Google's apps just now...
Going to seremban, will use waze,whatsapp and CoC to try out...
It should be better as I have about 400MB after restart, tried to cleared the ram a few times so I guess that is the optimized ram usage without root...
I use Drive... so i'll just remove/disable stuff I don't use tongue.gif don't know if disabling 'xiaomi service framework' would affect other normal operations on the phone. from what i read on the net... it's related to Micloud services, not sure.

Antivirus can turn off install monitor, cloud virus definition and updates too.

BTW on my Mi3 which I deleted those apps long ago also cannot get 50% free ram... mostly system hogging the ram, running around 800MB free only for sometime already...
Then I believe have to root, and remove stuff like the xiaomi service framework etc. If not remove, at least freeze it first to be safe.

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 18 2014, 09:09 AM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 02:10 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jul 18 2014, 12:46 PM)
There is only 1 other rom available for wcdma besides the Global rom which is super jerky and slow.  Go to xiaomi website under Redmi 1s and download.
What is super jerky and slow? Give some examples please.
xperiaVuser
post Jul 18 2014, 03:22 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:06 PM)
laggy lo... it is not super la...
if you just compare 1s to MotoG with the same spec, MotoG perform better...

the MIUI makes the phone slightly laggy just like TouchWiz of Sammy to their phones...
yea both got pro cons la. moto G is just a light skin over android, whereas 1S is heavy skin ( which provides so much more settings). I'd take those features/settings over that small improvement of UI fluidity and responsiveness. And moto G camera is slow and don't take photos and videos as good as 1S. anyway.... I think we are comparing too much on a 'budget phone' haha
xperiaVuser
post Jul 22 2014, 02:06 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 22 2014, 02:40 AM)
root using mi recovery ? Sorry really dont understand
No one can put aroot method ?
QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Jul 22 2014, 12:12 AM)
Thank you for the link.

After root , can still receive updates for the xiaomi miui / andriod updates ?
After root you can't, just need to unroot again. Instructions all here http://en.miui.com/thread-21881-1-1.html

QUOTE(mickit @ Jul 22 2014, 10:59 AM)
found that no emoji select in messaging after 1st day use redmi... any other setting? icon_question.gif
Did you mean emoji the game or emoticons/smileys?

This post has been edited by xperiaVuser: Jul 22 2014, 02:17 PM
xperiaVuser
post Jul 22 2014, 03:40 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 22 2014, 03:26 PM)
how is the power on off button sensitivity? (i think original too sensitive  sweat.gif )
yes quite sensitive compared to previous phones i used. and placement abit too low.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:08 PM