LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V4, New home for our sweet little kancil
XCloudz
Aug 10 2015, 01:31 PM
Anyone experienced sound from your rear drum brake? randomly, especially during brake but sometime while making turn too. Sound like "wong wong.....", izit brake shoe is depleting?
XCloudz
Aug 11 2015, 08:58 AM
Kancil battery just failed on me this morning, can't start. May need to check alternator before replacing the battery.
Just wondering possible for kancil to use battery that is slightly bigger than usual? e.g. for Iswara? Alternator able to charge accordingly? does it fit?
Anyway how much would it cost for the small kancil battery? 130?
XCloudz
Aug 11 2015, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(budakhops @ Aug 11 2015, 09:02 AM) cheaper ns40 battery for kancil is wet type rm120. free maintenance usually rm140 n above. depends on the shop. Ic, so for kancil we should alwiz stick to ns40? not possible to sue ns60? im aware that connector might need to change as it bigger in size and minor changes required for the battery placement.
XCloudz
Aug 11 2015, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(budakhops @ Aug 11 2015, 11:46 AM) can but u need to relocate the battery to bonet belakang lah. as the current tapak batery cannot fit bigger battery. Ic, i believe tapak should be able to alter or change just wondering the alternator able to support ns60 without any problem? Just afraid that it may put more load on the alternator and shorter the lifespan.
XCloudz
Aug 12 2015, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 12 2015, 08:44 AM) alternator will be ok. the battery maybe bigger but the amp the car draw/use is still the same unless u plan to mod ICE. using bigger battery will only give you more reserve amp. Thank for your feedback, but bad news is i tried to jump start yesterday also cannot. Not sure is starter kong or alarm system giving problem. May need to further check. Lastly i notice there is a crack on the battery terminal connecter, therefore i am considering change the terminal connecter to bigger one to support ns60 can alter the tapak to fit it. Let see how it goes...
XCloudz
Aug 15 2015, 03:26 PM
How much would cost for a kancil alternator?
Managed to jump start, travel for half n hour, while engine running check battery volt only found 12.5v, confirm alternater problem rite?
XCloudz
Oct 16 2015, 09:18 AM
All the while i come across those non-monotone engine oil .e.g 10W-40, 30W-50, etc... Then i saw some engine oil from petronas SAE 40 suitable for kancil?
As my dad was using my car while claiming warranty for his own car then he found that the engine oil at minimal level and he went to buy the Petronas SAE 40 and pour into it.
The problem now is it engine oil leaking pretty badly from the head gasket...
So just wondering is the gasket rubber problem or we are not suppose to use SAE40 grade of engine oil? * Previously was using castrol gtx 20-50/30 50 if im not wrong.
This post has been edited by XCloudz: Oct 16 2015, 09:19 AM
XCloudz
Oct 27 2015, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 27 2015, 08:34 AM) Sae40 for kancil no problem, only ur engine will feel more "berat". In fact it is recommended to use higher viscosity in old engines to reduce engine makan minyak. So i guess higher should be around 50? May need to checkout my Kancil coming weekend, as the engine oil leaking under the car...wondering how much would a gasket rubber cost? as im suspecting leaving from the gasket cover...
XCloudz
Nov 5 2015, 08:52 AM
I have a weird problem with my kancil since yesterday. One of the rear tyre not able to roll backward but able to roll forward. So is like when you engaged reverse gear one tyre is reversing but another one is not moving at all. Could it be the drum brake is stuck? or brake shoe has depleted?
XCloudz
Nov 5 2015, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Nov 5 2015, 12:18 PM) very funny problem tis one. if drum brake stuck then it should not roll forward or backwards. anyway need to check brakes or bearing if u ask me.... Yes i feel funny too...will send it for checking over the weekend.
XCloudz
Nov 6 2015, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(am_eniey @ Nov 6 2015, 02:08 PM) most probably the bearing Ic, i guess most probably i will prepare the bearing and brake shoe and visit the workshop and check what is happening.
XCloudz
Nov 6 2015, 04:16 PM
As confirmed by 2 mechanics, it was the brake pump... It happen randomly, usually it happen when u pump ur handbrake to the max and release it. Brake pump part was quoted RM28, not sure bout labor yet.
This post has been edited by XCloudz: Nov 7 2015, 12:24 PM
XCloudz
Jan 16 2016, 05:00 PM
Hi all, need some advice here.
Recently my kancil stock engine encountered oil leaking. Went to the workshop was told the flywheel/oil seal problem.
Part cost 20 to 30 bit labor around 250 to 300.
Any advice? So far problem are few drops of oil everyday, and some smell from engine bay sometime.
Hope anyone here can enlighten me...
XCloudz
Feb 5 2016, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Feb 5 2016, 09:31 AM) yup.. the labor is expensive due to "dismantle engine" work.. better replace with ur clutch plate and clutch bearing.. Noted, will consider getting the clutch kit set... Need to survey around for the price...not sure which is reasonable...
XCloudz
Feb 5 2016, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Feb 5 2016, 09:40 AM) clutch plate around rm100+ for Exedy heavy duty.. not racing one.. last me for 8 years now.. haha.. now i think its time to change already.. original perodua last time last only for 2 years.. Haha, ic...what about the labour charge? I have been quote 200, 300, 400. Not sure which is the current market price... Any idea?
XCloudz
May 9 2016, 10:40 AM
Planning to get a third party insurance coverage for my year 2000 kancil. Previously on Tokyo Marine but planning with move to MMIP which can be done via Post Office. Anyone bought MMIP insurance from the Post Office, what is the price? I think under UniAsia.
XCloudz
May 10 2016, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(ryanl @ May 9 2016, 10:46 PM) Mine also under tokio marine ..roughly 290plus only Yup, but too bad it doesn't have online renewal facility. Anyone here bought it with MMIP through the post office? Roughly how much will be the amount.
XCloudz
May 13 2016, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ May 13 2016, 08:24 AM) hi guys! long time i no check in..... Good to see you again
XCloudz
May 13 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ May 13 2016, 11:06 AM) good to see you to! btw bro try to get your 3rd party insurance from uniasia which is now liberty insurance. its cheaper than pos office now. I know UniAsia can be done via Post Office previously but now they have terminated the contract. let me give uni asia insurance a call then... Thank ya,
XCloudz
Jul 23 2016, 06:10 PM
After 11 months of using recon alternator, it give problem again, battery light on. should i get another recon alternator or go for halfcut alternator?
And also to confirm alternator belt is 675 or 775 in term of length?