Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

penguinno1
post Jan 18 2023, 02:19 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(VonGoLaDeciMo @ Dec 6 2022, 01:22 PM)

Just got my diamond yesterday. It’s eye clean but after using my iphone 13 pro to take photo realized got abit inclusion. Overall very happy haha.
Now planning to go get ring setting at Zcova
Anyone knows of any other jewellers that do settings for own diamond? So far I found that Tailored Jewel, Castiel and Cupid Jewellery do provide setting services
can I know how long does it take for yours to be delivered to malaysia?
penguinno1
post Jan 18 2023, 07:39 AM

47 posts

Hi sifus,

am planning to get a lab diamond ring from Ritani because of the pricing they provide, but abit skeptical on it since the price they are providing is so much cheaper than other brand such as ZCOVA, is there anything else that I need to know before purchasing from them?

This is the diamond im looking at for the moment.

penguinno1
post Jan 18 2023, 10:15 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 18 2023, 05:35 PM)
This diamond is created using CVD process, not HPHT.

CVD is cheaper. HPHT is more expensive.

"The HPHT method, first used to successfully grow diamonds by General Electric in 1954, essentially mimics the natural process - carbon is crystallized as diamond through intense heat and pressure deep within the Earth.'

"In the past, CVD synthetics displayed graining patterns not found in natural diamonds, as well as distinctive fluorescence reactions."

So based on above statements, I will say that HPHT should be more similar to natural diamond.

ZCOVA lab grown diamond is not cheap, but neither it is overly expensive. I think you may get 10% discount, but I am not sure whether the promo has ended.

I've just tried to check on ZCOVA site for something similar, but the thing is on ZCOVA site a pear diamond with lower carat cost roughly 50% more

Ritani

Zcova
penguinno1
post Jan 18 2023, 10:19 PM

47 posts

TBH it doesnt concern me too much whether if its CVD or HPHT as long as they look fine to naked eye, am more worried regarding if purchasing from a US site and not a local vendor will results in extra hassle if anythings go wrong.

Maybe also if there is any additonal tax and duties I need to pay when the diamond arrived (but during the checkout page they mention there is no additional charges that is)
penguinno1
post Jan 20 2023, 02:41 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 19 2023, 03:38 AM)
As far as I know, there are no taxes for loose diamond if you import into Malaysia from the US.

Personally, I would say buying from US is a rather straight-forward process and the shipment will most likely be insured if they opt for FeDex of DHL.

As for the diamond itself, I would say it is easier than buying an electrical item from overseas since electrical item may spoil and we will need to claim warranty, while for loose diamond, it is what it is. Of course, there is still a slim chance that things may go very wrong, but I think for me, if the loose diamond is cheaper, it is worth the risk, again, just my personal opinion.

My other concern will be getting the ring set, you will need to find a jeweler that is willing to set your loose diamond, and I will say better get a quick quotation first before pulling the trigger just in case the total price for both diamond and ring is not worth it.

I won't suggest you to buy the whole engagement ring (diamond + ring) and import in from the US because that will be count as a jewelry piece and it is taxable. I am not sure about the tax percentage though.
Wow this helped alot, I never know that getting a whole ring form overseas is taxable since the customer services told me that I will only be paying the amount shown at checkout and not any additional duties and taxes.

Maybe I will consider getting just the loose diamond in this case.

Is there any recommend jeweler to set the loose diamond?
penguinno1
post Jan 25 2023, 04:50 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 20 2023, 04:13 PM)
if you are in PJ area, I do provide such service, or you can also ask around jewelers like Boa Jewels, ZCOVA, Tailored Jewel, iDo Jewelry etc.

I think even local chain stores can help to set. Try asking.
Alright will def take a look into that, Thanks!

QUOTE(VonGoLaDeciMo @ Jan 21 2023, 01:56 PM)
Hello! It took around 3 weeks to reach as the diamond was not from US, they got it shipped to US then to Malaysia. I bought loose stone only, there’s no tax charged. They used DHL to ship it here. I then went to ZCOVA to get it set, with the temporary setting service, plan to go back and get a pave type setting once done with my ROM

Hurmm 3 weeks is still acceptable imo since its international shipping

0.3485sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:44 PM