Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

Newbie123321
post Feb 16 2019, 12:42 AM

Hi Kambing Koh and all the sifus,

I'm planning to propose to my gf soon, so i just went to Wah Chan to take a look.
My budget is around 5k. The sales person showed me the following diamond ring and told me that cant get this price anywhere else. So need sifus help to see whether it is worth the bang for bucks...

0.40ct H SI2 3EX GIA1268661767 (She offered RM4440.00 the diamond is already affixed to a ring)

Any other recommendations are very much welcome ^^

Thank you in advance

Newbie123321
post Feb 17 2019, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 16 2019, 02:49 PM)
Zcova can offer one colour higher at cheaper price

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry91793156

As for the stone, 36 crown angle is too steep. Pairing with 41 pavilion will usually not work. At least I saw the diamond chosen by Zcova has better proportions.

For your budget, I would recommend either Tailored Jewel or Zcova for a one-stop service. And for a decently cut 0.4ct G VS1 (or maybe VS2) , it will be more or less RM 5500 to RM 6000 with 18k white gold ring.
Thanks kambing koh bro for your assist n knowledge sharing, will take time to drop by Tailored Jewel and Zcova to have a look 😊. May I ask what is the recommended crown angle and pavilion will consider acceptable for that price range ? Sorry, I have zero knowledge on stone and want to maximize the value on it 😬

And may I know how long normally it takes for them to setting the ring and stone ? My planning for proposal is around end of April, hopefully can get it done in time 🙈

Thanks again

Newbie123321
post Feb 18 2019, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 18 2019, 09:45 AM)
The original ideal cut publishes by Marcel Tolkowsky has a crown angle of 34.5 an pavilion angle of 40.8. But if we are talking about GIA, we won't know for sure because they round up numbers like 34.3 and 34.7 crown to 34.5. Nonetheless, even those numbers are not bad at all. Usually I will just ask people to follow 34 to 35 crown angle and 40.6 to 40.9 pavilion angle. Those are Whiteflash ACA proportions. Of course, proportions is just one thing. We still have to see whether the cut quality is good enough or not. For example if one side of the crown is too high at 36 and the other side of the crown is too low at 32, you will still get an average of 34. Good by the numbers but not good in real life. Oh and one more.. Try to look for lower girdle percentage of 75%, and table size preferably 55% or 56%. 57% is acceptable but smaller table usually have better fire.

Higher crown angle will also have better fire. So theoretically, 35 crown will have slightly better fire than 34 crown angle. 35 crown is best to be paired with a 40.6 pavilion angle. Now, pair that with 75% lower girdle diamond that is well-cut, you should have a good diamond.

I think usually will take between 3 to 4 weeks, but if it is peak period, then expect longer.
Hi Kambing koh,

That's informative~! thank you! rclxms.gif

As per your advice and guidlines, i have found one stone which suits your recommendation in term of crown angle, pavillion angle and table.
What do you think about this stone?

http://118.143.133.146/GemKOnline/DiaSearc...tbYR7Kryfti5cdk

GIA-7308778111 (RM4350 with ring setting) worth thumbup.gif ?
Newbie123321
post Feb 19 2019, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(TheGemTribe @ Feb 18 2019, 06:01 PM)
Hi Newbie123321! I am the owner of The Gem Tribe - we specialize in full range jewellery services.  Nice to meet you and everyone on here! : )
As a GIA Gemologist who has graded thousands of diamonds to date, I highly recommend against going for SI2 diamonds.
In the U.S. where I went to get my qualification, my instructors used to call I1 and below stones - frozen spit. : ))))
SI2 is borderline frozen spit and in many cases, if you or your future fiancee is the sensitive kind, you would probably notice the nasty impurities and inclusions within the diamond. That's right! In order for a diamond to be graded SI2, there needs to be multiple large and noticeable inclusions within the stone.
So, does it make sense to settle for something like this when you have better, cleaner options?
What if I told you that by topping up a Rm1k+/- to your budget, you may get a GIA certified VS2 clarity, F color diamond with 3EX cut?
AND you have the flexibility of choosing a brand new 18kt White Gold mounting, instead of being stuck with the current design that your fiancee might not like?

If you'd like to understand, explore better quality and value jewelry options, you may Whatsapp us at +6012-2279525. Chat soon! ; ]
Hi Owner of the Gem Tribe,

Thank you for letting me know how diamond is graded, much appreciated thumbsup.gif

I believe using bare naked eyes cant tell the difference, no? haha... Jokes aside, My budget max is 5k (diamond + ring), don wanna blow my budget too much as more commitments are coming soon (house installment, car, wedding dinner, photography, honeymoon, bills....etc) rclxub.gif

If you do have diamond which suits my budget, do you mind post it here and let @kambingkoh and other sifus take a glimpse? To be frank, i cant tell any difference apart from size, colour and how bling they are blink.gif hahaha..

And thanks all the sifus for helping out notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Newbie123321
post Feb 19 2019, 02:17 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 01:46 AM)
Both Gem Tribe and Zcova has GIA Graduate Gemologist with experience to give you advices that I probably could not. I am sure you will benefit from their expertise as well.

I can only give you advice on what I would personally buy. So your minimum size is 0.4ct?
Yes, i do appreciate everyone advice. And hopefully can get it done before mid of April.
So the fastest way i can think of is thru this forum and get opinion from ppl who has the knowledge.

0.3~0.4ct should be fine, more wallet friendly biggrin.gif
Newbie123321
post Feb 19 2019, 02:23 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 01:41 AM)
Hmm personally, I would request for another options before making the final call. The diamond is not that well cut overall despite its proportions look good.

Alternatively, drop the size down or buy shy of 0.4ct?
Oh.. because this is their promotion item, subject to availability.. i saw 0.4ct is within my budget i only ask them for this. This is the only one left as we speak.

I okay with down sizing with better spec... Any recommendation? laugh.gif
Newbie123321
post Feb 19 2019, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 09:14 AM)
Please provide minimum colour and clarity as well?

BTW ZCOVA has a standard promotion for 0.3ct E VS2 for 4250
https://zcova.com/blog/15/zcova-engagement-...r-your-proposal!

Tailored Jewel also had standard promotion here:
https://www.tailoredjewel.com/tjs-picks/diamond-rings/

Best is Tailored Jewel got 14k ring option to lower the price. 18k is usually the standard for the Malaysia market and uses more ring so it is more expensive, while 14k is more common overseas and it is definitely cheaper. It is a smart move by Tailored Jewel.

Personally, I am also experimenting on how to become a jeweller so I  actually sourced one stone from a supplier straight. I will be selling off the stone later on to whoever who is adventurous enough to buy from me. Well, I trust myself, but it is not so easy for ppl to trust me right, so I have to see what I can do to gain the trust. For now, I cant really get anything for you because I dont know the turnaround time yet, and I don't want to mess up with your schedule. And yes, I would also be earning some profit if I sell it to anyone. smile.gif
for 0,3, Am i able to get E/F for colour, VVS1 VVS2 for clarity?

Just messaged Tailored Jewel, very responsive and friendly, here is what he quoted:

the price is inclusive of 14k ring. GOod buy? confused.gif

https://segoma.com/v.aspx?type=iframe&id=81TX15JVQU - video for 0.4ct

https://segoma.com/v.aspx?type=iframe&id=5IVBDEL3O4 - video for 0.3ct

Good for you bro~! Do let me know if u managed to get the stone within this month. How much u planning to sell brows.gif , will consider if wallet allows tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Newbie123321: Feb 19 2019, 12:47 PM
Newbie123321
post Feb 19 2019, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 02:22 PM)
Hmm.. Both diamonds are not hearts and arrows so I would just pick by the numbers and the overall look. For this, I would pick the 3850 package.

For below 5.5k, you can consider this:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link).

Here is the price:

18k gold ring from Memory Jewellery:
https://memoryjewellery.com/category/engagement-ring/

Total: RM 3905.81 + RM 1499.00 = RM 5405.81.

Just for reference. You can see the difference in cut quality.

I would recommend you stick to your budget as you have mentioned that there are other expenses for marriage.

I am still waiting for Memory Jewellery to has their system up again.
i'm okay with the price, the diamond here really can see the difference. thumbsup.gif
So i just register an account with them and make the purchase, they will send the diamond over to my doorstep? Safe?

Proportion wise? If kambingkoh give green light i just go ahead with this one. thumbup.gif ? haha..
Newbie123321
post Feb 20 2019, 01:05 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 02:22 PM)
Hmm.. Both diamonds are not hearts and arrows so I would just pick by the numbers and the overall look. For this, I would pick the 3850 package.

For below 5.5k, you can consider this:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link).

Here is the price:

18k gold ring from Memory Jewellery:
https://memoryjewellery.com/category/engagement-ring/

Total: RM 3905.81 + RM 1499.00 = RM 5405.81.

Just for reference. You can see the difference in cut quality.

I would recommend you stick to your budget as you have mentioned that there are other expenses for marriage.

I am still waiting for Memory Jewellery to has their system up again.
Hi KambingKoh bro,

i went to meet Tailored Jewel sales person just now, overall very good experience.. Was highlight to him that the based on the number, 0.3ct was a better choice like what u told me. He was amazed by that, cause rarely got ppl will look at that number (pav angle, table... etc) Trying to make him think like i know my stuff.. don play play brows.gif Thanks to Kambing Koh sifu notworthy.gif

But then he told me that these two are Heart and Arrow type of diamond because of the cutting method. So i was confused is this heart and arrow diamond?

Anyway, he will try to find me another 0.4ct diamond which is close to the spec of 0.3ct ones. Will post here for sifus opinions.

Thank you icon_rolleyes.gif
Newbie123321
post Feb 20 2019, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 19 2019, 04:58 PM)
I sent the wrong link!

Here is the correct stone: https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp

It is 0.328ct diamond not a 0.421ct!

hahaha.. nowonder, i thought got discount ... is okay, no worries bro.. and thanks for the link thumbsup.gif

Newbie123321
post Feb 20 2019, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 20 2019, 09:34 AM)
The guy? I am guessing he is Ethon? Lol. If yes, he is the boss.

But again, although I make the call by the number, but 36 crown pair with 40.6 pavilion might work, just that it is a it borderline call. So the other diamond is a safer choice.

And for by look, there are 2 arrows that do not reflect well for the 0.4ct... Here comes the But... But this kind of videos usually can happen even for a well-cut diamond.

So you can really say I mainly reject this diamond based on numbers. I do have something I like about the 0.4ct: the arrows are bolder and not as thin as the 0.3ct, and the arrows ade more well-aligned as well.

Hearts and Arrows are a phenomenon that can be found in round brilliant diamond. It is something the cutter should achieve if it is well-cut enough. Here, take a look:

So yea, there are hearts their are arrows. But what do you think?

And what do you think of these 2:

[CODE]
Which one you more willing to  buy? Given the fact that the left diamond is cheaper.
Oppss... I din know that he is the boss doh.gif Or KambingKoh bro is Ethon hmm.gif ??!! hahahhaa...

Ethon is very patience in explain everything in details and clear any doubts in your mind, just like KambingKoh sifu thumbup.gif thumbup.gif And he is very honest about he do need some profits to keep his business running but rest assured the diamond & services he provided are definitely worth what we paying for.

Here's the new diamond he found for me, got free upgrade in colour! rclxm9.gif

GIA 6282676007
Video ref - https://segoma.com/v.aspx?type=iframe&id=QNK7WY97N7

What do you think about this diamond compared to the previous one?

As for your question, i not sure whether i get it correctly.

I will choose the first one for this

The right one, because the arrow is more well aligned.

This post has been edited by Newbie123321: Feb 20 2019, 11:54 AM
Newbie123321
post Feb 22 2019, 02:13 PM

Hi Kambing Koh bro and sifus,

It's me again smile.gif , may i know the difference of 14k and 18k white gold ring ?
In term of gold content, from what i research 14k is about 50 %+ and 18k is about 70%+. Can we, as a layman tell the difference when we look at it side by side? Personally i havent seen one in real life. sweat.gif

Which one is more advisable to go for and why? Thank you.
Newbie123321
post Mar 14 2019, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(bb100 @ Mar 14 2019, 11:55 AM)
No, I am not a sifu. Just sharing my limited knowledge with you guys here.

G colour is okay if you have a high performing diamond to mask the yellowish tint. Otherwise, the lowest you wanna go is F. Personally, here are my priorities:

P1: Cut, no compromise.
P2: Carat weight, girls' best friend so it has to be.
P3: Colour, cuz it is something which you and other people can observe.
P4: Clarity, does not really matter as long as it appears eyeclean and there are no internal cracks (feather) near the edges.

Imagine this very common conversation:

Girl A: WAHHHH, your diamond super shiny and colourful!! That's P1 right there.
Girl B: Is it? Thank you.
Girl A: How many carat? There you go, P2.

Never have you heard "Wahhh, your diamond super shiny and colourful! What colour and clarity your fiancé buy for you?"
Hahaha.. Spot On~! Coudn't agree more bro rclxms.gif

Size does matter eh? brows.gif

0.0234sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:58 AM