Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

CasperTheFriendly P
post Aug 10 2019, 09:18 PM

Probation

Hi all Sifus, I have been wanting to buy an engagement ring and have read through more info on diamonds that I can handle but still fell very uncertain. rclxub.gif

Decide to try asking here and hope to get some advice on my situation.

Being a complete novice few months back, I just walked into a Tiffany & Co and thought I can get the whole thing done there and then until I saw the price and decided to properly reconsider my options lol. sweat.gif

I don't really have a budget so I told the Tiffany lady around RM30k thinking it should be more than enough to get a decent ring since my friends and relatives all got theirs for around RM10k-RM20k.

The salesperson then showed me a few 0.5-0.6ct diamond rings ranging from RM25k-RM35k, and they look exactly like what I imagine a diamond ring should look like and what I think my girlfriend will go for.

But before committing RM30k (total noob didn't realise RM30k only gets you half a carat at Tiffany's), my rational mind kicked in and I decided it might be smart to survey my options first at other jewellery stores. tongue.gif

For some reason (maybe shop lighting or other retail trickery), Tiffany's diamond and the ring always look much bigger and elegant when compare to same carat sizes at other jewellery stores (Poh Kong, De Gem) with similar 6 prongs setting. Sometimes, it even feels like the Tiffany's 0.6ct diamond ring looks about the same size as some 1ct rings sold by other jeweller. Prices at other jewellery shops are about 2 to 3 times cheaper though.

So here is my question: are Tiffany diamond rings worth the price, if not taking brand name into account.

If no (which I keep reading online), can any Sifu guide me on where to get a diamond ring at better value. Because I am seriously leaning towards Tiffany's at the moment despite what my rational side is telling me.

I came across JannPaul when reading this thread where they emphasize mainly on cutting and the various types of scopes to examine. But them being based in Singapore, don't think I will be able to visit them anytime soon. And I don't think I will know how to see even if jewellers were to show me those scopes images (yes, I've watched a bunch of JannPaul's videos on YouTube but only thing I know now is I still don't know enough to properly evaluate a diamond).

What I know I want is:
- The ring band to be made of platinum since my girlfriend prefers platinum over white gold.
- Sizes should be 0.4ct to 1ct (base what I saw at Tiffany's) or slightly bigger as long as it's still subtle and elegant.
- The other Cs grading are less important to me as all look quite similar unless put side to side. So as long as it's not in the bottom half of the grading scale I'll just consider it as good.
- To see the actual physical ring before purchasing.

Sorry for long text. Any advise will be much appreciated. Thank you! notworthy.gif
CasperTheFriendly P
post Aug 19 2019, 01:51 PM

Probation

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 12 2019, 07:23 PM)
What is the colour and clarity that was shown to you?

are Tiffany diamond rings worth the price, if not taking brand name into account. -> Without branding = No, not worth it. With the brand = Probably yes. Branding does bring the feel good factor IMO. It is an iconic brand afterall.

Thanks for taking the time to reply! And apologies for my late reply.

I was shown colours between G & H and inclusions VS1 to VS2 at Tiffany's. But my untrained eyes could not tell the difference between the few diamonds that were shown to me besides the size. sweat.gif

I've been to DeGem and was shown their Forever Mark and Lazare diamonds. To me they don't look as appealing (in terms of how they look comparing same carat size to Tiffany). But I remember them being about 50% cheaper than Tiffany's. Also to note Forever Mark uses a different diamond lab report instead of GIA. Not sure how much it matters since Tiffany uses their own in house cert as well.

I've also had a look at your web page. Very helpful! Saw a list of physical stores. May start with those.

Will it be rude if I request for ASET scope images and diamond proportion details at these stores? Seems very common in Singapore but don't think it's standard practice in Malaysia from what I experience going to a few jewelry stores.

0.1934sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:32 AM