Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

Blakey
post Jul 16 2018, 02:07 PM

36 posts

Hi sifus, started looking around for a diamond engagement ring mostly and preferably at retail stores.. with the upcoming sst, will the pricing increase drastically? My budget around 6k tops and those sales person says will increase up to 10k when sst kicks in. Can’t understand the maths there or they just wanna “push” customers?
Blakey
post Jul 16 2018, 07:56 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 16 2018, 05:01 PM)
Personally I dont think will be that drastic. 6k jump to 10k is absurd. You may want to check out ZCOVA's recent promo: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid...775461832580869.

It will certainly stretch your budget abit if you get the 0.4ct, but I would say the overall price is pretty good. Although I mentioned above that the DIY online route can be cheaper, but the difference is actually more or less just RM 200 savings, but in exchange, you will get all the service under one roof, together with an assurance that the stone from sourcing to mounting will be their responsibility, which is good.

As for stone quality, they are GIA Triple Excellent but if you read even a little on the internet, GIA Triple Excellent does not mean it is good enough. What I can say is that they won't be bad stones, but when compared side-by-side with a better stone, one may be able to observe the difference. Nonetheless, I would still say their promotion is good.

If you want other jewellers, you can also check out Tailored Jewel,  Memory Jewellery, iDo Jewellery, Eumayco Jewellery etc. They basically operate the same way, just that iDo don't really own a physical shop while Tailored usually will meet up outside at a cafe or something, as far as my last experience counts.

You can also visit Wah Chan at Section 14 PJ. That is their signature store, so shouls have more stones to choose from. Or, you can also visit Lazo Diamonds, which seems pretty affordable.

Compare around and see how things work for you.
Thanks for the advise! The brick & mortar stores would still be my first option. You reckon love & co?

Blakey
post Jul 16 2018, 10:28 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 16 2018, 09:26 PM)
Their rings are pretty. Their signature diamond LoveMarque is graded by IIDGR, which belongs to DeBeers, the world's biggest diamond mining company. Last time I asked Paul Slegers in PriceScope about this lab and he mentiones that the grades are slightly more lenient compared to GIA, but then he thinks that those stone may be rejected stones therefore, he cannot draw a conclusion that IIDGR is less strict:
https://www.pricescope.com/community/thread...5/#post-3994476

Paul Slegers cut the famous Crafted by Infinity stones. It is another high quality super ideal brand.

Overall, i really like how LoveMarque represents some bigger players in the industry are trying to show the customers how is the cut quality of the diamond by inclusing both Hearts and Arrows actual images on the cert. This is certainly good news. The proportions of this collection can be slightly off my preferred range, but overall, I would say very decent. And regarding the cut quality, I have seen two of their Hearts and Arrows diamond and one of them I will only say it is a near Hearts and Arrows diamond. The other, can't exactly rmb. The cool thing about this diamond is definitely the laser inscription on the surface of the diamond, if not mistaken, I think it is on the table of the diamond. Price wise, not too cheap - I think I was quoted RM 17k for 0.5ct. Cant rmb the colour or clarity, but knowing the fact that I can settle on a 0.5 E VVS2 on 18k white gold ring at RM 11k, I am pretty sure I won't go for it:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link).

One thing to be aware is that Love & Co mix the old IGI graded stones with the new IIDGR graded stones. If you want to buy this collection, I would say try to stick to IIDGR. At least this lab gives me more confident because of how they are able to provide the images.

For your budget of 6k, hopefully you cab land on something around 0.3x ct. I won't put my hopes high on 0.4ct because it is afterall a brick-and-mortar chain-store that has gained some fame in Malaysia, so it won't be cheap.

If you decided to go for normal stones instead, chances should be better elsewhere to be able to get a better performing stone. Can consider Solitaire Club at selected Wah Chan branch.
You’re right about the laser inscription and indeed gives a different touch! Yeah, not expecting more than 0.4 with this brand~ The hunt continues! Have a good one brother

Blakey
post Aug 11 2018, 05:28 PM

36 posts

Hi fam, after some visits to few stores I found this :

GIA, 0.37c, F color, VS2, 3ex @ RM4k + White gold setting. Kinda fit my requirements for now. Ok for the specs? Also Should I be worry about it’s 3 prong settings? Read that it might not hold the rock as firmly as compared to more prong settings :S

This post has been edited by Blakey: Aug 11 2018, 07:02 PM
Blakey
post Aug 11 2018, 10:53 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 11 2018, 10:12 PM)
First off, the diamond:
If that is a diamond with good proportions and the arrows are pretty good, then the price looks great. However, RM4k+ is vague. Do you have the exact amount? Also, we won't know for sure the diamond's performance if you don't provide the cert number as preliminary checking.

Anyway,

This is how a diamond leaking light looks like:
https://www.zoara.com/diamonds/p_round_exce...id=myengringexp (affiliate link)
[attachmentid=9966807]

This is how a better looking diamond looks like:
https://www.zoara.com/diamonds/p_round_exce...id=myengringexp (affiliate link)
[attachmentid=9966809]

Both are not Hearts & Arrows diamonds, which is cut with high skill of craftsmanship, however, for the better diamond, I find that the proportions are pretty acceptable.

Observe the price difference, better ones will usually command a higher price. Yes, I know is a VS1, but this is the closest I can find that has a better cut. Assume exchange rate at 4.1135. Assume 18k white gold ring at RM 1499 (by Memory Jewellery). Memory Jewellery can also offer cheaper ring setting at RM 1000.  Lazo also offers pretty cheap settings as well, can go below RM 1000.

Ultimately, only you can answer whether the price difference is worth it or not. Also, in diamonds, better cut or quality or better proportion diamonds usually comes with a higher price tag. So beware if something is too cheap. Good proportions performance are usually not bad too, but bad proportions diamond will look boring and probably look dull in normal lighting.

Secondly, the prongs:
As for prongs, as long as you dont hit it against something, there wont be much problem. If not, it should be relatively easier to fall out compare to 4 prongs or 6 prongs.
Thanks for the input. Sorry it’s nett 4K with setting is what I meant. You’re right about the worthiness to each purchaser as it is subjective~ So much to learn.

Im also considering an offer that’s ongoing at eumayco where they have free upgrade to platinum setting now.. haha..

Blakey
post Aug 18 2018, 08:09 PM

36 posts

Good evening kambingkoh~ What’s your take on this gia diamond 6241055248 ?
Blakey
post Aug 19 2018, 12:25 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 18 2018, 10:56 PM)
Looka good, despite the slightly deep total depth, but the calculated ideal weight matches the actual weight. The small table and high crown may be able to help to increase the diamond's fire while the 40.6 degree pavilion angle may be able to return a lot of light! Lower girdle percentsge of 75% will give you bold sparks and this is great. If the optical precision of this diamond is good, it is indeed a good diamond.
That’s nice to hear! You’ve mentioned solitaire club before, and I’ve taken a look at a 321k shop selling them. Is 321k shop a higher level store than Wah Chan along with its diamond or otherwise?
Blakey
post Aug 19 2018, 09:57 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 19 2018, 08:36 AM)
Oh and I missed out one thing. ASET and IdealScope is actually important as well. But... I have uses to filter our based on proportions and optical precision first nowadays. In most places, we won't get all those performance images, so it is good to maximize what we have at our disposal.

As far as brick-and-mortar is concerned, the only thing we can do is look at proportions and the arrows. If can see the hearts even better but usually the diamonds are mounted. Understandbly, most people either prefer to view the diamonds in real life or they just don't feel too comfortable transferring a huge amount of money overseas for a loose diamond even the online stores provide all the necessary performance images, therefore this creates a give and take situation whereby we will need to maximize what tools we have at our hands.

Ok... back to topic.

I recommended Solitaire Club because they are focusing on proportions first. Proportions is the first level to filter out bad diamonds. I can't say their proportions are superbly excellent but it should be able to filter out a lot of not-so-good diamonds. Despite filtering out, Solitaire Club is like Lazare at Degem, there still can be good ones and not-so-good ones. If you got the chance, go to Degem and look at Lazare, you will notice not all are equal. It is either because of the cut precision is not that good or the pairing of proportions are not that good. For instance, a 35.5 degree crown angle paired with a 41.2 degree pavilion angle 99.9% will be leaking light. This can be seen by ASET which a lot of stores do not provide. Of course, I am just giving an example, I have no proof that Lazare is leaking light in anyway. Also, star length and lower girdle facet is also not provided for both Lazare and Solitaire Club. Now, those are actually pretty important because I tend to look for star length from 50% or above and prefer lower girdle facet of 75% to 77%. For my own WhiteFlash diamond, despite all the performance images looks good, the star length of 48% makes the diamond look brighter than having more coloured sparkles. It can still perform, but I will look for diamond with more contrast these days. Haha, I think I should blog this

As for 321K, this is the firsf time I heard it. After Googling, they actually belong to Wah Chan. Higher level or not? To me is just branding. Let the diamond quality speaks for itself. wink.gif wherever you feel comfortable with!
Lol~ Couldn’t agree more! Thanks smile.gif

Blakey
post Apr 23 2019, 03:11 PM

36 posts

Hello~ Where can we purchase unique ring box?
Blakey
post Apr 24 2019, 11:57 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Apr 24 2019, 10:45 AM)
That rose box is nice! Thanks thumbup.gif
Blakey
post Apr 25 2019, 11:58 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ub3rg33k @ Apr 24 2019, 10:24 PM)
Is it for a surprise proposal?
Uh huh.. why ya?
Blakey
post Apr 26 2019, 10:14 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(ub3rg33k @ Apr 25 2019, 11:44 PM)
https://www.monolix.com.au/

Cool eh? Locally, you may contact Shannon from TheGemTribe to purchase one.
Damn! That is one cool ring box~ Thanks~ Ill check it out smile.gif
Blakey
post Nov 5 2019, 10:52 PM

36 posts

Proposed back in September and got a yes! Totally irrelevant here but saw this ring https://www.sateur.com/ popping out of Facebook lately. Thought of buying for fun for the fiancé.. anyone with experience with this ring before?

0.1909sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:18 AM