[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

Jedi
post Jul 15 2014, 10:18 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Hi guys,

I would like to ask a few things here to sifu:

1) Why do people recommend Asrock motherboard over ASUS (I am seeing b85 Pro Gamer for performance + value)
2) I am leaning towards nvidia too. Is it worth the squeeze @ RM 150+ for gtx 760 OC vs the normal
3) DDR 3 1600 vs 1866, does it make a difference in gaming?

Jedi
post Jul 15 2014, 10:44 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Thanks all for the prompt reply.

For Asrock B85 Killer, I did not manage to find it under the Viewnet latest list. Where can I get that @ the price suggested Minecrafter?

Mainly I am looking for at least 2 USB 3.0 ports, one for SSD at least.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Jul 15 2014, 10:46 PM
Jedi
post Jul 15 2014, 10:50 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jul 15 2014, 10:47 PM)
Idealtech

Most (if not all) mobo nowadays sure will have 2USB 3.0 ports.

One for SSD means?
SATA III ports.

But yeah I guess the mainstream mobos have all that I want smile.gif I trust I do not need extra sound card anymore? My last desktop was year 2007 and now I returned from my studies, at that time audigy 2 was my sound card and I hear over these years (when I lagged behind in PC world), mobo sound is as good for gaming.
Jedi
post Jul 16 2014, 10:56 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

so to finalise my own PC, Sifus here please review and modify if necessary:

CPU: Intel i5 4460
Mobo: Asrock B85 Fatality Killer
GPU: Leadtek/Zotec gtx 760 (depending on who I go to, still to finalise)
RAM: 2x 4gb ddr3 Corsair/Avexir (same as above)
HDD: WD 2TB Green/Purple (Cant afford black tongue.gif )
PSU: Seasonic M12 II Bronze 80+ (Need another suggestion if I take idealtech.com around this price rm 359 as they do not have this option)
Casing: Storm Stryker (Expensive but from Viewnet I dont see another viable, awesome looking option at phantom price) / NZXT Phantom 530

Need suggestion for Cooler too (Do I need this), if I do, Seidon 120V?

Retain ODD, monitor keyboard and gaming mouse

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi: Jul 16 2014, 11:37 AM
Jedi
post Jul 16 2014, 11:21 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jul 16 2014, 11:15 AM)
For HDD, go for WD Blue instead. The Green make very poor primary OS drive. However, I believe the Blue does not come in 2TB capacity, so you may consider going for Seagate Barracuda 2TB instead.

For PSU, can go for the non-modular S12 II version if the modular M12 is not available.

For cooler, there isn't really a reason to go with 3rd party cooler especially if you're not overclocking, as the bundled stock cooler is good enough. If you must, do consider going for Hyper 212X instead. The Seidon 120V is an entry level AIO cooler and may often lag behind even cheaper air solution. The rest looks good. wink.gif
cool. Btw the HDD WD Blue vs Green , I thought its only color difference..
For PSU, I also hear modular is easier to tidy up the inside so it doesnt look messy.

Jedi
post Jul 16 2014, 11:39 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jul 16 2014, 11:31 AM)
LOL, the Green does not really have a rated RPM per se, they list it as "IntelliPower"; those "green" drives that I have no idea how much energy savings it would have on saving the earth anyway. tongue.gif It probably runs lower than the standard 7200 RPM drives that we have in the market. That's why I would recommend WD Blue or even Seagate Barracuda 2TB. WD Purple is a new surveillance grade (CCTV) HDD that I have no experience on yet, I do not think this is necessary for most of us anyway.

That's right, but with good cable management, even non-modular PSUs can be kept tidied as well. brows.gif
ok good, I will go with seagate then. Most likely I will visit Idealtech next week.

+ Do you happen to have read any good article read on routers,I dont have experience on this but I always hear theres a big difference in gaming online experience (right now using DSL 2640B given from tmnet streamyx 4mbps package) so I would want to switch too if I can enhance online experience, even for streaming, if it will make a difference.

0.0466sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:16 AM