QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 2 2014, 10:56 AM)
Afaik they have different control layout - smiley shapedLYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...
LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...
Jun 2 2014, 12:25 PM
1,533 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Jun 2 2014, 02:53 PM
1,362 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: k.terengganu.. alone.. with my bass...play.. alone |
i have a question... why dont every trem guitar use locking nut? as far as i know, thats the stable setup a trem guitar can have...
Jun 2 2014, 03:26 PM
8,275 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(regiuseven @ Jun 2 2014, 12:25 PM) lol i didnt notice that after looking at soo manyQUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jun 2 2014, 02:53 PM) i have a question... why dont every trem guitar use locking nut? as far as i know, thats the stable setup a trem guitar can have... coz u gotta drill 2 holes for the nut to go in?then again i thought all floating bridge guitars had them |
Jun 2 2014, 03:34 PM
1,625 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: Westeros |
Jun 2 2014, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Jun 2 2014, 03:34 PM) maybe not, i might pickk it up and go mehi was thinking screw this guitar shit, buy IEM, recording devices, pedals and swap them pups on my gibsons prb save me more monies doing it but gapnap has a 57 reissue in his shop sooo tempting |
Jun 2 2014, 03:48 PM
1,362 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: k.terengganu.. alone.. with my bass...play.. alone |
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 2 2014, 03:26 PM) lol i didnt notice that after looking at soo many yeah... but why fender, didnt use it on their strat line? if not mistaken, the traditional nut is not smooth enough to move back the strings to its position.coz u gotta drill 2 holes for the nut to go in? then again i thought all floating bridge guitars had them |
Jun 2 2014, 03:50 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jun 2 2014, 02:53 PM) i have a question... why dont every trem guitar use locking nut? as far as i know, thats the stable setup a trem guitar can have... Petrucci doesn't think so. Look at his JP models, floating trem with no locking nut, only locking tuners.AFAIK, locking nuts will make it difficult to tune for normal trems without micro tuners. |
Jun 2 2014, 03:52 PM
Jun 2 2014, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jun 2 2014, 03:48 PM) yeah...  but why fender, didnt use it on their strat line? if not mistaken, the traditional nut is not smooth enough to move back the strings to its position. cause fender and fender uses locking tunersfenders bridge is also different than the average floyd rose, the average fender player is less likely to do a wild pich harmonic dive bomb locking nuts need a strong neck which normally means laminating the shit out of it, last time ibz 3 pc necks used to crack at the nut. This post has been edited by +3kk!: Jun 2 2014, 04:13 PM |
Jun 3 2014, 11:44 AM
Jun 3 2014, 11:55 AM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 2 2014, 03:58 PM) cause fender and fender uses locking tuners ibz crack at neck is not because it lacks a strong neck...even tho its pencil thin.fenders bridge is also different than the average floyd rose, the average fender player is less likely to do a wild pich harmonic dive bomb locking nuts need a strong neck which normally means laminating the shit out of it, last time ibz 3 pc necks used to crack at the nut. but because the nut was rear routed, as in the mounting screws were behind the neck, and not from top like traditional ones. so many fenders, kramers, charvels, godins, esps, whatever got floyd rose...almost all top mounted...where got cracks. This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 3 2014, 11:56 AM |
Jun 3 2014, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 3 2014, 11:55 AM) ibz crack at neck is not because it lacks a strong neck...even tho its pencil thin. u mean to tell me only ibz does that? but because the nut was rear routed, as in the mounting screws were behind the neck, and not from top like traditional ones. so many fenders, kramers, charvels, godins, esps, whatever got floyd rose...almost all top mounted...where got cracks. didnt know, lol coz i dont play superstrats, i learn something new from sifu today. |
Jun 3 2014, 12:00 PM
Jun 3 2014, 12:05 PM
the main difference, is top mounted doesnt drill all the way thru...and uses smaller shorter screws to mount the nut.
ibanez has to drill all the way thru as they also for some reason use thicker screws, so even less wood at that area. |
Jun 3 2014, 12:32 PM
2,586 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: got la sumwhere |
Sebut pasal screw floyd rose ni teringat zaman masa mula angkat gitar dulu. I have fond memories of my very first guitar, which happened to be an Ibanez with a floyd rose on it
So I set about to detune the guitar to B standard. After about an hour of noodling I realized my dreams of being the next Dino Cazares weren't happening. So ok lah, tune back up again. Tune tune tak jadi, tune tune tak jadi. The action was getting higher and higher but the guitar was nowhere in tune. Thinking back, it got ridiculous at one point - the neck bowed and the saddle rose so high i could stick a finger clear under After that and a series of other grievances, I decided to tell floyd trem lain kalilah. Did I say fond memories? I meant nightmares |
Jun 3 2014, 12:34 PM
thats why beli original
Jun 3 2014, 12:39 PM
2,586 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: got la sumwhere |
Ori mcm mana pun, kalu tak reti pakai jahanam gak bro hahaha
Jun 3 2014, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 3 2014, 12:05 PM) the main difference, is top mounted doesnt drill all the way thru...and uses smaller shorter screws to mount the nut. but functionally they are about the same noibanez has to drill all the way thru as they also for some reason use thicker screws, so even less wood at that area. i realised i've never had any back mount guitars |
Jun 3 2014, 02:29 PM
Jun 3 2014, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 3 2014, 12:32 PM) Sebut pasal screw floyd rose ni teringat zaman masa mula angkat gitar dulu. I have fond memories of my very first guitar, which happened to be an Ibanez with a floyd rose on it Im sure there are many stories like this one. So I set about to detune the guitar to B standard. After about an hour of noodling I realized my dreams of being the next Dino Cazares weren't happening. So ok lah, tune back up again. Tune tune tak jadi, tune tune tak jadi. The action was getting higher and higher but the guitar was nowhere in tune. Thinking back, it got ridiculous at one point - the neck bowed and the saddle rose so high i could stick a finger clear under After that and a series of other grievances, I decided to tell floyd trem lain kalilah. Did I say fond memories? I meant nightmares My first Ibanez, an MIJ RG470, isn't that great at all but it teach me a lot about guitar setups. |
| Change to: | 0.1265sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:53 AM |