~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

seryoung
post Oct 8 2006, 02:48 PM

170 posts

i just got my female joey, Moochi, yesterday night. she seems scared and keeps on crabbing whenever i move my finger near to pat her. after a few pats i managed to scoop her up, with a lil more crabbing, but after awhile she was climbing all over me. and she has the tendency to jump around alot.

the next morning, i was back to square one sleep.gif". is this normal? is there any way i could get her to be more comfortable with me? (i have placed my tshirt on the cage) also, she doesn't seem to drink water so far,i used a drinking bottle for hamsters. should i use a water bowl instead? i placed a dish with bread, gerber baby food and blueberry jam, and i found out she has preference for blueberry jam smile.gif she's nearly 2months old. is she big enough to eat mealworms? thanks to those who can help me out here smile.gif
seryoung
post Oct 9 2006, 09:26 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 8 2006, 03:59 PM)
Thanks! Good to know they like it tongue.gif
Ah.... you should buy my glider food lah hahaha... kidding lah.

Blueberry jam, a bit is ok... did you buy those that got no added sugar? Anyway, nice meeting you yesterday smile.gif

It will take some time for Moochi to learn to trust you. It is better for you to buy a pouch and hang her around your neck under your shirt coz got your bodyheat and smell.... you do that, sure she will get used to you and bond...

Intro some fresh fruits such as apples, honey dew, carrot, jambu air, sun mellon, grapes and pears.... gliders love these.

2 months old still dunno how to eat mealworms, you take a mealworm, cut the head and squeeze out the juice of the mealworm for Moochi to eat lah. She will lick it and this is part of hand bonding training.

You can feed her yogurt using your fingers too.
hey, done that. it wasn't so difficult to get moochi into the pouch as compared to trying to do stuff while having her in a pouch around my neck. she does eat mealworms, only if they're dead. she loves applesauce smile.gif
seryoung
post Oct 9 2006, 04:34 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Oct 9 2006, 02:36 PM)
Hehe.. welcome to the club biggrin.gif
thanks! i'll get pics when i can hehe
seryoung
post Oct 18 2006, 12:30 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(aureliux @ Oct 18 2006, 12:27 AM)
Hie.. very interested to get a sugar Glider.. any advise?
read the thread of course! and get advice from experienced glider owners like crazymouse, smellyocheese, tagreptiles and many more not mentioned smile.gif
seryoung
post Oct 18 2006, 10:14 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(aureliux @ Oct 18 2006, 12:33 AM)
Where is the best place to get 1?
get from a trusted breeder. i noticed pet store glider joeys are most of the time, if not always, malnutritioned. again, i believe ppl like the aforementioned can help wink.gif
seryoung
post Oct 18 2006, 12:30 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sugre @ Oct 18 2006, 10:31 AM)
Well you can try playing with them using cat toys. I think gliders like the same sort of play except on a smaller scale. I used a dangling feather on a stick to play with Roscoe. He got excited and grabbed hold of the feather and started his "iguana" like run!

Misa, I am resigned to the fate that I have to be the only SG owner who still can't cut her SGs nails. I tried cutting Roscoe's nails last night (only because he knows how to sit in my hand) and he made such a fuss!!!! My friend had to bundle him in a clothe and he keeps struggling! Even when I tried to hold onto his paws to cut the nails he curls the paws up and starts crying. And then he got aggressive in trying to get out of the clothe.

I gave him worms... lots of it. He eats it in less than 2 seconds. How?
do you have an exercise wheel? i read that placing sandpaper in it will help trim the nails. correct me if i'm wrong.
seryoung
post Nov 4 2006, 10:33 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 4 2006, 01:59 AM)
U mean jeff shop?i forget his shop name liao blink.gif jeff sell things very expensive le. i think its jeff la cos i remember there is only 1 pet shop there.Misa u mean the sugar glider can escape from drawstring pouch ah?cos if can get the 10-12 one i think its good enuff if its glider proof safe cos 36 one a bit mahal le. mine still new to me so i dunno how he would react to the pouch thing.

My glider still havent wake up and its almost 2am, i m not sure he is sleeping or not and if i go kacau him he crab(so should i kacau him) cos its supposed to eat his food-_-i wan him to follow time table le or else a lot of ants.(will ants bite sugar glider?)
your glider will probably take just a short while to get used to the pouch. the difficult part is getting your glider INTO the pouch. i slowly ushered mine into the pouch and next thing i knew, she was sleeping in it. smile.gif

bear in mind that gliders have different temperament and habits although they're generally nocturnal. gliders will crab when they get afraid or agitated. during early stages of bonding, you'll have to bear with it. if you back off when the glider crabs, it'll get the idea that crabbing will discourage you, so just ignore the crabbing lol.

forcing the glider to eat according to time will be difficult, if not impossible. just leave their staple diet in a dish, when they want to eat, they will eat. try to hand feed them fruits and mealworms. handfeeding will probably take a lot of patience, because the glider is still new, its afraid of you. starting it will slowly come to you, smell smell, maybe run away and come back, and finally when its confident you're not there to eat him/her, the glider will take a bite biggrin.gif
you can also try dipping your finger in yoghurt and let your glider lick off your fingers.

tip: baby gliders may not like mealworms at 1st. what you do is chop off the head, squeeze the guts out abit, and 'bribe' your glider, let him/her suck the juices. once they start, they'll automatically help themselves. you know you're on your way when your glider runs to you when you're holding a mealworm biggrin.gif

get rid of the ants. your glider will probably lick them up anyway lol

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 4 2006, 09:57 AM)
i had the best time early this morning watching my sg eating. I was sitting directly infront of it and it didnt crab. he seem to like grapes also(is it ok for him to eat the grapes after 5hours its been left there?)

today i m going to sunway pyramid to buy the bonding pouch. I saw some of the pouch in the internet and it was really nice.

Here a website wit lots of glider pic and glider accesories
http://www.suzsugargliders.com
my glider loves grapes too. as long as its not over 12 hrs i think its fine. clean up leftover food.

have fun and good luck with your glider! remember, a whole lot of patience needed in the 1st few weeks in bonding with your glider
seryoung
post Nov 6 2006, 05:34 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sugre @ Nov 6 2006, 04:39 PM)
Yeah gurl they always fall when they run on the wheel. They get over excited and always end up flying out of the wheel. But last Saturday they were fighting!

Wah! I meet this girl pet safari that had to keep her SGs apart because the female was attacking the male. I hope this is not a common thing.

Oh now this is something that is very common in pet shops! Mistreatment of SGs! I went to this shop called "88 Pets Mart Sdn Bhd" in Sunway Mas. They were according to the guy who assisted me, keeping wild Glider's taken from some SG farm in Genting.

The SGs are suffering!!! If they are wild SGs, why put it in a store? They can not cope, they are attacking each other viciously for territory. All the SGs in that shop has disfigured faces and bodies, with open wounds. And this store helper won't even touch them. He says they are all too fierce and they will attack him. And there were 20 brought in from the farm and already more than 4 was killed off by the other Gliders.

He then brought out a really pitiful SG at my request. Says that the pitiful SG was separated as it would have been killed otherwise. The lil thing looks so sad! Nothing like a SG should! The guy then took out his pen to poke the SG out of the cage. Ahhhh I am so angry. To put the SG back he grabbed its tail to throw it back in its small, shallow, extremely dirty cage!

Can report this to SPCA?  vmad.gif
haha. mine run until fall down also. once i fed my Moochi mealworm, i duwan let go, she bite the mealworm and also duwan let go, she flailing her arms and legs..so cute. laugh.gif

walau..those sgs deserve so much better. friend and i wanted to visit that pet store but didn't manage to find it. good thing didn't otherwise have to see them suffering. why they bother importing in sgs when they don't know how to take care of them? indeed pissing off. report to spca! mad.gif vmad.gif
seryoung
post Nov 6 2006, 10:28 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Nov 6 2006, 10:03 PM)
hmmm... i want to ask 1 question... if i take SG in a pouch and the SG is new to me, i open the pouch to feed or something will he run away?

bcus I want to get an SG but i have to go back to school on holidays and i have no time after the holidays to keep it around me for long periods of time. So i have to take it to school during holidays.

also want to ask, can keep 2 in the same pouch or must separate? bcus if i take one and leave the other in the cage im afraid it will be lonely

and will SGs be noisy?... later they interrupt the class then im gonna get bad looks from my classmates... will they poop in the pouch?
how will he run away? lol. it will most probably crab if you place your hand directly in front of the pouch and will attempt to bite your hand. try luring it out of the pouch further.

if you buy a pair i guess you should leave both of them in the cage. however spend more time with both of them if your wish for them to bond with you.

taking your glider to school means alot of risks. for one, your glider will be confiscated if discovered by school authorities..will SGs be noisy? yes, especially their 1st few months with you it will crab the most, and that will attract unneccessary attention. in your case, if you cannot bring your glider everywhere, then leave it at home. spend time with it at night when it wakes up. remember, if you cannot afford to spend alot of time with your glider, then its not a recommended pet smile.gif

i suggest you read up more especially on the 1st few posts before getting your glider. ask experienced keepers for tips also smile.gif
seryoung
post Nov 7 2006, 12:54 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Nov 6 2006, 10:39 PM)
im not free during the mornings... have to go to school.... but afternoon and night... heheheheheh..... nothing to do.... then can go kacau them... do you recommend i buy 1 first or buy 2 together?
1 or 2 depends on 2 factors: 1) the time u have to spend with them and 2) money laugh.gif

QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Nov 6 2006, 11:10 PM)
T.T i live in Malacca...... *sniff*
lol...worse come to worst buy from pet store lor...but that will cost you a bomb. and until now i haven't seen a pet store that takes real good care of their gliders..

crazymouse..do you deliver sugar gliders? laugh.gif
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 12:26 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 7 2006, 09:09 PM)
If you need glider mix, do view my garage sales thread.
All from Indonesia... there is no law in Indonesia about exporting gliders but there is a law in Australia that gliders cannot be caught and kept as a pet or exported overseas. Anyway, in Indonesia, 1 joey is only RM50.
RM50?? shocking.gif

here its like converted to pounds sweat.gif

hamster9...so fast ur glider bond with you..jealous betul!
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 12:09 PM

170 posts

i didn't sleep well last night. about 3-4am moochi was barking. so i woke up and layan her. feed her few mealworms..after that no more noise so i really KO on the bed. rclxub.gif
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 12:21 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 8 2006, 12:13 PM)
My GongGong suddenly died of unknown reason cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I dunno why... he was active and jumping around and the next day, he's not moving. cry.gif cry.gif

BenBen and Sasa was looking at him this morning, so I went to check them out. Then realized GongGong is not moving. I tried to take GongGong out, but BenBen bite me sad.gif What happened???? I'm feeding them well and they are active, then suddenly... GongGong left... I didn't see any weird disease or whatever mark on him. His fur is still very nice...
omg...i'm so sorry. could it be food poisoning? did any of ur Ts escape? just guessing. really strange sudden death.

This post has been edited by seryoung: Nov 8 2006, 12:37 PM
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 01:04 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 8 2006, 01:01 PM)
My Ts are fine, eating and molting well..

Sigh.. if food poisoning then why BenBen and Sasa is ok? Weird lah...
i've no idea...strange indeed. sorry for your loss sad.gif
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 01:28 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ Nov 8 2006, 01:17 PM)
And your gliders are molting? I have not heard of Gliders molting before....something wrong?
you know gliders don't molt right? blink.gif
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 03:20 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 8 2006, 01:57 PM)
Ya, seryoung was asking about my Ts tongue.gif

Well, shouldn't be fighting since they live together for so long already and I never hear any screams or whatever noises from their cage. If they were fighting, then why BenBen was clinging on GongGong's body and dun want me to take his body out sad.gif

They have feelings too you know sad.gif Later must go home and see how they are doing. Sure feel sad losing one friend in the cage. Sigh....
initially i thought one of ur Ts escaped and bit gonggong...but nah. mind my overly creative brain lol

sad ler..poor benben sure miss gonggong

This post has been edited by seryoung: Nov 8 2006, 03:30 PM
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 05:26 PM

170 posts

so ur snakes are the cause? hmmmm..hope you find out why gonggong died so hopefully u can prevent sudden death in the future..
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 09:06 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 8 2006, 08:48 PM)
I like it when gliders bark... so cute. Kiah once bark on my shoulder and on my pillow next to my head.... for no reason at all hahah.
That is very sudden, really sad news. So sorry to hear such a loss. Hope BenBen and Sasa doing fine.
lol..actually yeah. they seldom bark. they do that for attention right? btw where do you deliver your slurp? thinking of getting some for moochi smile.gif
seryoung
post Nov 8 2006, 09:45 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 8 2006, 09:12 PM)
Yah... but on my shoulder need what attention? Hahahah... damn cute. I recorded her barking and when let friends listen, they said "puppy mah, so what?" but when I say is my glider that make, then they will go "har? wah! So cute"

Oh, I can deliver up to KLCC wor... of if you can wait for the gathering then easier for you.
going for the aquafair? if yes then cekap! biggrin.gif btw u've got so many flavours..which is best for starters? w or w/o chicken whats the nutritional benefit or difference for my glider?
seryoung
post Nov 9 2006, 05:22 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 9 2006, 04:20 PM)
Bond? Hrm... not yet la. But I force him out, dun care he crabs or not. But if you wanna try, here's a proven method I've done and within 2 days success.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Go get crazymouse Glider Mix, dip your finger in it. Then put your hand near the glider. At first Chiwek crabs and pounce at my hand, even bite me...you tahan la. Bite already surely can feel the glider mix. Then he will start licking your finger. Do this for 2 days and now whenever he sees my finger he licks them first. NOw I'm going to train him to come out from his pouch into my hand.
Sorry to hear about GongGong. What about the poo? Any soft poo? Maybe digestive system leh..

Anyway I'm now at NIrvana Memorial at KUchai Lama for 2 days (grandpa passed away), luckily they have internet connection there. Anyway Chiwek is here  and he is well behaved during ceremony times. But yesterday, when he hears those music, he start crabbing  sweat.gif  HOpe tonight he is also well behaved.  laugh.gif
oh, luring moochi is not a problem for me. all i do is wave a mealworm in front of her and she'll come to me. sometimes i tipu her la, bring near then tarik far, luring her to me. but now she smart, sometimes she quickly grab the poor mealworm with her paw and pluck half the mealworm and eat 1st sweat.gif cunning girl. but she still scared of me patting her. and whenever i lure her to my palm and sit there awhile she'll be ok at first..then later she'll be like "uh-oh, i'm on a hand" and jumps back to her cage sweat.gif

wah u bring chiwek to funeral? swt. my one fear of bringing moochi out in public is that she will run away. she jumps alot sweat.gif

btw u can see my moochi at this youtube link smile.gif

This post has been edited by seryoung: Nov 9 2006, 05:25 PM

0.0443sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:40 PM