Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

SGSuser
post May 18 2014, 10:21 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 18 2014, 09:30 PM)
Hi, wanna ask is it only Engineers that can reap profits in this OnG industry?
lol u again with ur super naive questions

as for ur question above, the answer is no...u should really do ur own research first on what is OnG industry as well as some of the jobs it offers, at least know the surface of it should suffice
SGSuser
post May 18 2014, 11:18 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 18 2014, 11:11 PM)
Okay I shall thank you by offering you the ticket of 14th floor biggrin.gif
Wow so many terms that never heard of.
ok where can i redeem the ticket? coz i wanna shove it down ur throat whistling.gif tongue.gif

now that uve seen some of the jobs tat u nvr know existed in OnG, its high time for u to do a simple google search on OnG industry

in b4 nex question wat does an engineer do in OnG laugh.gif
SGSuser
post May 18 2014, 11:26 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 18 2014, 11:21 PM)
ohmy.gif I was just going to ask that question ! You filthy little mind reader sleep.gif
not hard to read the minds of 2" like urs laugh.gif laugh.gif

seriously kid just do some simple search on google on oil & gas
SGSuser
post May 26 2014, 07:36 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ May 26 2014, 04:20 PM)
currently graduating soon from Mechanical Engineering course. would want to venture into O&G as a field of career. however i do not possess high CGPA (above 3, but not more than 3.5 which is the minimum requirement by most of the O&G company)

my question is, does low CGPA really stands no chance in joining the O&G field?

for a fresh graduate applying for O&G job, is there any advices based on experience by the people here for us?

thank you
no, most probably just get less lucrative pay

just don't be too picky
SGSuser
post May 31 2014, 05:19 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(iampinkiepie @ May 31 2014, 03:32 PM)
Guys, help me decide which job offer shall I take.

I just finish my mechanical engineering degree.. And currently waiting for my final semester results.

I have two job offers; let's call them Company A and company B

Company A, where I previously did my internship. The pay is about rm2,300 until my results are officially out. Once the results are out, they increase my pay by 1k. I'll me doing mostly mechanical and procurement in this company. In this company. Here I know I'll learn a lot with the guidance of my previous supervisor. The current job offer puts me directly under him. He is one of the reason I'm considering as I'll learn a lot from him.

Company B is a start up company. Currently the company only consist of two people and they are the partners that started the company. So basically I'm their first hire. They  are offering about rm3,500. Here, I will also learn a lot about helping managing the company, meeting clients and other stuff.

Both company are in the oil and gas industry but in different area. I'm aware of the risk of Company B where it can go bust and the job is less secure compared to Company A but starting and building the company from scratch seems like a good platform where I can learn also which is why I'm interested to go there.

I have also previously worked with one of the partners of Company B and I know that he has experience and can be a good mentor to me.

So I'm confused.. Help!!
B
SGSuser
post May 31 2014, 07:50 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(iampinkiepie @ May 31 2014, 06:33 PM)
Could you enlighten me why u choose B?
because i believe that it is more rewarding...the reasons u have stated it urself in ur post
SGSuser
post Jun 4 2014, 09:24 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

any rotating equipment engineers here? can share working experiences and some of the difficulties faced in work? unsure.gif

currently equipping myself with some knowledge on machines especially re, kinda regret taking chem eng instead of mech while in uni tongue.gif
SGSuser
post Jun 23 2014, 10:54 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 23 2014, 08:51 AM)
I am going to JX-Nippon @ Wisma Interhill Miri on Monday next week for an interview... Test market...
come yumcha drool.gif
SGSuser
post Jun 23 2014, 01:13 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 23 2014, 01:02 PM)
Hi guys, noob here.
Graduated end of last year, been working since February this year.

Now starting to regret my career choice sad.gif
Should have heeded the advice of some of the senior members here.

Anyway bro mohdyakup the link on the first post no longer stores the pdf.
Y regret? Share ur story brah laugh.gif
SGSuser
post Jun 23 2014, 01:38 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 23 2014, 01:27 PM)
Stupid choice I made la
I had 2 offers from big consultation companies but I turned them down for my current job because this seemed exciting and I can learn a lot since it's a direct business.

Tapi cam haprak la bro.
4 months working I've not exactly learnt anything. The only technical stuff I do is support marketing which an intern could also do. Sometimes I wondered why they hired me laugh.gif
Pay and benefits here really good, but.... I don't see myself learning or proceeding further, I have nothing interesting to fill my CV with based on my time here so far doh.gif
i knw that feel bro...gaji high but no learning value cry.gif cry.gif

mine is gaji low and no learning value, so have to do self learning almost everyday in office because management give other engineer from other branch work also no give me, maybe because im a noob cry.gif
SGSuser
post Jun 23 2014, 02:19 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 23 2014, 01:45 PM)
Mine I dunno what to learn also
The work they give me mainly to help support marketing team, which is really not exactly that technical
Anyone can do it, even an engineering intern doh.gif

Initially i thought I'd give this 1 year la, but now almost 5 months pun rasa cam no point already sad.gif
wut ur company sell? chem eng or mech eng company?
SGSuser
post Jun 23 2014, 02:33 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jun 23 2014, 02:20 PM)
Mainly mechanical
Dealing with the by-product of fossil fuel distillation whistling.gif
so there's a plant? and your position is process engineer? rclxms.gif
SGSuser
post Aug 15 2014, 11:11 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Aug 15 2014, 11:02 AM)
Hi guys, I just got a call to attend a third party interview from Petronas next week. The agencies involved are Carimin, Cekap Tecnical Services, Probid Resources, Petrronic, and Kfrontiers. I can choose one of this agencies before the interview. The position offered is supervisor which will basically involved with paperwork and etc. (no technical task i guess) as I come from business and marketing major.

Any advice from seniors here regarding this position in the said agencies? I have 4 years experience working in the sales and marketing related companies.
adoi terlepas pula laugh.gif

good luck rclxms.gif
SGSuser
post Aug 19 2014, 09:12 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(kenzosenzo @ Aug 19 2014, 07:59 AM)
Hello everyone,
been stalking on this thread lama dah tapi tak sempat sempat nak register member.  sweat.gif

Finally graduate as mechanical engineer and teringin benor nak join oil and gas field.

One quick question,
any recommendation for fresh mechanical graduate to develop skill/knowledge?
been reading oil and gas production handbook.. quite interesting.

and should i attend some of the training course (ogsp, bosiet, etc) ??

thank youu  notworthy.gif
depends on ur employer whether they required u to do so, altho i would say ogsp is a must working in msia plants laugh.gif

u wan to attend urself also can, then u bear the fees urself instead of employer...not cheap if u do ur own research on the fees
SGSuser
post Aug 19 2014, 09:48 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(kenzosenzo @ Aug 19 2014, 09:45 AM)
yes and it would take Rm 3k untuk bosiet saja  shocking.gif , but i think ogsp boleh la kot nak buat sendiri. i'm not sure whether i'll required those training.. but if it is to make my resume looks different from others fresh graduate why not kan?
yes true that, all depends on ur own financial capability only

SGSuser
post Aug 24 2014, 11:58 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(ChaNzy @ Aug 24 2014, 10:34 PM)
hello everyone,

I'm a mechanical engineer student (3rd year), I would like to join the OnG industry when I graduate later. May I know what are the requirements to join? My current results are not so good or too bad though. Pointer is slightly more than 3 only. I'm currently doing my internship with Linde Malaysia.

Any advice on how to improve my chance (connections, results, skills etc) in joining this industry? smile.gif
join back linde...start wif ur connections there
SGSuser
post Aug 25 2014, 02:35 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(ChaNzy @ Aug 25 2014, 11:12 AM)
Hoping to go Shell LNG HQ in Singapore. But all they do there is downstream works right?  hmm.gif And I'm quite tempted with offshore in miri though  drool.gif 

Hehe. Linde here can learn all the basic things needed in the gas industry I guess. Heard from colleagues that it is quite similar with the LNG industry.
iinm linde has projects in MLNG bintulu...last shutdown few months back saw them working on a boiler in one of the modules

if u dont mind starting from a contractor's company, i dont see any problems with linde
SGSuser
post Aug 27 2014, 12:44 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 26 2014, 09:42 PM)
Join dayang enterprise..they like fresh ppl...basic 2k+ offshore allowance RM50/day
u from dayang ah? brows.gif

now their fresh grad raise to 2k+ edi huh...last year january like that still 1.8k lol
SGSuser
post Aug 30 2014, 11:12 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

for my company it's red wing
SGSuser
post Sep 8 2014, 08:43 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Sep 8 2014, 01:09 AM)
thx for ur sharing~
btw after get working experience, the salary in ONG usually higher compare to other industry right?
so if i join the OnG company with few year experience in construction industry, i treated as newbie or experienced??
sorry, i got a lot of question because i am trying to plan my route after my graduation..
nope not really "usually"

if u are going to get a desk job, dont expect it to be higher than other industry just because u are in OnG

0.0532sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:34 PM